View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
Junior
25/01/2010, 9:15 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if Caldwell was involved in this story to be honest. He has a reputation for being a bit of a media bitch.
Nothing in it im sure. I doubt whether McCarthy has even been contemplating his International future in recent times. There are no games coming up (apart from a March friendly which has no impact on the decision) and he has just broken in to the Wigan first team which Im sure is where all his focus is on at present.
Deckydee
25/01/2010, 10:36 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/trapattoni-i-forgive-henry-110496.html
...Meanwhile, Trapattoni may have a battle on his hands to keep teenage starlet James McCarthy from changing his allegiance to Scotland.
Ireland U-21 international McCarthy scored his first Premier League goal for Wigan last week and is regarded as one of Ireland’s brightest young talents.
However the former Hamilton Accies star, who qualifies for the Republic through his grandparents, is still on new Scotland boss, Craig Levein’s radar.
A report yesterday claimed that McCarthy has been alerted to the possibility of Scotland being interested in him again. Although he has played for the Republic of Ireland at U-21 level, he hasn’t yet played a full, competitive international for Trapattoni’s side, so under FIFA rules he is free to play for Scotland.
Levein is eager to spread his net as far and wide as possible to ensure he has the strongest possible pool of talent available for Scotland. He is currently putting together a database which will cover every under-age and senior pro who qualifies for Scotland and he is currently scouring the country for potential targets.
Eirambler
25/01/2010, 10:44 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/trapattoni-i-forgive-henry-110496.html
...Meanwhile, Trapattoni may have a battle on his hands to keep teenage starlet James McCarthy from changing his allegiance to Scotland.
Ireland U-21 international McCarthy scored his first Premier League goal for Wigan last week and is regarded as one of Ireland’s brightest young talents.
However the former Hamilton Accies star, who qualifies for the Republic through his grandparents, is still on new Scotland boss, Craig Levein’s radar.
A report yesterday claimed that McCarthy has been alerted to the possibility of Scotland being interested in him again. Although he has played for the Republic of Ireland at U-21 level, he hasn’t yet played a full, competitive international for Trapattoni’s side, so under FIFA rules he is free to play for Scotland.
Levein is eager to spread his net as far and wide as possible to ensure he has the strongest possible pool of talent available for Scotland. He is currently putting together a database which will cover every under-age and senior pro who qualifies for Scotland and he is currently scouring the country for potential targets.
Well they've just cogged the report, but that might be no harm as it raises awareness here that we've a potential battle on our hands, it might see him fast tracked into the next squad.
TrapAPony
25/01/2010, 11:16 AM
Lets hope Trapattoni & the FAI are doing the same for us.
Fixer82
25/01/2010, 11:25 AM
no harm giving him a cap against Brazil. You'd hope that would further his allegiance to us...
JimmyJuice
25/01/2010, 12:09 PM
cant see any truth to that rumour
seanfhear
25/01/2010, 6:32 PM
I would put the lad in the squad against Brazil and possibly play him or bring him on as a sub.
If anybody does not want to play against Brazil for whatever reason well then they must be bonkers (ahem, Stephen mad dog Ireland comes to mind)
greendeiseboy
26/01/2010, 7:33 AM
The Daily Record have it now.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/scotland/2010/01/26/scotland-boss-craig-levein-keen-to-recruit-irish-starlet-james-mccarthy-86908-21995754/
26/01/2010, 9:31 AM
the Record is a rag, they've omitted the following quotes from Levein
from http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5885047,00.html
Levein will also follow up reports that Wigan midfielder James McCarthy is open to switching allegiance from the Republic of Ireland, who he has represented at under-21 level, to the land of his birth.
"What I first need to do is establish whether there's any truth in that," the former Dundee United boss said.
So McCarthy and Levein haven't even spoken about him changing his allegiances
Scooby Doo
26/01/2010, 9:32 AM
Boll0cks! This bloody thing is gaining momentum. Hope to God he comes out and makes a statement - and soon. This sort of thing could turn a young player's head.
Deckydee
26/01/2010, 10:26 AM
Sent the following e-mail to the FAI
To whom it may concern:
I along with many posters on www.foot.ie (http://www.foot.ie) are concerned following several newspapers reports (see links below) stating that U-21 starlet James McCarthy intends to switch allegiances from the Republic of Ireland to Scotland.
Can someone set the record straight regarding this rumour?
Thanks and regards
I"ll let 'yous' know when I get a reply, IF I get a reply
26/01/2010, 10:53 AM
Sent the following e-mail to the FAI
To whom it may concern:
I along with many posters on www.foot.ie (http://www.foot.ie) are concerned following several newspapers reports (see links below) stating that U-21 starlet James McCarthy intends to switch allegiances from the Republic of Ireland to Scotland.
Can someone set the record straight regarding this rumour?
Thanks and regards
I"ll let 'yous' know when I get a reply, IF I get a reply
Disappointed with your mail there Deekydee. No mention of kissing John Delaney or offers of free meals.
Crosby87
26/01/2010, 11:34 AM
I have it on very good authority from a well known poster on that other board who talks to James that this is complete rubbish.
If you dont believe me PM him yourself.
The Fly
26/01/2010, 12:04 PM
I have it on very good authority from a well known poster on that other board who talks to James that this is complete rubbish.
Which board?
Which poster?
Junior
26/01/2010, 12:10 PM
the Record is a rag, they've omitted the following quotes from Levein
from http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5885047,00.html
So McCarthy and Levein haven't even spoken about him changing his allegiances
Exactly - its just an old story dressed up and reprinted by a rag.
Levein knew nothing of the story and said if there is any truth in it then obviously he will follow it up.
Here it is from the horses mouth (first few minutes)
http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/scotland/scotfoot/scotfoot_20100126-0113a.mp3
26/01/2010, 3:13 PM
You mean Tuff Paddy who also had good contacts in the Italian FA and confirmed the Italy game for Rome last April.
You can only pull that stunt once.
soccerc
26/01/2010, 3:55 PM
You mean Tuff Paddy who also had good contacts in the Italian FA and confirmed the Italy game for Rome last April.
Thye game WAS scheduled for Rome. The Italian federation were requested to move it to maintain the prestige of the Olympic Stadium for some UEFA gig a few weeks later.
Bari was not the original choice and through the offices of a certain frenchman Mr Platini pressure was put on the Italians to move it from Rome.
As for James McCarthy I am aware of the relationship Tuff Paddy has woth hom and for the record Levein has also clearly stated today that he has not made a move for the kid.
26/01/2010, 4:04 PM
Thye game WAS scheduled for Rome. The Italian federation were requested to move it to maintain the prestige of the Olympic Stadium for some UEFA gig a few weeks later.
Bari was not the original choice and through the offices of a certain frenchman Mr Platini pressure was put on the Italians to move it from Rome.
As for James McCarthy I am aware of the relationship Tuff Paddy has woth hom and for the record Levein has also clearly stated today that he has not made a move for the kid.
That Platini story was total bullsh1t. The game was never fixed for anywhere by the Italian FA. The Rome story was another "we're going to Boston for the 1994 world cup" story.
soccerc
26/01/2010, 4:28 PM
That Platini story was total bullsh1t. The game was never fixed for anywhere by the Italian FA. The Rome story was another "we're going to Boston for the 1994 world cup" story.
Neither the venue or Platini's intervention is BS. One of the FIGC's own media people confirmed this during a face to face chat in Bari.
26/01/2010, 6:56 PM
Neither the venue or Platini's intervention is BS. One of the FIGC's own media people confirmed this during a face to face chat in Bari.
Platini is head of UEFA. It was a FIFA game. He couldn't intervene anyway as UEFA still had the potential to host a champions league quarter final and semi final in Rome after the Ireland game but before the final.
If the Italians had chosen a venue they would have announced it.
A couple of people jumped the gun, made assumptions aka Boston in 94 and had to have a reason to backtrack.
The game was "fixed for Rome" very soon after the fixtures were decided. This was never the case and even a small bit of research would have shown that Italy play all over the country.
soccerc
26/01/2010, 7:25 PM
Platini is head of UEFA. It was a FIFA game. He couldn't intervene anyway as UEFA still had the potential to host a champions league quarter final and semi final in Rome after the Ireland game but before the final.
If the Italians had chosen a venue they would have announced it.
A couple of people jumped the gun, made assumptions aka Boston in 94 and had to have a reason to backtrack.
The game was "fixed for Rome" very soon after the fixtures were decided. This was never the case and even a small bit of research would have shown that Italy play all over the country.
...and if you carried out of research the facts do not tally with your assertions.
Yes, Italy play throughout the country and everyone should have been aware of that.
However, early last year the FIGC were priming up Rome as the venue to the local football hacks and then 'off the record' confirmed it. Only after intervention from UEFA was the city changed and the reasons were again presented in off the record briefings.
26/01/2010, 8:43 PM
I will only get worried for James' future if I hear that Tuff Paddy is searching high and low to get an interview with the Crossmaglen sniper.
Crosby87
27/01/2010, 12:00 AM
Gspain,
Apparently he has interviewed him and did talk to him this week about this rumor.
Which is more than I or you have talked to him of course.
I guess he was wrong on the travel arrangement thing. It doesnt appear to me to be personally vindictive however and I believe him about talking with James.
Obviously you are free to draw your own conclusions. I guess the matter will not be settled until James is named to the Brazil squad (hopefully).
27/01/2010, 7:16 AM
...and if you carried out of research the facts do not tally with your assertions.
Yes, Italy play throughout the country and everyone should have been aware of that.
However, early last year the FIGC were priming up Rome as the venue to the local football hacks and then 'off the record' confirmed it. Only after intervention from UEFA was the city changed and the reasons were again presented in off the record briefings.
Why would UEFA intervene in a FIFA World Cup match?
The venue nwas decided and announced late 2008. December 31st if I recall correctly.
The local press didn't start any speculation until December.
The Italians don't spend months pondering over venues for games and wait months to announce them. They considered Florence and Naples and both had speculation in the Italian media before Bari was announced. I don't recall any speculation in the Italian media regarding Rome.
I was trying to check the venue myself at the time using sources in Italy and here in Dublin. The consistent story was that there was no decision made. Rome was considered a good bet as it was thought unlikely they'd bring Trap back to Milan. However they used the smaller stadiums right through the campaign.
Furthermore Italy then failed to bring their last 2 qualifiers to Rome who surely must have been due a game after the champoions league final if they were promised the Ireland one.
27/01/2010, 7:24 AM
Gspain,
Apparently he has interviewed him and did talk to him this week about this rumor.
Which is more than I or you have talked to him of course.
I guess he was wrong on the travel arrangement thing. It doesnt appear to me to be personally vindictive however and I believe him about talking with James.
Obviously you are free to draw your own conclusions. I guess the matter will not be settled until James is named to the Brazil squad (hopefully).
I don't think he was being vindictive. I think he just wanted to be first with the news. However some people booked flights based on the info (not me).
The message is that it is dangerous to believe everything you read on the internet.
I really hope he is right this time though.
Deckydee
27/01/2010, 10:22 AM
Anywho,
Back to this McCarthy delcaring for Scotland thing:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/news.asp?n=37959
Agent scotches McCarthy switch talk
January 27, 2010
The agent of Scottish-born Republic of Ireland teen star James McCarthy insists the player will not switch international allegiance to his native country.
McCarthy, 19, has long been hailed as one of the brightest prospects in the UK and completed a £1.2m move from Hamilton Academical to Wigan Athletic last summer.
He scored his first Barclays Premier League goal for the DW Stadium side in the recent win over Wolves, one of the other clubs who battled it out for his services in 2009.
Weekend media reports suggested that McCarthy, who has represented Ireland at under-17, under-19 and under-21 level, could be lured into the Scotland senior fold in the coming months.
But agent Willie McKay has poured cold water over that speculation, telling the Irish Daily Star: “He is an Ireland player and that’s who he wants to play for.
“It’s all rubbish. He wants to play in the first-team for Ireland and so do all his family.”
27/01/2010, 12:33 PM
Brief mention of this last night on Off The Ball: http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/
Click Off The Ball -> Tuesday 26th -> Part 3 and it's in the roundup around the 7 minute mark
Basically it's a non-story and McCarthy is only ever going to play with Ireland
Duggie
27/01/2010, 12:41 PM
just get him in and make him certain hes part of the longterm plan, thats what i say trap.
Its all rubbish. He wants to play in the first-team for Ireland and so do all his family.
Nice! I wonder if his mum is any good.
Yard of Pace
27/01/2010, 5:40 PM
just get him in and make him certain hes part of the longterm plan, thats what i say trap.
A few people have been saying things like this but I have to say, if he wasn't so highly rated I think most here would be saying "let him hump off if he's not committed to us".
Personally, I say let him choose. We shouldn't be trying to tie lads to us just so they won't play for someone else. And we don't need to guarantee anyone a place in the team or in the squad. Doesn't matter who they are. If he wants to represent Scotland I would be disappointed but I would wish him the best of luck.
Another assist tonight, this lad may just well be the real deal we all hoped for.
I sincerely hope he doesnt do a U turn, nonetheless he certainly merits a call up to the first team squad for the next friendly, that should put any concerns to bed.
28/01/2010, 9:35 AM
i watched that on BBC1 and i didnt even konw he was playing. the red/orange jerseys must have confused me :D
twoenz
28/01/2010, 4:32 PM
i watched that on BBC1 and i didnt even konw he was playing. the red/orange jerseys must have confused me :D
He took the corner for the goal.
Is a call up to the Brazil game going to help us at all? It doesn't tie him at all. There's nothing to stop him or Scotland pushing the matter come September.
I think people are aware that it doesn't tie him to Ireland, but the idea is more to let him know that he's in the mind of the Irish management team and that he has a shot at getting into the team when the Euro Qualifiers come around, in the hopes that he will stick with Ireland.
Personally, I'd really hate to lose him at this stage, but if he wants to play for Ireland, he'll play for Ireland. If the rumours are true (and I don't think they are) and he does eventually line out for Scotland then fair play to him for having the courage to follow his heart and all the best to him.
Paulie
28/01/2010, 4:53 PM
Tuff Paddy over on YBIG, has just quoted James McCarthy reaffirming his commitment to Ireland. He has also stated that there will be an exclusive interview with James in tomorrow's Irish Examiner. I don't know Tuff Paddy but he/she seems to be a genuine fan and poster with some sort of inside track on this issue. I reckon that the information in this case is accurate.
boovidge
28/01/2010, 6:22 PM
YBIG would be great if it wasn't for the terrible forum software. Imagine being able to have a custom avatar though. Luxury. :rolleyes:
28/01/2010, 7:39 PM
James shouldn't even feel the need to reaffirm anything towards Irish fans. His word and actions have proved good enough.
Crosby87
29/01/2010, 2:20 AM
Tuff Paddy over on YBIG, has just quoted James McCarthy reaffirming his commitment to Ireland. He has also stated that there will be an exclusive interview with James in tomorrow's Irish Examiner. I don't know Tuff Paddy but he/she seems to be a genuine fan and poster with some sort of inside track on this issue. I reckon that the information in this case is accurate.
He spoke with James earlier in the week, see above....
Was there an interview with James in the Irish Examiner? Couldn't see anything on the site anyway.
Carrigaline
30/01/2010, 4:14 PM
Watched him play the entire 90 against Everton. Wigan were terrible and McCarthy wasn't great. Having said that, he was comfortable on the ball when he did have it, was always making himself available (unlike Gibson!) and worked hard throughout. He's definitely a better prospect than Gibson at this stage and will likely be in the regular for Ireland within a year or two.
The big question about McCarthy now is just how high of a level he can play at? We have an awful lot of central midfielders playing for lower-half Premier League teams, so it would be nice if we could have a midfielder playing for a team with European football under their belts. Jury is still out on whether McCarthy will be able for that level!
30/01/2010, 7:12 PM
Considering his agent's prowess, I'd say there are more than a few bigger clubs keeping an eye on his progress.
I think it will prove to be a very smart move by James to have signed for Wigan.
Crosby87
31/01/2010, 12:27 AM
Jury is still out on whether McCarthy will be able for that level!
B/C so many players his age start for a massive club playing in Europe.
Saying the jury is still out is like saying the sun comes up in the morning. I mean can he have a full season in the Prem first?
What other genius revelations do ya have? Is the ocean wet?
Condex
31/01/2010, 8:06 AM
THE FANS' PLAYER RATINGS AND VERDICT
Paul Farrington, Wiganer.net Everton are in form at the moment, so I think we did quite well. But it was the same old story. We played our possession game, but failed to convert no cutting edge. Caldwell seems like a good buy. He organised the defence quite well, though having said that we let in a stupid goal. James McCarthy seems decent. He looks like Steven Gerrard 10 years ago and plays like him
www.guardian.co.uk/football/2010/jan/30/wigan-athletic-everton-premier-league
05/02/2010, 9:35 AM
Tardelli: McCarthy could make senior bow against Brazil: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/tardelli-hints-at-senior-bow-for-mccarthy-amid-fears-of-ireland-uturn-2049438.html
Also mentions Coleman, and Greg Cunningham as possibilities in the squad
Martinez speaks
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/8504556.stm
Wigan's James McCarthy has been urged not to be swayed by others in deciding whether to remain with the Republic of Ireland or switch to Scotland.
Club manager Roberto Martinez says the Glasgow-born 19-year-old must listen to his heart after being approached by new Scotland coach Craig Levein.
"I spoke to James and told him he should not listen to anybody," Martinez told BBC Sport.
"You need to listen to your feeling about where you want to be playing."
McCarthy has played five times for the Republic's Under-21s having qualified for them through a Donegal-born grandfather.
I know that in Scotland they made a huge meal out of it and they let him know how they felt and probably that could make a bearing on his decision
Wigan manager Roberto Martinez
He has also become a first-team regular in recent weeks for Wigan following his £1.2m summer move from Hamilton Academical.
And Levein, who has launched a search for new talent with Scottish connections, made a fresh attempt to persuade the midfielder to switch allegiances before a likely first senior appearance confirms his future with Ireland.
But Levein last week reported that he "didn't receive any encouragement" on that front from the player who previously rejected an approach from Scotland in 2008.
"It is important for any player as representing your country is probably where you are going to be achieving your biggest memories of your career going into World Cups or European Championships," said Martinez.
"But I have said to James he needs to make his own decision.
"The moment you allow people to influence your decision, you are going to make a wrong decision."
McCarthy's choice led to media criticism and chanting from rival fans while playing in the Scottish Premier League for Hamilton, whose manager, Billy Reid criticised the Scotland set-up for failing to choose the midfielder at youth level.
MY SPORT: DEBATE
Give your reaction to McCarthy's choice
"He is playing for the Under-21s for Republic of Ireland and he has a clear idea of that at the moment," said Martinez.
"He has played in Scotland for many years, so he understands the football feeling around that country, so I am sure James will come up with the right decision
"I think he should not listen to anyone; maybe his mum and maybe his environment.
"But I know that in Scotland they made a huge meal out of it and they let him know how they felt when he chose Republic of Ireland and probably that could make a bearing on his decision.
"But James is a very mature boy. He is an impressive character and, if he listens to his feeling, he will make the right decision."
dan o d
08/02/2010, 5:23 PM
i never thought for a second that we would end up losing more players than we would gain from this new fifa nationality rule!
08/02/2010, 10:59 PM
Wigan midfielder McCarthy says no to Scotland
http://sport.stv.tv/football/155691-wigan-midfielder-mccarthy-says-no-to-scotland/
So that's settled then.
Jacky08
09/02/2010, 7:26 AM
We should cap the lad to let him then concentrate on his football and end this debate once and for all
Junior
09/02/2010, 9:11 AM
Technically the debate could only be ended when he gets his first competitive cap - September 2010 at the earliest.
Though, I dont think Levein will push it, if McCarthy has said there is no decision to make. It will just be the Scottish Redtops and theres nothing you can do about that type of $hite
seanfhear
09/02/2010, 9:19 AM
I know by the letter of the law playing against Brazil in our next friendly would not tie him to us categorically
but when you play against Brazil in an International match that is as high profile as it comes for a friendly and it is my belief that though it would not put the matter to bed for the anoraks (i.e. most if not all of us) then for most people that would be that.
Even though we have gladly accepted players that have played lower level matches for other countries we have never (to my mind) had a player that played in such a high profile match for another country.