View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104

26/01/2011, 12:08 AM
i wouldnt hold my breath. Its the second or third empty yet definitive statement that CR has made in this thread with no source or reference.

Scooby Doo
26/01/2011, 12:26 AM
i wouldnt hold my breath. Its the second or third empty yet definitive statement that CR has made in this thread with no source or reference.
Yeah, no harm to you CR, but the succession of flimsy assertions that McCarthy has switched sides is starting to p!ss me off. Either provide a source/evidence/some slight hint that this is the case or get off the pot!

26/01/2011, 1:10 AM
“It’s too tight,” Trapattoni said of his decision to leave the 20-year-old out. “He only just returned from injury the other day.”

So no indication he had made himself unavailable for selection, if he has he certainly has not told Trap.

I would not believe 100% of what CR posts, and I have my doubts about the second 0 in that statement.

Fitzy
26/01/2011, 9:04 AM
I have lost all patience with Trap's refusal to see that James McCarthy is the best central midfielder that we have available to us. He should have been capped against Andorra to tie him to Ireland for ever, and avoid losing him to Scotland. He is in a different league to the likes of Green, Whelan or Andrews and should be one of the first names on the team sheet. Craig Levein will try and get McCarthy to change his mind and play for Scotland, and we could lose one of the best midfield prospects since Roy Keane if we're not careful. Trap also shouldn't be calling up the likes of Kilbane, McShane, Green or Keogh, when there are clearly better alternatives out there. We haven't got a huge pool of talent to draw players from, so it is disgraceful that Trap continues to ignore the likes of McCarthy, Andy Reid, Delap and Ward.

SwanVsDalton
26/01/2011, 10:05 AM
Yes, as it indicates an absolute lack of awareness about the state of your players. Most people are as anxious to have Meyler in the squad as they are to have McCarthy there. The McCarthy issue is different though given the fact that he may revert to Scotland.

I wouldn't - Meyler's just back from a serious injury and has already broken down. It would be risky - and probably reckless - to include him. Hypothetically obviously. McCarthy's said nothing to indicate he would switch and maintained his commitment. The risk is there, but is more speculative than probable surely?

I'm clamoring for some degree of consistency or transparency in his selection policy. The fitness thing doesn't hold water when in the past he's included off the top of my head Andrews, Foley O'Shea and Duff whilst they were injured or had fitness issues. (The seniority of O'Shea and Duff can be argued as justification I suppose). I'm sure there's more examples though.

I'm devil's advocating here - cos I'd love to see him in the squad - but McCarthy's just back from a three month lay-off from a particularly nasty ligament injury. Most of the above instances involved knocks (Andrews, Foley) or were senior established players (O'Shea, Duff) so don't see them as comparable.

26/01/2011, 10:17 AM
i think you're right SvD. Foley is a good example - he's recovering after a short layoff. Picking McCarthy for this game wouldn't tie him anyway.

Given that he's clearly fit enough to play and score in the EPL he's obviously fit enough to play a game in 2 weeks. If he was to be injured again though, both he and Wigan would be furious. It's very frustrating but it looks like McCarthy won't figure in this campaign until the very late stages at best.

The insistance that Coleman is a full-back only beggars belief.

Razors left peg
26/01/2011, 10:23 AM
The insistance that Coleman is a full-back only beggars belief.

That and the insistance that McCarthy is a type of Steven Ireland type who can only play behind the front man. Anyone who has watched him consistantly knows how good defensively he is too. Proper box to box midfielder.

third policeman
26/01/2011, 10:42 AM
I have lost all patience with Trap's refusal to see that James McCarthy is the best central midfielder that we have available to us. He should have been capped against Andorra to tie him to Ireland for ever, and avoid losing him to Scotland. He is in a different league to the likes of Green, Whelan or Andrews and should be one of the first names on the team sheet. Craig Levein will try and get McCarthy to change his mind and play for Scotland, and we could lose one of the best midfield prospects since Roy Keane if we're not careful. Trap also shouldn't be calling up the likes of Kilbane, McShane, Green or Keogh, when there are clearly better alternatives out there. We haven't got a huge pool of talent to draw players from, so it is disgraceful that Trap continues to ignore the likes of McCarthy, Andy Reid, Delap and Ward.

Spot on post Fitzy. Trap's stubbornness is now bordering on a serious mental disorder. There is a well know tendency for football mangers to make perverse selections in order to demonstrate their genius and ability to see what the rest of us cannot possibly perceive. This is simply not tenable for us given the unfathomable gulf that separates our best most / promising players from the medocrities who are selected in their place. The omission of McCarthy (following numerous previous snubs) is a gross dereliction of professional responsibility by Trapp and a potential disaster if he decides to defect to Scotland.

Sullivinho
26/01/2011, 11:13 AM
I have lost all patience with Trap's refusal to see that James McCarthy is the best central midfielder that we have available to us. He should have been capped against Andorra to tie him to Ireland for ever, and avoid losing him to Scotland. He is in a different league to the likes of Green, Whelan or Andrews and should be one of the first names on the team sheet. Craig Levein will try and get McCarthy to change his mind and play for Scotland, and we could lose one of the best midfield prospects since Roy Keane if we're not careful. Trap also shouldn't be calling up the likes of Kilbane, McShane, Green or Keogh, when there are clearly better alternatives out there.

I share that sentiment/frustration except I don't believe for a second that McCarthy will switch to Scotland. Not too long ago he had a courtesy meeting with Levein, politely declined his offer and shortly after released a statement reassuring Irish fans of his commitment. Not a single mumble of discontent from the lad and in fairness, he'd be entitled to one. A class act. Even if he does feel shunned by Trap, I reckon he'd be prepared to wait the Italian out.

However my concern that Trap was punishing McCarthy for resting himself has been replaced with the prospect that he doesn't see him fitting into his notorious system. That would be hugely worrying.

26/01/2011, 11:16 AM
That and the insistance that McCarthy is a type of Steven Ireland type who can only play behind the front man. Anyone who has watched him consistantly knows how good defensively he is too. Proper box to box midfielder.
Cop on Razor.
Trapattoni said: “McCarthy can play right, left. I saw him two or three times. I’d like to ask him which position he likes. He can play behind the striker, sometimes left, sometimes right — we need to look at his quality and personality.
“Sure he has talent — like Rivera, Mazzola, they became very great with experience. They had good quality. It’s important when this personality develops. He’s fast and confident on the ball. He could be important for us."

Razors left peg
26/01/2011, 11:22 AM
Cop on Razor.
Trapattoni said: “McCarthy can play right, left. I saw him two or three times. I’d like to ask him which position he likes. He can play behind the striker, sometimes left, sometimes right — we need to look at his quality and personality.
“Sure he has talent — like Rivera, Mazzola, they became very great with experience. They had good quality. It’s important when this personality develops. He’s fast and confident on the ball. He could be important for us."

I dont see anywhere in that quote saying hes a center midfielder

Crosby87
26/01/2011, 11:54 AM
Any new news today as if there is anything more to this story?

26/01/2011, 2:58 PM
He's taken to wearing a kilt in training.

Noelys Guitar
26/01/2011, 3:22 PM
Very worrying development at Wigan training today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHazjddi_qM

TrapAPony
26/01/2011, 3:35 PM
He's taken to wearing a kilt in training.

Wouldn't be surprised considering James McArthur & Gary and Steve Caldwell are there.

27/01/2011, 5:20 PM
McCarthy named in U21 squad for Cyprus friendly: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101512&catid=3&Itemid=11

Noelys Guitar
27/01/2011, 5:54 PM
McCarthy named in U21 squad for Cyprus friendly: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101512&catid=3&Itemid=11
No this is getting ridiculous and someone is taking the ****. This is all going to come to a head if McCarthy is not included in the senior squad. And I don't mean the provisional squad. As far as I'm concerned Trapatonni's job is on the line here. Either he calls McCarthy into the senior squad or he can pack his bags.

Razors left peg
27/01/2011, 6:11 PM
Fit enough for the u21s but not the seniors.... total and utter bullsh1t of the highest order

AlaskaFox
27/01/2011, 8:30 PM
Better than the Scotland u21 side...

gastric
27/01/2011, 8:33 PM
Better than the Scotland u21 side...

What if he did join the Scottish U21s? I think Trap's position would be become like Brian Cowen's - untenable!

mark12345
27/01/2011, 8:43 PM
I agree totally. I sort of took a step back after having a go at Trap because he failed to include McCarthy in the first place, and then was slightly encouraged when I saw him comparing him to Mazzola and Rivera (which is high praise and would sort of indicate that he has plans for him). But in all honesty when I saw him being picked for the U-21's (fit enough for them but not for the senior side as someone put it) then that makes a mockery of it all. Either someone is feeding Trap a ration of bad information regarding our James or he is otherwise mis-informed, but he needs to right this wrong as quickly as possible (like for the Wales game). My faith in Trap is at a real low point.

27/01/2011, 8:47 PM
I think everyone is seeing the way few of us saw it a while ago.

I cant remember the last time, I was actually really happy with an 11 by any manager, that includes staunton, kerr, trap and mccarthy, not maybe his whole tenure but there is always one or two.

I often wonder, do managers actually really know that much? What do they actually do(International)? Because the coach does all the work in training, sets up everything, does the drills etc etc. Manager picks and motivates players, team talks?

Noelys Guitar
28/01/2011, 5:01 AM
Local Wigan paper on McCarthy's performance against Aston Villa with McCarthy comments.
http://www.wigantoday.net/sport/wigan-athletic/home_james_1_2978348

28/01/2011, 11:37 AM
James to be rested this weekend: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/fa_cup/9379061.stm

James McCarthy and Franco Di Santo are rested after recent injuries

28/01/2011, 12:59 PM
from greenscene.me's twitter feed: http://twitter.com/#!/GreenSceneDotMe/status/30971985060171778

Hearing that James McCarthy may well be drafted into the senior squad.

I believe there's something about it in today's star?

AlaskaFox
28/01/2011, 1:25 PM
Yeah, haven't seen it myself but think that it says Trap didn't realise he was as fit as he is, so now wants to call him up.

Also, GS posted this massive selection of McCarthy quotes:
http://greenscene.me/2011/01/trapattoni-and-mccarthy-in-quotes/

Razors left peg
28/01/2011, 3:53 PM
If Trap didnt realise he was fit enough to be included doesnt that say more about Traps lack of work that he couldnt even be bothered to pick up the phone to ring the Wigan manager to find out before he picked the squad. Rather than congratulate him on calling up McCarthy better late than never he could be called up on his laziness in the first place

28/01/2011, 10:22 PM
I wonder who is in charge of FAI operations in Britain.

Opps, a chap by the name of Don Givens. Hmme, where did I hear of him before.

theworm2345
29/01/2011, 5:28 AM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/mccarthy-happy-with-senior-snub-2515057.html

TrapAPony
29/01/2011, 10:19 PM
I doubt this has an ounce of truth but it would be great to see it happen.
http://www.people.co.uk/sport/football/football-hotline/2011/01/30/carlo-ancelotti-in-shock-move-for-latics-youngster-james-mccarthy-102039-22884862/
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Transfer-news-Chelsea-want-6m-Wigan-midfield-maestro-James-McCarthy-article685319.html

gastric
29/01/2011, 10:58 PM
I doubt this has an ounce of truth but it would be great to see it happen.
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Transfer-news-Chelsea-want-6m-Wigan-midfield-maestro-James-McCarthy-article685319.html
I disagree with you unfortunately Trap, he might then just be turned into the next Damien Duff and warm the bench. At least at Wigan he is getting regular football.

Supreme feet
30/01/2011, 2:46 AM
And we already have Conor Clifford at Chelsea!

CraftyToePoke
30/01/2011, 4:01 AM
And we already have Conor Clifford at Chelsea!

I dont see Cliffords future at Chelsea, hope I'm wrong, but two other academy midfielders have seen first team action this season, who he would once have been ahead of, McEachran and one other whos name escapes me, while he was loaned to League 1. And all this while Lampard was crocked also.

31/01/2011, 1:09 AM
Different types of player, to be fair. Clifford's game's more physical so he would need a little more development than a skill merchant like McEachran. I think with the clock ticking on a couple of Chelsea's midfielders and Mikel out of favour he could get a chance to impress next season. Depends on whether Abramovich decided to open his wallet too, I guess, but Ancelotti seems to like Clifford.

01/02/2011, 7:07 PM
Starts for Wigan tonight. On Sky Sports so worth a look. They are already a goal down.

01/02/2011, 8:27 PM
off after 64 mins.

Scooby Doo
01/02/2011, 9:35 PM
off after 64 mins.
Didn't see game. Not injured I hope!!??

01/02/2011, 10:07 PM
Clifford's game's more physical so he would need a little more development than a skill merchant like McEachran. I thought Clifford was all about skill, not physicality, no? He's only about 5 foot 4 and makes David Connolly look like Niall Quinn.

02/02/2011, 1:10 AM
Ah he's average height to be honest - maybe a little short for a midfielder but by no means small. Physical wasn't the word I should have used, just that he throws his weight around and would require more physical endurance. McEachran's more the type to sit and cover short distances, like a Carrick-type I suppose.

Yard of Pace
02/02/2011, 1:29 AM
Don't think McCarthy was injured, though I was out making tea at the time. It was a bit of a crazy match and he struggled somewhat to impose himself. That said, Wigan were really on top in the first half so he was doing something right. He works hard anyhow and tracks opposition runners well. To think he couldn't do the same job as Green, Andrews or Whelan is crazy from what I can see. He was fouled when WBA got their first by the way but the ref played on.

02/02/2011, 9:19 AM
I thought Clifford was all about skill, not physicality, no? He's only about 5 foot 4 and makes David Connolly look like Niall Quinn.
one quick google later, and the average result seems to be 5 foot 8 - http://www.google.com/search?q=conor+clifford+height

02/02/2011, 9:19 AM
one quick google later, and the average result seems to be 5 foot 8 - http://www.google.com/search?q=conor+clifford+height

Google is a great, easy tool to use isn't it?

02/02/2011, 9:40 AM
Google is a great, easy tool to use isn't it?
takes one to know one Paul!

02/02/2011, 9:51 AM
takes one to know one Paul!

That wasn't on you tets ;)

02/02/2011, 10:25 AM

From your own summary of the Ireland v Estonia U21 game:

Clifford was on the right, wearing number 10. He was playing in front of where I was sitting in the second half. I didn't realise it before but he's actually tiny, the jersey seemed too big for him a few times!

02/02/2011, 10:31 AM
So tets contradicts himself and loses a discussion/assertion against himself by backing it up with facts :D Brilliant.

02/02/2011, 11:05 AM
From your own summary of the Ireland v Estonia U21 game:
I know, I meant to comment on that. Maybe he just seemed smaller next to McCarthy and Garvan?

02/02/2011, 11:08 AM
OK, so he's not small, just small compared to other footballers! Which, for a footballer, makes him small.

02/02/2011, 3:23 PM
Saw most the game last night and certainly wouldnt have said James was excellent or stood out. However I will say that once he went off that Wigans midfield was no where near as good as it had been in the first half. James came off after about 60 mins, Martinez appears to be easing the lad back, appears to be a good solid manager to have. Take note Steve Bruce.

02/02/2011, 4:22 PM
promoted to the senior squad according to Ken Early: http://twitter.com/#!/kenearlys/statuses/32849078249324545

james mccarthy has been called up to the senior ireland squad. keith fahey and anthony stokes (?!) demoted to standby.
although the second part, if true, is baffling