View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
Hibs4Ever
21/05/2011, 8:06 AM
Valued at 20m by Wigan
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1389254/Chelsea-Liverpool-told-cough-20m-Wigan-midfielder-James-McCarthy.html
gastric
21/05/2011, 8:51 AM
Probably a bit of a beatup story, but the links with Liverpool and Chelsea continue to materialise.
Bungle
21/05/2011, 9:45 AM
If Wigan go down, Liverpool will get him for about 10 million. I think McCarthy is good enough to break into an ageing Chelsea team next season, but I think he's a lad who would prefer Liverpool, as I believe he likes to go back to Scotland alot. I'd love him at Liverpool.
Have to say I'm really surprised that United haven't been linked with him.
AlaskaFox
21/05/2011, 10:27 AM
I expect the likes of Fulham or Stoke to sign him for 6m rather than Chelsea or Liverpool for 10+
Valued at 20m by Wigan
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1389254/Chelsea-Liverpool-told-cough-20m-Wigan-midfielder-James-McCarthy.html
he'll be priced out of a move if they hold firm on that. Dont think he's the type to slap in a transfer request if things dont go his way.
(why do players always slap in tranfer requests?)
23/05/2011, 8:12 AM
I expect the likes of Fulham or Stoke to sign him for 6m rather than Chelsea or Liverpool for 10+
a bit of realism at last. he is completely uproven and any time I saw him play this season he was only adequate.
time will tell how good he is but for now the jury is still out
Hibs4Ever
23/05/2011, 8:39 AM
a bit of realism at last. he is completely uproven and any time I saw him play this season he was only adequate.
time will tell how good he is but for now the jury is still out
How many Wigan games you been at?
SwanVsDalton
23/05/2011, 8:56 AM
(why do players always slap in tranfer requests?)
It's a slap in the teeth for the club and fans? Or the player is a bit of a slapper for flirting with other teams?
23/05/2011, 9:13 AM
I'm happy for him to stay at Wigan for another season. He's established himself in the Premier League of the last two seasons, and been linked with higher profile clubs, and is still only 20. Another season of first team football, and he'll be ready for a higher level.
dr_peepee
23/05/2011, 9:40 AM
Another season at Wigan would do him no harm alright..... But the noises being made by Wigan say to me they're looking to cash in. (Maybe they were hedging their bets in the event of a potential de value after a relegation. I dunno.)
Sullivinho
23/05/2011, 9:51 AM
The £20 million price tag mentioned last week is outlandish but I reckon there'l definitely be interest from mid to upper ranking clubs. He'd be ideal for someone like Villa if they were looking to replace Petrov. There's a few more about like that whose legs have similarly gone.
CraftyToePoke
23/05/2011, 2:03 PM
Another season at Wigan would do him no harm alright..... But the noises being made by Wigan say to me they're looking to cash in. (Maybe they were hedging their bets in the event of a potential de value after a relegation. I dunno.)
I think you are right, another season in the prem at Wigan will do him fine, a move to a top champoins league chasing club may not be on the cards for him just yet, if at all, and apart from a handfull of sides, Everton, Villa and the likes, he is as well off at Wigan as most other sides in the division are one bad managerial appointment, or bad run of form away from relegation, much as Wigan themselves.
The Liverpool link is interesting though, with their previous links to him.
23/05/2011, 4:26 PM
Over on another message board they are claiming he never showed up for Trap today.
23/05/2011, 7:42 PM
I just got a text from a mate to the same effect. McCarthy has not turned up and has not notified anyone.
Thankk Jaysus we capped him against Macedonia :)
The lad was well entitled to head out and celebrate staying up with Wigan, but not much to ask him to let Trap know that he wouldnt be over till Tues/Wed.
tommy_c12000
23/05/2011, 7:47 PM
At the Wigan's Award night, McCarthy won the Young Player of the Year award, the goal of the year award (V Blackburn) and came 3rd in the Player of the Year section behind Al-Habsi and N'Zogbia.
All the more impressive considering his prolonged absence mid-season. Granted he had a poor end to the season, he was immense for large parts of it and overall had a great season in the premier league for a 20yr old.
http://www.wiganlatics.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10429~2362749,00.html
23/05/2011, 8:34 PM
from Sky Sports' Enda Brady's twitter feed: http://twitter.com/#!/endabrady/status/72756752768180225
For everyone asking about Ireland's James McCarthy, he went over on his ankle yesterday and had a scan on it today.
23/05/2011, 11:01 PM
this is less encouraging
a poster on ybig.ie linked to chantelee_96's account on twitter. Specifically this post: http://twitter.com/#!/chantellee96/status/72768027120250880
James McCarthy the little party animal dancing on tables telling bouncers to fk off and buying 10 budwisers every time he went to the bar x
I did some digging around online and came up with the following
from the Wigan forum on footymad: http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=558&fid=516&sty=2&act=1&mid=2117429657
Latics Players Chicago Rock Last Night! ...
Some of our fabulous Latics Players were in Chicago Rock Last Night! And there was some great celebrations, they were singing and dancing with all the Wiganers and it rounded off a brilliant day………The Champaign bottles were pop-in!Chicago Rock is a cafe/nightclub chain in England, with a place in Wigan
from the Wigan forum on vitalfootball: http://www.wigan.vitalfootball.co.uk/forum/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=14929&posts=4
Went out celebrating with my mate last might round town, just about to leave the Chicago Rock, then in comes Gary and Steve Cladwell, James Mccarthy, Ben Watson, Chris Kirky and MIke Pollit.
I got in at 4 and am in big trouble with him in doors.
BELTING NIGHT THOUGH.
The Fly
23/05/2011, 11:06 PM
At least we know how he did his ankle.
23/05/2011, 11:09 PM
more from the same user on twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/chantellee96/status/72799167726104577
James McCarthy in King Street last night unfortunately not dancing on tables but aaahhh well ♥
http://desmond.yfrog.com/Himg620/scaled.php?tn=0&server=620&filename=ixyfm.jpg&xsize=480&ysize=480
Irwin3
23/05/2011, 11:21 PM
Does the word unprofessional even cover this?
DannyInvincible
23/05/2011, 11:30 PM
So is the ankle scan story a "cover-up" for a pretty bad hangover?
23/05/2011, 11:49 PM
Twisted his ankle when the bouncers threw him out!! :rofl:
Scooby Doo
24/05/2011, 12:29 AM
Very disappointing if true - not the fact that he allegedly went on the lash, but that he supposedly made zero effort to speak with Trap and the FAI.
I'm very excited about James being an important player for us but if all this is true then he can fook off till he cops himself on as far as I'm concerned.
Many of us would give our left one to get five minutes in the green at Lansdowne!
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 12:33 AM
Article by Ewan Murray in the Guardian: http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/may/23/james-mccarthy-ireland-nations-cup
"Somebody has been called up and hasn't answered yet," Trapattoni said. "I will not say that name." The manager said a 10-day period of non-communication had taken place.
The player's identity emerged as McCarthy.
There's also the suggestion McCarthy wouldn't be keen to represent Scotland on Sunday for reasons that I suppose are understandable given the history but the least he could have done would have been to discuss his issues with Trap first. I'm sure Trap would have listened to his concerns, if it is indeed the case that having to play against Scotland would have been a concern.
Scooby Doo
24/05/2011, 12:35 AM
Also, in this clip James confirms his intention to 'have a good celebration' on Sunday night. Again, the celebrating is not the issue, it is the lack of professionalism that he has demonstrated - assuming that reports that he has not contacted Trap or the FAI since are true.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6946170,00.html
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 12:42 AM
They've this (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1390225/Gone-AWOL-Wigans-McCarthy-goes-missing-Republic-Ireland-squad.html?ito=feeds-newsxml) in the Daily Mail.
http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/05/24/article-1390225-0B748F9A00000578-742_468x286.jpg
Taking the Mc: The Wigan defender has angered Ireland boss Trapattoni
Isn't that Gary Caldwell? :confused:
24/05/2011, 12:48 AM
Selecting the date for the game against NI, just 2 days after the crucial end of season games, is the main madness.
24/05/2011, 6:33 AM
It's a communications issue again, but yes, it's daft to expect guys who were involved in a virtual cup final late afternoon on Sunday to be here for a friendly on Tuesday.
republicofwhite
24/05/2011, 7:33 AM
AFAIK, He doesn't drink, or didn't drink before up until recently... Slippery slope?
24/05/2011, 8:32 AM
I suppose at least Stokes had the decency to say he wasn't coming over.
24/05/2011, 8:55 AM
McCarthy likely to miss all the upcoming games due to an ankle injury (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0524/mccarthyj.html) according to RTE, citing "sources close to the player".
24/05/2011, 9:42 AM
There's also the suggestion McCarthy wouldn't be keen to represent Scotland on Sunday for reasons that I suppose are understandable given the history but the least he could have done would have been to discuss his issues with Trap first. I'm sure Trap would have listened to his concerns, if it is indeed the case that having to play against Scotland would have been a concern.
That's a load of blx if you ask me. Did Ray Houghton not bother to turn up against Scotland? Does Aiden McGeady not bother to turn up against Scotland? If you want to play for Scotland, play for them. If you want to play for Ireland, you turn up on call and you put your personal issues to one side for 90 minutes.
From watching him against Macedonia, I can't say he impressed me. But there's a touch of the "Stephen Ireland's" about this. I don't accept the reasoning. What happens if he has to play against an ex-club, or a team where he lived before. Does he pull out of them too?
yes, it's daft to expect guys who were involved in a virtual cup final late afternoon on Sunday to be here for a friendly on Tuesday.
And when there's 3 points and a trophy at stake at the weekend, it's daft to call tonight's derby a "friendly".
24/05/2011, 9:53 AM
From watching him against Macedonia, I can't say he impressed me . neither can I ...but that's because it's impossible to evaluate a three minute cameo unless the guy scores a hat-trick.
And when there's 3 points and a trophy at stake at the weekend, it's daft to call tonight's derby a "friendly".
What!?! Oh so now this competition means something?
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 10:06 AM
That's a load of blx if you ask me. Did Ray Houghton not bother to turn up against Scotland? Does Aiden McGeady not bother to turn up against Scotland? If you want to play for Scotland, play for them. If you want to play for Ireland, you turn up on call and you put your personal issues to one side for 90 minutes.
Aye, to be honest, I wouldn't make much of such an excuse either. It's probably just people in the media trying to put two and two together without having actually heard from McCarthy himself. There's been nothing to indicate that McCarthy said he'd be reluctant to face Scotland.
Junior
24/05/2011, 10:26 AM
Lads, a bit of kop on please. Did we not just have all this type of crap for the last 12 months? Now McCarthy is a fully capped Irish International (For what its worth, I never thought there would be some u-turn to Scotland) posters are getting all upset by a few unsubstantiated sensational media headlines. McCarthy would be more than capable and willing to face Scotland, that is not the issue. Now whether its injury or over doing it with the celebrations on his clubs great result on Sunday I dont know but do we really need to start effing and jeffing the lad already?
24/05/2011, 10:47 AM
Junior,
The squad was announced weeks ago. The following quote is from an article published this morning;
"McCarthy has still not spoken to the FAI and there has been no communication between the player and the organisation or the Ireland boss."
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0524/mccarthyj.html
McCarthy hasn't contacted anyone connected with the FAI since the start of May.
Junior
24/05/2011, 11:01 AM
Sorry my poorly written post didnt make it clear. I agree non-communication is unprofessional and inexcusable really with agents, clubs PR & Medical teams (though Wigans has been found wanting in the past in fairness) there to ensure this doesnt happen. Or even little old James himself, should have ensured the FAI were completely up to speed with what was happening.
However a little perspective is required. I havent read the article but it still seems to be a tad sensational based on the lines you extracted. Im not sure McCarthy needed to contact anyone 'since the start of May'. Surely it was only once he was injured (Sunday) or went on his little celebratory bender (Monday morning) that he should have contacted the FAI? So we are probably talking 24hrs at the most and Im sure contact has now been made.
Its the more sensational nonsense I was referring to though, the 'reluctance to face Scotland' comparisons to 'Stephen Ireland', 'slippery slope' etc..... James had probably the biggest game of his career to date on Sunday which meant the Carling Cup was rightly not at the top of his agenda.
24/05/2011, 11:05 AM
Tony O'D was his usual smug self on Morning Ireland today. He commented on the McCarthy situation, took the **** then out of Keith Andrews.
24/05/2011, 11:07 AM
McCarthy hasn't contacted anyone connected with the FAI since the start of May.When is he supposed to make contact? Do you accept a call up or just say nothing unless you're dropping out? My guess is that he'd only be expected to have made contact in the last two days, so the "all of May" thing is misleading.
24/05/2011, 11:09 AM
Two things for sure,
McCarthy hasn't turned up and fans need to have a stockpile of salt when reading newspaper accounts of what might have transpired.
24/05/2011, 11:16 AM
There just seems to be a general air of disquiet around the Irish squad in recent times. Its not good, not healthy and I dont like it. Its a far cry from the spirit we had in Paris not that long ago.
In most cases I stand by Traps stand on discipline but I think a bit more can be done to keep this sort of stuff in house.
24/05/2011, 11:18 AM
from Enda Brady's twitter feed: https://twitter.com/#!/endabrady/status/72976098308272128
re James McCarthy and #Ireland (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23Ireland) - the #FAI (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23FAI) were told on Sunday that he was going for a scan on his ankle.
24/05/2011, 11:26 AM
The communication issues within the FAI are almost beyond belief at this point if it's true that they were informed on Sunday that McCarthy was going for a scan. It's way beyond amature, there should be a few people worried about their jobs at this stage.
24/05/2011, 11:45 AM
When is he supposed to make contact? Do you accept a call up or just say nothing unless you're dropping out? My guess is that he'd only be expected to have made contact in the last two days, so the "all of May" thing is misleading.
"Wigan were notified by fax of his call-up as far back as May 4. .......... An FAI source also said that numerous attempts had been made to contact the player since the latest squad was announced at the start of the month."
http://www.examiner.ie/sport/mccarthy-fails-to-answer-call-155600.html
24/05/2011, 11:46 AM
The communication issues within the FAI are almost beyond belief at this point if it's true that they were informed on Sunday that McCarthy was going for a scan. It's way beyond amature, there should be a few people worried about their jobs at this stage.
Except of course those that will never be worried despite the incompetence.
Eminence Grise
24/05/2011, 12:07 PM
"Wigan were notified by fax of his call-up as far back as May 4.l[/url]
How very ... twentieth century. Surely it's not beyond imagination that somebody in the FAI might have the cop-on to use more modern technology like ... oooh e-mails and follow up with a bleeding phone call?
SwanVsDalton
24/05/2011, 12:13 PM
How very ... twentieth century. Surely it's not beyond imagination that somebody in the FAI might have the cop-on to use more modern technology like ... oooh e-mails and follow up with a bleeding phone call?
They're claiming they did seven or eight times. Though, if Enda Brady is to be believed, they couldn't deliver a note to Trap's office on Monday morning...
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 12:45 PM
Typical FAI balls-up then? Much ado about nothing.
The above just said he was going to have a scan. There is still nothing to suggest that the FAI/ Trap were actually told he wasn't going to turn up.