View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
Fixer82
24/08/2011, 1:29 PM
Shane Long and Simon Cox in the squad also.
Jaysus thank God. I got a fright there
AlaskaFox
24/08/2011, 1:50 PM
I hope McCarthy does well for King next month now. It'd be perfect for all the naysayers.
IsMiseSean
24/08/2011, 2:15 PM
I hope McCarthy does well for King next month now. It'd be perfect for all the naysayers.
If he decides to show up??
tommy_c12000
24/08/2011, 2:20 PM
I would be shocked if McCarthy turned up and played for the U21s.
My own take on this situation is:
Rewind 6 months ago, McCarthy was playing really well and looking like a great prospect. I really felt that he could make an immediate impact in the Irish midfiled. If he hadn't made the 25 for 2 crucial qualifying games, I would have been calling for Trap's head.
Fastforward 6 months, McCarthy has done nothing since scoring two in the Blackburn game. He looked awful in the final 3 games of the season that I saw him in. He has continued his poor form in pre-season by all accounts, and he has been one of Wigan's poorest performers in the first two games of the season. At the moment he would have little or no impact in our midfield IMO, so I'm not too bothered with him being left out.
Until Clark is a proper regular in the Villa team, I wouldn't get too excited about his ommission either. Two players who can feel most aggrieved are Wilson and Joey O'Brien. Those two are playing some good football at the moment, and certainly merit a place in the squad of 25 ahead of Stephen Kelly among others
24/08/2011, 2:42 PM
I don't really agree Tommy (hope the exams went well btw)
Joey O'B has played about 5 games of football in 3 years, all this month. It's great that he is back. Would you seriously throw him in against Slovakia or Russia ahead of Kelly?
It's like the old Grolsch ad: "Schtop! This player is not ready yet".
If you look at the squad 12 or 16 months ago, and compare it to today's, you'll see that it has evolved quite considerably.As a consequence I have faith that McCarthy, Hoolahan, O'Brien, Wilson and others will get a chance to play themselves in, but that's exactly what they will have to do. Injuries may accelerate their call up, but for now it looks like February is their next window. Please God February will be our Euro warm up games.
tommy_c12000
24/08/2011, 6:06 PM
I don't really agree Tommy (hope the exams went well btw)
Joey O'B has played about 5 games of football in 3 years, all this month. It's great that he is back. Would you seriously throw him in against Slovakia or Russia ahead of Kelly?
Exams were ok, we'll see in a few wks cheers! I'm just not a fan of Kelly (he has never impressed me at senior level and has made some big mistakes), and he has yet to play any league football this season compared with the 360 minutes of league football O'Brien has clocked up! I acknowledge it wouldn't be too practical to leave the more experienced Kelly out for two crucial qualifiers so I have no qualms with Trap with that, but if John Delaney had the sense to give me the reigns to the Irish team, I'd go with O'Brien or Wilson as back up for O'Shea (I'd also have Ireland playing irresistable Catalonian-style football and I'd do it for half the cost).
weldoninhio
24/08/2011, 7:29 PM
Trap has no idea what he is doing!! Its like the emperors new clothes with the majority of us Paddys saying, well he won loads in the 80's so we are really lucky to have him. McCarthy should have been playing for Ireland ages ago but Trappatoni wouldn't call him up because he missed a few pointless end of season games after his first full premiership year. He got a bad knock in pre-season which led to him being pulled from the Croatia squad, which had the naysayers on here creaming themselves and looking for his head on a pike on O'Connell Bridge. Yes, he played in the Premiership after pulling out, but he is still not fit. Martinez has no option other than to play him as he has no other players as good as him.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0824/mccarthyj_ireland.html
if mccarthy pulls out of the u21 squad, you'd have to think that's the end of him as an international prospect for a couple of seasons.
i would say it's 50/50.
brine3
24/08/2011, 7:48 PM
Whatever about dropping him, but naming him in the U-21s is, well, stirring the ****.
Fixer82
24/08/2011, 8:11 PM
if he doesn't turn up he's proper f**ked
CraftyToePoke
24/08/2011, 10:06 PM
Whatever about dropping him, but naming him in the U-21s is, well, stirring the ****.
Bit of a pincer movement going on alright, will be very interesting to see what he does next, young James.
24/08/2011, 10:37 PM
I'd be surprised if he doesn't start.
Crosby87
24/08/2011, 10:40 PM
Yeah, what will he do. If he is serious about Intl play, he should turn up, put a smile on even if he is dreaming about getting back to beautiful Wigan the second he can, get back in the good graces, and move forward from there. Can't possibly stay Under Age 21 forever for ****s sake.
But I agree, if he begs off he might truly be thinking **** Intl play.
Soon we can field a whole team of guys who don't want to play or are in the doghouse and dont get picked to play the team we do have in a grudge match. Long Cox vs Irleand McCarthy, etc... It could raise the coffers of the FAI's wallet. They could have the match in a neutral site like Antarctica.
24/08/2011, 10:41 PM
Bit of a pincer movement going on alright, will be very interesting to see what he does next, young James.
I suspect he will be injured however I not advise it, better to turn up on a stretcher if he is.
25/08/2011, 8:16 AM
I reckon McGeady will withdraw from the senior squad and McCarthy will be called up as central midfield cover, with Fahey & Lawrence being promoted up the wide-midfield roster. McGeady never had any chance of making it and this is Trap's way of giving McCarthy the Robert de Niro fingers-to-eyes gesture, while still having him in the senior squad.
How's that for scheming?
Crosby87
25/08/2011, 11:20 AM
What is wrong with McG anyway. I forget.
SwanVsDalton
25/08/2011, 11:23 AM
What is wrong with McG anyway. I forget.
He really made a hash of that last Terminator movie.
Sullivinho
25/08/2011, 11:45 AM
McCarthy answers Ireland's U21 call-up (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/mccarthy-answers-irelands-u21-call-up-165376.html)
it’s understood that the player confirmed his intention to join up with the U21s when manager Noel King spoke with him on Tuesday to notify him of his selection
an_ceannaire
25/08/2011, 12:06 PM
Andrews and Lawrence are proven performers for us, how on earth is it "mind boggling" they would be preferred over guys who haven't proven a damn thing for Ireland like McCarthy, Wilson and Walters. And calling up Hoolihan for the tail end of a campaign he's had zero involvement with? Why, because he scored a goal for Norwich? Marvelous idea, you should look for a job at Sky with kneejerk hyberbolic reactions like that.
The mistake ye are all making is this. Ye seem to think McCarthy is bothered. I genuinely think he is on a self destruction mission. I think he has no interest in playing for Trap and is probably only too delighted to be dropped. I'd say he really couldnt care less.
25/08/2011, 12:14 PM
Looking forward to seeing him in action in Sligo
I reckon McGeady will withdraw from the senior squad and McCarthy will be called up as central midfield cover, with Fahey & Lawrence being promoted up the wide-midfield roster. McGeady never had any chance of making it and this is Trap's way of giving McCarthy the Robert de Niro fingers-to-eyes gesture, while still having him in the senior squad.
How's that for scheming?
I think this is likely to happen but one way or another he would want to show for either the U21s or the senior if called up.
Like in fairness, James is a great prospect, yes. But really is no more than that at the moment. I really want to see him do well and progress but hes hardly of such a talent right now (i.e. Roy Keane) that he would deserve special attention. Ive seen him play a few times and yes he looks good. But I havent seen anything to say he is going to be a world class player, not yet anyways. He is young and hopefully will progress, but he also needs to show respect to playing for Ireland, as do the certain others who have rather suspectly cried off in recent times.
25/08/2011, 2:25 PM
It's funny that only a few months ago people were hammering Trap for not calling him up senior squads when he'd already withdrawn from the U21s. How times change.
tommy_c12000
25/08/2011, 2:37 PM
It's funny that only a few months ago people were hammering Trap for not calling him up senior squads when he'd already withdrawn from the U21s. How times change.
The only thing that has changed for me is McCarthy's form in that time. He has been very poor in the last 6 mths and doesn't merit a place in the team for me. If he was presently in good form, I'd be back to hammering Trap for being so petulant!!
DannyInvincible
25/08/2011, 2:51 PM
The mistake ye are all making is this. Ye seem to think McCarthy is bothered. I genuinely think he is on a self destruction mission. I think he has no interest in playing for Trap and is probably only too delighted to be dropped. I'd say he really couldnt care less.
He's played for Trap on three occasions. If he had no interest in playing for us, why would he have bothered?
25/08/2011, 3:05 PM
If he couldn't care less, he wouldn't have declared in the first place.
26/08/2011, 9:44 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/aug/25/darron-gibson-manchester-united
With Darron Gibson injured, that's surely McCarthy's call up. The slap on the wrist has been given.
26/08/2011, 10:43 AM
He has to be called up now. There is a very real possibility Whelan will get a booking on Friday, which would mean a suspension.
tommy_c12000
27/08/2011, 10:45 AM
Dropped for today's game V QPR. No surprises there
greendeiseboy
27/08/2011, 12:30 PM
Dropped for today's game V QPR. No surprises there
Is he on the bench? If he's not it means he's injured as was reported during the week. Expect the customary withdrawl if so.
tommy_c12000
27/08/2011, 12:36 PM
Is he on the bench? If he's not it means he's injured as was reported during the week. Expect the customary withdrawl if so.
Ya he's on the bench alrite. Still no subs on
Predator
27/08/2011, 1:07 PM
I hope he turns up for the U21s, but I'm not sure where he'll fit in exactly, especially considering that he hasn't featured in any of the warm up games.
greendeiseboy
27/08/2011, 1:16 PM
Ya he's on the bench alrite. Still no subs on
Yip, just saw that, forgot it was an early kick off. Well he was obviously fit. The ball is firmly in his court now to show intent and show up for the match or if he's called up to the senior squad to do likewise.
No excuses now.
cufc champions
29/08/2011, 12:00 PM
Enda Brady reporting that James McCarhty has indeed joined up with the Irish u21's this morning.
Sullivinho
30/08/2011, 12:00 AM
McCarthy has no issue with manager (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0830/1224303189290.html)
“There was just a mix up. I was injured in the last game of the Premier League season and that was why I didn’t come across. Things may have been said in the paper but quotes can be taken out of context, too. I’ve no issue with anyone. I love playing for Ireland. And I’m happy to be here with the under-21s. I want to win as many caps as I can for the under-21s and seniors. It is my ambition to do as well as I can.”
Crosby87
30/08/2011, 1:08 AM
So it's cleared up again. Until something happens in the next 8 days to make it muddled of course. :skeleton::pizza::yin-yang:
30/08/2011, 8:22 AM
McCarthy dismisses talk of Trap rift ahead of U-21 qualifier campaign: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mccarthy-dismisses-talk-of-trap-rift-ahead-of-u21-qualifier-campaign-2860659.html
Sometimes I wonder do the media in this country just want to create trouble in the Irish camp. Headline on the sports news on today fm this morning, Trap warns Irish players about going drinking and breaking curfew. Now if you actually read the quotes what he said was he has no problem with lads having a few beers a good few days before the match once it is done within their rules. And he was responding to a journo's question - not like Trap started the conversation and was sending out a "warning" to the players.
Alf Honn
30/08/2011, 8:59 AM
Sometimes I wonder do the media in this country just want to create trouble in the Irish camp. Headline on the sports news on today fm this morning, Trap warns Irish players about going drinking and breaking curfew. Now if you actually read the quotes what he said was he has no problem with lads having a few beers a good few days before the match once it is done within their rules. And he was responding to a journo's question - not like Trap started the conversation and was sending out a "warning" to the players.
Not so, according to 2 papers.
Irish Times:
Trapattoni initially brought up the players’ behaviour without any prompting but the topic was revisited several times over the course of his first press conference of the week, in part because there seems to be little at this stage to be concerned about on the fitness front.
Examiner:
But, rather more unexpected, since he volunteered the information himself, was the revelation that the manager had called a meeting of the players before the recent friendly against Croatia in which he asked them to be more responsible about their drinking habits.
greendeiseboy
30/08/2011, 7:48 PM
Eh................"The young Scot".......you have to love the Indo
Fixer82
30/08/2011, 8:24 PM
Eh................"The young Scot".......you have to love the Indo
Well he is. i mean it doesn't make him less Irish. Aldridge is a Liverpudlian but still wouldn't debate his pride in playing for Ireland. These players are really dual nationality.
Just watch Townsend commentating on an England game ...the word 'we' is use a lot
AlaskaFox
31/08/2011, 9:13 AM
When Houghton scored that header against England in 88, I think Hamilton called him a Scot.
DannyInvincible
31/08/2011, 9:48 AM
When Houghton scored that "chipper" against Italy in '94, the ESPN commentator called us England. (Not sure what the moral of that is.)
31/08/2011, 10:32 AM
I think the moral of that story is that we need to find that footage on YouTube.
31/08/2011, 11:37 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXauYVy_dws
del_carroll
02/09/2011, 12:02 PM
"The second half was slightly scrappier than the first half but Ireland maintained their domination and had a strong penalty claim when it looked as if captain James McCarthy had been pulled down in the box, but the claims were waved away by the referee."
Got this off the web; apart from that contribution, does anyone have any info on how mccarthy performed during the week?
"The second half was slightly scrappier than the first half but Ireland maintained their domination and had a strong penalty claim when it looked as if captain James McCarthy had been pulled down in the box, but the claims were waved away by the referee."
Got this off the web; apart from that contribution, does anyone have any info on how mccarthy performed during the week?
Was listening to off the ball last night, some guy texted in his analysis. Brady looked sh*t hot, also notable performances from Barton and Murphy. McCarthy ok, some nice passes but didnt stand out.
Duggie
02/09/2011, 1:08 PM
in fairness dosent McCarthy always look a bit laboured, never seen him take hold of a game, not really that type. is he a bit over hyped??
boovidge
02/09/2011, 1:48 PM
When Houghton scored that "chipper" against Italy in '94, the ESPN commentator called us England. (Not sure what the moral of that is.)
Just makes me laugh thinking about that video.
shellyriver
02/09/2011, 2:34 PM
Yeah, McCarthy seemed a little anonymous in middle of park. Agree that he showed some nice passes but if you didn't know who he was before the game he'd certainly not be one to write home about. Brady played a great game -- just like the last U-21. Barton was good enough. Nos 3, 6 & 7 along with Brady were the best imo. Hungary were no where near as good as Austria - Austrians dominated Ireland, and it was really only against run of play that Ireland got the result.
Colbert Report
02/09/2011, 10:22 PM
We could have used young James in the middle of the park today, what with Andrews and Whelan not doing very much.