View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104

13/11/2014, 8:29 AM
I wouldn't be surprsied if Warrior/New Balance got the next contract.

think their contract has another 6 years to run. agree that we have had about 2 decent shirts in the last 10 years

dr_peepee
13/11/2014, 10:23 AM
McCarthy and Whelan out apparently, according to balls.ie

13/11/2014, 10:27 AM
With one hand God giveth and with the other He taketh away.

Olé Olé
13/11/2014, 11:27 AM
Sickened to hear McCarthy's out. Mates reckon that he doesn't fancy the game for a myriad of reasons. Can't say I agree but I'm not surprised that his, previously, potential withdrawal has garnered that reaction by some.

It showed intent that he was wiling to join up with the squad and be assessed and clearly the Ireland team doctors have given the thumbs down. Same goes for Whelan. I really admire the man for that. He clearly relishes playing for Ireland.

Fixer82
13/11/2014, 11:30 AM
Yeah really admire Whelan for his efforts.
To be fair to McCarthy, the FAI doctor had to assess him and obviously agreed he wasn't right

13/11/2014, 11:35 AM
I think I speak for us all when I say: BALLS!

TrapAPony
13/11/2014, 11:43 AM
Doesn't play as well for us as he does for Everton. He's definitely a good player but I am not completely down on his absence. Good chance for Hendrick to step up to the mark.

KK77
13/11/2014, 11:47 AM
Doesn't play as well for us as he does for Everton. He's definitely a good player but I am not completely down on his absence. Good chance for Hendrick to step up to the mark.

I would be of the same opinion. Even for Everton a lot of games can pass him by. Still young enough but would expect him to really step up to the hype in the next season or two.

13/11/2014, 11:51 AM
Doesn't play as well for us as he does for Everton. He's definitely a good player but I am not completely down on his absence. Good chance for Hendrick to step up to the mark.I was going to say the same thing, but refrained when the thought crossed my mind that this game could really be the making of him as a (still young) international player.

Fixer82
13/11/2014, 11:59 AM

Yes I must agree.
It's not all doom and gloom.
We saw how well Hendrick and Gibson did in Germany. He wasn't missed too much.
Everyone has been giving out about Whelan anyway so it is in effect the same squad we had/wanted in that famous draw. Minus Hoolahan of course, who made mistakes when he came on, (although I still think his presence on the pitch gave us a shot in the arm).
Coleman is back now of course. Although let's be honest, Coleman is a player who has also played better for Everton than for Ireland

13/11/2014, 12:09 PM

Except Paul.

TheOneWhoKnocks
13/11/2014, 12:19 PM
Sorry, that is a bit long-winded. TOWK suggested I had a problem with impoliteness on his part. That wasn't my issue and I thought that suggestion was just another disingenuous way of ignoring the actual issue. I've never had an issue with him being obnoxious or anything like that; when I talk of bad form, it's simply in reference to the sophistry and logical trickery in which he engages.

I didn't suggest you had a problem with my "impoliteness". I suggested that you have been impolite towards me in several posts. I've suggested that several times now but you deliberately twist what I am saying and manipulate it so it suits your argument. That's why I'm not giving you the time of day anymore. What is the point of reading long-winded posts (diatribes) with 12 paragraphs when about 25% of it has any relevancy about what I was saying? It's madness.

Not surprised about McCarthy's absence. I think he does have a minor issue and he would play on Friday if Everton were playing but they aren't.

13/11/2014, 12:49 PM

Except Paul.

You definitely edited that :D You never speak for me. :P

13/11/2014, 1:09 PM
You definitely edited that :D You never speak for me. :P

I reposted instead. Can't have that wee "Edited by BonnieSituation..." thing at the bottom.

13/11/2014, 1:23 PM
How do you do that? Delete and create again?

Ya I know exactly what you mean, cant have it like you didnt get it perfect first time, hence why I never edit ; )

Because I obviously get it perfect first time, everytime.

Olé Olé
13/11/2014, 1:31 PM

What are Hendrick's chances of starting though? The options are slim for the middle of the park; Quinn, Gibson, Meyler and Hendrick. I'd stump for Gibson and Hendrick, on the assumption that the rest of the midfield and attack is going to consist of McClean, McGeady, Walters and Keane (4 MON favourites).

I think if Walters were to be dropped, then it'd leave a nice tidy midfield of Gibson, Hendrick and Quinn. But, we'd be losing a tireless worker with a touch of a goal threat. Two things we don't need to be sacrificing in a tight away match.

At the moment, I think it'll be Gibson and Quinn. But, I don't think there's a massive amount between the 4 options we have, when Meyler's performance at right back against Germany is taken into account (largely positive, as MON was at pains to outline).

13/11/2014, 1:32 PM
How do you do that? Delete and create again?

Ya I know exactly what you mean, cant have it like you didnt get it perfect first time, hence why I never edit ; )

Because I obviously get it perfect first time, everytime.

Patently untrue, given that you edited a post on the last 20 minutes in the match thread!

All you have to do is copy the text and make a new post. It's a wonder you got so far at all. All the way to London from the depths of Roscommon and you survived.

13/11/2014, 1:36 PM
Yes I must agree.
It's not all doom and gloom.
We saw how well Hendrick and Gibson did in Germany. He wasn't missed too much.
Everyone has been giving out about Whelan anyway so it is in effect the same squad we had/wanted in that famous draw. Minus Hoolahan of course, who made mistakes when he came on, (although I still think his presence on the pitch gave us a shot in the arm).
Coleman is back now of course. Although let's be honest, Coleman is a player who has also played better for Everton than for Ireland
Then for the most part, you complement Whelan, if you have the opinion that McCarthy wasn't missed in Germany:) Our game changed in the 2nd half right from the kick off, we had a heartbeat of sorts pumping, a resolve to get off the ropes, hold possession and get forward. By the time Gibson came on, Germany had scored and went strangely dysfunctional, a dysfunction encapsulated in the last 5 minutes when we gave them the ball about 5 times and they kept giving it back to us. McCarthy is our most rounded midfielder, both the defensive and offensive side of his game. We did okay without him but it's an ill-speculation to say he wasn't missed in a game that was right up his alleyway.

13/11/2014, 1:47 PM
Ad don't forget about all the luck in that game.

13/11/2014, 2:08 PM
Patently untrue, given that you edited a post on the last 20 minutes in the match thread!

All you have to do is copy the text and make a new post. It's a wonder you got so far at all. All the way to London from the depths of Roscommon and you survived.

Patently or blatantly?

Youre not the first to say that and you wont be the last.

13/11/2014, 2:10 PM
That's glossing over the lies though. Either way, you've edited whether the wrong word was used in my post or not.

I see a lot of TOWK in you...

13/11/2014, 2:13 PM
That was the joke BS, i wrote the post with 1 line, then went to edit it 3 times and ended with 3 lines, but it never showed up as Edited, and I didn't repost the same thing either : )

Come on BS....catch up.

13/11/2014, 2:19 PM
That was the joke BS, i wrote the post with 1 line, then went to edit it 3 times and ended with 3 lines, but it never showed up as Edited, and I didn't repost the same thing either : )

Come on BS....catch up.

We all know trying to catch up with your good self is futile. So why bother?

If you edit your post within the first minute it doesn't show up as edited.

Fixer82
13/11/2014, 2:47 PM
Then for the most part, you complement Whelan, if you have the opinion that McCarthy wasn't missed in Germany:) Our game changed in the 2nd half right from the kick off, we had a heartbeat of sorts pumping, a resolve to get off the ropes, hold possession and get forward. By the time Gibson came on, Germany had scored and went strangely dysfunctional, a dysfunction encapsulated in the last 5 minutes when we gave them the ball about 5 times and they kept giving it back to us. McCarthy is our most rounded midfielder, both the defensive and offensive side of his game. We did okay without him but it's an ill-speculation to say he wasn't missed in a game that was right up his alleyway.

I have already complimented Whelan for his role V Germany.
Unlike others on here I felt he did well in that game.

DannyInvincible
13/11/2014, 9:28 PM
Sickened to hear McCarthy's out. Mates reckon that he doesn't fancy the game for a myriad of reasons. Can't say I agree but I'm not surprised that his, previously, potential withdrawal has garnered that reaction by some.

It showed intent that he was wiling to join up with the squad and be assessed and clearly the Ireland team doctors have given the thumbs down. Same goes for Whelan. I really admire the man for that. He clearly relishes playing for Ireland.

I know it's not what you feel personally, but why do your mates (and plenty others too) think he wouldn't have fancied the game? He's put up with plenty of vitriol and dogs abuse around Scotland before for lining out for us at youth level, yet he still committed to us at senior level. I do get the impression he's quite a shy, down-to-earth lad (a rare quality I admire in the modern footballer, although Trap used to always suggest it was to his detriment and that he needed to impose his mentalitee more, or was something lost in translation there?), but he's a professional at the end of the day and would even have had Aiden there beside him to soften the spotlight, if such would indeed have been the source of any anxiety. Whether or not he fancied the game or not, it hasn't had any bearing on the fact he won't be playing. If he was fit, he'd have been playing, or would people dispute that? As it turned out, he wasn't fit, as confirmed by the FAI's doctor who scanned him twice(?) this week.

Big respect to Whelan too for his efforts, definitely. Very admirable.

No disagreement there, but he's more effective for Everton due to the way they play rather than his less penetrative performances for Ireland being as a result of any lack of international appetite.

DannyInvincible
13/11/2014, 9:44 PM
There was this tweet too from James after the Germany game: https://twitter.com/JMcCarthy_16/status/522409059056906241

What a result last night from the boys @FAIreland Congrats to sheazy on the 100th cap. #BringOnTheScots

There'd be no reason for him to tweet something so rousing (and quite provocative for the "othered" Scots, given he was born in Scotland) unless he was really relishing the game.

13/11/2014, 9:55 PM
There can't be criticism of Mac, Stuttgart gave a really good example of running a race with a n extra day or two. James lost this race, unfortunately for us.

Another aspect I'd look at, is this. There is a good chance, and I mean a good chance, that James will get a big transfer in the summer, if Everton don't get Champions League football, because the boy is progressing to a huge degree. He also a fairly decent (for players) agent in yer man McStay, and he'll surely have been advised not to take unnecessary risks witht the National team as it'll count against him somewhat going forward, if he was to do himself a mischief when possibly preventable.

that would be one angle for me anyway, and I can't hold that against him.

swinfordfc
13/11/2014, 10:00 PM
The lad is out of the game due to a injury ..... he stay with the irish panel till today but it did not heel in time, like Whelan so end of. What's the big fuss - McArthur is out of Scotland panel with a groin injury - it's just a shame that Whelan and James are out at the same time but it opens the door now for Gibson - he needs to stand up tomorrow night big time!

13/11/2014, 10:05 PM
There was this tweet too from James after the Germany game: https://twitter.com/JMcCarthy_16/status/522409059056906241

There'd be no reason for him to tweet something so rousing (and quite provocative for the "othered" Scots, given he was born in Scotland) unless he was really relishing the game.
It was all part of his elaborate smoke and mirrors plan to create an alibi before he faked an injury on live television and spent the next three days limping around Portmarnock, all so he could steal away with to Roberto Martinez's lair in Motherwell to watch the final pieces of the puzzle fall into place.

13/11/2014, 10:11 PM
It was all part of his elaborate smoke and mirrors plan to create an alibi before he faked an injury on live television and spent the next three days limping around Portmarnock, all so he could steal away with to Roberto Martinez's lair in Motherwell to watch the final pieces of the puzzle fall into place.

...and when the clock strikes ten... the moon will align... the pipes shall sound... the people will bow...

http://cdn.hitfix.com/photos/5748064/ScotsmanheadlinecropLSEcoComics_article_story_larg e.jpg

...for he is SCOTSMAN!

DannyInvincible
13/11/2014, 10:41 PM
Words doing the rounds now that he will start after all. For Scotland.

13/11/2014, 11:31 PM
If so, I predict we win 3 nil.

Olé Olé
14/11/2014, 9:07 AM
I know it's not what you feel personally, but why do your mates (and plenty others too) think he wouldn't have fancied the game? He's put up with plenty of vitriol and dogs abuse around Scotland before for lining out for us at youth level, yet he still committed to us at senior level. I do get the impression he's quite a shy, down-to-earth lad (a rare quality I admire in the modern footballer, although Trap used to always suggest it was to his detriment and that he needed to impose his mentalitee more, or was something lost in translation there?), but he's a professional at the end of the day and would even have had Aiden there beside him to soften the spotlight, if such would indeed have been the source of any anxiety. Whether or not he fancied the game or not, it hasn't had any bearing on the fact he won't be playing. If he was fit, he'd have been playing, or would people dispute that? As it turned out, he wasn't fit, as confirmed by the FAI's doctor who scanned him twice(?) this week.

Big respect to Whelan too for his efforts, definitely. Very admirable.

Sure you know yourself, Danny, we Irish are a bunch of cynics! One or two referenced his, deemed, indecisive before he was tied to us in a competitive match. Another couple highlighted the fact that he played the full 90 for Everton but couldn't be fit for a match a week later. A lot conjecture.

I think a question must be asked as to why he was left on the field for Everton though. The Irish doctors have clearly exercised their duty of care. Difficult to measure the applicability of that to Martinez who is experiencing a bit of pressure of late.

DannyInvincible
14/11/2014, 9:21 AM
Sure you know yourself, Danny, we Irish are a bunch of cynics! One or two referenced his, deemed, indecisive before he was tied to us in a competitive match. Another couple highlighted the fact that he played the full 90 for Everton but couldn't be fit for a match a week later. A lot conjecture.

I think a question must be asked as to why he was left on the field for Everton though. The Irish doctors have clearly exercised their duty of care. Difficult to measure the applicability of that to Martinez who is experiencing a bit of pressure of late.

Everton had used all their substitutes and were drawing 1-1 with a few minutes to go. I don't think any serious professional manager would bring a player off under those circumstances if it was thought the player could see the game through and he could keep a tight game eleven versus eleven.

The latter concern is easily dismissed by the fact that he was checked by the FAI doctor and sent home - not McCarthy's call - whilst the former concern you mention is negated by the fact he has been decisive. He committed to us. Any comments from the SFA (or related individuals) on the matter were ones of admitted failure to turn his head, whilst he himself said he had never considered switching. I mean, if he wasn't sure about playing for us, why would he go through with it and commit?

DannyInvincible
14/11/2014, 9:45 AM
I should say that his ultimate decision at least somewhat negated any concerns over possible indecisiveness rather. Obviously, we don't know the inner workings of his mind. Beyond his actions, we can only go on what he tells us. If it were true that he's not sure about playing for Ireland, then it would be to accuse him of conducting a charade. The recent "BringOnTheScots!" tweet would all have been a part of that. I just don't see him as being deceptive like that at all.

Straightstory
14/11/2014, 9:45 AM
Of course he's genuinely injured - but I suspect he's relieved to be out of the game. Not the type of player who'd fancy being at the centre of dogs' abuse from some of the most, eh 'rugged' fans in the game. Some players might relish it - Roy Keane springs to mind - but I don't think McCarthy would.

14/11/2014, 12:48 PM
I think he'd relish it.

14/11/2014, 3:34 PM
Keep the psychoanalysis of a player you've never met before coming, guys.

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/11/2014, 4:10 PM
It's always been said of McCarthy that he has a fragile mentality by people who know him better than we do.

14/11/2014, 4:25 PM
People have said he's a shy character and that he can fail to take control of games the way he should. Never seen any suggestion he'd run scared from a bit of abuse - in fact, the overwhelming evidence from his entire professional career is that he has the strength of character not to bow to pressure or abuse. That's not psychoanalysing him - it's just a rational observation based on the evidence.

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/11/2014, 12:15 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/everton/11234560/Republic-of-Ireland-coach-Roy-Keane-points-accusing-finger-at-Everton-manager-Roberto-Martinez.html

Keane on Martinez pressuring McCarthy & Coleman not to play for Ireland; McCarthy pulling out of squad despite no significant damage to his hamstring.

17/11/2014, 12:29 AM
I feel like this thread has just plunged back three years to when it was a mere scamp at 105 pages.

17/11/2014, 7:49 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/everton/11234560/Republic-of-Ireland-coach-Roy-Keane-points-accusing-finger-at-Everton-manager-Roberto-Martinez.html

Keane on Martinez pressuring McCarthy & Coleman not to play for Ireland; McCarthy pulling out of squad despite no significant damage to his hamstring.
Hey, just cos you're paranoid doesn't mean Martinez isn't a git.

Keane is a great one to talk. Tehran.

ArdeeBhoy
17/11/2014, 9:18 AM
This thread is now officially SAFC...

KK77
17/11/2014, 10:13 AM
Ronnie Whelan mentioned something about new comments from MON saying how McCarthy would have played if it was a club match. Keane is one to talk no doubts about it but something not right for me. I was surprised to see McCarthy at the game. The press (ok you would nearly not believe the date they print) said he was back at Everton for treatment. The Martinez apologists won't like all these comments all the same! LOL

DannyInvincible
17/11/2014, 12:18 PM
McCarthy didn't pull himself out of the squad; the FAI doctor assessed him and deemed him unfit to play, or so we've been told, no? Is Keane disputing this? If it wasn't the case that McCarthy was unfit to play, then why was he removed from the official squad and why hadn't this conversation that Keane talks about been had with Martinez? Martinez' job is to look out for Everton's interests. It's our side's job to stand up for our interests when there is a conflict there. If a talk needs to be had with Martinez, it should have happened weeks ago - post-Germany - when O'Neill initially seemed to express a guarded scepticism over the authenticity of claims about McCarthy's fitness. No point in us moaning about it to the media now when it's too late to change things.

17/11/2014, 12:34 PM
I thought the FAI Doctor said the scan was clear but it was the player himself who didn't want to put himself through the rigours of training on Thursday as he was worried the injury might recur.

DannyInvincible
17/11/2014, 1:22 PM
I thought the FAI Doctor said the scan was clear but it was the player himself who didn't want to put himself through the rigours of training on Thursday as he was worried the injury might recur.

I had understood differently. Did the doctor definitely pass him fully fit to play?

17/11/2014, 3:33 PM
I've seen numerous reports saying the scan gave the all clear. It was the McCarthy's call. He knows his body, it's a difficult one for him.

DannyInvincible
17/11/2014, 3:46 PM
Bill Kenwright and Martin on Roy's comments: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2014/1117/659985-keane-calls-for-talks-with-martinez/

Everton chairman Bill Kenwright has subsequently hit back at Keane for "saying some stupid things".

Kenwright told Sky Sports News: "I'm a big fan of Roy Keane's, but he does say some stupid things.

"That is just totally, totally unfair, we absolutely love our players going on international duty and we never ever get in the way of them and Roberto Martinez will be as shocked as everyone at Everton."

Asked about the comments of both his assistant and Kenwright, O'Neill said: "Well first of all, I haven't picked up on Roy's comments. I don't follow him around. I haven't had the chance to read what he has said.

"From my own perspective, regardless of what Roy has said, I think the situation was this: way back, let me put it this way, the two lads were not fit for the game against Gibraltar and Germany, and obviously played [for Everton] a couple of days later. That is understandable.

"I had spoken to Seamus and Seamus just wasn't right. I didn't speak to James at the time, but there was a thought that he might have played against Manchester United then, but didn't do so.

"I hadn't really a problem with that at all, it was just that this particular time, James does have a muscle injury. He came here, he was wanting to try it and really wanted to give it a go.

"We always thought that time would be against us and I think he will be perfectly all right to play at the weekend for his club, and really there isn't much more I can say about it."

Asked further if he would now look at Keane's comments, O'Neill said: "It is not my job to read the newspapers every single morning, it's not, honestly. I have other things to do at this minute.

"I'm not saying they are more important, but they are issues I have to address. I might get a chance to go down and find out what was said on both sides, and then I will take a view."