View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
24/05/2011, 2:14 PM
Typical FAI balls-up then? Much ado about nothing.
funny the way these balls-ups are always with the same one or two players!
not once have i heard of a balls-up with doyle, kilbane, andrews or their type within the squad. but sure lets always blame the fai
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 2:58 PM
not once have i heard of a balls-up with doyle, kilbane, andrews or their type within the squad. but sure lets always blame the fai
What other balls-ups or issues have there been with McCarthy?
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 3:00 PM
The above just said he was going to have a scan. There is still nothing to suggest that the FAI/ Trap were actually told he wasn't going to turn up.
Trap alleged that there was a ten-day period of no contact. If Wigan contacted the FAI on Sunday, and Trap said this on Monday then someone clearly made a balls of things somewhere along the line of communication.
Junior
24/05/2011, 3:38 PM
Kilbane - Left out of squad - No Communication or Poor Communcation via Text. Im not blaming the FAI for everything here by the way but poor communication is a recurring theme.
24/05/2011, 3:38 PM
Oh so now this competition means something?
We're playing in a cup competition tonight. It's not the World Cup, but it's something. We don't win many international competitions. But when we won one in Reykjavik under Jack, we qualified for 3 of the next 4 tournaments. Winning breeds confidence and a winning mentality. It's better than winning nothing.
24/05/2011, 4:09 PM
practically every international until macedonia this year had mccarthy issues. last mays friendlies also
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 4:14 PM
practically every international until macedonia this year had mccarthy issues. last mays friendlies also
Issues such as what?
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 4:19 PM
Martinez confirms McCarthy injury (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0524/mccarthyj.html).
Midfielder James McCarthy will miss the rest of the Republic of Ireland's Carling Nations Cup campaign with an ankle injury, his Wigan manager Roberto Martinez has confirmed.
Martinez revealed the Latics had sent the relevant medical reports to the Irish camp, a day after national team boss Giovanni Trapattoni said one player, believed to be McCarthy, had not returned his calls ahead of tonight's clash with Northern Ireland and Sunday's meeting with Scotland.
But Martinez insists there is no suggestion of McCarthy having gone AWOL, and that he needs a month-long rest after suffering the injury against Stoke at the weekend.
'He had a challenge in the game against Stoke with Jermaine Pennant, we had a scan and the scan revealed grade one ligament damage in his right ankle,' the Spaniard said this afternoon.
'We passed the report to the Republic of Ireland medical team and they are well, well aware. That is where James had an operation earlier this season and it is an area that is a bit of a concern.
'We have to work together to try and get him a speedy recovery but he is not available to play and he will need at least three or four weeks to recover.'
To be honest, I don't know if that means that the relevant medical reports were sent today or if it means Martinez revealed today that the relevant medical reports had already been sent to the FAI. Enda Brady's tweet (https://twitter.com/#!/endabrady/status/72976098308272128) would suggest the latter.
dr_peepee
24/05/2011, 4:59 PM
Ah Dude... He's been the major discussion point of every squad for the last 12 months since he pulled out cos he was tired!!
Murfinator
24/05/2011, 5:18 PM
Sounds like Martinez being a ******* about all this again.
If Wigan tell James he has an injury, is unfit to play, needs treatment and that they'll alert the Irish camp in relation to this then its absolutely not his fault if any mixup occurs from it. Its entirely down to Martinez and his staff and from his games before in relation to this I don't think that'd shock anyone.
Eirambler
24/05/2011, 9:02 PM
So I'm guessing Traps comments had nothing at all to do with McCarthy then and the journos have got their story arseways - he always knew he wasn't coming?
24/05/2011, 9:34 PM
It's impossible to tell, but Daniel McDonnell on Twitter said there's a whole lot more to the McCarthy situation that'll be in tomorrow's papers. The Indo sports articles usually go online between midnight and 2.
Wilson, it seems, did show up along with the other Stoke players today as expected but not in time to train so he was left out. Which asks the question of why he was selected to begin with when he was never going to make it in time.
SwanVsDalton
24/05/2011, 9:53 PM
Maybe he was going to make it on time but they got delayed for some reason?
Or Trap played mind games with Worthington before unveiling Stephen 'Wiccy Wild Wild' Ward to good effect.
24/05/2011, 10:26 PM
It's impossible to tell, but Daniel McDonnell on Twitter said there's a whole lot more to the McCarthy situation that'll be in tomorrow's papers. The Indo sports articles usually go online between midnight and 2.
Well Dan made an ass of himself last time with the McCarthy issue, blaming Trap left right and centre.
I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for his exclusive.
Sullivinho
24/05/2011, 10:36 PM
The Republic's pre-match build-up had been dominated by the absence of Anthony Stokes and James McCarthy from the squad and manager Giovanni Trapattoni revealed after the game that Marc Wilson and Jonathan Walters had also failed to report to Dublin.
"We will have to decide why we call them up next time. This is their federation, the FAI. McCarthy, Wilson and Walters didn't come, they didn't bother answering," said Trapattoni.
"We have been watching these players over one month, two months.
"If they are injured that is okay but they must come to us and see our doctor. It is about respect. It shouldn't happen anywhere, not just Ireland."
Source (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13535025.stm)
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 11:00 PM
According to McDonnell (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/angry-trap-rounds-on-stayaway-stars-and-irish-attitudes-after-withdrawals-2655212.html):
Normal procedure ahead of such international gatherings is to speak in advance about arranging flights and other logistics.
However, neither management or Abbotstown have heard a word from McCarthy, who was part of the Wigan team that avoided relegation on Sunday.
He's still maintaining that the FAI heard nothing from McCarthy at all in the past couple of weeks, so what was Enda Brady talking about on Twitter about Wigan having informed the FAI of McCarthy's knock and scans on Sunday? What an odd situation.
boovidge
24/05/2011, 11:05 PM
Furious Trapattoni warns James McCarthy and Marc Wilson about their future with Ireland after bizarre no shows
Tomorrow's Indo headline.
24/05/2011, 11:21 PM
Seeing as regular driving and parking a car in Italy is an act of unrestrained anarchic fury,
an Italian would really have to do something special to have any fury remarked.
Crosby87
24/05/2011, 11:25 PM
Something keeps getting lost in translation from: JM-----Martinez/Wigan----FAI-----Manuela-----Trap
Can't understand the Marc Wilson thing at all though.
Thought we were done with this nonsense for awhile.
DannyInvincible
24/05/2011, 11:36 PM
So did Glenn Whelan come over on a separate flight from Wilson and Walters or is Whelan even with the squad at the minute?
I think I caught a glimpse of St. Ledger sitting behind Trap whilst the anthem was being played in spite of him being injured. Positive show of commitment, that.
Sullivinho
24/05/2011, 11:55 PM
Sounds like a few players decided their season's were over and thought 'F**k it, I'm no kickin' a ball for months!'. It'd be bad enough as it was but there is a crucial qualifier nestled among these friendlies. Poor form.
I think I caught a glimpse of St. Ledger sitting behind Trap whilst the anthem was being played in spite of him being injured. Positive show of commitment, that.
Sean is a graduate from the Kevin Kilbane school of commitment, no doubt.
Noelys Guitar
25/05/2011, 1:39 AM
From the Irish Times http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0525/1224297716162.html. Wigan and it has to be said the player himself dicking about again. There was no injury. The FAI called Wigans bluff. Unlikely McCarthy or Wilson will get picked again while Trap is still in charge (and I really don't blame him if he chooses to ignore both). I wish there was something the FAI could do about Dave Whelan FC. I really hope they end up in the 2nd division.
Sullivinho
25/05/2011, 1:58 AM
Fair play to the FAI for calling their bluff, well played. Nil pois to Wigan for not hobbling the work experience guy and sending his scan over instead. Hard to argue with Trap's comments either. If there's a silver lining I suppose any kind of atonement from the players would come complete with a much less likelihood of it happening again. Unless they genuinely aren't that bothered.
Shame we have to make do with a 'washed up never was' like Robbie Keane instead of these comedians.
I have to say my disillusionment has shifted from Trap to our international football representatives. Its pretty disappointing that international football has been reduced to this.
CraftyToePoke
25/05/2011, 2:14 AM
Whats going in here ? Two young guys who sought out Ireland in the first instance and now they dont show up, could it be they didnt want to play against Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?
TrapAPony
25/05/2011, 2:33 AM
.... could it be they didnt want to play against Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?
That would be my thinking too.
25/05/2011, 2:38 AM
Shame we have to make do with a 'washed up never was' like Robbie Keane.
This the 48-goal record goalscorer for Ireland, or someone else?
Sullivinho
25/05/2011, 3:02 AM
This the 48-goal record goalscorer for Ireland, or someone else?
Haven't you heard? It was announced earlier.. (http://foot.ie/threads/43943-Robbie-Keane?p=1489774&viewfull=1#post1489774)
25/05/2011, 6:41 AM
Shocking stuff if true.
The Trap has every right to banish them for good. This just shows total disrespect to the manager, the other players and fans.
Deckydee
25/05/2011, 6:44 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/james-mccarthy-has-a-major-problem-with-giovanni-trapattoni-the-question-is-how-is-he-going-to-solve-it-2656594.html
25/05/2011, 7:13 AM
Haven't you heard? It was announced earlier..
I hadn't heard. All I needed to do was look at the poster's name and it says everything.
Fixer82
25/05/2011, 8:34 AM
Whats going in here ? Two young guys who sought out Ireland in the first instance and now they dont show up, could it be they didnt want to play against Northern Ireland and Scotland maybe?
Exactly what I was thinking.
Though they should be relishing the opportunity to stick it to all those cranks
You may be right and if that is the case well to an extent then fair enough but be a man about it and say it your manager. But the other side of the coin is that they knew that declaring for Ireland there was a possibility that this could happen. It jsut stinks really. To date McCarthy has caused more hassle than he is worth. Im willing to give Wilson some benefit of a doubt.
SwanVsDalton
25/05/2011, 9:26 AM
With a crucial qualifier in less than a fortnight, this is extremely disappointing. You only have to look at the likes of O'Dea, St. Ledger, Ward, Hunt and Foley (maybe even Fahey?) to see it was hardly impossible to come - the fact these guys couldn't follow suit is ridiculous. I wouldn't necessarily say Trap will shun them, but we know his form and his anger is clear. Can't say I blame him, there's no real excuse for this.
Has anyone cleared up exactly what the story with the Stoke contingent is? Did they show up late or not at all? If it's just Wilson and Walters getting slammed, did Whelan come over on his own?
With a crucial qualifier in less than a fortnight, this is extremely disappointing. You only have to look at the likes of O'Dea, St. Ledger, Ward, Hunt and Foley (maybe even Fahey?) to see it was hardly impossible to come - the fact these guys couldn't follow suit is ridiculous. I wouldn't necessarily say Trap will shun them, but we know his form and his anger is clear. Can't say I blame him, there's no real excuse for this.
Has anyone cleared up exactly what the story with the Stoke contingent is? Did they show up late or not at all? If it's just Wilson and Walters getting slammed, did Whelan come over on his own?
'We called these players, they didn't answer, they didn't come.
'We will have to decide why we call them up next time.
'This is their federation, the FAI. McCarthy, Wilson and Walters didn't come, they didn't bother answering.
'We have been watching these players over one month, two months.
'If they are injured that is okay but they must come to us and see our doctor. It is about respect.
'It shouldn't happen anywhere, not just Ireland.'
SwanVsDalton
25/05/2011, 10:01 AM
'We called these players, they didn't answer, they didn't come.
'We will have to decide why we call them up next time.
'This is their federation, the FAI. McCarthy, Wilson and Walters didn't come, they didn't bother answering.
'We have been watching these players over one month, two months.
'If they are injured that is okay but they must come to us and see our doctor. It is about respect.
'It shouldn't happen anywhere, not just Ireland.'
Yeah I got that - it's just there was some confusion last night and Trap's track record on quote accuracy isn't the best. Whelan hasn't been mentioned at all - from those quotes it's fair to assume he did come, but wouldn't an article mention that? It's newsworthy since it damns Wilson and Walters further.
Deckydee
25/05/2011, 11:22 AM
Good article: http://www.joe.ie/football/football-features/awol-players-and-awol-fans-put-irish-soccer-in-the-doldrums-0012499-1
&
http://www.joe.ie/football/international-football/absence-of-awol-players-mars-impressive-irish-win-0012491-1
davegaasports
25/05/2011, 11:31 AM
I hope this mess will all be sorted by the Macedonia game.
Crosby87
25/05/2011, 11:33 AM
I want to say We should just move forward with players who want to be here... But I also would like to make a Tournament at some point.
McCarthy is young and stupid and he is acting that way.
25/05/2011, 11:42 AM
The bit I don't like is the subterfuge. Just guessing, but I can't imagine Wigan trying to pull a stroke unless McCarthy asked them for help.
The lesson to be learned here is that James should have kept a few different x rays on standby, from when he really did damage his ankle.
25/05/2011, 11:53 AM
The lesson to be learned here is that James should have kept a few different x rays on standby, from when he really did damage his ankle.
Fail to prepare, prepare to fail.
25/05/2011, 12:10 PM
Well, Trap has said something to the effect that 'the players are like my children'.
Anyone here with children should know without any difficulty when their kids are trying to pull a fast one. Trap knows what he has told these players about how they are expected to act and based on his experiences with them I trust his expressed position implicitly.
McCarthy is fortunate, in a way, that he is not alone this time. I would expect Trap to give them all a serious dressing down with an ultimatum.
davegaasports
25/05/2011, 1:06 PM
Seems like everyone is talking about it. http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/has-the-honour-of-playing-for-your-country-become-less-of-a-priority-to-the-modern-day-footballer/
25/05/2011, 1:24 PM
Some people have suggested that James might not want to play the country of his birth this Sunday.
However, he played against Scotland for the U17s a few years ago: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1837
25/05/2011, 1:38 PM
Nil pois to Wigan Not even petits ones?
Scooby Doo
25/05/2011, 3:10 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0525/1224297761817.html
Strong words from Marco here. Think this saga is going to run into the August squad. Will he, won't he? FFS!
“James has an injury, the season for him was very hard. He played with a problem in his ankle, I believe him,” Tardelli told reporters. “For us, it is not a problem. If we call him up for the next match and he comes, it is not a problem. The problem with McCarthy is not whether he comes or not, the problem is his behaviour.”
McCarthy needs to man up and make contact with the Ireland camp in the next few days, come over, get assessed and take it from there, rather than hiding behind some dubious injury and that creep Martinez! If he can't do that then out of respect to those who turn up for every squad he should be told to toddle on and 'concentrate on his club career'.
This 'treating the best players with kid-gloves' stuff is a fundamental problem in football at all levels - and above all, the national team, the pinnacle of Irish football, should not be seen to pander to such prima donna behaviour. If McCarthy is serious about his international career then he should sort this out himself without delay. Not wanting to play against Scotland is not an excuse for his disrespect towards Trap, Marco and the FAI.
Also, in a season or two he will likely be at a big club earning squillions. Where will his 'loyalty' to Wigan be then?
25/05/2011, 5:20 PM
thought i saw him listed as a sub?
Crosby87
25/05/2011, 10:35 PM
I dont even understand the above quote from Tardelli. The behavior has been IN if he comes or not. He seemed contrite the last time and excited to get in the game.
Alf Honn
25/05/2011, 10:49 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2011/0525/1224297761817.html
Strong words from Marco here. Think this saga is going to run into the August squad. Will he, won't he? FFS!
“James has an injury, the season for him was very hard. He played with a problem in his ankle, I believe him,” Tardelli told reporters. “For us, it is not a problem. If we call him up for the next match and he comes, it is not a problem. The problem with McCarthy is not whether he comes or not, the problem is his behaviour.”
McCarthy needs to man up and make contact with the Ireland camp in the next few days, come over, get assessed and take it from there, rather than hiding behind some dubious injury and that creep Martinez! If he can't do that then out of respect to those who turn up for every squad he should be told to toddle on and 'concentrate on his club career'.
This 'treating the best players with kid-gloves' stuff is a fundamental problem in football at all levels - and above all, the national team, the pinnacle of Irish football, should not be seen to pander to such prima donna behaviour. If McCarthy is serious about his international career then he should sort this out himself without delay. Not wanting to play against Scotland is not an excuse for his disrespect towards Trap, Marco and the FAI.
Also, in a season or two he will likely be at a big club earning squillions. Where will his 'loyalty' to Wigan be then?
Tardelli reveals McCarthy has an ankle problem today (Weds).
FAI have confirmed Wigan told them about the injury on Sunday.
Yet Trap never thought to mention this injury during his outbust on Monday afternoon at his press conference when the suggestion was he'd gone AWOL.
More than one guilty party here.
DannyInvincible
25/05/2011, 11:29 PM
thought i saw him listed as a sub?
You're correct actually. I was under the impression he was injured.
See this match preview, for example: http://www.goal.com/en-gb/match/57534/ireland-vs-northern-ireland/preview
Republic have a depleted defence to choose from with both Sean St Ledger and Richard Dunne ruled out through injury.
Taking to the bench with injury; even more committed!