View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104

08/05/2009, 9:00 PM
I'm also 185cm and, for my age anyway, am hardly on the hefty side at 82kg. This guy is 67kg and I'd say it's a fair bet that he'd walk right through me in a collision! He actually looks powerfully built to me.

Andy Reid take note!

09/05/2009, 10:46 AM
Fair play to him. If only others in and around our set up had his basic cop on. Just shows you can have plenty of character without being a 'character'.

:ball:

Crosby87
09/05/2009, 9:43 PM
So we have a player here? When do you guys think he will be able to make an impact with Ireland?

10/05/2009, 10:02 PM
He hasn't got much experience playing in a 2 man midfield. Atm he's playing in an attacking midfield role for Hamilton and obviously Trap has his system. I'm sure he's well capable of playing international level now but I'd only risk him at 18 in a 3 man midfield.

The Legend
11/05/2009, 7:11 PM
throw him in for a friendly at least! nothing to lose!

11/05/2009, 7:39 PM
Pompey refusing to give up on McCarthy: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5313995,00.html

Hard to decide if it would be a good move, if only to get estalished at a higher league, before moving on to bigger and better things (and clubs). Coventry weren't a much bigger club than Wolves when Robbie Keane moved there, but playing in the Premiership got him the attention of Inter Milan soon after.

tommy_c12000
12/05/2009, 3:07 AM
It is a tough call agreed. But bottom line is he has to move pronto this summer in order to begin to begin to fulfill his promise

dr_peepee
12/05/2009, 9:42 AM
Pompey are gonna struggle next year. I'd expect most of Pennant, Campbell, Crouch, Krankjaar and Johnson to move on during the summer.

Ideally a club in the Europa league would have enough games and require a big enough sqaud to sustain his learning curve. Maybe even a Fulham. Basically somewhere he'll get games but not be stifled by a relegations dogfight.

12/05/2009, 10:05 AM
Yeah, Fulham would be ideal actually. Excellent manager, play good football, and a small enough squad that he'd be guaranteed games over the season.
Maybe if he gets called into the squad VS Nigeria, Hodgson could have a word?

Manc Irish Wolf
12/05/2009, 12:33 PM
Read in the weekend's papers that Everton are the team which are lined up for him (although it was the People and the fee was £500k). Would be a good move if it came off with Moyes track record of nurturing young up and coming talent from down the leagues.

Sounds like there are a whole host of Clubs after him - so you could choose any one of 10 potential clubs.

Yard of Pace
12/05/2009, 2:41 PM
What's encouraging is that he seems a level-headed lad and I think he'll choose the best club for him to develop at rather than the biggest or most successful club, if he moves.

12/05/2009, 6:14 PM
"The player's agent, Willie McKay, has admitted a host of sides are tracking the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11675_5317897,00.html

He's changed his agent to McKay which means he's almost certainly looking for a move.

12/05/2009, 7:35 PM
McKay's been linked with improper behaviour charges before. He represents a few other Irish players.

SunderlandBohs
13/05/2009, 8:26 AM
Being linked with Everton, Sunderland, Newcastle and Tottenham this morning in the papers.

14/05/2009, 9:31 AM
According to his agent, if Celtic come in for McCarthy, he will snub any move to an English club - http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_5322853,00.html

14/05/2009, 10:15 AM
Speak of the devil...
from http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hamilton_academical/8049616.stm

Celtic have made an offer to Hamilton Accies for James McCarthy and the clubs are in talks about a summer transfer, according to the midfielder's agent.

youngirish
14/05/2009, 11:06 AM
Speak of the devil...
from http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hamilton_academical/8049616.stm

Pity I'd like to see him try his hand in a more competitive league. There's little evidence to suggest that the SPL is a good breeding ground for the top class players of the future.

Here's hoping he does develop and justifies the hype and turns out better than McGeady has thus far.

Drumcondra 69er
14/05/2009, 11:23 AM
Pity I'd like to see him try his hand in a more competitive league. There's little evidence to suggest that the SPL is a good breeding ground for the top class players of the future.

Here's hoping he does develop and justifies the hype and turns out better than McGeady has thus far.

He's still only 18, plenty of time and I'd argue that playing in the Scottish leagues up to now has been far more beneficial then playing with someone's reserves in England. Think he's have 100 first team games behind him already anywhere else?

youngirish
14/05/2009, 11:33 AM
He's still only 18, plenty of time and I'd argue that playing in the Scottish leagues up to now has been far more beneficial then playing with someone's reserves in England. Think he's have 100 first team games behind him already anywhere else?
I agree up until now it's been good for his development but I don't think if one of the smaller Premiership clubs took a punt on him for a couple of million or more that he'd be sitting in the reserves all season. He'd definietly get some first team action and it would be up to him to seize his chance.

Playing better quality players week in, week out can only be beneficial to his development if he's good enough. Who's to say Strachan wouldn't have him sitting on the bench anyway for much of the season?

McGeady has not developed much as a player in the SPL in the previous few seasons (his player of the year award has to be taken into context of who he was up against). If he'd moved on a few years ago to a Premiership team he could be top class by now and if not then I'd argue he wasn't good enough anyway to justify the hype (see Liam Miller). Maybe he'll move on in the summer also (fingers crossed).

neutrino
14/05/2009, 11:39 AM
I dont know. Celtic seem to have no plan in regards to a transfer policy. They have a massive squad and Strachan just seems to get players in who are available rather than signing a player to fit in with a particular plan. It's almost like they sign players so other clubs wont get them. He'd be better off elsewhere - a club like Everton would be almost ideal. I think Celtic can only take a player so far in their development e.g McGeady - if he moved to a good club in england you'd probably end up seeing him improve whereas I dont think an improvement would be seen with him in the SPL next season.

Torn-Ado
14/05/2009, 11:41 AM
According to RTE he has his heart set on Celtic. Seems a natural progression if it goes ahead.

Drumcondra 69er
14/05/2009, 11:47 AM
I dont know. Celtic seem to have no plan in regards to a transfer policy. They have a massive squad and Strachan just seems to get players in who are available rather than signing a player to fit in with a particular plan. It's almost like they sign players so other clubs wont get them. He'd be better off elsewhere - a club like Everton would be almost ideal. I think Celtic can only take a player so far in their development e.g McGeady - if he moved to a good club in england you'd probably end up seeing him improve whereas I dont think an improvement would be seen with him in the SPL next season.

Fair points but the players of that age that Moyes has bought haven't really got much game time (Gosling for example). I think it'd be difficult for McCarthy to go back to reserve team football having been a first team regular since he was 16.

Re Youngirish's point about Miller, the problem there was that he'd missed so much first team football at Celtic before his breakthrough through injuries that to then go and sit in the reserves at Man u completely killed his development, he was well into his 20's at that stage and needed to play week in week out. His Champions League form for Celtic suggested he had the ability, I'd say he has huge regrets over that move now. It's a different situation with MCCarthy given his age and with McGeady given the extra experience he has. I think McGeady should (and will) move on in the summer but don't think that need is as urgent with McCarthy yet.

youngirish
14/05/2009, 11:51 AM
I think McGeady should (and will) move on in the summer but don't think that need is as urgent with McCarthy yet.
100% agree on this but if McCarthy does move to Celtic he's just as likely to be stuck there for a number of years than to get some experience and move on next season or the season after.

He should take his chance to move to a Premiership team while he has that option or alternatively if he wants to stay in the SPL give Hamilton another season and then move on.

Duggie
14/05/2009, 1:02 PM
lads is there any chance that mccarthy could change his mind and play for scotland ? if so i hope he gets a full cap soon.

Drumcondra 69er
14/05/2009, 1:17 PM
100% agree on this but if McCarthy does move to Celtic he's just as likely to be stuck there for a number of years than to get some experience and move on next season or the season after.

He should take his chance to move to a Premiership team while he has that option or alternatively if he wants to stay in the SPL give Hamilton another season and then move on.

3 or 4 seasons at Celtic winning trophies and playing the Champions League till he's 22 would be more beneficial as being in and out of the team at a mid ranking EPL side. Plus he still has his family around. Move down south in his early 20's still gives him plenty of time.

Another season with Hamilton would not be the way to go.

14/05/2009, 1:22 PM
I haven't followed Celtic as closely as previous seasons but my impression is that young players such as Crossas have got a good look this season and the likes of Hartley are probably past their best. I've never really rated Barry Robson either so I'd say there's a place there for McCarthy to play for.

I'd be very happy for McCarthy to go to Celtic for a couple of seasons at least, say until he's 21. They'd be good for each other I reckon.

Also, who's to say Strachan will be in charge next season? It remains to be seen whether they can get a CL place next season, very touch & go.

Drumcondra 69er
14/05/2009, 1:57 PM
Also, who's to say Strachan will be in charge next season? It remains to be seen whether they can get a CL place next season, very touch & go.

Already qualified for the CL qualifier at least, it's still 2 places for Scotland.

Brendan 82
14/05/2009, 2:18 PM
Speak of the devil...

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

Oh well, I guess he is happy to wallow in the SPL and be shouted at by racist fools. Welcome to McGeady 2.0

co. down green
14/05/2009, 2:54 PM
Celtic's bid for McCarthy rejected by Hamilton

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hamilton_academical/8049616.stm

Drumcondra 69er
14/05/2009, 2:57 PM
Celtic's bid for McCarthy rejected by Hamilton

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hamilton_academical/8049616.stm

Just testing the water at this stage, I reckon it'll happen unless someone from the EPL comes in with silly money.

14/05/2009, 3:05 PM
I reckon Stokes is wishing he'd signed for Celtic when he had the chance.

Duggie, with the abuse he's received from Scottish fans this year I'd be amazed if he chnaged his mind. I think he's well trenched in with us tbh.

Brendan 82
14/05/2009, 3:10 PM
Yea, but was Stokes-he is absolutely cat. McCarthy has real potential (for the time being anyway).

Apart from Henrik Larsson; who was the last player to leave Celtic and continue on a path of genuine success and improvement...??? I cannot think of 1.

14/05/2009, 3:34 PM
Yea, but was Stokes-he is absolutely cat. McCarthy has real potential (for the time being anyway).

Apart from Henrik Larsson; who was the last player to leave Celtic and continue on a path of genuine success and improvement...??? I cannot think of 1.

Petrov just been voted Villa's player of the year.

14/05/2009, 3:58 PM
Apart from Henrik Larsson; who was the last player to leave Celtic and continue on a path of genuine success and improvement...??? I cannot think of 1.Kenny Dalglish? :)

Come on though, we're talking about Celtic being an interim move from the years of 18 to 20/21. We're not talking about a 26 year-old moving to/from Celtic.

14/05/2009, 4:38 PM
Really? I'm genuinely shocked at that, thought it would have gone to Young.

<EDIT>

He won both the Player's player of the season, and the Supporters Player of the Year!: http://www.avfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~1656116,00.html
Mark Kinsella was voted the former Players player of the Year?

14/05/2009, 5:00 PM
Mark Kinsella was voted the former Players player of the Year?
I have totally blanked it out of my mind that he ever played for Villa. 21 appearances in two years. Was he injured. I do have a vague recollection of him in a Villa jersey though.

He now as recent as 2008 still plays for Aston Villa Former Players Team, Also known as the AVFPA.

Brendan 82
14/05/2009, 5:02 PM

Okay, you got me there. The SPL is desperate though, its like two mini leagues. I genuinely think he would be better off in the Championship than the SPL. I just feel that if he goes to Celtic he will never leave. Of course this is all conjecture, I'm just a bit worried his true potential, which I believe to be astronomical, will be squashed in that feeble bitter league

14/05/2009, 5:51 PM
If he went to the old FA Carling Premiership he could play in a feeble lager league.

14/05/2009, 6:08 PM
I haven't followed Celtic as closely as previous seasons but my impression is that young players such as Crossas have got a good look this season and the likes of Hartley are probably past their best. I've never really rated Barry Robson either so I'd say there's a place there for McCarthy to play for.
Yeh if McCarthy joined Celtic it'd be himself, Crosas and Brown for the midfield spots. Hartley will probably be let go in the summer. That's 3 completely different players there. They could easily play together in the same midfield.

I'd say Strachan's odds on to leave. The negativity is at an all time low. I'd like to see him leave (hasn't improved the team since his first season and is not getting the best out of the current set of players - too determined on a 4-4-2) and there's very few people that want him to stay. For the last 3 seasons he's never really had a strong backing but he always got his name chanted when he lifted the trophy. That won't happen this year if he wins the league and he knows how Celtic fans feel about him atm. He can't be enjoying it.

Being a Celtic supporter of course I'd like to see McCarthy join Celtic but if he's not going to Celtic it has to be for the first team of a top flight club. He'll certainly improve at Celtic with games. Scott Brown is valued at around £10m and is well worth that. I was one of the few that thought Brown was worth the £4.4m they spent on Brown and he's certainly proven to be worth that and more. Celtic will pay millions for McCarthy imo. But they'll sign him whether Strachan is staying or going. John Park will still be there and he's the main man for signing the younger players.

boovidge
14/05/2009, 7:08 PM
Oh, not Celtic. Mediocre FC. They're going nowhere fast. I think it'd be alright for him for a couple of seasons but the chances are he'll get stuck there for ages.

irishfan86
14/05/2009, 7:30 PM
I'd just be worried that he'd be bought to sit on the bench- Mizuno's career hasn't exactly taken off since his arrival from Japan for example despite some decent enough performances...

14/05/2009, 7:32 PM
Oh, not Celtic. Mediocre FC. They're going nowhere fast. I think it'd be alright for him for a couple of seasons but the chances are he'll get stuck there for ages.

Mediocre, as in two last-16 Champions League spots in the last three seasons mediocre? Have a word with yourself. :rolleyes:

:ball: PP

14/05/2009, 7:37 PM
Here's how I see it: if he goes to Celtic and stands out he'll get his move. If he goes to Celtic and doesn't stand out then maybe he's not as good as we think.

I'm not saying Celtic is the be all and end all, but it's a credible option.

If Coppell was still at Reading I'd like to see him there. I'm not sure about the EPL, there's too much pressure for immediate results. If he went there and impressed then great, but it could interrupt his development.

What would people here think about being one of Wenger's Carling Cup teenagers for a season, with a view to first team opportunities if good enough? Most of these guys find their level in due course, be it at Arsenal or a lower standard.

Brendan 82
14/05/2009, 7:43 PM
Mediocre, as in two last-16 Champions League spots in the last three seasons mediocre? Have a word with yourself. :rolleyes:

But the question that begs is...

Would they have even qualified for the tournament if they played in an even somewhat competitive league? A moot point I suppose.

I worry about McCarthy never leaving Scotland, especially if he goes to Celtic. Stagnation central.

boovidge
14/05/2009, 7:48 PM

Oh, come on, Derby have had more big games than Celtic this year. Scraping through the last 16 a couple of times, whilst a big achievement for a club of Celtic's rescources doesn't mean they aren't a mediocre team.

14/05/2009, 8:01 PM
Celtic are mediocre in defence and up front but in midfield there's an awful lot of talent and that's what he'd be playing alongside.

I was just thinking because all this hype about McCarthy yet he hasn't been dominating games. He's exactly at the stage Stephen Ireland was a couple of years ago. Only last summer a few people on here were calling him a passenger, etc. When you have that style of play, you keep things simple with quick short passes, you're relying on you're teammates to really look good. You can tell if a player is intelligent and McCarthy certainly is. Stuart Pearce said about S.Ireland that he always felt he was on the wavelength of the top players. You might not have thought that about Ireland 12 months ago but players like that rely on their teammates. A good run from a teammate can make a short pass look very good.

Real Radio has exclusively revealed that the Swans have had a sensational bid turned down for Hamilton wonderkid James McCarthy, thought to be around 5 times the amount SPL champions Celtic offered.
http://www.rivals.net/news/pgarticle.aspx?artid=13698_5323744&id=79

14/05/2009, 8:08 PM
But the question that begs is...

One of the most commonly made language errors today: journalists, politicians, football website posters, everyone does it.

Begging the question does not mean asking or prompting the question.

Did nobody else here study Logic at 3rd level? :) I thought everyone knew about petitio principii.

http://www.nizkor.org/features/fallacies/begging-the-question.html

I feel like Owls Fan and his "defeat by" vs "defeat to" fixation.

World at large please take note.

14/05/2009, 8:25 PM
Nobody is rushing in to point out that a tinpot Rangers side from the SPL got to the UEFA Final, easily surpassing the best efforts of mid table mediocrity in the EPL this season.
Certainly, I wouldn't be.

14/05/2009, 10:11 PM
Did nobody else here study Logic at 3rd level?I studied Predicate Logic
A -> B = Not A OR B and all that
boring as hell, mind.

OwenGoal
14/05/2009, 11:14 PM
Syllogistic reasoning, modens ponens, modus tollens, I remember these things but have no idea what they mean. And McCarthy will go the way of the miller at Celtic, just to keep on topic.