View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
09/02/2011, 9:03 PM
Maybe, but Gibson say must be on a par with him, status wise. And what about Wilson? Different sorts of players granted, but Wigan surely can't hang on too much longer in the PL?
AB, what makes you think James and Darron are on a par, status wise? One is playing week in week out for a team at the wrong end of the table, and getting great reviews, which in my opinion is even more impressive given the weakness of his team, the other languishes in the reserves and when he does play gets stick for being poor in a team that dominates opponents more often than not.
They are in no way on a par, McCarthy is a much better player and a much better prospect I feel.
09/02/2011, 9:04 PM
I dunno. The "he likes Ireland, he likes Scotland. He must decide himself" quote is causing me concern.
What I cant understand is people seem to take somethings as gospel and not other things. Very naive altogether in how they read between the lines.
Sullivinho
09/02/2011, 9:05 PM
I dunno. The "he likes Ireland, he likes Scotland. He must decide himself" quote is causing me concern.
It's concerning that Trap is now suggesting indecision on McCarthy's part. Whether he's tapping into the paranoid rumour mill that's been chugging away the past few days (which may have no basis whatsoever in fact) or is paraphrasing somone from the McCarthy camp is what I want to know.
09/02/2011, 9:06 PM
Complete conspiracy story here, but do you think his pulling out of the squad, if there was any truth in what trap said, and scotland don't go out of their way and call him up, but he gets included in the next scotland squad i.e. next months qualifier.
Again not looking for reaction but if there was any truth in what Trap said, then this is how I'd see it. Its not completely inconceivable to think he might be influenced by a strong scottish presence in the wigan squad.
09/02/2011, 9:09 PM
The words 'near senile old man' ring true.
McCarthy's good, but far far more bothered about Clark being on board.
Given the size of our playing pool, when a genuine prospect, through the parent rule, such as Clark, presents itself, we can't afford to be lax. When multiple propsects, such as McCarthy, McGeady, Clark, Wilson, St Ledger, Duffy, Scannell, present themselves, and in the cases of two, take serious abuse as a result, it's about more than being "bothered"; that's the nucleus of a team right there, and that is what the focus should be - having the right personnel on board when a new manager takes over for WC2014.
The likes of Clark will prevent us being beaten by those countries of similar ability. It's the likes of McCarthy that will allow us to beat those around us.
Razors left peg
09/02/2011, 9:10 PM
Scotland dont have another competitive game until september I thought I heard someone say on Sky so alot could happen between now if he doesnt get capped by us in a competitive game
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 9:13 PM
AB, what makes you think James and Darron are on a par, status wise? One is playing week in week out for a team at the wrong end of the table, and getting great reviews, which in my opinion is even more impressive given the weakness of his team, the other languishes in the reserves and when he does play gets stick for being poor in a team that dominates opponents more often than not.
They are in no way on a par, McCarthy is a much better player and a much better prospect I feel.
Have to completely disagree. You can pay me winnings in c. 10 years. Though to be fair to Gibson his ManU. career could be determined by Fergie's tenure or who his successor is.
McCarthy is just another 'hope' every eejit is pinning their shirt on. If he was that good, he wouldn't be at Wigan. End of.
SwanVsDalton
09/02/2011, 9:15 PM
What I cant understand is people seem to take somethings as gospel and not other things. Very naive altogether in how they read between the lines.
How can someone become experienced in reading between the lines? Is it by making up mad conspiracy theories that have no relation to fact?
It's concerning that Trap is now suggesting indecision on McCarthy's part. Whether he's tapping into the paranoid rumour mill that's been chugging away the past few days (which may have no basis whatsoever in fact) or is paraphrasing somone from the McCarthy camp is what I want to know.
Agreed. But seems fairly unlikely all the same, Trap doesn't have his ear to the ground on most of his players. It also totally flies in the face of everything that's been said by him and the player for about six months. Just doesn't add up for me.
09/02/2011, 9:15 PM
it's not bloody naive. When the manager of your national team, says publically that one of his players, the best prospect we've had in the centre of the pitch in a generation, needs to choose between the country he's turned his back on, and he and his family taking serious abuse for, or the country he's declared for, then that is a big issue.
It's a big issue because despite the player himself refuting the allegations of switching, the media are determined to raise the subject continously and the manager is not helping the matter either.
either he gives banal interviews in pidgeon, or he takes the press conferences entirely through the interpreter. That's the only way of sorting it.
I've no problem with him being stubborn, or with him making fleetingly unusual selections, but if he continues to stoke the fires and create confusion, then the few of us who are still relatively happy with him will lose it quickly enough.
LFCSixty/Eighty
09/02/2011, 9:16 PM
I think thats the clearest and most precise post on this whole thing so far. Over the last few days by the sounds of things he does seem to be like a rambling old man.
But, it doesn't have to do with his English. He doesn't say something like !"james likes scotland, he likes ireland" and mean "james club told me he was injured". He knows what he is saying. Whether there is any truth in it is another matter entirely or just the rambling musings of a near senile old man :D
I would agree that it would be nearly funny but for that fact that the success of our national teams future is at stake here. In relation to press conferences, all he has to do is say nothing controversial, get back on his plane, go back to Italy and put his feet up until the next pay check comes through his gold encrusted letterbox.
Instead he opens his gob and leaves us with more questions than answers. People can blame Hyland/Custis or whoever they like but from what he said today (and thats all we can go on cos nobody is putting words in his mouth) any right seeing Irish fan would be concerned as to what the hell is going on.
09/02/2011, 9:17 PM
NO, but it was obvious from the start that something was going on here as noely and i suggested, its using cop on.
the other was just a conspiracy theory.
09/02/2011, 9:17 PM
How can someone become experienced in reading between the lines? Is it by making up mad conspiracy theories that have no relation to fact?
Agreed. But seems fairly unlikely all the same, Trap doesn't have his ear to the ground on most of his players. It also totally flies in the face of everything that's been said by him and the player for about six months. Just doesn't add up for me.
NO, but it was obvious from the start that something was going on here as noely and i suggested, its using cop on.
the other was just a conspiracy theory.
09/02/2011, 9:18 PM
it's not bloody naive. When the manager of your national team, says publically that one of his players, the best prospect we've had in the centre of the pitch in a generation, needs to choose between the country he's turned his back on, and he and his family taking serious abuse for, or the country he's declared for, then that is a big issue.
It's a big issue because despite the player himself refuting the allegations of switching, the media are determined to raise the subject continously and the manager is not helping the matter either.
either he gives banal interviews in pidgeon, or he takes the press conferences entirely through the interpreter. That's the only way of sorting it.
I've no problem with him being stubborn, or with him making fleetingly unusual selections, but if he continues to stoke the fires and create confusion, then the few of us who are still relatively happy with him will lose it quickly enough.
Kingdom, that is exactly my point.
Razors left peg
09/02/2011, 9:19 PM
Have to completely disagree. You can pay me winnings in c. 10 years. Though to be fair to Gibson his ManU. career could be determined by Fergie's tenure or who his successor is.
McCarthy is just another 'hope' every eejit is pinning their shirt on. If he was that good, he wouldn't be at Wigan. End of.
Thats a bit of a ridiculous way to look at his career in my opinion. The lad has taken the right steps so far. He stayed at Hamilton where he was gettin first team football since he was 15 and then when the time was right to move he went to a club where he could continue his development on a bigger stage with a club that would give him first team football too. He has become one of their best players at the age of 20 and he will move onto a big club very very soon
09/02/2011, 9:19 PM
I would agree that it would be nearly funny but for that fact that the success of our national teams future is at stake here. In relation to press conferences, all he has to do is say nothing controversial, get back on his plane, go back to Italy and put his feet up until the next pay check comes through his gold encrusted letterbox.
Instead he opens his gob and leaves us with more questions than answers. People can blame Hyland/Custis or whoever they like but from what he said today (and thats all we can go on cos nobody is putting words in his mouth) any right seeing Irish fan would be concerned as to what the hell is going on.
And that my friend is the nail on the head right there.
Maroon 7
09/02/2011, 9:21 PM
He's only turned 20 ffs and he's more than holding his own in central midfield in the Premier League. The fact that he's at Wigan is irrelevant as his next move is likely to be to a much bigger club than Wigan. Given our lack of resouces in that area, McCarthy could well anchor midfield for Ireland for the next decade. Certainly not someone we can afford to be losing.
SwanVsDalton
09/02/2011, 9:23 PM
Or it's just throwing enough **** at the wall to see how much sticks. Idle speculation does not equate to cop on.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 9:23 PM
Thats a bit of a ridiculous way to look at his career in my opinion. The lad has taken the right steps so far. He stayed at Hamilton where he was gettin first team football since he was 15 and then when the time was right to move he went to a club where he could continue his development on a bigger stage with a club that would give him first team football too. He has become one of their best players at the age of 20 and he will move onto a big club very very soon
We'll see. Hope you're right but rather he went to someone where European football isn't a constant distraction if it's in the EPL.
LFCSixty/Eighty
09/02/2011, 9:28 PM
And that my friend is the nail on the head right there.
:-) I'm just glad I have this forum to vent my frustration on because (A) I don't have a cat to kick (if you can pardon the rather crude expression) and (B) The missus is sick of hearing me go on about an issue she couldn't care less about.
09/02/2011, 9:29 PM
I think you do the followers of this site a disservice by referring to them as eejits, but that's your outlook.
I've no problem with you disagreeing, but I did ask you what you based your assertion on? Otherwise you're no different that some of the "eejits".
I'm comparing the two. Gibson is 3 years older, and has played 50 games less than McCarthy in that time. Gibson has underwhelmed in his 4 seasons or so at senior football, even getting stick during his time at Wolves as noted on this site. McCarthy first came to note playing for his local senior time in the second tier of Scotland at 16, impressed at the first step up at promotion to the Spl, impressed again when changing environment and a noted step up in class in the EPL, still at 18/19, and has gone from strength to strength, as noted by pro commentators countrywide. He has done this at relatively small clubs, playing in sides that are in theory "inferior". United are likely to be recruiting in the summer for replacements for Scholes, Hargreaves and Giggs. Gibson hasn't displayed anything (yet) to suggest that he is ready to take over the mantle from scholes, and with the likes of Cleverly to come back, who is younger and better rated, I don't see it happening.
It's my belief that there is as good a chance that both players will be changing scenary in the summer, both going in opposite directions from where they are now. That will be good for one of them. I really do hope Gibson etches out a niche for himself at United, as that would be good for us, but right now, I just don't see it, and the years will keep ticking on quickly.
09/02/2011, 9:56 PM
McArthur just asked about the McCarthy defection rumour on SKY. He batted the question back, but was breaking into a smirk at the same time.
One what? Sky News? Sky Sports News?
If like to see the clip if it is available online.
LFCSixty/Eighty
09/02/2011, 10:06 PM
I think you do the followers of this site a disservice by referring to them as eejits, but that's your outlook.
I've no problem with you disagreeing, but I did ask you what you based your assertion on? Otherwise you're no different that some of the "eejits".
I'm comparing the two. Gibson is 3 years older, and has played 50 games less than McCarthy in that time. Gibson has underwhelmed in his 4 seasons or so at senior football, even getting stick during his time at Wolves as noted on this site. McCarthy first came to note playing for his local senior time in the second tier of Scotland at 16, impressed at the first step up at promotion to the Spl, impressed again when changing environment and a noted step up in class in the EPL, still at 18/19, and has gone from strength to strength, as noted by pro commentators countrywide. He has done this at relatively small clubs, playing in sides that are in theory "inferior". United are likely to be recruiting in the summer for replacements for Scholes, Hargreaves and Giggs. Gibson hasn't displayed anything (yet) to suggest that he is ready to take over the mantle from scholes, and with the likes of Cleverly to come back, who is younger and better rated, I don't see it happening.
It's my belief that there is as good a chance that both players will be changing scenary in the summer, both going in opposite directions from where they are now. That will be good for one of them. I really do hope Gibson etches out a niche for himself at United, as that would be good for us, but right now, I just don't see it, and the years will keep ticking on quickly.
Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
Drumcondra 69er
09/02/2011, 10:19 PM
Totally agree. McCarthys development has been consistent with pretty much each year of his career and there is every chance a few top clubs will be sniffing around during the summer. I personally hope the Wigan team around him can improve and he stays there for another year or two. No need for him to be rushing off to a bigger club like so many have and regretted.
I don't like the fact that he's at a club with a big Scots presence in McArthur and the Caldwells. We benefitted from Dunne's influence at Villa with Clark, we might lose out on one if there's influencing going on at Wigan....
SwanVsDalton
09/02/2011, 10:22 PM
I don't like the fact that he's at a club with a big Scots presence in McArthur and the Caldwells. We benefitted from Dunne's influence at Villa with Clark, we might lose out on one if there's influencing going on at Wigan....
Somebody give Sammon a call, see if he'll have a word...tell him he's in the next squad if he keeps McCarthy on the straight and green.
09/02/2011, 10:22 PM
England's current great hopes are at Ipswich, Southampton and Tranmere.
Maroon 7
09/02/2011, 10:40 PM
I certainly get the feeling that they've been in his ear alright.
gilberto_eire
09/02/2011, 10:47 PM
I doubt very much it matters to him that a few team mates are Scottish.
The Scots gave him a hard time at Hamilton, he's since publicly on several occasions committed to Ireland, so I don't see him going back on that. It's not like choosing a club to play for, it means a lot more to just casually change due to others around you(Clark didn't receive abuse from English fans and anyway he's stated it was always his first choice but they never approached him, I doubt Dunne convinced him to turn, I'd say it was more ''I'll ring the FAI and tell them your interested)
The only way he'll switch allegiance is if he has the personality of a S.Ireland, and that would be a 1 in a million
Crosby87
09/02/2011, 10:51 PM
At this point while I admit he shouldn't have to address this every week, James could end all this with a 2 second statement reiterating his commitment to Ireland.
My biggest question is even if he wants to stay will he even get picked for the March game or are we going to have to deal with this for another seemingly endless amount of time.
Sullivinho
09/02/2011, 10:57 PM
'Extended' Trap interview coming up on the Nations Cup highlights show on RTE2.
livehead1
09/02/2011, 10:58 PM
this argument raged long before he went to england. He was playing for Hamilton with a team full of Scots, including McArthur while representing us.
TrapAPony
09/02/2011, 11:05 PM
England's current great hopes are at Ipswich, Southampton and Tranmere.
Wickham, Chamberlain & Jennings presumably?
Ray Houghton also about to discuss James McCarthy "in more detail" in a few minutes on RTE Two.
09/02/2011, 11:15 PM
Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.
Edit, I mean that in relation to TOD being a professional journalist.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 11:16 PM
Well if people run en masse down a blind alley, so be it. Which personally think is a little silly hence my comment.
But it's not intended to be overly personal!
As for McCarthy, like I say wish him well, but be amazed if he turns out anything like as good as you imply. Just don't see that level of potential myself.
Appreciate Gibson is nothing overly special, but even average players don't forge out a career for Fergie, for nothing. And much as I detest the man, he might just be a better judge of a player than most on here....
Fixer82
09/02/2011, 11:19 PM
Tony O'Donoghue really is a slithering sh*t when it comes to after match interviews. Don't try to be coy, or smarmy, Tony, if you've a fu*king question to ask of a professional footballer, ask the bloody question. The question he put to MacArthur was cringeworthy.
He's absolutely terrible. An absolute lick*rse.
Was cringing watching him last night conducting interviews with the Irish lads and Trap
09/02/2011, 11:22 PM
Kenny Cunningham the voice of reason as per usual.
EastTerracer
09/02/2011, 11:23 PM
Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
The Fly
09/02/2011, 11:24 PM
Runaway train..............runaway train..............runaway train................
The Fly
09/02/2011, 11:29 PM
The lack of tact on display from some quarters in the last few days does beggar belief.
Noelys Guitar
09/02/2011, 11:35 PM
I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.
The Fly
09/02/2011, 11:38 PM
I don't believe Trapatonni rates McCarthy and does not believe he can do the job that Whelan, Green and less so(in Traps eyes) Gibson and Fahey. He is manufacturing a situation whereby the player himself makes the decision not to be involved. Same applies to his new view of Keane (especially after the Slovakian game). Annoy(bordering on ridicule) the player publicly and force him to make the decision. Hence the comments today about McCarthy and the Vancouver Whitecap stuff in reference to Keane. Trapatonni is a very, very clever man. I don't buy his bumbling Englitalian craic one bit. The bottom line is IMO Trapatonni does not believe McCarthy is good/disciplined enough to stick to Trap's strategy and Keane is past it. I strongly disagree on both counts but Trapatonni feels he can do without both.
Is there a full moon tonight?
09/02/2011, 11:40 PM
Jaysus, that interview with Trapattoni has me worried now. He said that it's up to McCarthy who he wants to play for and he didn't say anything to encourage James. He said its the same situation as Stephen Ireland which isn't likely to make James McCarthy too happy.
Trap said it was the same as the SI thing, then when asked to clarify, he emphasised that it was exactly the same.
I suppose that would explain a lot.
Personally I would crave to have James in the team, but this is international football, if he does not have that desire then I have no qualms about another player who would be honoured to play, in there instead.
And if James walks away, then good luck to him, no hard feelings.
TrapAPony
09/02/2011, 11:45 PM
I would rather Trapattoni walk away than McCarthy.
Sullivinho
09/02/2011, 11:51 PM
Trap lobbing the ball into McCarthy's court with those comments. Can't see him naming the guy in his next squad if he equates him to Stephen Ireland! Sh*tstorm set to continue.
09/02/2011, 11:55 PM
He doesn't equate James to SI, he equates the situation as exactly the same i.e. the player has to state his choice.
I think Trap understands quite well the honour it is to play for your country. If James understands that honour, then there is no problem with choosing Ireland. Maybe it will all become clearer soon enough.
Noelys Guitar
10/02/2011, 12:00 AM
Is there a full moon tonight?
Wooooooooooooooh. No full moon but Trapatonni is doing nothing unusual in his football manager land. He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury. And I guarantee you that his comments today about Gibson leaving United mean Gibson will not start against Macedonia if Whelan and Green are fit. Its his way of doing things. And I don't believe he wants to go down as the Irish manager who dropped Keane.
ShamrockIreland
10/02/2011, 12:00 AM
I missed the highlights and interviews, but judging about what has been said it's not sounding like a good situation. He can't axe Robbie Keane sure we will score no goals up front anyway with Doyle and Walters. McCarthy either plays for us or he doesn't i'd prefer the situation to be made clear to us by the time the next qualifier in March comes about.
10/02/2011, 12:02 AM
I'd say the worst thing that could happen would be for James to Google his own name and end up reading
some of the bull**** and conjecture in this thread.
ShamrockIreland
10/02/2011, 12:08 AM
Wooooooooooooooh. No full moon but Trapatonni is doing nothing unusual in football manager land. He got rid of both Reid's and made some very damaging public comments about Stephen Reid's injury. And I guarantee you that his comments today about Gibson leaving United mean Gibson will not start against Macedonia if Whelan and Green are fit.
Please no Green he is terrible, and every time he plays I know he is going to give the ball to our opponents at least 20 times. I agree about the Stephen Reid injury I said this before here and got the Trap fan club saying I was way off the mark. McCarthy is about 10 times the player Green ever can be. We will not qualify with Green in midfield Russia ran through him like he wasn't there.
10/02/2011, 12:13 AM
One puzzle though are the comments that Noel King made after he spoke with James recently.
"Him not being in the senior squad wasn't even mentioned, he is keen to play for Ireland and that's not in doubt "