View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990
DannyInvincible
14/09/2013, 5:53 PM
McCarthy comes on for Jelavic in the 65th minute of Everton's game against Chelsea. Everton winning 1-0 at the minute.
14/09/2013, 6:11 PM
Came on on 66 mins, been fairly quiet.
Coleman has impressed with his defending against Eto and also nearly winning a penalty, instead free kick awarded on edge of area.
Just won another foul from Mikel who was finding him hard to handle.
DeLorean
15/09/2013, 2:36 AM
I thought he was pretty involved in a subtle way. I feared for him when he came on to be honest as Chelsea were banging on the door big time at that stage. He got a massive reception from the crowd, although some of that my be attributed to Jelavic, who had set up the goal.
The ship steadied significantly after that and, if anything, Everton looked the more likely to do something on the break. I'm not saying McCarthy was responsible for this but maybe the slight change of system made them more solid.
There was one low ball played into the Everton box, from the right, shortly after McCarthy's introduction that I felt he should have done better to cut out. He also had a chance of a Hollywood pass that would have really announced his arrival but undercooked it badly, but it was a fairly difficult pass.
On the minus side for Mac, I thought Gareth Barry was immense so he'll probably have to be pretty patient before he hopefully becomes a regular starter. Coleman was fantastic defensively, and also offensively as the game got stretched.
As an aside, the young lad Barkley is going to be a serious player.
DannyInvincible
21/09/2013, 5:47 PM
James gave away a 76th-minute penalty today against West Ham after coming on for Everton at half-time. Perhaps he was careless to enable the tumbling Kevin "Noble" Nolan to make the most of it. Can see it here around 00:45:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x14zfjm_%CE%B3%CE%BF%CF%85%CE%B5%CF%83%CF%84%CF%87 %CE%B1%CE%BC%CE%B5%CE%B2%CE%B5%CF%81%CF%84%CE%BF%C E%BD-ourmatch-net_lifestyle#from=embediframe
DeLorean
21/09/2013, 6:36 PM
Delighted Everton came back to win the game, he could definitely do without costing them points at this early stage.
Does anybody know how he played otherwise?
21/09/2013, 9:56 PM
Not a great challenge, Nolan was always going to make the most of it, he earned his penalty, only say the highlights
so didn't really seem much of him after, however they were 1-0 down when he came on and won the rest of the game
1-3 making it 2-3 in the end, there were other substitutions as well, he was rated 6.2 on sky despite the peno
so it seems he had a positive effect as the score line suggests.
youngirish
22/09/2013, 5:51 PM
I just don't see what the fuss is about regarding McCarthy. He's not particularly mobile, doesn't present much of a goal threat, doesn't put his foot in and his passing ability is decent but hardly top quality. Maybe I'm missing something and even if not he's still young and there's time for him to improve but I personally haven't noticed any great improvement since he first broke through with Wigan about 3 years ago.
It's a pity because Ireland are crying out for a really decent Premiership central midfield player but I don't see any on the horizon unless Hendrick makes the step up.
DannyInvincible
22/09/2013, 6:05 PM
I just don't see what the fuss is about regarding McCarthy. He's not particularly mobile, doesn't present much of a goal threat, doesn't put his foot in and his passing ability is decent but hardly top quality. Maybe I'm missing something and even if not he's still young and there's time for him to improve but I personally haven't noticed any great improvement since when he first broke through with Wigan about 3 years ago.
It's a pity because Ireland are crying out for a really decent Premiership central midfield player but I don't see any on the horizon unless Hendrick makes the step up.
Trap always spoke of him needing to overcome his shyness. Perhaps he's a different player in training and we don't see the best of him in action when it matters.
Crosby87
22/09/2013, 7:11 PM
Gingers are by definition shy. Perhaps you could all pool a few quid and mail him some hair dye.
22/09/2013, 9:08 PM
Trap didn't mean he was shy, like some of us might have been shy at school. It was a Trap-ism for saying that he was not vocal or assertive on the pitch. It was a criticism I had of Gibson a few years ago, always happier to let Scholes or someone more established set the tone while he would just focus on doing the simple stuff. Now he's one of the main men and more confident. Trap wanted McCarthy to take more responsibility. That's what he meant by shy.
Crosby87
22/09/2013, 9:57 PM
Come on you were not shy in school. You played Santa every year in the Christmas play if memory serves, to stellar reviews.
DeLorean
24/09/2013, 10:51 AM
Trap didn't mean he was shy, like some of us might have been shy at school. It was a Trap-ism for saying that he was not vocal or assertive on the pitch. It was a criticism I had of Gibson a few years ago, always happier to let Scholes or someone more established set the tone while he would just focus on doing the simple stuff. Now he's one of the main men and more confident. Trap wanted McCarthy to take more responsibility. That's what he meant by shy.
I think McCarthy is extremely vocal on the pitch. He's forever pointing instructions and even giving out. It really is the assertiveness in his actual play that is holding him back though I feel. He needs to start taking more responsibility, demanding possession and influencing the game more. He just doesn't seem to possess that 'chest out' confidence or arrogance that some other young players such as Wilshere or Barkley have.
DeLorean
24/09/2013, 9:04 PM
Bad start for the Mac-Gibbo partnership tonight in the League Cup. Lost 2-1 away to Fulham. Gibson came off shortly after Darren Bent's winner in the 67th minute. Everton were pretty wasteful by all accounts. Gibson, Coleman & McCarthy all booked.
Grafter
24/09/2013, 9:51 PM
Bad start for the Mac-Gibbo partnership tonight in the League Cup.
I have my doubts about that midfield....
25/09/2013, 12:36 AM
Saw some of the second half which of course the lost 2-0 as the struggled to to get to grips with Fulham, leading to the bookings of Coleman, McCarthy and Gibbo plus Stone, Colman struggling against Berbatov who is handful for any defender.
Coleman came close to scoring a couple of times.
25/09/2013, 6:42 AM
Colman struggling against Berbatov who is handful for any defender.
Coleman came close to scoring a couple of times.It's amazing what E can do for a player.
25/09/2013, 4:02 PM
I have my doubts about that midfield....
Same as that. I can seriously see them getting overrun. I don't think it will last long that partnership, if it even ever starts.
brine3
25/09/2013, 8:30 PM
What formation were Everton playing?
25/09/2013, 9:22 PM
Everton had a 3rd man in midfield I think, Heitinga.
05/10/2013, 12:07 PM
Preferred to Darron Gibson in the defensive midfield role at Man City today, although Gibson is still nursing a knee injury and is on the bench.
tommy_c12000
05/10/2013, 12:50 PM
How's he doing?
DannyInvincible
23/11/2013, 12:03 PM
Could have done better for the goal Everton conceded against Liverpool, according to the BBC's live updates:
Everton leave Philippe Coutinho in loads of space from a corner which they fail to clear. The ball lands to the Brazilian who prods home from close range. James McCarthy is standing behind his own line when he tries to clear the ball - the midfielder could have done better there.
DeLorean
23/11/2013, 1:52 PM
That was harsh, he was a bit flat footed. He was really good overall. Good couple of surges forward, put the foot in, always available, countless interceptions, one really excellent through ball and think it was his tackle that led to Lukaku's equaliser also. Could have scored a winner at the very end but was bottled up.
SwanVsDalton
23/11/2013, 2:30 PM
Yeah that is a bit harsh. Particularly since the Everton defence decided Coutinho could have Doctor Who levels of time and space from a corner.
Yard of Pace
25/11/2013, 1:00 PM
I thought he should have done better for that goal myself.
No matter, Andy Hunter in the Guardian referred to him with that adjective I think we all crave is more frequently attached to James.
while the commanding James McCarthy was a comparative veteran at 23 in central midfield.
25/11/2013, 2:17 PM
James might have done a bit better, like stand on the goal line and not behind it, but there was no way of stopping the shot unless he had just happened to place himself in the line of fire before the ball was struck.
It usually follows that if an opposing player is allowed space and time to collect the ball unopposed and set up a shot from 5 metres out, that he's a hot favourite to score with a well struck shot.
I thought he was anticipating a ball back across and was ready to step out towards a ball across. I don't think he expected the ball to go where it did, as quickly as it did. Still, should have done better. Like a lot of the defending in that game! Great game.
DeLorean
25/11/2013, 3:29 PM
I don't think the slow motion replays do him any favours as it makes it look as though he has time to readjust. I wouldn't blame him at all really. For those who haven't seen it....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M6xkvKS7Mek
25/11/2013, 5:28 PM
Here's a few more angles
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x17jh1e_everton-vs-liverpool-3-3-goals-highlights_sport
DeLorean
02/12/2013, 2:46 PM
SkStu described his performance against Stoke as "imperious". Can you elaborate a bit Stu? I thought he was really excellent against Liverpool as well, real progress from the "neat and tidy" we were getting slightly bored of. The Roy Keane factor?? :confused:
Never one for hyperbole, I think "imperious" was understating McCarthy's performance.... ;) (perhaps I got carried away)
Seriously, he was excellent from what I recall. He played deep with Barry and Osman was the more attacking of the midfield trio. That said, McCarthy did get forward when the situation allowed for it. There was one moment when he linked up excellently with Lukaku and played a one two with him, receiving the return and trying a placed shot from the left side off his left peg which had Begovic beat but went perhaps a yard wide of the near post.
That said, again, he simply did the simple things well. He linked up defense and the wide players with great effect and always providing an outlet for players. He reminded me of a metronome, just kept on ticking things over. He was one of the main reasons that Everton were so relentless going forward, he just kept pushing them forward. He wasn't alone. The Everton display from 1-11 was phenomenal against an admittedly toothless team.
Defensively he was solid making a few interceptions though Barry probably stood out more with tackles and covering. It is his decision making and doing the simple things that impresses me most about him. In that respect he really is like a young Roy Keane - hopefully he can add that Keane dynamism to his game over time.
04/12/2013, 8:24 PM
Just gotten the imprint of Fellaini's size 102s on the back of his thigh, but he's OK to continue. Everton bossing the game but goalless. United have been throwing in heavy challenges all night.
edit: Coleman just chopped down by Valencia and United pay the price for their robustness. Coleman and McCarthy both heavily involved in the move that led to Everton's goal
04/12/2013, 10:55 PM
McCarthy was immense in the first 20 minutes of the game and was excellent for the remainder. One poor touch in the attacking third in the second half that United almost scored from was the only error I can recall. The Irish team will be built around him in two years time.
I thought Coleman had a poor enough first half especially going forward but was far better in the second, attacking well and defending heroically at times.
Charlie, I thought Everton rode their luck at times would you agree? United had some great chances but Everton, as you said, bossed things. It was a strange game that way.
04/12/2013, 11:05 PM
Charlie, I thought Everton rode their luck at times would you agree? United had some great chances but Everton, as you said, bossed things. It was a strange game that way.
I only saw the first half in patches because I was working, but watching it back on MOTD they certainly gave up a lot of chances, which hasn't been typical of recent years, but in the second half they looked quite comfortable barring a couple of great chances for United. I'd put that down to the fact they're still adjusting from Moyes' defensive style to Martinez's attacking style. I think they will get better with players like Jagielka and Distin (and hopefully Duffy) becoming great front-foot defenders.
The contrast was very interesting. It was very much like the game at Goodison last year, where Moyes' side were very conservative but breaking with speed and accuracy, whereas the opposition were controlling the ball and creating space with pressure. The only constant was Moyes.
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 10:01 AM
Everton followed the Spaniard's instructions to the letter, with captain Phil Jagielka and midfielder James McCarthy outstanding.
Man Utd 0-1 Everton (http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/25115886)
Crosby87
05/12/2013, 11:33 AM
The Everton fans love James.
http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/60038-James-McCarthy/page109?
I wish there were also Colemaniacs on there.
DannyInvincible
05/12/2013, 11:42 AM
Coleman's no longer the new kid on the block. His popularity and position as a firm fan-favourite is already well-established.
05/12/2013, 11:48 AM
Interesting, the last 3 games James has been getting great reviews, I haven't seen enough of Everton to comment in those 3 games, but it all sounds very promising, but i've heard similar before.
If he continues on this, we should bear the fruits in the March friendlies.
this is the kid who will have the head for it when the chips are down.
This is one aspect I don't think he has, I think he is a confidence player and feeds off those around him.
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 11:55 AM
Match Choice is repeated on Sky Sports 3 at 13:30. I'm at work so can't access the actual match choice via the red button option. I've just set the programme to record and hopefully United Everton will be the default game. Probably not though if it's decided by the most entertaining match though which I think it is.
DannyInvincible
05/12/2013, 11:56 AM
Interesting, the last 3 games James has been getting great reviews, I haven't seen enough of Everton to comment in those 3 games, but it all sounds very promising, but i've heard similar before.
Were these online reviews or actual ones we can take seriously?
05/12/2013, 12:14 PM
Were these online reviews or actual ones we can take seriously?
from people inside or outside the green bubble?
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 12:14 PM
This is one aspect I don't think he has, I think he is a confidence player and feeds off those around him.
Well he was obviously a major success at Wigan, a side who struggled for pretty much the whole time he was there. There's a difference between having a bit of a shyness in your game and being a confidence player. I think he has been more the latter, a little bit too shy to really force himself on a game, but he was like that in most games, not necessarily the ones where his team were playing poorly.
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 12:36 PM
Match Choice is repeated on Sky Sports 3 at 13:30. I'm at work so can't access the actual match choice via the red button option. I've just set the programme to record and hopefully United Everton will be the default game. Probably not though if it's decided by the most entertaining match though which I think it is.
Feck! Sunderland v Chelsea main game.
Ive seen two of the last three games in full (missed the first half of the derby as I was snoozing - time difference eh?) and he has been worthy of rave reviews, including the ones I have given him here. Good thing I appear to be in touch with feelings of the average fan on the street with this one. ;)
05/12/2013, 2:07 PM
from people inside or outside the green bubble?
ACtually that bicyclehead fella, sounds like an ROI fan :D HE gave the greatest review!
05/12/2013, 2:08 PM
Well he was obviously a major success at Wigan, a side who struggled for pretty much the whole time he was there. There's a difference between having a bit of a shyness in your game and being a confidence player. I think he has been more the latter, a little bit too shy to really force himself on a game, but he was like that in most games, not necessarily the ones where his team were playing poorly.
You mean the former?
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 2:47 PM
Indeed I do. :o
DeLorean
05/12/2013, 3:06 PM
The Everton fans love James.
http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/60038-James-McCarthy/page109? (http://www.grandoldteam.com/forum/threads/60038-James-McCarthy/page109)
Was just scanning through the early stages of this thread and came across this, a link to a Wigan forum thread (http://www.wigan.vitalfootball.co.uk/forum/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=22965&posts=9) reacting to his departure at the time. I particular like this one...
At the age of 78 I have seen some good players come through the ranks, and go on to greater things. You James are up there with the best, I know you will do my boyhood team proud.
05/12/2013, 7:01 PM
He was a GBP13m rated player in September and that was about right for the talent that was evident. He didn't need to prove anything about his ability, just carry on where he left off at Wigan and it's going well. So far, he's making that slouch Barry look good.
05/12/2013, 8:32 PM
Coleman's no longer the new kid on the block. His popularity and position as a firm fan-favourite is already well-established.
Coleman is back up in the stats rankings at no 29, that is pretty much his highest ranking I have seen for him or not far off.
McCarthy is at 73 which is an improvement for him I think, I guess they both benefited from recent results.
Ciaran Clark between them at 63. Delaney is at about 96 and Long and O'Shea at about the 150 mark.
Wilson and Brady not far behind.