View Full Version : James McCarthy M free agent b.1990

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104

The Fly
08/02/2009, 5:08 PM
Can someone change his name from Jamie to James in the thread title?

Whattaboutit!

co. down green
08/02/2009, 5:42 PM
Man of the match in their match against Dundee United yesterday

QUINN SALUTES 'FANTASTIC' McCARTHY (http://www.sportinglife.com/football/scottishpremier/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/09/02/08/SOCCER_Hamilton_Nightlead.html)

08/02/2009, 8:44 PM
Sunday Herald (http://www.sundayherald.com/sport/shfootball/display.var.2487790.0.0.php)
man of the match. In James McCarthy, they had a young man who rose to the occasion rather than the bait. United supporters had taunted him with "why don't you go home" chants - alluding to the fact he has chosen to play for the Republic of Ireland rather than Scotland - and those drew retaliatory, supportive songs from the Accies fans. It gave the atmosphere an edge, yet the 18-year-old serenely played on throughout the din and then made the goal which turned the tie on its head.

"The world's his oyster, he can go to the very top," said his team-mate Rocco Quinn. McCarthy is well used to being singled out by opposition fans and deals with it impassively. "I think that sort of thing spurs him on," said Quinn. "He's not the type of boy who lets that get to him." The United fans had to watch as he emerged as the pivotal player in the game and the one who accelerated their team out of the cup.

Razors left peg
08/02/2009, 9:03 PM
Really says alot for the character and single mindedness of the lad to be able to face such abuse at a young age and not let it affect his performances on the pitch

co. down green
12/02/2009, 3:48 PM
McCarthy named SPL young player of the month today.

Irish_Praha
12/02/2009, 8:23 PM
Hamilton won't be selling McCarthy in January, according to this: http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2008/12/26/hamilton-will-keep-hold-of-young-stars-mccarthy-and-mcarthur-86908-20996093/
I'd be quite happy to see him there for the rest of the season, and next season as well if they stay up

Looking more and more likely that they will stay up now. They are on a great run at the moment for a team that was bottom of the table a few months ago. I wouldn't mind if he stays there for another season either.

co. down green
12/02/2009, 10:00 PM
Possibly another couple of 'McCarthy's' to wear the green shirt (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2009/02/12/now-two-more-accies-starlets-snub-sfa-for-ireland-as-hamilton-chief-reveals-mccarthy-would-have-picked-scotland-if-asked-earlier-86908-21116934/)

"I bet you the Irish FA know the grandparentage of every kid playing with every team in Scotland. They do their homework. :)

13/02/2009, 8:07 AM
Possibly another couple of 'McCarthy's' to wear the green shirt (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2009/02/12/now-two-more-accies-starlets-snub-sfa-for-ireland-as-hamilton-chief-reveals-mccarthy-would-have-picked-scotland-if-asked-earlier-86908-21116934/)

"I bet you the Irish FA know the grandparentage of every kid playing with every team in Scotland. They do their homework. :)

They do. Nice to see. We did miss out on Darren Fletcher who used to holiday in the Aran Islands although he was asked but chose Scotland.

I hope JmcC does get a move out of the SPL. I believe he takes a lot of abuse from away fans.

13/02/2009, 8:33 AM
I hope the Irish consulate in Scotland is not involved in such egregious duties, assisting the FAI with their "roots" research.

Junior
13/02/2009, 8:35 AM
I hope JmcC does get a move out of the SPL. I believe he takes a lot of abuse from away fans.

Thats true, he takes dog abuse but is dealing with admirably,most recently against Dundee Utd in the cup where he played a blinder by all accounts (think there is an earlier post on it). For that reason alone a move may be worthwhile but for his continued development another year with Hamilton in the SPL would be good for him. Hard matches every week, pressure to get points for survival, playing with dome other good young players such as McArthur. Obviously at some point, fairly soon, he will need to be playing and training with better quality players to improve his own game but at 18 yrs of age I think another season with hamilton would be no harm at all......

Newryrep
13/02/2009, 9:20 AM
The Tartan Army are not happy bunnys as can be seen from this thread. I do have a certain sympathy, as if the roles were reversed we would be just as agrieved to say the least.

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=90111&st=0

Junior
13/02/2009, 12:18 PM
I'm not so sure I would be so aggrieved.

If say a Polish lad born and bred in Ireland to Polish parents decided to decalre for Poland, I would have no qualms about that. As Irish people we should have a great understanding of emigration, diaspora, heritage and as a result I would always have empathy with any such decision.

Some of the Scottish club fans have taken it to a new level...basically its vile racism.

irishultra
13/02/2009, 12:50 PM

If say a Polish lad born and bred in Ireland to Polish parents decided to decalre for Poland, I would have no qualms about that. As Irish people we should have a great understanding of emigration, diaspora, heritage and as a result I would always have empathy with any such decision.

Some of the Scottish club fans have taken it to a new level...basically its vile racism.

:rolleyes: id love if that was the case but not a chance.

btw lol at that messageboard, some irish guy trying to be pally with the scottish(''i thought you would be happy with england result'' hahah, who gives a crap about stupid scotland? not me. i couldnt give a toss if they finished last or qualified.

Razors left peg
13/02/2009, 1:07 PM
There is no excusing the abuse young McCarthy gets but after seeing the amount of stick that Steven Ireland gets on this forum I dont think we would be much better in the same situation

boovidge
13/02/2009, 1:20 PM
I often wonder what would happen if an Irish born player with an English parent chose England because of his "English heritage". How would the fans react then ;)

13/02/2009, 1:40 PM
Only one solution: kneecapping

13/02/2009, 1:44 PM
I wouldn't be happy but would have to accept the decision. I'd be really annoyed at the FAI though if they screwed up like the SFA did.

James seems to have a great temperment and character. Football wise I agree another year in the SPL will benefit him but the abuse is a concern. It has to have an effect no matter how strong he is.

Anyone care to mention on the TA board that maybe James dreams of playing in the 2nd round of a major finals. :D

bwagner
13/02/2009, 2:30 PM
I love getting new players lads but this is a joke ...these lads are way too young to make a choice like that , its not fair !

co. down green
13/02/2009, 2:44 PM
Not sure why the Scots supporters are so upset over James McCarthy - sure he would probably have been kept out of their u19 squad by Australian born Bradden Inman & English born Craig King :rolleyes:

13/02/2009, 2:46 PM
I love getting new players lads but this is a joke ...these lads are way too young to make a choice like that , its not fair !

wont someone please think of the children!! :p

to be fair, they are not tied into any decision until they are 21 and im sure they would be well aware of this...

SaucyJack
13/02/2009, 3:27 PM
anybody have any ideas on what the best team outside Scotland would suit McCarthy and his style? Liverpool?

third policeman
13/02/2009, 4:21 PM
Love the jocks saying that we steal their players put nothing back into their league. (Cregg, O'Dea, Sheridan, Flood, Barret, Hunt, Garland, Mehmet......................)

13/02/2009, 7:05 PM
anybody have any ideas on what the best team outside Scotland would suit McCarthy and his style? Liverpool?
He'd certainly be worth a punt to replace Lucas. I'd say he's best suited to a 4-3-3/4-5-1.

Newryrep
13/02/2009, 7:16 PM

Junior, i dont know the background of the other 2 lads but I can guarantee you that if a lad was born in Dublin to irish parents with three irish grandfathers and one scottish grandfather and he declared for Scotland he would be getting it big time. You know it, I know it and everybody on this board knows it

They do seem a bit confused on eligibity unlike the FIFA esque like lawyers on here :)

Junior
13/02/2009, 9:40 PM
Junior, i dont know the background of the other 2 lads but I can guarantee you that if a lad was born in Dublin to irish parents with three irish grandfathers and one scottish grandfather and he declared for Scotland he would be getting it big time. You know it, I know it and everybody on this board knows it

Well I can only speak for myself and he wouldnt be 'getting it big time' from me. Im 2G myself, so perhaps its just my personal understanding of declaring for a country not of your birth (even if its just to support and not play!).

I'd be very disappointed if the crowd at Lansdowne were roaring at this Dublin kid to "F*** Off home' should he declare for Scotland or whoever.

Oh and if he had 4 Grandfathers he'd probably have two left feet and be bloody useless anyway!!!

Newryrep
14/02/2009, 8:40 AM

Oh and if he had 4 Grandfathers he'd probably have two left feet and be bloody useless anyway!!!

They were all gay and they adopted him :)

Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2009, 12:05 PM
I often wonder what would happen if an Irish born player with an English parent chose England because of his "English heritage". How would the fans react then ;)

Not the exact same but it happened in the rugby and no one gave a toss. Some lad from Skerries, Kyran Bracken was it?

tommy_c12000
14/02/2009, 12:10 PM
Not the exact same but it happened in the rugby and no one gave a toss. Some lad from Skerries, Kyran Bracken was it?

I was at the England game at Lansdowne when he came on to a chorus of boos. Continued every time he touched de ball

Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2009, 12:20 PM
I was at the England game at Lansdowne when he came on to a chorus of boos. Continued every time he touched de ball

Yeah? Wouldn't be a rugby fan myself, thought that sort of boorish behaviour would be beneath the rugby crowd! ;)

Torn-Ado
14/02/2009, 12:35 PM
The Tartan Army are not happy bunnys as can be seen from this thread. I do have a certain sympathy, as if the roles were reversed we would be just as agrieved to say the least.

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=90111&st=0

Christ. You'd think Scotland were feckin Brazil the way they are talking about us. One brilliant campaign (for them) where they finished third in their group and they're lording it over us. Look at the tables now Sweaties. :D

Torn-Ado
14/02/2009, 12:37 PM

From what I know, Bracken was six when he moved to England and had U-16 trials with Ireland where George Hook didn't pick him so he went to England. Can't really blame the lad.

co. down green
16/02/2009, 11:33 AM
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/display.var.2489563.0.obrien_blast_for_mccarthy_te rrace_yobs.php

16/02/2009, 6:49 PM
I doubt any of them knew O'Brien plays for us. That should make them think twice.

the-blue-harp
17/02/2009, 8:05 PM
am i the only one to read that and see "i would love to declare for Scotland, but at this stage i cant cos i would look like an eejit, i have made my bed and i will lie in it" ?
I am delighted to have him, but it doesnt sound like he is over whelmed by it

its called diplomacy, he is obviously trying to diffuse the situation as best he can so he doesnt become more of a hate figure in scotland, i read rangers gave him dogs abuse.

the-blue-harp
17/02/2009, 8:06 PM

a lot of scumbags in scotland, they take that to another level too.

boovidge
18/02/2009, 11:37 AM
The TAMB just seems to be anti Irish and English threads. I know the Scots like their fried food but theyve got a few too many chips on their shoulder by the looks of it :rolleyes:

SilkCut
25/02/2009, 6:00 AM
Why do people blame everyone but themseves for their mistakes?? They turned him down without a second thought when he was a schoolboy, now he looks decent they wanna have a cry. I used to like the Scottish National side (Even once owned a jersey) Now I could not care less about them, I think they may be ****ed cos their scouting network inflicted Chris "take your points the goals will come" Iweloumu upon them whereas ours gave us Houghton, McGeady and McCarthy. Poor puddings.

tommy_c12000
28/02/2009, 1:34 PM
Looks like he continues to have plenty of options in the summer. The game 2day was the worst game of football this season

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/h/hamilton_academical/7916517.stm

28/02/2009, 1:41 PM
He wasn't involved all that much today to be honest but Stephen Ireland was on the periphery of a lot of games a year or 2 ago but it was always clear he was a class act. I doubt clubs will be putting in bids for McCarthy based on today's performance but I'm sure they'll keep scouting him.

boovidge
28/02/2009, 3:34 PM
Did he get much abuse?

Crosby87
28/02/2009, 10:11 PM
Is there any chance at all in your opinions that he ends up playing for Scotland?

Razors left peg
01/03/2009, 2:47 AM
Is there any chance at all in your opinions that he ends up playing for Scotland?

Absolutely not, he is fully committed to playing for Ireland and after all the abuse he has recieved from scottish fans he wouldnt even consider playing for them at this stage in my opinion
We are very lucky to have him, he is going to be top class

Colbert Report
01/03/2009, 3:32 PM
Absolutely not, he is fully committed to playing for Ireland and after all the abuse he has recieved from scottish fans he wouldnt even consider playing for them at this stage in my opinion
We are very lucky to have him, he is going to be top class

Why doesn't Trap just cap him already?

01/03/2009, 3:57 PM
If he was going to be capped, it would be in the a friendly, unfortunately he was injured for the Poland game in November (or sick, can't remember). No manager is going to play a 17 year old in a qualifier, no matter how good he is.
I've seen nothing to suggest he is going to change allegiance, and will more than likely play in the qualifiers for the U-21's which will tie him to us. I'm not worried.

EastTerracer
01/03/2009, 4:02 PM
Why doesn't Trap just cap him already?

He shouldn't have to cap him. If McCarthy is a real risk of switching allegiance back to Scotland (which I don't think he is) then personally I'd prefer if we didn't cap him just for the sake of it.

If he's as good as the potential shown to date then he will get his chance in good time. I'm not sure the end-of-season friendly in London is too likely as I suspect Trapp will be trying to get most of the first-choice team some playing time together.

Qwerty
01/03/2009, 4:41 PM
I've seen nothing to suggest he is going to change allegiance, and will more than likely play in the qualifiers for the U-21's which will tie him to us. I'm not worried.

That will not tie him to us. He has to play an A competitive international or reach 21 having won his last underage cap for us...

livehead1
03/03/2009, 4:11 PM
Just thought it worth mentioning that one of the top young talents in the English Premiership at the moment is West Ham's Jack Collison who has decided to play for Wales by virtue of having a Welsh Grandfather. I don't recall a negative word being uttered about this decision.

Player profile: http://www.whufc.com/page/PlayerProfilesDetail/0,,12562~41181,00.html

seanfhear
03/03/2009, 4:22 PM
Just thought it worth mentioning that one of the top young talents in the English Premiership at the moment is West Ham's Jack Collison who has decided to play for Wales by virtue of having a Welsh Grandfather. I don't recall a negative word being uttered about this decision.

Player profile: http://www.whufc.com/page/PlayerProfilesDetail/0,,12562~41181,00.html
Playing very well at the moment as well.

irishfan86
03/03/2009, 5:02 PM

England have such a deep player pool, that when an English eligible player decides to play for a different national team, it is considered that individuals loss rather than the team's loss.

Not so with nations with smaller player pools such as Scotland and Ireland.

The Fly
03/03/2009, 6:17 PM
^ What he said.....................spot on.