View Full Version : Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52

sligofan4ever
21/02/2010, 2:14 PM
With the transfer deadline looming, is there any word on anymore trialists being signed or potential signings being done on time ?

gufc2000
21/02/2010, 3:29 PM
john russell has signed for sligo rovers
Well he was in Milebush at our game today?

Mr Maroon
21/02/2010, 4:37 PM
Well he was in Milebush at our game today?

Wearing a United tracksuit.

RoversInn
21/02/2010, 5:56 PM
Wearing a United tracksuit.

Cook won't like the fact he's a Man United fan then.

red bellied
22/02/2010, 10:39 AM
Russell has signed according to todays Star.

sligored
22/02/2010, 5:06 PM
i don't think almeida has signed. correct me if i'm wrong

almeida has signed for the season

Shedzer
22/02/2010, 7:13 PM
Can anyone who's in the know put up our squad list of what players we have for the new season please?

redbuli
22/02/2010, 11:07 PM
I'm not in the know but heres the players signed so far according to website etc but please correct or add if anyone knows differently

Goalkeeper: Richard Brush

Defenders: Gavin Peers, Alan Keane, Iarlaith Davoren, Paul Whelan, Mauro Almeida, Danny Ventre

Midfielders: Conor O'Grady, Richie Ryan, Gary McCabe, John Dillon, Eoin Doyle, Mark Doninger, Dean Marshall, John Russell (tbc)

Forwards: Mathew Blinkhorn, Padraig Amond

thats 17 players signed and as Cook stated he wanted a squad of twenty he could take another three from trialists etc

seems abit crowded in midfield although Cook might plan to use Doyle more as a striker this season, either way definetly need another striker, defender and presume Ciaran Kelly will take the other goalkeeping place if he hasnt signed already?

23/02/2010, 12:17 AM
As of now. All the players down for us on the squad list, are updated and correct on extratime.ie here.
List was got by the club, updated by me.

http://www.extratime.ie/squads/players/That Aiden Devaney's a bit young...

23/02/2010, 12:32 AM
PAUL Peschisolido could offer a short-term contract to Benin international Romuald Boco as he tries to patch up his injury-hit squad.

http://www.burtonmail.co.uk/burtonmail-sport/DisplayArticle.asp?ID=484896

bingoballs
23/02/2010, 6:23 AM
No mention of John Russell lads? The star was quoting Cook as saying he was a great signing yesterday!

23/02/2010, 8:33 AM
No mention of John Russell lads? The star was quoting Cook as saying he was a great signing yesterday!

he is listed on extratime.ie as a GUFC player ?

sligored
23/02/2010, 9:25 AM
looks like we might have missed out on derek foran- a bit of a chris turner situation with shels.

Shedzer
23/02/2010, 9:58 AM
There still seems to be a bit of confusion over different players such as Almeida, Russell and Foran.

23/02/2010, 11:23 AM
:) :ball:Like Rovers losing players do ya?

CarrickFan
23/02/2010, 11:35 AM
There still seems to be a bit of confusion over different players such as Almeida, Russell and Foran.

Again a simple post here from the club or something on the website would be greatly appreciated by the fans.

23/02/2010, 12:54 PM
Now that the transfer window has closed, is it not time to close this thread?. 2573 posts and 205866 views. It has served it's purpose.

Peachey
23/02/2010, 1:12 PM
Gerry Carr said we can still sign players if they are free agents, Almeida looking for a massive pay check

23/02/2010, 3:46 PM
Im totally confused now http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=867:rovers-finalise-squad-for-2010&catid=13:news&Itemid=246 . everyone in Galway is convinced John is gone to ye whats happened?

23/02/2010, 3:52 PM
Im totally confused now http://www.sligorovers.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=867:rovers-finalise-squad-for-2010&catid=13:news&Itemid=246 . everyone in Galway is convinced John is gone to ye whats happened?He's not a Rovers player...not hard to understand?

Boo_Boy
23/02/2010, 5:22 PM
Still think we should have got another striker.

Only1Rovers
23/02/2010, 5:46 PM
I presume the club can still sign new players once they're not attached with another club.... Is Russell signed to Galway or is he a free agent?

bingoballs
23/02/2010, 5:55 PM
Almeida is gone, Foran is ours, there are still questions marks over Russell but I dont think he has signed for us yet, from what I hear.

gufc2000
23/02/2010, 10:04 PM
I presume the club can still sign new players once they're not attached with another club.... Is Russell signed to Galway or is he a free agent?
No he is out of contract now

redbuli
23/02/2010, 10:05 PM
Almeida is gone, Foran is ours, there are still questions marks over Russell but I dont think he has signed for us yet, from what I hear.

didnt think the russell signing was on until the Star reported it and had a qoute from Cook which went something along the lines of "we're delighted to have signed someone of the calibre of John, who was one of Galway outstanding players last year"

i know the star is unreliable but would they really just make a qoute up like that, either way not too worried, i'm happy with the squad, we are short on strikers but Cook turned Raff into a striker he can do it again, remember Doyle scored alot of imporatant goals last season so we should see alot more of him in his natural position

1st time post
23/02/2010, 11:34 PM
Doyle is more a striker than a left winger tbf..

Is that not exactly what he was getting at??

More than happy with the squad at this stage. Really important to get a good start to season and if we can stay in or around Shams and Bohs im sure our turnstiles will keep on ticking over maybe allowing us to further strengthen in July and who knows how far we could go!!

Only1Rovers
24/02/2010, 4:45 AM
According to the Irish Times, Faz is in talks with us and Galway about his move from Cork...

A couple looked likely last night to move to clubs outside the area with, most notably, Fahrudin Kudozovic talking to Galway United and Sligo Rovers, and Dan Connor on the brink of signing for St Patrick’s Athletic.

apo11o
24/02/2010, 9:11 AM
Barry O'Mahoney's younger.

d o b 22/02/2010:p
Keith Duffy 23/02/2010

srfc1928
24/02/2010, 9:23 AM
Confusion over.
Russell has signed for Rovers.

Also, Cook still looking to bring another striker in, depending on fiances.

Source : Sligo Champion

24/02/2010, 9:30 AM
I like the look of our squad at the moment,Another striker wouldn't do any harm I suppose that might be Faz.

red arrow
24/02/2010, 11:09 AM
faz has signed for galway according to the champion

prodsc
24/02/2010, 12:44 PM
d o b 22/02/2010:p
Keith Duffy 23/02/2010

We like to bred them young- probably not out of hospital yet!!

neutrino
24/02/2010, 12:48 PM

It's in the independent today too. I'm quite content with the squad we have now. plenty to be oppimistic about as we head into the new season.

neutrino
24/02/2010, 12:50 PM
just got a text from the club saying Almeida has signed back with us. he must have lowered his wage demands

prodsc
24/02/2010, 12:53 PM
Good news bout Almedia..another forward would be good.

24/02/2010, 12:55 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,16229_5977223,00.html

Redzer
24/02/2010, 1:41 PM

Not according to todays press release;
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/three-signings-confirmed

24/02/2010, 2:07 PM
No Press Release until everything is signed sealed and approved by Nick.

Shedzer
24/02/2010, 2:34 PM
Just to clarify Russell and Almeida are defo rovers players?? because they weren't on the squad list on the website.

Rover'n'out
24/02/2010, 2:45 PM
Just to clarify Russell and Almeida are defo rovers players?? because they weren't on the squad list on the website.

Very good additions to squad if this is the case. Really excited about the coming season. Did we win the (National) lotto by the way?

Shedzer
24/02/2010, 2:54 PM
Did we win the (National) lotto by the way?

Ya was thinking the same myself. I know we lost Raf and Boco who were both on good money but I thought the budget was lowered this year. Good work done by Paul Cook and Gerry Carr basically assembled a whole new squad looking forward to the new season. How many players do we have 23/24.

prodsc
24/02/2010, 2:56 PM
'Just to clarify Russell and Almeida are defo rovers players?? because they weren't on the squad list on the website'

Russell is a pre contract agreement according to the Champion, will join in July. I got the text about Almedia..though I got one bout CT also.........................

jc46
24/02/2010, 4:21 PM
just to clarify russell and almeida are defo rovers players?? Because they weren't on the squad list on the website.
almeida is the final piece of jig-saw. More important than cretaro and boco. Incidentally, what is the situation with turner?. The silence is deafening!!

Boo_Boy
24/02/2010, 5:02 PM

It's the feckin fiances that cause all the problems. Chris Turners bird didn't want to move to sligo and look what happened there. :mad:

Shiba
24/02/2010, 5:10 PM

Source : Sligo Champion

A Romanian striker came in on Trial on Saturday as far as I know.

Shiba
24/02/2010, 5:12 PM
almeida is the final piece of jig-saw. More important than cretaro and boco. Incidentally, what is the situation with turner?. The silence is deafening!!

Id say the Fai are lost as regards what to do especially since it his their beloved Shams that are at the center of it.

24/02/2010, 6:08 PM
Id say the Fai are lost as regards what to do especially since it his their beloved Shams that are at the center of it.

Shamrock Rovers have decided to meet Sligo Rovers half way with regard to Chris Turner. Accordingly, Turner has signed for Athlone Town.

Well Red
24/02/2010, 9:33 PM
That actually made me laugh.

Mauro confirmed and the updated finalised squad on sligorovers.com

Its great news but I am worrying for the last few days about the elephant in the room situation, massive wage bill, dont get me wrong I am delighted about the big squad after what happened in the first half of last season when we were paper thin after a few injuries. Just hope the financial heads have done their sums.

dublinred
24/02/2010, 10:39 PM
Its great news but I am worrying for the last few days about the elephant in the room situation, massive wage bill, dont get me wrong I am delighted about the big squad after what happened in the first half of last season when we were paper thin after a few injuries. Just hope the financial heads have done their sums.

Don't worry swings and roundabouts etc. we have offloaded some heavy in hitters in boco , raf , cash ,turner and morrision and signed a lot of eager class players for less than last years outlay , major worry is Vincent Nally is gone but apparently the person pushing him can do a far better job so give him a chance before we beg Vincent to come back.

redbuli
24/02/2010, 10:51 PM
from what i heard Vincent Nally wasnt pushed at all, its been said so many times i think people are starting to believe it, apparantly it was starting to take over his life, he was up in the showgrounds nearly everyday..

lets hope the man taking over can do just as good a job