View Full Version : Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

Inside Man
20/02/2009, 3:50 PM
The two of them training with us and are likely to sign i am told. Nothing signed on the dotted line yet(and in this league nothing is guaranteed)

sligofan4ever
20/02/2009, 5:05 PM
The two of them training with us and are likely to sign i am told. Nothing signed on the dotted line yet(and in this league nothing is guaranteed)

Is Ciaran Kelly likely to sign aswell ?

22/02/2009, 10:51 AM
Alan himself said at the GUFC -v- CCFC friendly that "he signed for sligo last night". That was last wednesday night.

Inside Man
24/02/2009, 4:53 PM
Ciaran Kelly(GK) has signed.
Says in another thread we have signed Seamus Sharkey. Have we?

02/03/2009, 4:00 PM
http://faileagueofireland.blogspot.com/2009/03/sligo-rovers-sign-xano.html

sligofan4ever
02/03/2009, 5:10 PM
Has Seamus Sharkey actually signed ? would've expected to have seen him play some part in the pre-season friendlies.

Inside Man
02/03/2009, 7:02 PM
http://faileagueofireland.blogspot.com/2009/03/sligo-rovers-sign-xano.html
Thats hilarious.:D

Has Seamus Sharkey actually signed ? would've expected to have seen him play some part in the pre-season friendlies.
Seamus Sharkey has not signed and won't be signing, never was. Again it was more rubbish.

sligofan4ever
02/03/2009, 7:06 PM
Thats hilarious.:D

Seamus Sharkey has not signed and won't be signing, never was. Again it was more rubbish.

It was in the Weekender a while ago that he was a confirmed signing and all :D.

the rock n roll
02/03/2009, 7:45 PM
It was in the Weekender a while ago that he was a confirmed signing and all :D.
Did Rovers sign Seamus Sharkey

red bellied
04/03/2009, 11:47 AM
Toolan to step down as Chairman at AGM tomorrow night from the Champion.

red_away
04/03/2009, 11:54 AM

This deserves its own thread!!

forza rovers
04/03/2009, 12:13 PM
heard that all right

Boo_Boy
04/03/2009, 3:41 PM

That will hurt team morale:(

Inside Man
04/03/2009, 6:38 PM
That will hurt team morale:(
New man: fresh ideas, fresh approach.
In all fairness it won't have the slightest impact on the players.

Boo_Boy
04/03/2009, 6:52 PM
New man: fresh ideas, fresh approach.
In all fairness it won't have the slightest impact on the players.

I was kidding :D

04/03/2009, 7:01 PM
New man: fresh ideas, fresh approach.Assuming someone else is actually interested in putting themselves forward for the job.

04/03/2009, 7:02 PM
i hear a guy from Cleveragh Road might be joining the ranks...

dong
04/03/2009, 7:53 PM
Who??

bomber82290
04/03/2009, 9:55 PM
Proposal of no committe to be set up for a few weeks at the A.G.M

prodsc
04/03/2009, 10:06 PM
i hear a guy from Cleveragh Road might be joining the ranks...

Tonaphupple I think might be the addy there!!!

Does anyone know if the Chairman has to have served time on the Committee before taking the role?? I know another man that I think would be excellent at the job but AFAIK has not served on the Committee, he has, however, done A LOT OF FUNDRAISING and behind the scenes work at the club.

bomber82290
04/03/2009, 10:19 PM
Once a commitee is elected it is then up to the them to select their officers i.e chair vice and secretary

MMVIII
05/03/2009, 3:58 PM
Tonaphupple I think might be the addy there

i.e Tony McGee? ;)

Guts&Glory
05/03/2009, 9:46 PM
Tonaphupple I think might be the addy there!!!

Does anyone know if the Chairman has to have served time on the Committee before taking the role?? I know another man that I think would be excellent at the job but AFAIK has not served on the Committee, he has, however, done A LOT OF FUNDRAISING and behind the scenes work at the club.

You (or should I say your man in mind) can put thier name forward but from memory it needs to be nominated and seconded by others at the AGM.

In fairness I think anyone should serve their time before expecting to get the highest profile role to get a true feel for how it all operates.

Like most things in life it is great having ideas and plans.....then in the real world you have to work within certain parameters......Rovers and LOI is no different.

sligofan4ever
06/03/2009, 8:57 PM
Does anyone know what the story is with Boco's photo in the Star :D ?

06/03/2009, 10:57 PM
Does anyone know what the story is with Boco's photo in the Star :D ?

Yeah, It's not him.

Thought it was fairly obvious myself.

Well Red
10/03/2009, 8:06 AM
Was Zano a figment

Only1Rovers
10/03/2009, 2:13 PM
Was Zano a figment

indeed

red bellied
14/05/2009, 1:00 PM
Heard Gethins from Harps is coming on loan.

CarrickFan
14/05/2009, 1:19 PM
mite not be a bad signing the way things are at the mo..bulk up the squad..he has a good eye for goal.

rovers100%
14/05/2009, 1:25 PM
dont see the point in bringing him in. we dont need another small striker we already have raf, boco, and mctiernan and in fairness he didnt do a whole pile in premier league last year. i think he is better suited to the first division. rather bring in a def/ mid

CarrickFan
14/05/2009, 2:58 PM
of course i'd rather bring in a couple of midfielders and defenders!!..but its not going to happen..fair enough he's small but bringing him in could let Raf or Boco drop into midfield..always been a Mc T fan from years ago but it's been a long time since he was up to standard..if the manager thought Mc T could do a job he'd start him but never does..just there to make up squad numbers at this stage.

rovers100%
15/05/2009, 12:07 PM
i know but cookie decides every week doherty/morrison are good enuf and do ya agree with him there.

dong
15/05/2009, 12:17 PM
i know but cookie decides every week doherty/morrison are good enuf and do ya agree with him there.
If you dropped them, who would you play instead though? He hasn't got much of an option in fairness. I still have a lot of time for Morrison although I'm sure there are plenty who would disagree. A good centre half may be what's required to stop us shipping goals. Especially as the whole Almeida issue seems to be never ending...

15/05/2009, 12:50 PM
if the manager thought Mc T could do a job he'd start him but never does...

Totally agree, would love to see McT start up front with Boco and Raf and Morrison on the wings, Cook just seems to have no time for McTiernan:o

15/05/2009, 1:19 PM
Cook just seems to have no time for McTiernan:oProbably because he rarely trains and isn't fit enough to play a full game.

15/05/2009, 1:22 PM
Probably because he rarely trains

From what i've heard we rarely train;):rolleyes:

Can't be easy being at a club for 5+ years and watching players come in and start ahead of you.

15/05/2009, 1:25 PM
Can't be easy being at a club for 5+ years and watching players come in and start ahead of you.I'm sure you'd understand when those players are full-time and you are only there to help out when numbers are low.

15/05/2009, 1:36 PM
Rovers have a small squad as it is, with only Parkhouse as another natural centre forward, i can't see any reason, why, in the coming weeks, McTiernan should not feature.

brianw82
15/05/2009, 6:57 PM
What is the big deal about McTiernan? If he was good enough, surely he'd be starting? Since he came back to the club last year, he's had how many substitute appearances without scoring? He runs around a lot, but you need more than that.

From what I've seen of him, he's blatantly not good enough, and is only there coz he's a local player with PL experience.

Jeebus
26/05/2009, 8:59 AM
Rovers seemed to have made enquiries about two Ballymena United players recently according to here:

http://www.ballymenatimes.com/sport/Walker-looks-to-experience-of.5299745.jp

"Roy reports no further movement on any of the club's transfer-listed players despite Dungannon Swifts being given permission to talk to striker Michael Ward, while Sligo Rovers have not yet followed up an initial enquiry about southern-based duo Davitt Walsh and Gavin McDonnell."

McDonnell is a defender: http://www.ballymenaunitedfc.com/squad/players/mcdonnell-gavin/index.htm

Walsh a striker: http://www.ballymenaunitedfc.com/squad/players/walsh-davitt/index.htm He was with Harps, then Bohs, Shels on loan & then Ballymena: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Davitt_Walsh

26/05/2009, 9:30 AM
Hope they snap up Paul Brown before Connor gets him:p

sligofan4ever
26/05/2009, 5:51 PM
That whole Xano thing never happened, but we seem to have really signed a Portuguese striker after all! :D:D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sligo_Rovers_F.C.

Rovers fan
26/05/2009, 6:16 PM
Jeesh, I always thought kerrnaldo was Brazilian:confused:

redtildead
26/05/2009, 7:28 PM
he did a deco on it, declared for portugal

26/05/2009, 7:36 PM
he did a deco on it, declared for portugal

I'd say Cristiano and Co. are delighted. He's young, plenty of talent and captain of the Supporters Trust side. Only worry is the young child he has, will he be able to handle all the pressure, being a single parent and all?

26/05/2009, 8:11 PM
Alice is well able to fend for herself.

As we all know. Some too well.

srfc1928
04/06/2009, 10:57 PM
Rumour has it this lad might be the next signing we make from Accrington.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4vxN9vP3mg&NR=1

sligofan4ever
04/06/2009, 11:17 PM
There was word of Conor Gethins joining us on loan a while ago, was there any truth in this or was it nothing but a rumour ?

I, like alot of ye, dont rate him well as a premier division striker but at the minute we NEED strikers, dosent matter who we get we need players who are natural forwards, do we not have any decent strikers in the 'A' Team that we could give a chance too even ?

redobit
05/06/2009, 8:26 AM
There was word of Conor Gethins joining us on loan a while ago, was there any truth in this or was it nothing but a rumour ?

I, like alot of ye, dont rate him well as a premier division striker but at the minute we NEED strikers, dosent matter who we get we need players who are natural forwards, do we not have any decent strikers in the 'A' Team that we could give a chance too even ?

I doubt it (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1956/), hes out for 12 weeks

sligofan4ever
05/06/2009, 11:16 AM
Rumour has it this lad might be the next signing we make from Accrington.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4vxN9vP3mg&NR=1

Why stop there, what about these lads.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIhFwLjsQug