View Full Version : Transfer Rumours/Suggestions
gufc2000
23/07/2009, 2:29 PM
McGrath confirmed as departed on our website
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/squad-update.html
SRFCbrothelutd
23/07/2009, 3:44 PM
Was McGrath anygood of a player with Galway?
Mr Maroon
23/07/2009, 7:35 PM
Was McGrath anygood of a player with Galway?
Not really.
Also....
I'm pretty sure a bag of footballs and some bibs would probably do it, such is our plight.
He has only missed two league games but I feel he has been a passenger for a lot of the games in our three man centre midfield formation. I don't know how he would fare with a 2 v 2 in the middle.
He hasn't scored a goal, got one assist (of sorts) when a pass deflected off a ref into Faherty's path against Drogheda and has never stood out as a Man of the Match contender. Not a fan of putting his foot into the tackle either.
That said, he plays a simple pass fairly well and seems fairly athletic. Can't see him dislodging O'Grady or Ryan to be honest.
Haven't been that impressed with him tbh. Alot of the games have passed him by in the middle of the park. Doesn't tackle enough, and has been out-muscled by other midfielders on occassions
Sean Kelly has been far better for us. That said, there's nothing to say Macca won't do a good job for ye.
gufc2000
25/07/2009, 10:39 PM
Is it true ye paid E10,000 for McGrath? Good deal for us if ye did
25/07/2009, 10:41 PM
If we paid 10k for him, someone needs to be shot.
gufc2000
25/07/2009, 10:44 PM
If we paid 10k for him, someone needs to be shot.
A rumour on our forum that ye did.
25/07/2009, 10:45 PM
A rumour on our forum that ye did.
Obviously we could have, but i doubt/hope not!
25/07/2009, 11:21 PM
Obviously we could have, but i doubt/hope not!
Where do you think we'd get 10 euro let alone 10000
25/07/2009, 11:43 PM
Where do you think we'd get 10 euro let alone 10000
I think you should be aiming that question at the GUFC fan, not me ;)
26/07/2009, 12:28 AM
I think you should be aiming that question at the GUFC fan, not me ;)
Sorry about that. I'm just used to aiming things at you.
26/07/2009, 12:29 AM
Sorry about that. I'm just used to aiming things at you.
;)....
sligored
26/07/2009, 12:44 AM
wise up - we only do free transfers - we took him off your wage bill as a favour. where would we get 10k from
Kevin L
26/07/2009, 4:10 PM
Some of these Galway lads must be first cousins of Avvenalaf!
We didn't pay any fee to Galway for Michael-sorry.
rovers100%
26/07/2009, 4:40 PM
we did pay..............a happy meal and 2 tickets to bruno !!!
sligofan4ever
26/07/2009, 11:33 PM
Fair play too Cook, hes gone out and signed players who have shown tonight that they will take us forward for the rest of the season. Everyone doubted Cook this season, but he seems to have been planning this, he got players off the wage bill (Almeida,Doc etc..) got a bit of money out of Europe and was able to bring in players that have alreayd made us a stronger team.
Rob Turner - Has been impressive since joining, and seems to get closer every game to getting a goal, and I think its safe to say he dosent look 19 :D.
Matthew Blinkhorn - Arguably the pick of the bunch, He was the kind of signing we needed up front and has scored a quality goal to get him started, much like Matthew Judges GOTM against Shamrock Rovers 2 seasons ago, hes going to be a a class act for us.
Eoin Doyle -After just one game its obvious hes mor elively and effective than Cash, has scored a great goal for his debut and looks like hes going to be a great player for us this season, also adds much needed pace.
Joe Kendrick - It dosent take a genius to notice that hes a massive improvement to our left back, Joe is obviously a player who can go forward and defend, and he can definatly do both those things right, may well be one of the best signings we've had since we got promoted to the premier division.
Dean Marshall - Didn't see him against Shams, but from what i seen against pats, hes got brilliant potential and adds pace to the other wing, only 18 or 19 and looks very pormising.
Ger Rafter - Didnt see him for myself, but from what ive heard hes nottoo bad.
Martin Nicolas Camano - At the minute its a case of wait and see.
Michael McGrath - Galway fans said hes not been impressive, but he can hold his head up high and be very proud of tonights performance, looks like he will be more effective than Richie Ryan has been all season.
Shedzer
26/07/2009, 11:37 PM
Fair play too Cook, hes gone out and signed players who have shown tonight that they will take us forward for the rest of the season. Everyone doubted Cook this season, but he seems to have been planning this, he got players off the wage bill (Almeida,Doc etc..) got a bit of money out of Europe and was able to bring in players that have alreayd made us a stronger team.
Rob Turner - Has been impressive since joining, and seems to get closer every game to getting a goal, and I think its safe to say he dosent look 19 :D.
Matthew Blinkhorn - Arguably the pick of the bunch, He was the kind of signing we needed up front and has scored a quality goal to get him started, much like Matthew Judges GOTM against Shamrock Rovers 2 seasons ago, hes going to be a a class act for us.
Eoin Doyle -After just one game its obvious hes mor elively and effective than Cash, has scored a great goal for his debut and looks like hes going to be a great player for us this season, also adds much needed pace.
Joe Kendrick - It dosent take a genius to notice that hes a massive improvement to our left back, Joe is obviously a player who can go forward and defend, and he can definatly do both those things right, may well be one of the best signings we've had since we got promoted to the premier division.
Dean Marshall - Didn't see him against Shams, but from what i seen against pats, hes got brilliant potential and adds pace to the other wing, only 18 or 19 and looks very pormising.
Michael McGrath - Galway fans said hes not been impressive, but he can hold his head and be very proud of tonights perforamnce, looks like he will be more effective than Richie Ryan has been all season.
I agreee with all of the above..
Too early to say on most of them, but Kendrick is a gaurentee success anyways. Blinkhorn is what we need up front too..
Things are looking up:cool:
26/07/2009, 11:41 PM
Everyone doubted Cook this seasonDid they?:confused:
sligofan4ever
26/07/2009, 11:43 PM
Did they?:confused:
Maybe not everyone, just with the way our season was going with lack luster performances and mediocre performances from some players this season. But as I said in the St.Pats thread, I cant wait to see what Inside Man has to say at the end of the season if we keep up these performances, one person who obviously has f*ck all faith in this club.
Rovers fan
26/07/2009, 11:44 PM
Did they?:confused:
Tom the Gom may have, but Jim Didn't.
showgies
26/07/2009, 11:45 PM
Michael McGrath - Galway fans said hes not been impressive, but he can hold his head and be very proud of tonights perforamnce, looks like he will be more effective than Richie Ryan has been all season.
I think you are been harsh on Ryan with this statement. If all players were fit, I'd wager that Ryan wouldn't be the one dropped by Cook.
brianw82
27/07/2009, 6:27 AM
Michael McGrath - Galway fans said hes not been impressive, but he can hold his head up high and be very proud of tonights performance, looks like he will be more effective than Richie Ryan has been all season.
Good post. What pleases me is young lads from Dublin like Doyle and Marshall willing to come down to Sligo for first team football. Credit to them for that, because most players would rather sit on the bench for a Dublin club than play in 'the sticks.'
rovers100%
27/07/2009, 11:04 AM
there was also three lads waiting and watching in the tunnel during the warm up and sat in the players section in the stand. 2 black lads and a white fella. wonder are they on trial or what ???? also i know doyle scored a great goal but he was quiet enuf apart from that in my opinion. but he still looks like he will add more than doc or cash tho. wonder how back 4 will look when peers comes back as will the new spanish lad partner him and if so where will that leave keane. hate to see him dropped when one of our best players this season but the combination of boco/morrison looks brlliant
27/07/2009, 11:10 AM
where will that leave keane.
Can't see Keane being dropped, IMO Keane should go right back, (when Peers returns) with Rommy in Centre midfield with O' Grady. I still think McGrath will be just a bench player.
sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:06 PM
there was also three lads waiting and watching in the tunnel during the warm up and sat in the players section in the stand. 2 black lads and a white fella. wonder are they on trial or what ???? also i know doyle scored a great goal but he was quiet enuf apart from that in my opinion. but he still looks like he will add more than doc or cash tho. wonder how back 4 will look when peers comes back as will the new spanish lad partner him and if so where will that leave keane. hate to see him dropped when one of our best players this season but the combination of boco/morrison looks brlliant
Choice Aisien is back :p.
brianw82
27/07/2009, 12:10 PM
Choice Aisien is back :p.
No way man, we couldn't afford his transfer fee. You're looking at big money for a player of Choice's quality.
sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:12 PM
No way man, we couldn't afford his transfer fee. You're looking at big money for a player of Choice's quality.
What qualities ? one 25 yard goal ?. I hear we are still going to be holding on to him while he waits on his move to Celtic ;).
27/07/2009, 12:15 PM
What qualities ? one 25 yard goal ?.
Best centre forward i've ever seen at The Showgrounds!
Boo_Boy
27/07/2009, 12:17 PM
Ahh Choice. Good times, I remember in pre-season before his supposed 'break out season' he scored like 6 goals in a pre-season game, what a load of shyte he turned out to be after that!
What ever happened to choice?, Did another club sign him up or what?
Would love to see how he's done...maybe he turned out decent :o.
sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 12:24 PM
Ahh Choice. Good times, I remember in pre-season before his supposed 'break out season' he scored like 6 goals in a pre-season game, what a load of shyte he turned out to be after that!
What ever happened to choice?, Did another club sign him up or what?
Would love to see how he's done...maybe he turned out decent :o.
Yeah and that match ended 11-1 or something like that :D. Had a quick check there and most sites have him as unemployed, but then again that mightened have been updated for ages.
Da Real Rover
27/07/2009, 1:45 PM
Best centre forward i've ever seen at The Showgrounds!
Big talk since Darren Jack did grace the Showgrounds.
rob mcdonald
27/07/2009, 3:33 PM
2 coloured lads are on trial from the Congo
rovers100%
27/07/2009, 3:37 PM
any word on the other lad that was with them ??? do we know anything bout there positions
27/07/2009, 3:38 PM
2 coloured lads are on trial from the Congo
Any idea what colour?
brianw82
27/07/2009, 3:39 PM
any word on the other lad that was with them ??? do we know anything bout there positions
He might be a white guy from a country with predominantly white people.
sligofan4ever
27/07/2009, 10:46 PM
I actually wonder would that be Darren Meenan ?
whiteagle
29/07/2009, 2:18 PM
Seriously are you joking about Turner he has been absolutley terrible since joing , fair enough hes unfit , i think he has potential (just about ) but how can you say hes impressive ...
Blinkhorn looks decent but was throwing in alot of reckless challenges against st.pats lucky not to be sent off an aprt from the goal did nothing else but fae out of the game .. i do think he has potential but needs more games ..
Seriously are you joking about Turner he has been absolutley terrible since joing , fair enough hes unfit , i think he has potential (just about ) but how can you say hes impressive ...
Blinkhorn looks decent but was throwing in alot of reckless challenges against st.pats lucky not to be sent off an aprt from the goal did nothing else but fae out of the game .. i do think he has potential but needs more games ..
What can you say to that? Just what we need to hear after our first league win in months!
rovers100%
29/07/2009, 3:45 PM
say nothing !!! dont even bother listening to him is best advice. he prob playing football manager all week and gone mad .............
Well at least he put 100% into that post!;)
Sorry, couldn't resist.
rovers100%
29/07/2009, 4:08 PM
i will take that one !!!!!!!!!!:p
Don't want to look like a grave robber but just read that all Corks players are now free agents.I wonder if Cookie will go for any of them!
sligofan4ever
29/07/2009, 5:12 PM
Don't want to look like a grave robber but just read that all Corks players are now free agents.I wonder if Cookie will go for any of them!
Do we need many more players ? maybe a right midfielder and centre midfielder (Doyle and McGrath Cup-Tied and Richie Ryan injured for a good while apparently).
sligofan4ever
29/07/2009, 6:10 PM
How has he been terrible ? has done nothing wrong since joining, takes his chances and is always coming closer to getting his first goal, I definatly wouldn't say hes been terrible. Give him time and see how does when hes fully match fit.
I hope not, as we've signed 8 already and have 3 more on trial.
Not to mention we can't afford them...
I agree with the afford part.
We have signed 8 and let go 5 so squad wise were not up that many.If we stay injury free we might be alrite. 3 more on trial, I rather take three proven loi players than take the chance on 3 unknowns.
sligofan4ever
29/07/2009, 6:28 PM
I agree with the afford part.
We have signed 8 and let go 5 so squad wise were not up that many.If we stay injury free we might be alrite. 3 more on trial, I rather take three proven loi players than take the chance on 3 unknowns.
Whos the 5th player to be released ?
I know Almeida,McTiernan,Doc and Holmes have been released, whos the 5th though ?
brianw82
29/07/2009, 6:35 PM
I know Almeida,McTiernan,Doc and Holmes have been released, whos the 5th though ?
I believe Cash either has, or will soon be, released.
Rovers Maniac
29/07/2009, 6:38 PM
Whats the story with Xano is he gone too?:confused:
Cash!
As far I know Torpey as well as Curry
29/07/2009, 10:23 PM
Torpey is decent, like a young Richie Ryan.
Faz would be a cracking signing.
celticV3
29/07/2009, 11:07 PM
Torpey is decent, like a young Richie Ryan.
Faz would be a cracking signing.
He's left us before just in time and financially ruined two other clubs, the mans a curse!