View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Steve Bruce
29/05/2009, 11:29 AM
http://www.setanta.com//uk/Articles/Football/2009/05/28/LOI-Rovers-Fergusin-interest/gnid-54829/

I don't think Fergie could do the job now for the LOI. He would be far too slow. Although if you can get the ball in the box he will score goals, but he would ever little else, not very mobile any more.

I would have kept him at Windsor as an Impact sub.

Steve Bruce
29/05/2009, 11:30 AM
Gault signs new Linfield contract

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45828000/jpg/_45828416_gault_226.jpg Michael Gault has agreed to stay at Windsor Park for another three years

Midfielder Michael Gault has ended speculation about a move from Linfield by signing a new three-year full-time contract with the Windsor Park club.

There had been reports that the 26-year-old could be on his way to League of Ireland champions Bohemians.
Gault, from Lisburn, was also a target for newly-promoted Portadown.

"Michael took a while to deliberate but has said he wants to be here and nowhere else," manager David Jeffrey told the Linfield website.

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/shared/img/o.gif
"I made it consistently clear that I did not want Michael to leave Windsor Park.
"He had a difficult year with injuries but at the tail end of the season I think we saw the real quality of Michael Gault.
"I am delighted he has committed himself to Linfield by signing this new three-year deal."
Gault made his international debut in March 2008 in a friendly against Georgia.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8069568.stm

Great news for Linfield, good player and would get on most teams. Lets hope him, Lowry & Mulgrew for a great midfield next year. Not to mention Garrett and Curran. Our centre is very strong.

Just need stronger wings.

29/05/2009, 12:31 PM
Ferguson has signed for Distillery. (BBC)

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1169211#post1169211

29/05/2009, 12:36 PM
Ferguson has signed for Distillery. (BBC)

http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=1169211#post1169211

Anthony Gorman must have had a hand in that one, I think they were big buddys at Linfield.

Trainee
29/05/2009, 12:45 PM
Is this the guy who gave Foster a bollocking when he was substituted in Oriel?

No that Was Mike MacGrath , edwards came on a sub in that game

Mr Maroon
29/05/2009, 12:47 PM
Rumours Declan Edwards has been let go by us due to disciplinary problems

It could have had a lot to do with Stockport going bust.

Gaillimh Al
29/05/2009, 12:57 PM
It has nothing to do with Stockport going bust and more to do with his attitude.

Predator
29/05/2009, 2:21 PM
Institute youngster Paul Lowry (19), relative of Philip, is said to be weighing up his options for next season. Having played for Letterkenny Rovers and Kildrum Tigers, Lowry moved to Institute last season with hope of cementing a first team place, but instead found himself on the fringes. John Gregg holds him in high regard, but Lowry is said to be impatient and wants first team football. Apparently N.Ireland first division teams, Carrick Rangers and Limavady United are interested but I'm not sure if a move to a lower division team, even for first team football, would be beneficial in the Irish game. With his history in the Ulster Senior League with Letterkenny Rovers, Finn Harps are also aware of his potential.

gufc2000
29/05/2009, 2:40 PM
Is this the guy who gave Foster a bollocking when he was substituted in Oriel?
That was Mike McGrath, and it wasn't Foster he was giving the bollocking to, it was something to do with what happened on the pitch he was giving out about it

Flexy
29/05/2009, 9:47 PM
Great news for Linfield, good player and would get on most teams. Lets hope him, Lowry & Mulgrew for a great midfield next year. Not to mention Garrett and Curran. Our centre is very strong.

Just need stronger wings.
GREAT PLAYER hold him in high regard, Linfields gain is other teams loss

gufc2000
02/06/2009, 6:34 PM
It looks as if Declan Edwards has been retained by Galway. It was never made official, and he now starts the match vs Bohs tonight as we have a threadbare squad

Philly
04/06/2009, 6:57 PM
KCFC have signed the following:

Philly Hughes (Phoenix FC)
Christy Doran (ex Dundalk)
Dean Barrett (Monaghan)
Darren Kelly (Crumlin Utd)
Adam McGarry (Bohemians)
Darren O’Brien and David Jackson, both from LSL.
Davy Byrne, (ex Finn Harps)

gufc2000
04/06/2009, 7:03 PM

Dean Barrett (Monaghan)
Adam McGarry (Bohemians)
Badly needed. Philly Hughes and Davy Byrne look like good signings. Are they eligible to play straight away?

04/06/2009, 7:03 PM

Same Davy Byrne that played for Shels, Pats, and Longford?

Philly
04/06/2009, 8:21 PM
Yupp all of them are avaliable now. Davy Byrne actually made his debut last weekend v. Athlone, and he is the former Shels player.

More info here:

http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/?p=1601

blue til i die
04/06/2009, 9:22 PM
Word down here that davy warren and Stephen Grant are signing in the transfer window.

KildareFan
04/06/2009, 10:22 PM
Yupp all of them are avaliable now. Davy Byrne actually made his debut last weekend v. Athlone, and he is the former Shels player.

More info here:

http://www.kildarecountyfc.com/?p=1601

They are available tomorrow but ridiculously they aren't available for the cup game next week because players have to be signed 14 days before the cup game and because they couldn't be signed until June 1st, they aren't eligble!!

05/06/2009, 9:24 AM

Dean Barrett (Monaghan)

You sure bout that? Myself, the chairman and Mick Cooke dont remember him!

05/06/2009, 3:06 PM
Has Christy Doran been without a club since he left us?

TheBoss
05/06/2009, 3:11 PM
He was with Sporting Fingal last season.

05/06/2009, 3:28 PM
I remember that now, thanks. Good signing for Kildare.

05/06/2009, 3:44 PM
You sure bout that? Myself, the chairman and Mick Cooke dont remember him!

you are right there magicme as I dont remember him myself either after he left us!

05/06/2009, 5:38 PM

Dean Barrett (Monaghan)
Adam McGarry (Bohemians)

2 words......

..............Uh oh.

Town Legend
05/06/2009, 5:45 PM
Thats spells trouble for us!!! Although I wouldn't be too worried bout Barrett cos he was useless with us. But knowing our luck he'll knock 2 or 3 by us tonight!!!

Dundalkjames
07/06/2009, 10:22 PM
A Latvian defender was seen in Oriel Park on friday night. Apparantly he has signed. AFAIK he's a LB

07/06/2009, 10:24 PM
Oh forgot to let you all know that Conor McMahon is back at Mons and played against UCD on Fri night. Conor was taking time out for his final exams at college and we are glad he is back!

Frank76
08/06/2009, 7:05 PM
Apparently Brendan Place is going to make an attempt to sign Derek Glynn from near neighbours Longford during the transfer window.

gufc2000
08/06/2009, 9:49 PM
Apparently Brendan Place is going to make an attempt to sign Derek Glynn from near neighbours Longford during the transfer window.
Could be a great signing for ye. I'm surprised he hasn't been more prolific for Longford

09/06/2009, 7:37 PM
Could be a great signing for ye. I'm surprised he hasn't been more prolific for Longford

wonder will new manager gareth cronin be able to get a better performance out of him than alan gough

stann
09/06/2009, 9:51 PM
wonder will new manager gareth cronin be able to get a better performance out of him than alan gough

Was thinking that for the last while, amazed that Cronin hadn't been linked with the job before. Great fit for ye, he'll do well. Good to see him back in the game too.

Black and White
09/06/2009, 10:18 PM
Couple of players very close to joining us according to the club. Word around Oriel on Friday night is that an unnamed Scottish striker whose name was eventually leaked, one Stephen Dobbie, ex Rangers, Hibs, St Johnstone and Queen of the South Striker who has banged in 20 odd goals the past two seasons in the Scottish 1st Division along with an unnamed Latvian defender and another Scottish defender James Crainey who is a left full.

Paul McAreevey has app joined us according to Linfield and the BBC.

Dundalkjames
09/06/2009, 10:48 PM
According to wikipedia stephen dobbie has signed for Swansea city

Swansea City

On 7th May 2009 it was confirmed on the Swansea City website that Dobbie would move to the club in summer 2009. It was advised the move was subject to a medical at the Liberity Stadium
He passed this medical on Friday May 22 and signed a three-year deal with the south west Wales club

gufc2000
10/06/2009, 7:19 AM
Couple of players very close to joining us according to the club. Word around Oriel on Friday night is that an unnamed Scottish striker whose name was eventually leaked, one Stephen Dobbie, ex Rangers, Hibs, St Johnstone and Queen of the South Striker who has banged in 20 odd goals the past two seasons in the Scottish 1st Division along with an unnamed Latvian defender and another Scottish defender James Crainey who is a left full.

Paul McAreevey has app joined us according to Linfield and the BBC.
Dobbie has offers in Scotland and England so I doubt he'll be moving to ye, also I think he has agreed a move to Swansea

Black and White
10/06/2009, 7:54 AM
Dobbie has offers in Scotland and England so I doubt he'll be moving to ye, also I think he has agreed a move to Swansea

Hence I said word coming out of Oriel, didnt say I had a top class source from withing the ground! His nam was thrown about the other night, I dont really know where the lad is now or whatever so if hes joined Swansea hes joined Swansea

Ezeikial
10/06/2009, 9:10 AM

According to Swansea and Queen of the South websites he has passed a medical and joined Swansea City since 22 May

http://www.swanseacity.net/page/Latest/0,,10354~1664937,00.html

http://qosfc.com/ClubNews/ViewFullStory/tabid/151/selectmoduleid/498/ArticleID/567/reftab/54/Default.aspx

gufc2000
10/06/2009, 12:39 PM
Hence I said word coming out of Oriel, didnt say I had a top class source from withing the ground! His nam was thrown about the other night, I dont really know where the lad is now or whatever so if hes joined Swansea hes joined Swansea
Ya well before I said that there was rumours of Dundalk players taking a pay-cut, and I got swallowed for it

atfconline
10/06/2009, 2:21 PM
Not a rumour, Emeka Onwubiko has been released by Athlone Town.

Source, local press.

10/06/2009, 2:25 PM
Interesting, he started off well for ye did he act up or has he had another offer?.

mcgonigle
10/06/2009, 3:14 PM
Ya well before I said that there was rumours of Dundalk players taking a pay-cut, and I got swallowed for it

Yeah but his rumour wasn't sh*t stirring, that's the difference.

Your rumour* conveniently came out after our owner said we need to raise more money.

*stuff the voices in your head tell you

Iorfa2MaccaJim
10/06/2009, 5:19 PM
I wonder who Gareth Cronin will bring in at Longford ?

Any rumours Longford fans ?

Ezeikial
10/06/2009, 5:19 PM

Quote: (Earlier thread on Dundalk increasing admission prices)

Rumour going around is George O'Callaghan has left to join a team in Greece and the rest of players have to take 30% pay cut so the mst be in serious trouble if the club still needs to increase prices

Ian Foster 2-0 Jeff 'Judas' Kenna

gufc200, the difference is that when you use unreliable sources (be they inside your own head or from the Galway forum) and then start speculating or drawing your own conclusions, like "the club must be in serious trouble", it is inevitable that you will get roasted.

Particularly as you have developed a bit of a history for this (for example, you recently claimed Dundalks wage bill was €17k !)

CSFShels
10/06/2009, 5:39 PM

Source, local press.
Jaysus, I'd take him as backup at Shels.

gufc2000
10/06/2009, 5:41 PM

Source, local press.
Why? It looked like he had been doing well with ye

Black and White
10/06/2009, 5:57 PM

Difference between that and my post is that you started a rumour about another club which was started by another clubs fans ahead of anything coming out of Oriel or even our own fans and mine was something that was goign aroudn the crowd at the game last Friday!
I could simply now just start up a rumour that Ian Foster is going to be sacked for poor performances and Jay O'Shea has fallen out with the whole Galway squad because hes ego driven! See its easy!

gufc2000
10/06/2009, 6:00 PM
Difference between that and my post is that you started a rumour about another club which was started by another clubs fans ahead of anything coming out of Oriel or even our own fans and mine was something that was goign aroudn the crowd at the game last Friday!
I could simply now just start up a rumour that Ian Foster is going to be sacked for poor performances and Jay O'Shea has fallen out with the whole Galway squad because hes ego driven! See its easy!
Look, its a rumour I heard, I said I'd post it to see if it was true and it obviously wasn't. Sorry for all the distress and harm I've caused to ye Dundalk fans :o

10/06/2009, 6:05 PM
Look, its a rumour I heard, I said I'd post it to see if it was true and it obviously wasn't. Sorry for all the distress and harm I've caused to ye Dundalk fans :o

Riiiiiiiittee

Black and White
10/06/2009, 6:06 PM

We're not exactly too stressed out about it, point is that why post something as ludacris as that when its completly untrue, our attendances have been at least 200 every game to dat, shop sales are up, bar is raking money in and the fact that it was almost immediately in the press the next day when Sligo, Galway, Drogs, Cork and Pats all had cash flow problems last year and yet there was nothign re us until a post about it was said on another clubs forum that Dundalk are having problems and must cut the budget.

Rogers got sacked for being a clown and Georgie boy couldnt handle the abuse he was getting left right and centre on and off the pitch.

gufc2000
10/06/2009, 6:07 PM
We're not exactly too stressed out about it, point is that why post something as ludacris as that when its completly untrue, our attendances have been at least 200 every game to dat, shop sales are up, bar is raking money in and the fact that it was almost immediately in the press the next day when Sligo, Galway, Drogs, Cork and Pats all had cash flow problems last year and yet there was nothign re us until a post about it was said on another clubs forum that Dundalk are having problems and must cut the budget.

Rogers got sacked for being a clown and Georgie boy couldnt handle the abuse he was getting left right and centre on and off the pitch.
If I had known it was completely untrue, I'd hardly have posted it

10/06/2009, 7:25 PM
Was thinking that for the last while, amazed that Cronin hadn't been linked with the job before. Great fit for ye, he'll do well. Good to see him back in the game too.

cronin was in the running the last time the job was vacant( when alan gough got it). It was probably too soon for him after Waterford but I was talking to one of the interviewers today that met him last night in Mullingar and he said that he means business this time. I get the impression he wont suffer fools gladly. He seems hungry and focused for the job ahead.

10/06/2009, 7:27 PM

Source, local press.

wonder will we do an exchange ? emeka for derek glynn I know who I would have and that would be emeka! its a surprising move for him..