View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

07/01/2009, 11:26 AM
Sporting Fingal are after Gary O’Neill, Ger Rowe and Ross Gaynor.

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/braywanderers/news.asp?n=35416

07/01/2009, 6:04 PM
From The Dundalk Argus (http://www.argus.ie/sport/soccer/fabio-signs-up-today-1594974.html)

Fabio signs up today

By Terry Conlon

Wednesday January 07 2009

Dundalk manager Sean Connor said he is to complete the signing of Drogheda striker Declan 'Fabio' O'Brien and 19-year-old full-back Sean Kelly from Scottish club Hearts today ( Wednesday) and tomorrow respectively. He has extended an invitation to 21 year-old striker Kyle Moran, who spent a number of seasons with Manchester United, to do pre-season with the squad, as well as another frontman, Dwight Barrett (23), a 6'2 Geordie, who has been based in America where he is attached to Crusaders.

Connor coached at the club, and the head coach recommended Barrett to him.

The manager plans to announce his coaching staff next week. He wants to speak with John Flanagan about a scouting role.

Connor revealed he he has been tracking Kelly for 18 months. From Donegal, he has been with Hearts since he was 16, where he was a regular with the reserves and made a couple of first team appearances.

He described the defender as the type of player he has been associated with over the last number of years. He is young with good technical ability, and thinks this is the opportunity for him to re-ignite his career.

Connor feels the acquisition of 29-year-old O'Brien, a winner of league and cup medals with Drogheda, offers the squad experience and leadership qualities.

He is a former captain of the Boynesiders.

Darren Mansaram, recruited from Bohemians also provides experience up front even though he is only 23, and he should help Tiarnan Mulvenna to improve, while the prospective arrival of Barrett, whose playing style is direct, and Moran offers a good mix.

The boss said that he wants to try to give local players an opportunity, and it would be up to Moran to prove himself.

Connor had him previously for pre-season at Bohs when the player opted to join Derry. If Moran obtained his release from Newry, he was more than welcome to take part in pre-season training, the manager said.

Connor watched the Linfield and Glentoran encounter on St Stephen's Day and Glenavon v Dungannon on New Year's Day.

'I have targets up North. Obviously there were players in the games who I have an interest in but I haven't made an approach. I'm keeping my options open.'

- Terry Conlon

07/01/2009, 6:47 PM
what's dundalks playing budget for the up coming season? hope connor doesnt send them down the same trial that he ended up putting sligo and bohs in previous rolls !!

Louth4sam
07/01/2009, 7:05 PM
I've heard it is around 12k which would leave us in the top half of spenders. Just hope we can get value for money on the pitch.

Black and White
07/01/2009, 7:16 PM
The above extract from the Dundalk Argus is abit out as the player on trial is Dwight Barnett and hes Jamaican!Also as i was shown, Mansaram hasnt signed from Bohs, he was released by Leigh Genisis!

Black and White
07/01/2009, 8:08 PM
Dundalk holing press conference tomorrow at 5 in the Crowne Plaza Hotel to unveil "1 or 2" signings and to reveal how 2009 season preparations are going!
www.dundalkfc.com (http://www.dundalkfc.com)

07/01/2009, 8:41 PM
From the Dundalk Democrat:

Connor hoping to have 14 full-time players at Oriel

By Gavin McLaughlin

DUNDALK manager Sean Connor has revealed that his first team squad for the 2009 season could consist of up to 14 full-time as the club aim to re-establish themselves in Irish football's elite. Speaking to the Dundalk Democrat on Tuesday, the Belfast man also confirmed that Darren Mansaram, ex-Hearts full-back Shaun Kelly and former Drogheda United captain Declan 'Fabio' O'Brien have all signed for Dundalk. The trio are set to be unveiled at a press conference on Thursday night and Connor stated that the players have all signed full-time deals at Oriel Park. "Mansaram, Fabio O'Brien and Shaun Kelly will be full-time" he said. "Along with Tiernan Mulvenna and Thomas Heary it means that five of the eight players here at this moment in time are full-time players. Fabio adds experience along with Heary while Kelly, Mulvenna and Mansaram are all young talented players so we have the right sort of blend." After watching recent events unfold at Drogheda United, many Dundalk fans have concerns about the implementation of full-time football at Oriel Park. Connor moved to allay those fears yesterday and insisted that the club would be in no way overstretched financially. "I can assure the supporters that every player I bring to the club will be within budget. I have spoken to two or three players that were over budget and I have no interest in players like that. "Dundalk is a massive club and we have to make sure that we give ourselves every chance of competing in the Premier Division in the future. We have an ambitious owner in Gerry Matthews and the infrastructure is in place to bring young, talented players in to play professional football." Connor also dismissed reports that Derry City's Kevin McHugh had turned down a move to Dundalk as he could not commit to training four times a week.. Last year's Player of the Year David Cassidy cited similar reasons before signing for Shelbourne last week but Connor quashed any notion that it would be hard to attract part-time players to Oriel. "I never spoke to Kevin McHugh and I don't think it will be hard to any part-time players to the club" he said. "Maybe people should read between the lines and see that I'm only really interested in full-time players. The only part-time players are Simon Kelly and Shane Grimes who are local and Chris Bennion who has been at the club for a number of years." Another local player who has been given a chance to impress Connor is former Manchester United forward Kyle Moran. The 21-year-old has been realeased from his contract at Newry City after a falling out with Showgrounds boss Gerry Flynn. Flynn was scathing in his assessment of Moran's attitude, stating in the Belfast Telegraph last Friday that "his (Moran's) attitude stinks and I don't want him anywhere near the club. Come Monday at the latest he won't be here because he's not the sort of player I want here. I would be surprised if another club come in for him, especially after they hear what I have to say. He was at Manchester United and he thinks he's Pele but I don't want him near the club. The Newry manager's comments have not perturbed Connor, however, and he confirmed that Moran has been given the chance to resurrect his career after being invited to pre-season training with Dundalk. "There has been no contract offered to Kyle." he explained. "It's up to him to take the chance that has been given to him. It maybe is his last chance to earn a professional playing contract. Since he came back from Manchester United he has made some bad decisions but now it's time for him to knuckle down. He has the ability and if he lets his football do the talking then we will see about offering him a deal." Connor also stated that a deal for Derry City goalkeeper Darren Quigley is expected to be resolved "one way or the other in the next 48 hours" and Dwight Barnett, a Jamaican striker based in Boston, would also be joining pre-season training which is due to commence at Hiney Park on January 17. It is also believed that the Dundalk boss is keeping close tabs on Dungannon Swifts' exciting young striker Mark McAllister who rejected a move to Celtic in May 2007 while Chris Turner, Harpal Singh and Liam Burns, who have all played under Connor before, are also attracting plenty of attention from the Belfast man.

skipper_12
07/01/2009, 9:02 PM
Good Lord I dont believe what im reading here!!! Has nothing been learned from the events of last season. What do Dundalk hope to achieve?? Possibly to buy their way to a trophy before realising they have spent way beyond their means and everything crumbles around them:mad:

WAKE UP!!

sligofan4ever
07/01/2009, 9:04 PM
Good Lord I dont believe what im reading here!!! Has nothing been learned from the events of last season. What do Dundalk hope to achieve?? Possibly to buy their way to a trophy before realising they have spent way beyond their means and everything crumbles around them:mad:

WAKE UP!!

I agree with you there, I tought managers would've copped on after the whole thing with Drogheda, signed far too many players, and now look at the situation there in.

07/01/2009, 9:12 PM
I don't see a €12k budget as being too crazy.. I certainly wouldn't describe it as 'buying a trophy'.

Inside Man
07/01/2009, 9:17 PM

WAKE UP!!
Too right mate.
Some people in this country are so stupid. When will they ever learn.

skipper_12
07/01/2009, 9:18 PM
I would believe the 12K budget if I saw the breakdown...And I really hope to God that someone is gonna double check finances in EVERY club. Sure Fabio alone would be around the 2k mark per week from word on the grapevine...now add 13 more full timers onto that and put in management and then bonuses and then...... easily adds up as all the other clubs have now learned (or not:rolleyes:)

07/01/2009, 9:25 PM
I would believe the 12K budget if I saw the breakdown...And I really hope to God that someone is gonna double check finances in EVERY club. Sure Fabio alone would be around the 2k mark per week from word on the grapevine...now add 13 more full timers onto that and put in management and then bonuses and then...... easily adds up as all the other clubs have now learned (or not:rolleyes:)

There is no way O'Brien will be getting €2,000 a week from Dundalk FC. Are you for real?

07/01/2009, 10:15 PM
I don't see a €12k budget as being too crazy.. I certainly wouldn't describe it as 'buying a trophy'.

It is more than we are spending at Derry.

LeixlipRed
07/01/2009, 10:33 PM
12k a week sounds fine. However, 14 full time players plus the rest indicates that it'll be tough to keep to such a budget. But sure, we've all learned our lesson right?

Flawless
07/01/2009, 10:56 PM
David Crawley is going back to Shels...Not sure if thats been mentioned here already or not!

And with regards Fabio, not a hope he'll be on 2k a week!..
Would love to know what Mansaram is getting, hes not coming back over from England for the good of his health in fairness...

Rovers Maniac
07/01/2009, 11:24 PM
Connor already working the magic i see, i think he said at the start 6 or 7 full timers and the rest part, fast forward 3 weeks or so and it is now 14. I think Turner will be one of the next in the door at Oriel.

celticV3
08/01/2009, 12:25 AM

Well where will that money be coming from each week?

Black and White
08/01/2009, 7:43 AM
I read in one of those local paper articles that Connor spoke to 2 players that where looking for over €2000 a week and he told them to go where the sun doesnt shine!..Fabio is just about on €1000 a week according to a source of mine...all players signed so far have had to reduce their wages to join us so!But both are full time contracts that Connor is handing our! I do believe that we can live within the 12k budget,we have a massive fan base both home and abroad, we have alot of good sponsorships, Lillywhite lounge rakes in money at the weekend, the pitch normally gives us an extra few bob with the factt hat we can rent it out(at the momoent its being renevated, theres also a bit of TV money for the coming season, we got the best part of €50,000 for the 1st Division last year, Patron Scheme is ongoing as well as fundraising events which take place regularly, the list is endless...one thing is for sure people....we nearly went out of business a number of years ago...and there are alot of fans who will not let this ever happen again...Gerry Matthews being one!which is why he bailed us out in the first place!

oriel
08/01/2009, 12:33 PM
If this is true re the amount of full time players been recruited, its pure and utter madness

08/01/2009, 12:44 PM
You have to be generating about €20k a week in revenue to stay within the wage cap.

Those parties in the Lillywhite must be like a night out with P Diddy......Cristal by the caseload, 200 euro cocktails....

Black and White
08/01/2009, 12:46 PM
If this is true re the amount of full time players been recruited, its pure and utter madness
It is but it kind of an advantage for the club though cause with so much players out of contract its the club who will boss the transfer and not the players...who are used to a pick and choose situaution to see who offers them the most money...players will have to take what they can get the next few seasonsso expect one or two other clubs doing what we're doing!

Flawless
08/01/2009, 12:49 PM
Can't see us having that many full-timers, its a bit rediculous!

shep
08/01/2009, 2:53 PM
What is not being mentioned is that last season part timers in premier were probably on 500/600 per week,so if you can look at the way the country is going at the minute then there is no reason why out of contract full time players wont sign full time for in and around the same.

Like where else are they gonna get jobs,there is no work out there.So in that case it makes sense to sign full time players on short term deals(1 season},as opposed to paying 500+ a week to a part time player.

Maybe i am the only one but to me its obvious why they would rather sign full timers on relatively the same money.

bholg
08/01/2009, 2:56 PM
Those parties in the Lillywhite must be like a night out with P Diddy......Cristal by the caseload, 200 euro cocktails....

You Know how we roll............ ;)

BrayUnknowns
08/01/2009, 3:16 PM
What is not being mentioned is that last season part timers in premier were probably on 500/600 per week,so if you can look at the way the country is going at the minute then there is no reason why out of contract full time players wont sign full time for in and around the same.

Like where else are they gonna get jobs,there is no work out there.So in that case it makes sense to sign full time players on short term deals(1 season},as opposed to paying 500+ a week to a part time player.

Maybe i am the only one but to me its obvious why they would rather sign full timers on relatively the same money.

There was very little players who were full time last season on €500/600 per week, most full timers would have been on more than this. I know that was the average Galway wage but most others (Bohs, Pats, Drogheda, Cork, Derry) paid more than that. Hence why the league is fcuked.

Players no longer have the power and if they want to play full time they will have to take what they are been offered, its either that or play part time with another club or in some cases for the smaller clubs players will drop to non league.

shep
08/01/2009, 4:20 PM
signings of Mansaram,Singh and Shaun Kelly from Hearts confirmed on Dundalk fc.com

Philly
08/01/2009, 4:48 PM
"I am hoping to have between 14-16 full time players".
Sean Connor @ todays press conference.

Smells like Finn Harps, Series Two. "Big", "sleeping giant" club gets promoted, goes full-time, over-spends, and it all goes downhill. The difference here is Sean Connor is an absolute wheeler and dealer. Manseram and Singh already back under their old gaffer, what the heck have they been up to the past year? Manseram flopped at Leigh whatdayecallem. Singh is a crock. Having that many players full-time when even clubs like Pats and Bohs are struggling to keep full-time set-ups is just a joke. Some people never learn.

08/01/2009, 4:53 PM
signings of Mansaram,Singh

Should be some craic when we play Dundalk next year!!!:D:D

Black and White
08/01/2009, 5:00 PM

Smells like Finn Harps, Series Two. "Big", "sleeping giant" club gets promoted, goes full-time, over-spends, and it all goes downhill. The difference here is Sean Connor is an absolute wheeler and dealer. Manseram and Singh already back under their old gaffer, what the heck have they been up to the past year? Manseram flopped at Leigh whatdayecallem. Singh is a crock. Having that many players full-time when even clubs like Pats and Bohs are struggling to keep full-time set-ups is just a joke. Some people never learn.

Difference is they are Full time teams with full time set ups...we are not a full time team and dont have full time set ups...we are a part time/semi professional club just signing alot of Full Time players cause its cheaper to have them this year when you can get some of them on wages similar to part time players!

Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/01/2009, 5:15 PM
Difference is they are Full time teams with full time set ups...we are not a full time team and dont have full time set ups...we are a part time/semi professional club just signing alot of Full Time players cause its cheaper to have them this year when you can get some of them on wages similar to part time players!

What are the exact criteria needed to meet the classification of a full time team?

1 - Full time manager
2 - 14 to 16 full time players
3 - ?????????

Black and White
08/01/2009, 5:20 PM
Everyone is full time, we are going to have a few part timers as well as part time staff...a full time club doesnt have part time players and part time staff behind the scenes as wella s other behind the scenes factors...we are staying part time and the most important factor is that every player we are signing is signing on for a year...full time clubs offer players 2 or 3 year deals!are players are on a 1 year roll on contract which means come next transfer window...they can leave for free!

skipper_12
08/01/2009, 5:29 PM
What are the exact criteria needed to meet the classification of a full time team?

1 - Full time manager
2 - 14 to 16 full time players
3 - ?????????

Class, sure I dont work full time myself. Its only a 9 to 5 job 52 weeks a year (less 23 days holidays :p How could Black and White say they are not a full time team and not expect witty responses

Philly
08/01/2009, 5:50 PM
[QUOTE=Black and White;1083172]we are not a full time team and dont have full time set ups.QUOTE]

You will be a team with a 16 ful-time players come next season. That's enough to have a full-time first team and bench. Your manager is full-time, as will be his assistant presumably. That makes you as full-time as any other club in the league. More full-time than many others. Just because you don't have a full-time kit-man doesn't make you a "semi-pro" club.

Where is the investment needed coming from?

Flawless
08/01/2009, 5:56 PM
According to the Clubd PRO Paul Johnston at todays Press conference, we are in a very healthy financial position. Majority of the players wages get paid by the DFC Trust through the Patron scheme where fans donate €10 a week or more depending on what can be afforded, we also rent out the pitch which costs around 150-200 a pop, have a bar which is in use every weekend and also some very sound sponsors.

Candystripe
08/01/2009, 6:08 PM
Connors seem to be signing plenty of players full-time but I don't see a lot of quality, seems more quantity!!!!!!!!

Derry are staying full-time with 15-16 FT players plus 3-4 FT staff.

Seems to me that Dundalk have the same but some on here are saying thats part-time ??????????????????

oriel
08/01/2009, 6:40 PM
. Majority of the players wages get paid by the DFC Trust through the Patron scheme where fans donate €10 a week or more depending on what can be afforded.

I seriously doubt this !

Most people I know are only paying 20 per month (myself incl) what will this pay ? 2 players, 3 max ?

skipper_12
08/01/2009, 7:59 PM
I seriously doubt this !

Most people I know are only paying 20 per month (myself incl) what will this pay ? 2 players, 3 max ?

Exactly, and as stated previously I will beleive the 12K theory when somebody shows the exact breakdown because I'm afraid the maths aint working out. And sure most club bars do well but not well enough to pay 16 full time players and coaching staff:eek:.

A big dose of reality is needed here

Louth4sam
08/01/2009, 8:34 PM
Exactly, and as stated previously I will beleive the 12K theory when somebody shows the exact breakdown because I'm afraid the maths aint working out. And sure most club bars do well but not well enough to pay 16 full time players and coaching staff:eek:.

A big dose of reality is needed here

12k isn't a lot per week and we will be financially sound paying it.

€1500 per week patron - We have 300 members and €5 is lowest Figure
€7500 per week gate - Average gate of 1500 every two weeks at €10 (lowest price ticket)
€1000 per week Pitch (prob earns a lot more but i dont have figures)
€800 per week bars

Plus you have shirt sponsors, match sponsors, ball sponsors, mascots, merchandise, sweet shop shop, Programs, goaltimes, Fundraisers, tv money, prize money.

Our youth training centre will be complete in the summer with an indoor pitch and Gym which will also generate more revenue for the club.

Where does the maths not work out?

Flexy
08/01/2009, 8:54 PM
Connors seem to be signing plenty of players full-time but I don't see a lot of quality, seems more quantity!!!!!!!!

Derry are staying full-time with 15-16 FT players plus 3-4 FT staff.

Seems to me that Dundalk have the same but some on here are saying thats part-time ??????????????????
Quigley deal from derry to dundalk has collapsed was on radio foyle today

08/01/2009, 8:55 PM

Yup and instead of Gary Sicknote Beckett ye get Fabio. Great signing 5 years ago but not now.

Flawless
08/01/2009, 9:11 PM
Also 12k is not rediculous, our budget last season was up on the 10k mark!

skipper_12
08/01/2009, 9:12 PM
12k isn't a lot per week and we will be financially sound paying it.

€1500 per week patron - We have 300 members and €5 is lowest Figure
€7500 per week gate - Average gate of 1500 every two weeks at €10 (lowest price ticket)
€1000 per week Pitch (prob earns a lot more but i dont have figures)
€800 per week bars

Plus you have shirt sponsors, match sponsors, ball sponsors, mascots, merchandise, sweet shop shop, Programs, goaltimes, Fundraisers, tv money, prize money.

Our youth training centre will be complete in the summer with an indoor pitch and Gym which will also generate more revenue for the club.

Where does the maths not work out?

Points taken and that all sounds great and hopefully you can pay 16 full time players and coaching staff. I am not against Dundalk I am just stating the fact that clubs should be really careful as to the wage bill that they take on board. Is there not some rule about the percentage of total revenue that can be spent on wages?? I am not too clued in on it but I think there is some limit. Those figures 9if accurate) get you to up around the 12K bang on. Even with the couple of grand you left out lets say its 80% of total incomme on wages. You also day to day running costs as a club too.

Lets say for example God forbid three of your top full timers get injured. You may have to increase your playing staff while still paying injured lads their wages every week. As stated its not just Dundalk I really hope that all clubs are aware of the pitfalls of spending beyond their means for short term success.

higgins
08/01/2009, 10:12 PM
I've heard it is around 12k which would leave us in the top half of spenders. Just hope we can get value for money on the pitch.

Your budget last season was 13k ...

Fair play to you for dropping to 12k this year given the financial mess ;)

08/01/2009, 10:14 PM
Yup and instead of Gary Sicknote Beckett ye get Fabio. Great signing 5 years ago but not now.Philly's a Kildare County fan.

Lamper.sffc
08/01/2009, 11:15 PM
Its nice to see that things have not changed. A club is doing well (Dundalk).
They have won promotion back to the top flight and are trying to make a go of it. So what do others do. They take the p*ss and try to put down the club for doing what they are doing. They make out that they are not jealous but are only concerned that the club in question are following the same mistakes as other clubs. Give me a break please:rolleyes:
Its no skin of your nose if it doesnt work for Dundalk. You are just looking for the argument.

Fair play to Dundalk. Hope it works out for you this season.

'Negativity' the cancer of the eircom league

08/01/2009, 11:28 PM
I read in one of those local paper articles that Connor spoke to 2 players that where looking for over €2000 a week and he told them to go where the sun doesnt shine!..Fabio is just about on €1000 a week according to a source of mine...all players signed so far have had to reduce their wages to join us so!But both are full time contracts that Connor is handing our! I do believe that we can live within the 12k budget,we have a massive fan base both home and abroad, we have alot of good sponsorships, Lillywhite lounge rakes in money at the weekend, the pitch normally gives us an extra few bob with the factt hat we can rent it out(at the momoent its being renevated, theres also a bit of TV money for the coming season, we got the best part of €50,000 for the 1st Division last year, Patron Scheme is ongoing as well as fundraising events which take place regularly, the list is endless...one thing is for sure people....we nearly went out of business a number of years ago...and there are alot of fans who will not let this ever happen again...Gerry Matthews being one!which is why he bailed us out in the first place!

You will be lucky to keep the playing budget to €12,000 never mind managment and admin which will add another €5,000 utter madness.

Ezeikial
08/01/2009, 11:38 PM
It would be good if the sour grapes / envy / were kept out of the comments (but it would be way less fun)

Philly
09/01/2009, 2:47 AM
Saying fans concerned with another club going full-time and splashing the cash is due to envy is just immature.

I don't know about you, but it's annpying as a LOI fan to see pretty much every club go down the pan lately. And then, you see another newly promoted club follow the same path, the exact same path, that all the other imploding clubs have followed. It gets frustrating. If Dundalk can keep their 16 full-time players, as well as whatever amount of part-time players, and their management team, within a sustainable budget then great.

I do not thing ANY club in this league can do that, however. Are Dundalk a bigger club than Pats, with more revenue opportunites? Derry? Heck no. Sure, a big club for the First Division. Yet, if I remember correctly, a few years ago Dundalk were playing in front of tiny crowds. What happens if the struggle next season? Where will the 1500 every two weeks come from? I know how negative this sounds, and it is. However, if I had a mortgage, I would easily put it on the Dundalk "project" going belly-up within 12 months. Irish clubs are going to have to learn the harsh lessons of the past 12 months. St Pat's, Bohs and Derry are all cutting back on wages. Pat's are even going part-time.

I still think that the LOI has a strong future as a professional league. However, now is a time to take a step back and recover. Set systems in place to build a stronger league. Work on the foundations. Dundalk are just another over-ambitious club who think having 16 full time footballers is feasible for a club based in a regional town in Ireland in a league which will be mostly part-time and in a country that is in a massive economic turmoil. Accuse me of ency, but what Dundalk are at right now is lunacy.

oriel
09/01/2009, 7:46 AM
I partly agree and hear what you are saying, I would have thought no more than 5 full timers with a decent quality of part time players would be ok.

I`ve been around this lge as a fan for over 30 years and I'm a bit worried that we are doing the opposite on all other clubs who are drastically cutting their costs.