View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

brianw82
09/01/2009, 7:51 AM
Seriously, Dundak fans, you should be going to your board and asking what the hell is going on with "14-16 full-time players." Someone needs to keep Connor under control, because you won't be able to sustain this.

GreenStar
09/01/2009, 7:51 AM
Is this now just a thread about dundalk? Where's all the transfer rumours gone? Lots of rumours about Rovers being linked with Ollie Cahill and Stephen Bradley.

09/01/2009, 8:32 AM
Where does the maths not work out?Forgetting about the salary cap for one.

'Negativity' the cancer of the eircom leagueYeah, forget about all that financial mismanagement, its the negativity of the people that go to games every week and post on a fans website what did it...

DRDoc
09/01/2009, 9:45 AM
Dundalks budget will be in excess of 12k - its going to be up at 16 or 17k a week in total

09/01/2009, 9:53 AM
For the record, Dundalk are EASILY one of the biggset clubs in the country. For years they were the top spenders in the league and this was at a time when clubs weren't being completely stoopid with money. Absolutely no reason why they shouldn't be among the top spenders. Their board seem to have done everything right (financially) the last couple of years so they should at least get the benefit of the doubt as regards their budget for next season.

As for transfer rumours;
Mark Quigley turned downa trial with Doncastor as he "wasn't in any shape to do myself justice". Derry remain interested (I'd be gutted to see him go). Derry are also intereted in Ryan guy but work permit problems may scupper that deal. Gary Dempsey and Jason Gavin are currently hawking themselves around the league (and elsewhere). Dessie Byrne is hoping to get a deal in England for family reasons (he has a kid there…) Obviously enough, Pats aren't been linked with anyone

Rovers Maniac
09/01/2009, 10:07 AM
If Dundalk think they can afford it then let them go for it as none of us will be cleaning up the mess after. Dundalk won a lot of leagues but bar the great European night i never remember major crowds for domestic league games even with a lot of the games repeated on a sunday night Oriel always looked rather empty. I also never remember them as big spenders but i remember in between Dublin and Belfast they used to attract a lot of players from both cities. I was only ever up the once to be honest and that night there was a really poor crowd it was a 1-1 draw and Dundalk went on to win the league that year (1995).

09/01/2009, 10:14 AM
If Dundalk think they can afford it then let them go for it as none of us will be cleaning up the mess after. Dundalk won a lot of leagues but bar the great European night i never remember major crowds for domestic league games even with a lot of the games repeated on a sunday night Oriel always looked rather empty. I also never remember them as big spenders but i remember in between Dublin and Belfast they used to attract a lot of players from both cities. I was only ever up the once to be honest and that night there was a really poor crowd it was a 1-1 draw and Dundalk went on to win the league that year (1995).If you were only there once and the crowd wasn't big is it any wonder you can't remember there being big crowds?

villarover
09/01/2009, 10:18 AM
It really is funny to hear o connor come up with the same bull over and over again. He a complete bluffer and they are so many in the game right now. He wont be found out until the middle of the summer because people will be caught up with dundalk been "back where they belong". I like Dundalk as a club, very friendly when we went up there but i do worry for ye with that clown in charge. Bringing all his favourite former players to the club, them too wasters singh and manseram.
Just a quite word in danny Ventre or chris butler ear before our games this season will sort them two fancy boys out.

09/01/2009, 10:19 AM
Its nice to see that things have not changed. A club is doing well (Dundalk).
They have won promotion back to the top flight and are trying to make a go of it. So what do others do. They take the p*ss and try to put down the club for doing what they are doing. They make out that they are not jealous but are only concerned that the club in question are following the same mistakes as other clubs. Give me a break please:rolleyes:
Its no skin of your nose if it doesnt work for Dundalk. You are just looking for the argument.

Fair play to Dundalk. Hope it works out for you this season.

'Negativity' the cancer of the eircom league
:o

Oh dear. And I thought the league was movnig forward and learning from its mistakes...

In fairness to Dundalk, if, as ORA noted, they need E20k a week, that's just over a million on a 52-week season. Harps turned over E830k last year by comparison, and Dundalk are bigger than Harps. (I'd expect them to get another 500 a week at the gate, and then they have the pitch rental and the bar rental). It's doable, although if the crowds don't turn up, they're in trouble.

Think it's important to distinguish between a pro on E800 a week and on E3k a week too.

Rovers Maniac
09/01/2009, 10:38 AM
If you were only there once and the crowd wasn't big is it any wonder you can't remember there being big crowds?

I also said a lot of there games were repeated on the Sunday evening sunday sport show or whatever the name it went under, you should read posts fully before replying.

Rovers Maniac
09/01/2009, 10:40 AM
:o

Oh dear. And I thought the league was movnig forward and learning from its mistakes...

In fairness to Dundalk, if, as ORA noted, they need E20k a week, that's just over a million on a 52-week season. Harps turned over E830k last year by comparison, and Dundalk are bigger than Harps. (I'd expect them to get another 500 a week at the gate, and then they have the pitch rental and the bar rental). It's doable, although if the crowds don't turn up, they're in trouble.

Think it's important to distinguish between a pro on E800 a week and on E3k a week too.

I think Harps had some major membership push before the start of last season ut i am not 100% certain of that.

oldyouth
09/01/2009, 10:49 AM
12k isn't a lot per week and we will be financially sound paying it.

€1500 per week patron - We have 300 members and €5 is lowest Figure
€7500 per week gate - Average gate of 1500 every two weeks at €10 (lowest price ticket)
€1000 per week Pitch (prob earns a lot more but i dont have figures)
€800 per week bars

Plus you have shirt sponsors, match sponsors, ball sponsors, mascots, merchandise, sweet shop shop, Programs, goaltimes, Fundraisers, tv money, prize money.

Our youth training centre will be complete in the summer with an indoor pitch and Gym which will also generate more revenue for the club.

Where does the maths not work out?
What about PRSI, VAT, Light & Heat, Repairs, Coach Hire, Phones, Rates, Refuse Charges, Insurance etc.
Wexford Youths don't pay wages, have the 3rd highest attendance in the 1st Division and still only make ends meet on account of running costs

09/01/2009, 11:06 AM
Then your fundraising is awful. Or else your expenses are high.

09/01/2009, 11:13 AM
http://www.setanta.com/uk/Features/The-Tabloid-Times/eLOI-Tabloid-Times/

"Cork City are preparing to launch a double swoop for St Pat's striker Mark Quigley and Bohemians goalkeeper Brian Murphy. [Irish Sun]"

Good luck with that one...

09/01/2009, 11:15 AM
Probably as manager and assistant too.

Billy-Green
09/01/2009, 11:15 AM
Is this now just a thread about dundalk? Where's all the transfer rumours gone? Lots of rumours about Rovers being linked with Ollie Cahill and Stephen Bradley.

I heard this too, also Shane Robinson has met a few people and wants to come back to us to be part of the whole Tallaght thing

09/01/2009, 11:16 AM
Owen Morrison and Stephen Parkhouse believed to have signed for Rovers this week, according to the Derry Journal.

John Russell(ex-Galway) is also being linked with us.

09/01/2009, 11:18 AM
I heard this too, also Shane Robinson has met a few people and wants to come back to us to be part of the whole Tallaght thing

I'd imagine waterford lad Robinson has strong ties to the area, and its nothing to do with the wage on offer

Billy-Green
09/01/2009, 11:23 AM
I'd imagine waterford lad Robinson has strong ties to the area, and its nothing to do with the wage on offer

Or maybe he enjoyed himself during his previous years with the club and see the potential, and its only goina be a part time contract like the rest of the squad

09/01/2009, 11:33 AM
I'm not saying he won't be happy to be there, I'm just saying that Robinson, like 99% of footballers in this country will go to whoever offers him the best deal. He wasn't haking himself arund the lower leagues in England thinking of playing in Tallaght.

And for the record, I think he's one of the top 5 players in the league

Billy-Green
09/01/2009, 11:54 AM
I'm not saying he won't be happy to be there, I'm just saying that Robinson, like 99% of footballers in this country will go to whoever offers him the best deal. He wasn't haking himself arund the lower leagues in England thinking of playing in Tallaght.

Apparently Reading were very impressed but more or less told him he will be a reserve player. He is defo one of the best and most naturally talented in our league

CSFShels
09/01/2009, 12:17 PM

"Cork City are preparing to launch a double swoop for St Pat's striker Mark Quigley and Bohemians goalkeeper Brian Murphy. [Irish Sun]"

How are they even allowed sign players with players and Matthews remaining unpaid?

09/01/2009, 12:22 PM
How are they even allowed sign players with players and Matthews remaining unpaid?

Don't you know - normal laws and regulations don't apply down in the "Peoples Republic of Cork"

09/01/2009, 12:36 PM
Not to mention that NO player will sign for a team without a manager

mrtndvn
09/01/2009, 12:37 PM

Considering Quigley is about to put pen to paper on a contract to Derry its not a great story.

I just hope Guy can get the work permit as well.

Black and White
09/01/2009, 12:43 PM
I see McHugh now looks set to join Linfield after all!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/7819639.stm

shep
09/01/2009, 12:44 PM
Philly's a Kildare County fan.

Thats obvious,he puts Finn Harps in the same"SLEEPING GIANT" catagory as Dundalk.

oldyouth
09/01/2009, 2:20 PM
Then your fundraising is awful. Or else your expenses are high.Neither. A lot of our income is reinvested back in to the infrastructure of the club. You'll see the benefits when you visit

shep
09/01/2009, 2:23 PM
With Darren Quigley going to Fingal,does anyone know the situation with Brendan Clarke?? Any time i have seen him he has been very good.Will he be Pats No.1 next season?

09/01/2009, 2:27 PM
He should be. A better keeper than Ryan IMO

09/01/2009, 2:35 PM
He should be. A better keeper than Ryan IMOBut by God did he make one hell of a clanger against Derry for Morrison's goal.

He was awful that night. Zero confidence.

That said, you've obviously seen a lot more of him than me...

Krstic
09/01/2009, 2:48 PM
I would say that with McHugh being a done deal to Linfield, then Derry must be pretty confident of signing Quigley or they wouldn't have sold McHugh.

09/01/2009, 2:49 PM
Yeah the main problem with Clarkie is that his kicking is too good (as opposed to Ryan and his simply awful kicking). Clarkey knows how good he is and sometimes tries to do too much with it. In that Derry game he should've just lumped it over the stand rather than trying to pick a pass.

He's not perfect, and I'd like to hear what Fingal fans have to say on his time there, but for me Ryan has simply made too many errors.

shep
09/01/2009, 2:52 PM
I saw him about 5 times with Fingal last year and he impressed me every time,his kicking is unreal,but he seemed very confident also.

BrayUnknowns
09/01/2009, 3:16 PM
I saw him about 5 times with Fingal last year and he impressed me every time,his kicking is unreal,but he seemed very confident also.

Confident ? don't you mean arrogant !

garyderry
09/01/2009, 3:24 PM
I would say that with McHugh being a done deal to Linfield, then Derry must be pretty confident of signing Quigley or they wouldn't have sold McHugh.

was hoping that myself, hope your right.

09/01/2009, 3:52 PM

To sign tomorrow evening.

Rovers fan
09/01/2009, 3:57 PM

Sam, any word on parkhouse signing for us?

garyderry
09/01/2009, 3:59 PM

McHugh or Quigley ???

Flexy
09/01/2009, 4:03 PM
McHugh or Quigley ???
Mc Hugh, I think the Quigley deal isnt a done deal as yet, we'll have a fee to pay plus agree personal terms, but will be a great signing if he does sign

09/01/2009, 4:06 PM
If you could swap McHugh for Quigley at not much extra cost it'd be great business. Farren and Quigley up front could be lethal.

garyderry
09/01/2009, 4:16 PM
Mc Hugh, I think the Quigley deal isnt a done deal as yet, we'll have a fee to pay plus agree personal terms, but will be a great signing if he does sign

There shouldnt be ANY fee. All pats players have been told they have to take a 30% pay cut and go part-time. Pats are not honouring the players contracts
and therefore we can signh anyone from Pats for free untill such time as the
players sign new contracts with reduced wages

Bunny Kelly
09/01/2009, 5:37 PM

And priced himself out of any move over there, didn't seem to realise that he won't get the crazy money he was on at Drogheda again

09/01/2009, 7:06 PM
If you could swap McHugh for Quigley at not much extra cost it'd be great business. Farren and Quigley up front could be lethal.

I really hope if Quigley signs this will be the strike partnership.

Sam, any word on parkhouse signing for us?

Yeah looking like done deal, he would be mad to turn down that kind of money. He was talking to a few Irish league clubs but prefers to stay in the LOI. He says he would stay with Harps but with our current situation we can't offer any players money as yet so, you can't expect them to hang around.
Best of luck to him, a quality player and with someone like Boco playing off him it would be a great partnership.

09/01/2009, 7:15 PM
he would be mad to turn down that kind of money.Did you actually see his contract? I very much doubt he's being paid 850 a week, he's nowhere near worth that.

Lamper.sffc
10/01/2009, 1:08 AM
Yeah the main problem with Clarkie is that his kicking is too good (as opposed to Ryan and his simply awful kicking). Clarkey knows how good he is and sometimes tries to do too much with it. In that Derry game he should've just lumped it over the stand rather than trying to pick a pass.

He's not perfect, and I'd like to hear what Fingal fans have to say on his time there, but for me Ryan has simply made too many errors.

His time with us was mixed. What a shot stopper. Brilliant in my opinion. But was a bit crazy when it came to coming out of his box. Sometimes thought he was an outfield player. He cost us one or two goals but saved us more than that. If i heard that we signed him I would not be disappointed.

10/01/2009, 2:41 AM
There shouldnt be ANY fee. All pats players have been told they have to take a 30% pay cut and go part-time. Pats are not honouring the players contracts
and therefore we can signh anyone from Pats for free untill such time as the
players sign new contracts with reduced wages

All players have been paid 100% of wages so far.

Black and White
10/01/2009, 12:23 PM
Drogheda United striker Eamon Zayed set to turn down Millwall for Sporting Fingal. [All Irish Daily Mirror]

Huh he really is a scabby c!@t!!!

Lilywhite Army
10/01/2009, 2:15 PM
What Zayed to Fingal...IS the man stupid..Most players love playing football and want to test themselves to the best of there ability and here we have a clown choosing first division football over a move to england:eek::eek::eek: shocks me

10/01/2009, 2:23 PM
He's probably afraid the Millwall hooligans will be after him for being some kind of Provisional IRA / Al-Qaeda super-terrorist.