View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Ezeikial
17/05/2009, 7:37 PM
Graham Gartland is a class act - both as a player and a decent individual; hopefully he will grace the LOI again sometime in the future. I doubt if this rumoured move makes any sense!

Blue Man
17/05/2009, 7:43 PM
The Gartland story is pure nonsense as he signed a 2 year deal last week or so. Back in Dublin apparently so Im sure he will be seen at Tallaght Stadium at some stage!

GalwayRed
17/05/2009, 10:49 PM
What was the story with Darren Meenan being released by Shels?
Thought he was a decent player
He wasnt happy about not being played so he left I think. Shame because he did well when he got on.

LeixlipRed
18/05/2009, 7:44 AM
I heard it was related to the use of poor grammar and textspeak ;)

Hairy Bowsie
18/05/2009, 9:07 AM
Meenan didn't leave of his own consent.

Blue Man
18/05/2009, 12:56 PM
Wasn't he struggling with a back injury all season? Heard he is going to Australia when the season finishes

18/05/2009, 3:37 PM
Any Sligo fans hear anything about Cook calling up one of our current players?

Also, Funston has come back to the club and started on Saturday night against Mons.

18/05/2009, 3:38 PM
Gethins was a rumour. Just that and no source mentioned so hard to take it seriously really.

18/05/2009, 3:42 PM
Gethins was a rumour. Just that and no source mentioned so hard to take it seriously really.

That's the one I was told yesterday.

Also Derry will be unveiling a new assistant manager in the next few weeks.

18/05/2009, 3:45 PM
We'll see so. Take it his contract is up in November?

Oh....PH?

pól-dcfc
18/05/2009, 3:48 PM
Also Derry will be unveiling a new assistant manager in the next few weeks.

I don't know about this one. I'm not sure if we could afford, or actually need, an assistant manager t the moment.

Black and White
19/05/2009, 7:46 AM
Whats the story with Joxer Kelly being sacked by the Drogs?

19/05/2009, 9:05 AM
Credit to B&W for finding this..

Meanwhile, Linfield's Paul McAreavey is set to leave Windsor Park.

McAreavey, whose Linfield contract expires at the end of May, is reported to have held talks with Ballymena United, Lisburn Distillery and League of Ireland club Dundalk.

Black and White
19/05/2009, 9:29 AM
Credit to B&W for finding this..

Twas on the BBC sports website yesterday!

wintz
20/05/2009, 8:23 AM
Twas on the BBC sports website yesterday!

Paul McAreavey signing for Dundalk, good luck to him but I feel his best days are behind him.

eelmonster
20/05/2009, 10:11 AM
Paul McAreavey signing for Dundalk, good luck to him but I feel his best days are behind him.

He's 28 years old, ffs! He should be peaking over the next couple of years.

Ezeikial
20/05/2009, 10:34 AM
McAreavey completes Dundalk move

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45390000/jpg/_45390926_paul_mcareavey_203.jpg Paul McAreavey won every domestic honour available with Linfield

Midfielder Paul McAreavey is set to sign a two-year full-time contract with League of Ireland side Dundalk after ending his association with Linfield. McAreavey's contract with the Blues expires on 31 May and the former Swindon Town player decided to seek a fresh challenge away from Windsor Park.
The 28-year-old had been attracting interest from Ballymena United.
"Paul kept us informed throughout and I understand he wants to play full-time," said United manager Roy Walker.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8059130.stm
Page last updated at 09:30 GMT, Wednesday, 20 May 2009 10:30 UK

placid casual
20/05/2009, 10:37 AM
Sure ;). Surely ye're wage budget would plummet through the roof if ye signed him

a bit like the person holding the sign " Up Down" . :)

20/05/2009, 6:38 PM
what has roy walker got in common with paul mcarevay? is this a mistake? thought his manager would be david jeffrey..:confused:

20/05/2009, 6:40 PM
rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us. Finn Harps were his last club. We could certainly do with a few new heads at present.

20/05/2009, 7:22 PM
rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us. Finn Harps were his last club. We could certainly do with a few new heads at present.

Can you PM me who please Marty? Can't think of who it may be?

eelmonster
20/05/2009, 7:38 PM
what has roy walker got in common with paul mcarevay? is this a mistake? thought his manager would be david jeffrey..:confused:

Walker was looking to sign McAreavey for Ballymena Utd.

Edit: He might yet sign for the Sky Blues:

Speculation Discounted
Connor also spoke today about media reports stating that Dundalk have signed a Northern based player. Connor has asked dundalkfc.com to state that contrary to reports, Dundalk FC have not signed any new players. The manager is in talks with numerous players about the possibility of coming to Oriel Park but he has yet to strike any deals, although he does expect some movement in the transfer market over the next 2-3 weeks. Speculation surrounding a number of players, who have been named in the media, is totally false.

Battery Rover
20/05/2009, 7:57 PM

Davy Byrne :eek:

Would that make it 10 ex Athlone?

Battery Rover
20/05/2009, 9:12 PM
Also rumour of Robbie Egan ex Athlone Town on his way over there as well.

I know we can't fund an Athlone Town "A" team but you dont have to do it for us :p

20/05/2009, 9:51 PM

Davy would be a smashing player for the Prem never mind the First but, the term "sicknote" never applied more to a player than it does to Davy (well, maybe Gary Beckett there too).

20/05/2009, 11:09 PM
Davy Byrne :eek:That's who I was thinking but he's not 4 years gone from Longford is he?:confused:

Rocky77
21/05/2009, 10:32 AM
2006 was his last season with us so no. Marty is, for once, wrong.....

21/05/2009, 11:35 AM
2006 was his last season with us so no. Marty is, for once, wrong.....

Technically he is not wrong, he said "rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us"

Doesn't say he left Longford 4 years ago anywhere in the post :p

Rocky77
21/05/2009, 12:40 PM
"I stand corrected," said the man in the orthopaedic shoes...

RoversHead
21/05/2009, 2:29 PM
[quote=DeNiro;1162008]Few rumours from News of World today

Shamrock Rovers interested in Graham Gartland and Graham Barrett. I doubt Gartland would come back after getting promoted to SPL. Barrett have heard very little about lately, he's a Tallaght lad though If memory serves me right

We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .

Steve Bruce
21/05/2009, 2:37 PM
McAreavey, was a very good player but has been terrible for 2 seasons. If you can get him back to his best, I know he’ll be up their amongst the very best midfielders in the league. He was miles ahead of any midfielder in the Irish League when he was on his game.

Although I don’t fancy Dundalks centre Midfield now, Collins and Maccers. Quite possibly the slowest most over the hill midfield about.

Good luck the Maccers and I hope he can rediscover his past form

21/05/2009, 3:48 PM
We haven't signed McAreavey, or anyone else for that matter..

http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/090520_Connor.asp

prince20
21/05/2009, 4:21 PM
I hear Kildare County have signed a couple of Chinese players who were on trial, didnt get all their names but i believe one of them is called Win Wan Soon.

Taxi for prince 20!

21/05/2009, 6:14 PM
Technically he is not wrong, he said "rumours around town is that an ex certain town player who played for us four years ago is coming back to us"

Doesn't say he left Longford 4 years ago anywhere in the post :p

fair play to you sam heggy!:p I was nearly going to say that I was wrong I meant to say in the sentence that he left us three years ago but I covered myself nicely in the phrase! im so proud of myself!!:D

Predator
21/05/2009, 6:39 PM
I was chatting to a guy who knows David Ogilby today. He was saying the big centre half's contract is up and Linfield and Coleraine are looking for him. He suggested to me that Derry would come in with an offer and maybe even St. Pat's who were also interested in him last year. I reckon he'd be a great signing for Derry!

pól-dcfc
21/05/2009, 6:49 PM
I hate to say it on all these threads, but I don't think we have the money available to compete with any of those three teams in terms of wages.

DeNiro
21/05/2009, 6:50 PM
We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .[/QUOTE]

Who could you see leaving in the window Rovershead? I saw them v Waterford last Tuesday and thought Eoin Doyle and Sean O'Connor could be replaced easily. Would you think Purcell, Flynn or Price could go as well?

RoversHead
22/05/2009, 10:55 AM
We don`t have the money for those kinda players wage expectations ,3or 4 to go out in the window and maybe 1or2 good part timers in is the plan,living within our means is the name of the game at Rovers these days .

Who could you see leaving in the window Rovershead? I saw them v Waterford last Tuesday and thought Eoin Doyle and Sean O'Connor could be replaced easily. Would you think Purcell, Flynn or Price could go as well?[/quote]I don`t rate Doyler but he`s a bit to go on a new contract ,mcgill will defo go probobly out on loan as he`s contracted to end of season .Pat Flynn is a nutter and a liability as he`s a magnet for red cards I think he could go and the signing of Craig Sives could mean the end for Price .Reckon we`ll keep Purcell as he puts himself about a bit more than our other strikers and is far better than Doyler.Madden is another on thin ice.Web has been a disaster for me I`d gladly see him off.Hard to second guess the current gaffer but Id expect a fullback and a midfielder to come in.Does anyone know if Joxer has been sacked by Drogs?Interesting thread on why Joey Ndo despite being fit is not being selected by Fenlon over on Bohs.com Id have him back on loan no probs.

Black and White
22/05/2009, 1:01 PM
The two lads have left Drogheda...according to Setanta

Drogheda United have confirmed that both John Paul Kelly and Mark Duggan have left the club.
The Boynesiders are currently bottom of the Premier Division and in need of as many points as they can collect in order to be within a chance of avoiding relegation.
Manager Alan Mathews was forced to compile a squad at very late notice when he took charge of the club just before the new season, but did well to sign some decent players.
Among those that arrived at United Park were Kelly and Duggan, who had both been released by Bohemians and Bray Wanderers respectively.
However, they have hardly featured since then with injury keeping both out for a period, but they won't have a chance to play any more games after the club agreed to release them from their contracts.
"There was an amicable split between the two players and the club," confirmed Mathews.
"They wanted to leave and they won't be playing for Drogheda anymore."

RoversHead
22/05/2009, 3:12 PM
Strange ,not the full story I`m sure.thanks Black and White.Joxer on a free is a bargain,,I know most think he`s a knacker but I still rate him and would take him at Rovers no probs.

Black and White
22/05/2009, 5:07 PM
We would take him too but I think him and Connor dont get along ie the reason why he didnt move for him and all in the off season.

22/05/2009, 9:20 PM
Duggan is a very handy player as well. I'd take him back at Bray in a heartbeat but Gormley fell out with him (there's something new :rolleyes:) and that's why he was released last year.

Ezeikial
27/05/2009, 2:34 PM
Gault signs new Linfield contract

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45828000/jpg/_45828416_gault_226.jpg Michael Gault has agreed to stay at Windsor Park for another three years

Midfielder Michael Gault has ended speculation about a move from Linfield by signing a new three-year full-time contract with the Windsor Park club.

There had been reports that the 26-year-old could be on his way to League of Ireland champions Bohemians.
Gault, from Lisburn, was also a target for newly-promoted Portadown.

"Michael took a while to deliberate but has said he wants to be here and nowhere else," manager David Jeffrey told the Linfield website.

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/shared/img/o.gif
"I made it consistently clear that I did not want Michael to leave Windsor Park.
"He had a difficult year with injuries but at the tail end of the season I think we saw the real quality of Michael Gault.
"I am delighted he has committed himself to Linfield by signing this new three-year deal."
Gault made his international debut in March 2008 in a friendly against Georgia.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/8069568.stm

blue til i die
27/05/2009, 3:10 PM
Interesting thread on why Joey Ndo despite being fit is not being selected by Fenlon over on Bohs.com Id have him back on loan no probs.

He's listed as being injured now, with hamstring injury.

gufc2000
29/05/2009, 9:25 AM
Rumours Declan Edwards has been let go by us due to disciplinary problems

29/05/2009, 9:59 AM

Might aswell sign him up so......:o

29/05/2009, 10:03 AM
http://www.setanta.com//uk/Articles/Football/2009/05/28/LOI-Rovers-Fergusin-interest/gnid-54829/

Rovers eye veteran Ferguson

Shamrock Rovers have reportedly joined the chase to sign 40-year-old Glenn Ferguson.

The veteran Linfield ace has been released by the Belfast club after netting 285 goals in 11 years, however, he has made clear his intention to play on and could be an option for Hoops boss Michael O’Neill, who it is reported has made inquiries about the player

brianw82
29/05/2009, 10:35 AM
Has George officially left yet?

29/05/2009, 10:37 AM
Has George officially left yet?

Yeah.

eelmonster
29/05/2009, 11:28 AM

Is this the guy who gave Foster a bollocking when he was substituted in Oriel?