View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
10/11/2008, 12:30 PM
What do you make of MariborKev's post on the Rovers forum (http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showthread.php?p=125675#post125675) about serious cut backs at Derry next season?I would imagine that it depends on whether we get serious money for McGinn.
Our 2007 annual accounts make interesting reading anyway, but as said above, no surprises the Chairman flagged that there would be cuts months ago.
Its been very quiet so far in transfer rumours. The past few seasons has seen alot of dealings and releases before the season has ended. Has the financial crisis caused this?
Billynomates
14/11/2008, 9:39 AM
Dan Murray from cork city is on trial at Leeds United
Its been very quiet so far in transfer rumours. The past few seasons has seen alot of dealings and releases before the season has ended. Has the financial crisis caused this?
Released players won't be announced until next week. We can pretty much guarentee that a few of the Drogheda players will be signed up within a couple of weeks
Jersey Cow
14/11/2008, 1:41 PM
word on the street has it....
Gartland reportedly gone from Drogs to Helsingborgs
Joxer Kelly and Harpal Singh to Sligo
Richie Baker to Linfield.
Danny Murphy from Cork to Dundee Utd
Darren Mansaram ex Bohs to Pats
Denis Behan from Cork to Linfield..
:D Seriously...they're gonna pay us money for Denis.
Nice one Linfield
:D Seriously...they're gonna pay us money for Denis.
Nice one LinfieldWho said anything about money?
Nice One Linfield
fionnsci
14/11/2008, 8:53 PM
Dont know if this has been mentioned elswhere;
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/news.asp?n=34903.
Will Bohs get any money for him if (when) he moves?
no i dont think so as he was only signed til the end of the season
viagogo
14/11/2008, 9:48 PM
Dan Murray from cork city is on trial at Leeds United
Has been offered a three year deal with City but has not signed yet. This could be reason why.
adamd164
14/11/2008, 9:54 PM
Whoa...Hold the phone lads....
You mean to say LINFIELD ARE GONNA TAKE DENIS BEHAN OFF US!?
Sweet! :)
harpstilidie
14/11/2008, 11:25 PM
Higgsy wont be here next season, we already have an assistant. Also I wouldnt be suprised if Holmes came. Who is the midfielder you are talking about? Richard Clarke is the only one I have heard about
Your welcome to him.
14/11/2008, 11:51 PM
Dont know if this has been mentioned elswhere;
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/news.asp?n=34903.
Will Bohs get any money for him if (when) he moves?
no i dont think so as he was only signed til the end of the season
Definitely won't get any money.
i know.
CSFShels
16/11/2008, 9:08 PM
Apparently David McGill from Shels to Rovers is a definite, didn't wanna post it in the confirmed thread just incase it is wrong.
Wasnt he with Rovers before?
CSFShels
16/11/2008, 9:14 PM
Yeah apparently he is going back now that Scully has gone. Wouldn't be surprised if Cassidy did the same.
Louth4sam
16/11/2008, 9:23 PM
Casso said in an interview with the club website during the week that he wanted to stay with the club no matter what division we were in next season. So i'd say he'd be staying. Unreal player can't believe rovers let him go. Easily premier division standard.
Yeah apparently he is going back now that Scully has gone. Wouldn't be surprised if Cassidy did the same.
I hope Dundalk keep the majority of their better players and add well to their squad. Then again if the rumours of Pat Scully going to Dundalk are true then a few of the ex-Rovers lads there may leave aswell.
Casso said in an interview with the club website during the week that he wanted to stay with the club no matter what division we were in next season. So i'd say he'd be staying. Unreal player can't believe rovers let him go. Easily premier division standard.
Scored a peach against us at the end of last season, volley from outside the box into the top corner. Good player. Who do you think will leave Dundalk apart from those who have retired?
16/11/2008, 9:25 PM
Might be totally off the wall, but I heard Sander Westerveld had some preliminary discussions with Pat's. He's currently unattached and has been for a few months.
DeNiro
16/11/2008, 9:28 PM
I'd say that will happen with a few Rovers players that are on loan. But, surely that's the incoming manager's decision to a certain degree as well.
Jersey Cow
17/11/2008, 9:28 AM
How could McGill from Shels to Rovers be a definite whem Rovers don't have a manager appointed yet!! :confused:....I heard a whisper Galway are selling O'Shea to either Leicester or Derby today for a reputed 500k!! :eek:
17/11/2008, 9:37 AM
I heard a whisper Galway are selling O'Shea to either Leicester or Derby today for a reputed 500k!! :eek:There's something one of the papers this morning saying that Derby will have him over for a trial.
17/11/2008, 10:02 AM
How could McGill from Shels to Rovers be a definite whem Rovers don't have a manager appointed yet!! :confused:....I heard a whisper Galway are selling O'Shea to either Leicester or Derby today for a reputed 500k!! :eek:
I thought your exclusive news earlier contradicted this! Deal is done he is over there since saturday sorting out the loose ends.
Jeepers, can't believe GUFC would get that kind of money for O Shea, fair play if it comes off!
And if O Shea is worth that, what is Niall McGinn worth?
17/11/2008, 11:21 AM
Can see Dundalk raiding Drogheda for a few players I'd say. If they wheel and deal well over the winter, they could be pushing for Europe next year.
17/11/2008, 11:24 AM
Might be totally off the wall, but I heard Sander Westerveld had some preliminary discussions with Pat's. He's currently unattached and has been for a few months.
I love the off season
17/11/2008, 12:34 PM
Can see Dundalk raiding Drogheda for a few players I'd say. If they wheel and deal well over the winter, they could be pushing for Europe next year.
With the mess the premier division is in at the moment, it's probably the best time to get promoted.. Hopefully we get our manager situation sorted out ASAP so we can get down to re-signing and signing players!
brianw82
17/11/2008, 12:42 PM
we can get down to resigning and signing players!
The importance of the hyphen can't be overstated there.
17/11/2008, 12:45 PM
You're just afraid of the competition next season! :p;)
And if O Shea is worth that, what is Niall McGinn worth?
I read that the offer that Derby are giving is £320,000 sterling, as long as he passes his trial period this week.
heres the link:
http://therams.co.uk/stories/rams-to-check-on-irish-winger
BrayUnknowns
17/11/2008, 3:58 PM
Headwrecking thing is that i don't think Bray will get anything out of the deal because he wasn't signed as a professional with us, well AFAIK anyway. Joeys will get a little slice of it though.
Maroon 7
17/11/2008, 7:23 PM
The Rams are confident in bringing Republic of Ireland U21 International to Pride Park after agreeing a £400,000 deal
Jay O'shea
James (Jay) O'shea should be a Ram in the new year after a £400,000 deal is agreed
Derby County are expected to capture League of Ireland player James (Jay) O'Shea from Galway United after the 20 year old visited Derby along with his present manager and ex rams player Jeff Kenna for talks last week.
A fee of £400,000 has already been agreed between the two clubs and the midfielder/winger is expected to sign for the Rams when the transfer window opens in January....
O'shea is a six foot tall midfield player who can play on the wing. His goal scoring ability has also alerted Paul Jewell to him, having scored 7 goals in 20 games this season. He was also Galway United's top scorer last season.
Jay broke into the Republic of Ireland U21-23 side last month and looks to have a bright future in the game and for Derby
17/11/2008, 7:38 PM
So we can expect to sell Seamie for 500k?
No way is O'Shea worth that...
WoodquayBoy
17/11/2008, 8:01 PM
Here we go again, more'he's not worth that' comments about a United player from a Sligo fan. He is worth whatever the highest bidder is willing to pay for him. Derby is willing to pay £320,000. We'll take it and no, Bray, you can't have any! Expensive Christmas party that, eh!!
17/11/2008, 8:36 PM
Here we go again, more'he's not worth that' comments about a United player from a Sligo fan.
he's a very good player, but i wouldnt say he's worth €500k on the reputation of a third of a season, although i suppose Galway could do with the money too.
17/11/2008, 8:54 PM
Bray will get a tiny amount of it by virtue of the fact that he spent some time there between 12 and 23. It doesn't matter what you paid him or didn't pay him as far as I'm aware. We got a small amount of money for Dave Mooney's transfer to Reading as did Shamrock Rovers and his other schoolboy clubs I assume. 5% of the transfer fee is divided between the clubs based on the length of time he was with them from recollection. It's on the FAI site anyhow.
McLovin
17/11/2008, 9:06 PM
Give him a break.He's from Dundalk for crying out loud
Demoshield
18/11/2008, 8:19 AM
So we can expect to sell Seamie for 500k?
No way is O'Shea worth that...
First you have to find someone willing to pay 500K, euro, sterling, dollars or yen for Seamie, then he is worth it. So far you haven't found anybody willing to pay anything for him, so he's worth nothing.
GUFC on the other hand have found a club willing to pay £400k sterling for O'Shea, so that is what he is worth. Great business by Nick & GUFC.
http://www.derbycounty-mad.co.uk/news/loadnews.asp?cid=TMNW&id=417519
Jersey Cow
18/11/2008, 10:25 AM
:DGood old Nick....always a penchant for wheeling and dealing has our Nick!!
CuanaD
18/11/2008, 10:40 AM
£320k or £400k - either way its good business for Galway - €500 for a young guy who is only beginning to prove himself.
(should be good business for Derby too if he continues to show the promise he has been - hope Galway get a good sell-on clause in the contract!)
:ball:
18/11/2008, 12:45 PM
:DGood old Nick....always a penchant for wheeling and dealing has our Nick!!
Now what was your exclusive all those weeks ago.Talk about a Bulls**t Artist:rolleyes:
Lilywhite Army
18/11/2008, 12:55 PM
Rumour in Dundalk is that gill is been let go and that doolin ..yes doolin...is been lined up as his replacement taking with him some of the drogheda players who are out of contract:eek:
Jersey Cow
18/11/2008, 1:00 PM
Hey GUFCT...O'Shea was going to Dalymount , agreed to do so until Bohs went wallop and then Derby came in with an offer....put that in your pipe and smoke it!...........;)
Rumour in Dundalk is that gill is been let go and that doolin ..yes doolin...is been lined up as his replacement taking with him some of the drogheda players who are out of contract:eek:
I wouldn't be happy with that at all. Can you actually imagine it? It'd just be Drogheda United 2008 wearing a white jersey!
The board need to sort this manager thing out asap though.. It's becoming a farce at this stage! ;)
paulie_walnuts
The job is being advertised tomorrow (Where do they advertise these things?). Gill will have to reapply, and I'm led to believe he will, and will be interviewed like every other candidate.
18/11/2008, 1:01 PM
Rumour in Dundalk is that gill is been let go and that doolin ..yes doolin...is been lined up as his replacement taking with him some of the drogheda players who are out of contract
You're screwed.
If you've got a sensible board, Doolin can't work under a sensible budget. If you've a stupid board, he'll do OK with a stupid budget, but then bankrupt the club.
Maybe as a one-year appointment to get access to the Drogheda players, it'd be worth it. Otherwise, bad call.