View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
frog-gufc
20/01/2009, 5:27 PM
Tuesday January 20 2009
DUNDALK manager Sean Connor is edging closer to signing former Bohemians defender Liam Burns and ex-Drogheda United players Fahrudin Kuduzovic and Adam Hughes, all three of whom played for Connor at Sligo Rovers.
Burns, one of the league's top defenders last season, has turned down the offer of a new contract with Bohemians on reduced terms, while Hughes is set to opt for Oriel Park rather than link up with former boss Paul Doolin at Cork City.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/connor-sets-sights-on-oriel-reunion-with-trusted-trio-1607104.html
i thought hughes had signed for some kazak team already
20/01/2009, 5:28 PM
i thought hughes had signed for some kazak team alreadyHe was on trial with a team there, along with Faz.
gotaroundbetter
20/01/2009, 5:34 PM
Think his fundrasing days are over with cobh!!.What part of the country do you hail from??.
Sorry for the rather loose interpitation of multi talented :D
http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/former-waterford-united-player-charged-with-attempted-robbery/
Black and White
20/01/2009, 5:48 PM
http://www.munster-express.ie/local-news/former-waterford-united-player-charged-with-attempted-robbery/
Iv heard it all now!!
forza rovers
20/01/2009, 6:15 PM
who's connor missing from our premier team in 06? cant be many now.
sligofan4ever
20/01/2009, 6:17 PM
Choice Aisien :).
20/01/2009, 6:32 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/7838891.stm
that player mickey collins did he play with portadown a few years ago??:confused:
20/01/2009, 6:54 PM
that player mickey collins did he play with portadown a few years ago??:confused:
Yes. He managed to get sent off for them in the Setanta Cup a couple of times too if I remember correctly. Not worth paying a transfer fee for..
BigFella 09
20/01/2009, 6:56 PM
We can't all be perfect.The lad had the world at his feet not to long ago.Every club in england wanted him at one stage.He's capped for ireland,your telling me you wouldn't have him in your side.
blue til i die
20/01/2009, 8:20 PM
also apparently smashed the windows in Cronin's car.
BigFella 09
20/01/2009, 8:55 PM
also apparently smashed the windows in Cronin's car.
Ah stop will ya.Is it that your jealious or that he wouldn't play for ye no more.You can't blame a fella.He even picked carrick over ye.
CSFShels
20/01/2009, 9:05 PM
Ah stop will ya.Is it that your jealious or that he wouldn't play for ye no more.You can't blame a fella.He even picked carrick over ye.
It might be that he actually did smash Cronin's car. You just never know.
20/01/2009, 9:14 PM
Tuesday January 20 2009
DUNDALK manager Sean Connor is edging closer to signing former Bohemians defender Liam Burns and ex-Drogheda United players Fahrudin Kuduzovic and Adam Hughes, all three of whom played for Connor at Sligo Rovers.
Burns, one of the league's top defenders last season, has turned down the offer of a new contract with Bohemians on reduced terms, while Hughes is set to opt for Oriel Park rather than link up with former boss Paul Doolin at Cork City.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/connor-sets-sights-on-oriel-reunion-with-trusted-trio-1607104.html
I'm suprised all three will stand for Connors bull**** again. If true of course.
brianw82
20/01/2009, 9:20 PM
I'm suprised all three will stand for Connors bull**** again. If true of course.
Money talks and bs walks, as they say.
gotaroundbetter
20/01/2009, 9:53 PM
" You can't blame a fella" err yes you can :rolleyes:
A talent yes, but if I had a say in the matter (which I don't) I'd rather not have the lad near my club but I'm sure there will be someone with moral blinkers to take him on.;)
Black and White
20/01/2009, 10:04 PM
Matt Judge, and next on our hit list are Gavin Peers and Richard Brush!!
dannydundalk
20/01/2009, 10:24 PM
in al honesty we are being linked with really big loi players that have won honours at the highest level possible in this league...
could dundalk win the 1st division one year and the premier the next ???:rolleyes:
Black and White
20/01/2009, 10:28 PM
Could do Danny, could do...depends on whose joining us next??!!
blue til i die
20/01/2009, 10:28 PM
haha. do you feel special making up stuff to post here?
dannydundalk
20/01/2009, 10:33 PM
apparently connor is set to sign 4 to 5 players from local newspaper the argus
possibilities-chris turner,liam burns,steve williams,dave rogers,kudozovic,adam hughes,micky collins
any more black and white?:rolleyes:
BigFella 09
20/01/2009, 10:49 PM
haha. do you feel special making up stuff to post here?
Its not made up at all.You could'nt blame him for choosing carrick,at least he knew he would win something.If he hadn't been injured near the end of the season cobh would have stayed up.What division are ye in again!!!
blue til i die
20/01/2009, 11:01 PM
Its not made up at all.You could'nt blame him for choosing carrick,at least he knew he would win something.If he hadn't been injured near the end of the season cobh would have stayed up.What division are ye in again!!!
what has what division we're in have anything to do with what he allegedly did to our ex managers car?
we're in the first division..oh wait...so are cobh, dumdum!!
BigFella 09
20/01/2009, 11:14 PM
what has what division we're in have anything to do with what he allegedly did to our ex managers car?
we're in the first division..oh wait...so are cobh, dumdum!!
Your bad mouthing a fella you know nothing about lad an im cork city ya langer!!!!!
blue til i die
20/01/2009, 11:27 PM
Your bad mouthing a fella you know nothing about lad an im cork city ya langer!!!!!
you don't know what you're talking bout, lad! :rolleyes:
20/01/2009, 11:37 PM
in al honesty we are being linked with really big loi players that have won honours at the highest level possible in this league...
could dundalk win the 1st division one year and the premier the next ???:rolleyes:
I'm not picking this post as a specific example, but Dundalk have signed (and are rumoured to be signing) a bunch of has beens, bar Hughes, Burns and Faz. And personally I'll be suprised if any of those two players end up in Dundalk.
Turner while talented has let himself go and will not regain fitness under any Con-nor regime
Singh is a dishonest, moody git who is good when motvitated but rarely is.
Fabio is past it.
Rogers.. Hahaha. The very definition of past it, although be never had it to begin with.
Mansaram, an overrated player who was second rate in the Blue Square Premier. Enough said.
I can only see Dundalk scraping up if they stay up at all. Connor's second rate management coupled with Steve Bruce, average players and budget bigger than Johnny Vegas' waistline spells nothing positive in my opinion.
dannydundalk
20/01/2009, 11:46 PM
fair enough that's your opinion not that i agree with any though
Rovers Maniac
21/01/2009, 12:16 AM
I think Dundalk will do fair enough, Hughes is a good player if they get him, Turner if they can get him back playing is a very good footballer, Burns is very good and so is Faz. Mansarram is alright, works hard for the team. Singh i would have serious concern with him on the that plastic pitch but still football in him. Decent team and i think you will have an advantage with the pitch so your home form should be very good, see a chance for you to be in the top half if everythings click. Although that pitch may not suit Burns if it plays quick.
21/01/2009, 2:33 AM
I think Dundalk will do fair enough, Hughes is a good player if they get him, Turner if they can get him back playing is a very good footballer, Burns is very good and so is Faz. Mansarram is alright, works hard for the team. Singh i would have serious concern with him on the that plastic pitch but still football in him. Decent team and i think you will have an advantage with the pitch so your home form should be very good, see a chance for you to be in the top half if everythings click. Although that pitch may not suit Burns if it plays quick.
Just out of interest have you seen the surface in Oriel or played on it or similar? As quite an injury prone 28yr old myself i play on it regularly and find it much easier on the knees than many grass pitches (united park standing out as exceptional) FIFA stats show no significant change in amount or type of injury on this generation of surface....we are not talking about Luton/QPR stuff here. Even better after pending upgrade. Not having a go but negative comments regarding the safety of the pitch(not whether it is an advantage or not) really is due to lack of knowledge imo
Apologies for going off topic:o
Rovers fan
21/01/2009, 2:42 AM
I'm not picking this post as a specific example, but Dundalk have signed (and are rumoured to be signing) a bunch of has beens, bar Hughes, Burns and Faz. And personally I'll be suprised if any of those two players end up in Dundalk.
Turner while talented has let himself go and will not regain fitness under any Con-nor regime
Fabio is past it.
Rogers.. Hahaha. The very definition of past it, although be never had it to begin with.
Mansaram, an overrated player who was second rate in the Blue Square Premier. Enough said.
I can only see Dundalk scraping up if they stay up at all. Connor's second rate management coupled with Steve Bruce, average players and budget bigger than Johnny Vegas' waistline spells nothing positive in my opinion.
Tbf if we were signing those players you wouldn't be saying the same thing. Id take them all bar Rogers.
maroon ultra
21/01/2009, 2:59 AM
I really really hope Dundaaaaalk sign Mickey Collins. He reacts even to the smallest hint of abuse and is likely to get sent off. Much like Dave Hill in his heyday.
SMorgan
21/01/2009, 6:32 AM
Fabio is past it.
I'll use this post as an example of how bitter fans of other clubs can become. How in the name of goodness could a 28 year old be described as 'past it'. Get a grip man.
You'll also excuse me I don't value your opinion on the other players. I think we should just leave it and see which club does better.
I really really hope Dundaaaaalk sign Mickey Collins. He reacts even to the smallest hint of abuse and is likely to get sent off. Much like Dave Hill in his heyday.
Portadown's Mick Collins? He got sent off (or at least the ref ordered him to be taken off) in a friendly v Pats a couple of years ago. Kicked out at one of our players and got some light hearted slagging form our fans (we numbered about 60 in a total crowd of 100). As he walked off he continued to have a go at the Pats fans with gestures and "obsceneties"
Every Pats fan just laughed at him. Never seen anyone so up for a friendly...
21/01/2009, 9:12 AM
Tbf if we were signing those players you wouldn't be saying the same thing. Id take them all bar Rogers.
not at this stage I wouldn't. Bar Burns maybe, I wouldn't see one of them getting into our first team at all.
wexfordned
21/01/2009, 9:52 AM
not at this stage I wouldn't. Bar Burns maybe, I wouldn't see one of them getting into our first team at all.
Anyone who signs Liam Burns is getting an excellent centre back. Would walk into any team in the country. Lacks pace, but he is a great reader of the game so is rarely exposed.
Hibs4Ever
21/01/2009, 10:02 AM
Portadown's Mick Collins? He got sent off (or at least the ref ordered him to be taken off) in a friendly v Pats a couple of years ago. Kicked out at one of our players and got some light hearted slagging form our fans (we numbered about 60 in a total crowd of 100). As he walked off he continued to have a go at the Pats fans with gestures and "obsceneties"
Every Pats fan just laughed at him. Never seen anyone so up for a friendly...
That was funny as f*ck. The ref told their manager to take him off before he sends him off :D The guy's a grade A moron
Rovers Maniac
21/01/2009, 10:19 AM
Just out of interest have you seen the surface in Oriel or played on it or similar? As quite an injury prone 28yr old myself i play on it regularly and find it much easier on the knees than many grass pitches (united park standing out as exceptional) FIFA stats show no significant change in amount or type of injury on this generation of surface....we are not talking about Luton/QPR stuff here. Even better after pending upgrade. Not having a go but negative comments regarding the safety of the pitch(not whether it is an advantage or not) really is due to lack of knowledge imo
Apologies for going off topic:o
No offence but having a kick about with your mates is a lot different than playing a competitive league of Ireland premier league match with tackles flying in at you.
He quoted Keith Armstrong, boss of Finland's HJK Helsinki on his club's conversion from grass: "He says that their players abhor it. Their physiotherapists' opinions are that it could take four years off a player's career. We don't like it full stop. I think it's significant that no footballers like it. Nor do technical staff like it.
"Earlier in the season when we told Jean-Alain Boumsong [about Dunfermline's pitch], he couldn't believe it. It could deter foreign players from coming here." McLeish is not speaking out of ignorance. his club can boast a FIELDturf training pitch, in common with several English Premiership clubs. "I know people say these pitches can enhance the community. Well, just build one for the community. Why make the professional elite league play on it?"
Dunfirmiline players also felt they picked up more injuries on a plastic surface/Art grass than the real thing and in my view that is the real proof in the pudding as they are the boys that have to use it.
Rovers Maniac
21/01/2009, 10:32 AM
I'll use this post as an example of how bitter fans of other clubs can become. How in the name of goodness could a 28 year old be described as 'past it'. Get a grip man.
You'll also excuse me I don't value your opinion on the other players. I think we should just leave it and see which club does better.
I think he has probably seen him more than you this year. I seen Fabio play in Dalymount v Bohs and all he did was try and kick Killian Brennan when he came on. From what i seen of him i think the injuries may have caught up with him.
Flawless
21/01/2009, 10:50 AM
I dont think we can win the premier this year, in all honesty thats fairy talk!
We are piecing together a good squad, and hopefully the signings of the players linked this week materialise and help lead us to the top 5, which is a more achievable target, but being brutally honest, I just want to see us stay uo, and if that means one place above the play offs then so be it!
Just out of curiosity, can anyone tell me what Burns was earning a week at Bohs last year?
Louth4sam
21/01/2009, 11:44 AM
No offence but having a kick about with your mates is a lot different than playing a competitive league of Ireland premier league match with tackles flying in at you.
He quoted Keith Armstrong, boss of Finland's HJK Helsinki on his club's conversion from grass: "He says that their players abhor it. Their physiotherapists' opinions are that it could take four years off a player's career. We don't like it full stop. I think it's significant that no footballers like it. Nor do technical staff like it.
"Earlier in the season when we told Jean-Alain Boumsong [about Dunfermline's pitch], he couldn't believe it. It could deter foreign players from coming here." McLeish is not speaking out of ignorance. his club can boast a FIELDturf training pitch, in common with several English Premiership clubs. "I know people say these pitches can enhance the community. Well, just build one for the community. Why make the professional elite league play on it?"
Dunfirmiline players also felt they picked up more injuries on a plastic surface/Art grass than the real thing and in my view that is the real proof in the pudding as they are the boys that have to use it.
Dunfermline's pitch was a of a lower quality than the one we have been playing on and we are upgrading to a pitch of an even higher quality. All studies suggest that there are less injuries on these pitches so i'd trust the studies carried out by FIFA over claims that a manager heard that another manager had heard from their physios that their "opinion" was it caused more injuries.
21/01/2009, 11:53 AM
You assume that im having a kick about with my mates...well they're mates but a little more than a kick about lol
Ok everyone to their own but i find it better than most grass pitches with exceptions. Chatting to for example the Glenavon manager after a friendly they were impressed and enjoyed it. Terry Collins had said they were considering such a surface in their abortive stadium after playing in Finland. I'll accept that not all will like it...especially those who aint fit(most likely reason for injuries as it exposes poor condition). Wont go off topic again:p
oriel
21/01/2009, 12:05 PM
Eh, NO, we cant win the prem div this year. 5th place and a wage bill we can afford (which I have serious concerns about) would do very nicely for me.
Maybe in 3 years time we can mount a challenge, but for now, its all about consolidation.
dannydundalk
21/01/2009, 12:08 PM
i just feel with the league in a mess and most teams in trouble we could take advantage
although players do take time to gel together
21/01/2009, 12:16 PM
i just feel with the league in a mess and most teams in trouble we could take advantage
i know what you mean!!!!! :D:D
oriel
21/01/2009, 12:24 PM
Next season will be a very tough one for us Danny, no longer the case of heading up to oriel to see how many goals we can score - more likely we will go through sequence of games not even winning at home.
And you`re right, the gelling together may take a while, so we`ll take one step at a time, build slowly and get the basics right first.
21/01/2009, 1:37 PM
Portadown's Mick Collins? He got sent off (or at least the ref ordered him to be taken off) in a friendly v Pats a couple of years ago. Kicked out at one of our players and got some light hearted slagging form our fans (we numbered about 60 in a total crowd of 100). As he walked off he continued to have a go at the Pats fans with gestures and "obsceneties"..
He plays with Newry City now..
21/01/2009, 2:04 PM
Anyone who signs Liam Burns is getting an excellent centre back. Would walk into any team in the country. Lacks pace, but he is a great reader of the game so is rarely exposed.
Um. That was my point?
21/01/2009, 3:48 PM
I'd only take back Turner from the players who I said wouldn't succeed at Dundalk. Solely because Cook would get him back into shape and playing at his best which he ha done with every player bar Foyzer.
21/01/2009, 4:22 PM
Dunfermline's pitch was a of a lower quality than the one we have been playing on and we are upgrading to a pitch of an even higher quality. All studies suggest that there are less injuries on these pitches so i'd trust the studies carried out by FIFA over claims that a manager heard that another manager had heard from their physios that their "opinion" was it caused more injuries.
Ah but you see there are studies and there are 'studies' ... if you know what i mean. You can 'study' anything to make it suit 'your needs' and then point to the 'report' when ever you are questioned on it.
Louth4sam
21/01/2009, 4:35 PM
Ah but you see there are studies and there are 'studies' ... if you know what i mean. You can 'study' anything to make it suit 'your needs' and then point to the 'report' when ever you are questioned on it.
Ok fair point, well put it this way, go on to http://www.fieldturf.com/ and look at the teams in different sports that have Fieldturf installed. The biggest names in NFL use it for matches and a lot of the top football clubs use it for training. Do you really think physios from HJK Helsinki have some insight into potential injuries from this surface that more than likely the best physios in the world don't have?
jinxy lilywhite
21/01/2009, 4:35 PM
Most negative comments about our surface are made by people who have never played on a surface like ours and when the word artifical comes up in a sentence they immediately think Luton and QPR's type surfaces. Oriels is nothing like that.
I will say that in the last 2 seasons no player has pulled up with a serious injury that was a result of our pitch in a competitive match in Oriel Park that dundalk fc have played in.
However over the course of the last 2 seasons we have been made in play on crap cabbage patch surfaces of monaghan, kildare, morton (2008), longford, ballybofey (2007) to name a few.