View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

13/02/2009, 7:24 PM
Heard Jim Sheridan is training with Longford!

Is there any Athlone player not training with Longford...?:p:D

13/02/2009, 8:01 PM
Heard Jim Sheridan is training with Longford!

played with jim in the sligo it soccer team in 1996.. good footballer but very injury prone.. it will be interestin if he will play tomorrow against bohs?? whats your opinion of him ash??

atfconline
13/02/2009, 8:31 PM
whats your opinion of him ash??

*sniggers*

13/02/2009, 8:36 PM
Now now atfc, if ye sign some of the ex-Longford players on trial with ye the sniggers will be on the other foot...as it were...I don't think either of our teams are going to pul up any trees.

gufc2000
13/02/2009, 9:23 PM
Darren Stapleton on trial at Galway, played tonight in friendly against Finn Harps

13/02/2009, 10:19 PM
George in talks with Kenny apparently

For the last month or two......

Perhaps he may get the message eventually.

Footsoldier
13/02/2009, 10:45 PM
Packie Holden was playing for the Youths tonight against St Pats. He hasn't signed yet but we'll keep our fingers crossed.

Aaron
13/02/2009, 10:47 PM

Nooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!:mad:

Battery Rover
14/02/2009, 12:04 PM
whats your opinion of him ash??

:eek::eek::eek:

Bunny Kelly
14/02/2009, 12:07 PM
Packie Holden was playing for the Youths tonight against St Pats. He hasn't signed yet but we'll keep our fingers crossed.

Are you abandoning the Wexford only approach this year?

Youths4Ever
14/02/2009, 12:15 PM
Are you abandoning the Wexford only approach this year?

we had players from outside wexford last year with one player from both wicklow and kilkenny. We have under age players from kilkenny and carlow.

so wexford only went out window long ago. :)

think Wallace changed his line from "wexford based local players" to "local based players" last year as long as long as Holden willing to become amateur would see no problem in it and Waterford not that far away.

14/02/2009, 12:24 PM
Darren Stapleton on trial at Galway, played tonight in friendly against Finn Harps

what does he look like GUFC?? Few of us went ot Finn Park last night. Take it it was mostly trialists for Galway, only recognised O Brien, Faherty, O Shea, and (tries not to laugh) David O' Dowd, who was obviously on trial.

stann
14/02/2009, 12:29 PM
we had players from outside wexford last year with one player from both wicklow and kilkenny. We have under age players from kilkenny and carlow.

so wexford only went out window long ago. :)

think Wallace changed his line from "wexford based local players" to "local based players" last year as long as long as Holden willing to become amateur would see no problem in it and Waterford not that far away.

Packie is actually from Kilkenny so Mick wouldn't even have to re-adjust his previous adjustment. :)
Plus he's an excellent 'keeper, would like to see him stay in the league.

14/02/2009, 1:53 PM

Surfaces at some point every year. Very little chance of him coming to Derry, just not the kind of player we/Kenny signs. I'm sure the Divine Ego will find somewhere if he really wants it but it won't be in Derry anyway.

gufc2000
14/02/2009, 4:39 PM
what does he look like GUFC?? Few of us went ot Finn Park last night. Take it it was mostly trialists for Galway, only recognised O Brien, Faherty, O Shea, and (tries not to laugh) David O' Dowd, who was obviously on trial.
If he jumped on front of me I wouldn't have a clue who he is. He was left back i know. We had a few trialists,. Seamus Conneely, Jonaton Keane, Paul Sinnott, Cian McBrien, Shane Guthrie were playing with Iarla Davoren and Jason Molloy came on as subs. The rest were lads on trial

14/02/2009, 7:29 PM
in the friendly today stephen gough is on trial with us along with mark hutchinson.. ray kenny and jim sheridan heard today on good authority are definitely signing for the club...

dublinwanderer
15/02/2009, 12:07 PM
Darren Forsyth training with Bray, played friendly against Shels, and scored, hope we sign him, seems quiet decent.

sligofan4ever
15/02/2009, 12:14 PM
in the friendly today stephen gough is on trial with us along with mark hutchinson.. ray kenny and jim sheridan heard today on good authority are definitely signing for the club...

Jesus, is that the former Rovers player ?, he must be well past it by now :p.

15/02/2009, 7:11 PM
Jesus, is that the former Rovers player ?, he must be well past it by now :p.

indeed it is but i heard mumurings that he wont be signin now stephen goughs back on the scene...

Frank76
15/02/2009, 8:40 PM
If we remain in the league we'll be signing Emeka Onwubiko from Bray, Damien Rushe from Longford, Thomas McGauley and Kevin Williamson.

Lots more on trial with us including John McGuinness and Daithi Garry from Longford.

http://www.westmeathindependent.ie/articles/2/35829

dublinred
16/02/2009, 1:38 PM
Who cares?. i'm getting Xano on my shirt...:p

Hang on a bit he is only on trial , appartently signing Holmes from harps , is he any good?

sligofan4ever
16/02/2009, 1:45 PM
Hang on a bit he is only on trial , appartently signing Holmes from harps , is he any good?

Not sure about Holmes, he's probably only going to be playing at left-back until Chris Butler is fit again. Dosen't he have a few international caps at senior level for Northern Ireland ?

16/02/2009, 3:15 PM
Ger O'Brien has moved to Derry:

DERRY City have added another new face to their squad, with Ger O'Brien signing from Shamrock Rovers.
The 24-year-old defender is sure to add more strength and depth to an otherwise depleted back-line, with Clive Delaney missing the opening game of the season through suspension.
"Ger can play left or right back, while last season whenever they came to the Brandywell he actually played centre-back," said Stephen Kenny.
"He's a player with a good engine who likes getting forward, so he's a very good attacking full-back."
The Dubliner who was Rovers' Player of the Year in 2007 has also represented his country at Under 23 level. Hehe netted in the Republic of Ireland's 2-1 defeat to Belgium last October, while he came up against team-mate Thomas Stewart in the same International Challenge Trophy competition.
O'Brien moves to the Brandywell after becoming surplus to requirements with Michael O'Neill's new look Rovers side.
"Rovers have so many players, I think around 24 players, and I think their new manager wants to bring in some players from Scotland, so it was an opportunity for us to get Ger.
"At the end of the day we only have five defenders at the club and Clive is suspended for the opening few games of the season, so we needed to get another defender. Ger's versatility will be important.
"He has a good attitude and good mentally, but he still has a lot to prove and more importantly he's hungry but I think he'll be a good addition for us."
Midfielder Kevin Deery is likely to be missing for a few months as he prepares to have knee surgery following his cartilage problem, while Barry Molloy and Mark Farren also miss the first game of the campaign through suspension. But Kenny isn't looking for any excuses.
"It's just part and parcel of football and I don't mind it. We'll do what we can and get on with it, but I think we are starting to look that little bit stronger.
"I would like to add one more player before the start of the season but I'll speak to the board this week and see how we go."

http://www.londonderrysentinel.co.uk/sport/City-sign-O39Brien.4984986.jp

16/02/2009, 3:19 PM
Londonderry Sentinal eh?

O'Brien's a good full back. his brother and friends are still regulars at Pats

16/02/2009, 3:46 PM

Holmes is not good enough defensively, knock the ball in behind him and he's beat. Excellent going forward with a great left foot. Decent from set pieces too, scored some great frees for us in the first division in 2007.

Not sorry to see him go.

16/02/2009, 10:21 PM
George O callaghan signing for Dundalk according to our forum. was out at our friendly tonight

dannydundalk
16/02/2009, 10:27 PM
NO WAY :eek:
I HOPE NOT

16/02/2009, 10:28 PM
NO WAY :eek:
I HOPE NOT

Would be a fantastic signing for you if Connor can handle him...No doubt he'l score against us anyway

dannydundalk
16/02/2009, 10:35 PM
he think's he is bigger than the league :(
no to george

Aaron
16/02/2009, 10:36 PM
Thank ****!!!:)

16/02/2009, 10:37 PM
Thank ****!!!:)

Boll!x :o

16/02/2009, 10:53 PM
Don't know why Dundalk fans wouldn't want him. Sure he's a muppet but he'd do a great job for ye, beggars can't be choosers.

dannydundalk
16/02/2009, 10:54 PM
:pwe are no beggers :cool:

16/02/2009, 10:54 PM
Don't know why Dundalk fans wouldn't want him. Sure he's a muppet but he'd do a great job for ye, beggars can't be choosers.

The kind of wages he would be demanding maybe..?

16/02/2009, 10:56 PM
The kind of wages he would be demanding maybe..?That's a valid reason alright but if it's within the budget Connor's been given then he'd still be a good signing.

dannydundalk
16/02/2009, 10:58 PM
connor won't get him..if he wants too much money
if he can get his attitude right then we could have a great player

16/02/2009, 10:59 PM
Yes if it's within budget then grand, great signing, but I hope Connor doesn't get overwhelmed with the talent that is GOC and f**k us up...:p

Mickey Collins would bust him anyway.

dannydundalk
16/02/2009, 11:04 PM
haha mad micky would sort pele out :rolleyes:

Billy-Green
17/02/2009, 11:16 AM
Ger O'Brien heading to Derry :mad:.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/pressrelease.php?subaction=showfull&id=1234810653&archive=&start_from=&ucat=10&

From what ive heard he was forced out, didnt want to leave at all. What a f*cking joke, best player for us the last two seasons

El-Pietro
17/02/2009, 4:27 PM
We've signed Robert Mezeckis and Guntars Silgaillias two Latvians, defender and centre forward. Just met them in our club shop.

Louth4sam
17/02/2009, 4:29 PM
We've signed Robert Mezeckis and Guntars Silgaillias two Latvians, defender and centre forward. Just met them in our club shop.

You signed them after meeting them in your club shop? We normally ask players to play a couple of trial games at least before signing them. ;)

El-Pietro
17/02/2009, 4:33 PM
very funny, they played against Waterford last week out in B-town.
I just met them in the shop after they had been signed, they have gone to look for accommodation now

LeixlipRed
17/02/2009, 5:04 PM
Can they not sleep in the club shop no?

stann
17/02/2009, 8:08 PM
We've signed Robert Mezeckis...

Good director. Don't know what he'll be like as a footballer though.

17/02/2009, 8:12 PM
Good director. Don't know what he'll be like as a footballer though.That's Robert Zemeckis;).

stann
17/02/2009, 8:18 PM
Ehhh, thanks for that squire, I mustn't have known that!. What I would have done without you to point the difference out to me I don't know.

Oh, ;)

17/02/2009, 9:10 PM
Alan Keane started training with sligo rovers this week

sligofan4ever
17/02/2009, 9:13 PM
Alan Keane started training with sligo rovers this week

He played in the friendly against Longford tonight. So did Shaun Holmes and Ciaran Kelly. Parkhouse and Morrison came on aswell, Morrison scored the 3rd goal. Ended 3-0.

gufc2000
17/02/2009, 10:11 PM
We've signed a striker on loan from Stockport County, but his identity has yet to be revealed. He will play tomorrow against Cork.
Derry and Cork cheekily sniffing around Jay O'Shea at the moment, and Derry rumoured to have bid 30k for him.

17/02/2009, 10:15 PM
Any further word on Paddy Kavanagh to Derry?