View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
26/01/2009, 9:12 AM
With ten players?
Bohs to sigh players after wages cuts agreed with current squad:
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1173/
jinxy lilywhite
26/01/2009, 11:48 AM
That 12k a week is being stretched at the moment.
How is this budget being stretched at 12k a week. Do you know the exact figures of our budget and exactly what we are offering players.
At the end of our signings if we sign 18 players. If you evenly divide 18 into €12,000 then thats €666.67 per player (Obviously some will be paid more but some will be paid less).
The wage demands of players has declined and the power is with the clubs in relation to wage negotiations.
As B&W said it can be easier to pay a full time rather than on a p/t basis if his wage by the club will bring him over the 41% bracket.
Since Gerry Matthews and the current board have come to control the club they have been spot on with finances and cut the debt of the club close to zero, without bankrolling us and making sure the club will only spend what the club can take in. I think the board should be given the benfit of doubt. Also a number of clubs have had their budget rejected by the FAI. We weren't one of them (because if it was us it would be on here like a rash).
BTW I do want to keep on topic but I do have to reply to ill informed posters who seem to always have a vendetta against our club and are offering nothing constructive to the transfer rumours and signings thread
26/01/2009, 11:51 AM
As B&W said it can be easier to pay a full time rather than on a p/t basis if his wage by the club will bring him over the 41% bracket.
Are you working off having €12k to pay for player's net wages? That’s hugely different from having 12k to cover pay, paye, prsi, insurance etc etc
jinxy lilywhite
26/01/2009, 11:57 AM
My interpretation is that the 12K includes all. PAYE, PRSI, Insuarance. With deductions in mind players would still have roughly take home of €550.00 on average
Posted on OW:
From The Belfast Telegraph:
Collins bows out for Newry City as Dundalk beckons
Michael Collins is unlikely to face his former club Portadown in next month’s Co-operative Insurance Cup final.
Saturday’s 1-0 defeat at the hands of Ballymena United looks like being Collins last game for Newry City as he prepares for a move in the final week of the transfer window.
Sean Connor has been keen to take the 31-year-old to Dundalk since he was appointed manager at Oriel Park shortly before Christmas and he will pull out all the stops to sign Collins before the deadline at the end of January.
It is understood that newly promoted Dundalk have been given permission to speak to the player and the next step is to discuss personal terms.
Ballymena won for the seventh time in nine league outings, taking advantage of Collins’ absence from the pitch after he was substituted to take all three points at the Newry Showgrounds.
Just when it looked like the game would peter out into a 0-0 stalemate Davitt Walsh pounced on the rebound from Kevin Kelbie’s shot to fire home the winner.
The Sky Blues are now seven points off the bottom and just four away from the top half of the table.
26/01/2009, 1:40 PM
I really hope this falls through..
Agreed.
Don't need that sort of character around the team...
But then again he's going to sign Kyle Moran...So who knows.
Lilywhite Army
26/01/2009, 1:47 PM
Suprised no teams have snapped up Ben Whelehan..He was a player i really wanted Dundalk to keep
But in saying that i suppose Drogs if they pull through this will snap up anyone they can take..
26/01/2009, 1:48 PM
I don't know what we are doing taking in Newry's rejects! You cannot say that Collins is better than Paul Marney or Paul Crowley..
Maybe Collins will be unveiled this week...Hope to God am wrong though...:(
26/01/2009, 1:55 PM
Maybe Collins will be unveiled this week...Hope to God am wrong though...:(
The transfer window in the North closes on January 31st so it would have to be done by the end of the week..
Turner seems to be a done deal, So it will likely be Collins since this is the last week...
Chris Turner Signs For Dundalk.
From the Dundalk Democrat:
CHRIS Turner was unveiled to the press as Dundalk manager Sean Connor's latest signing in Oriel Park on Monday afternoon.
The Northern Irish U-21 international played under Connor at both Sligo Rovers and Bohemians and joins the Lilywhites having recently been released by Scottish side Partick Thistle.
The midfielder was joined at the press conference by recent recruits Harpal Singh and Darren Mansaram, who spoke to the media for the first time since putting pen to paper with Dundalk.
The club are expected to hold a further press conference later in the week with the hope of unveiling further signings. These include players from the Scottish Premier League and the Danish league. The club have also made an offer to former Drogheda Utd star Fahrudin Kudozovic who is believed to be weighing up a number of other offers including one from Derry City.
For full interviews with Sean Connor, Chris Turner, Darren Mansaram and Harpal Singh read The Dundalk Democrat on Wednesday January 28.
Collins has a dodgy temperament but is (or at least was) a good footballer. Could turn out to be one of your better signings if it happens.
harps1954
26/01/2009, 2:19 PM
The transfer window in the North closes on January 31st so it would have to be done by the end of the week..
No, doesn't have to be done this week. Even though the window is closing in the North, that is in terms of bringing players IN. The LOI window is open until the beginning of March, so he can sign anytime up until are window closes.
26/01/2009, 2:53 PM
But could he get international clearance outside of the window?
WoodquayBoy
26/01/2009, 3:18 PM
No, doesn't have to be done this week. Even though the window is closing in the North, that is in terms of bringing players IN. The LOI window is open until the beginning of March, so he can sign anytime up until are window closes.
Doesn't the transfer window here close on February 2?
No. Thats for winter leagues. Why would the window close a full month before the start of the season?
Iorfa2MaccaJim
26/01/2009, 3:30 PM
The Blues are rumoured to have signed (or be signing), former
Shanrock Rovers and U.C.D. player Seamus Long. It is not on our
official site yet. Can anyone confirm this ?
26/01/2009, 3:34 PM
It's on the official transfers thread.
WoodquayBoy
26/01/2009, 4:19 PM
No. Thats for winter leagues. Why would the window close a full month before the start of the season?
Well, there are a lot of things about the league that make no sense, so why not add one more
The Blues are rumoured to have signed (or be signing), former
Shanrock Rovers and U.C.D. player Seamus Long. It is not on our
official site yet. Can anyone confirm this ?
Yeah extratime confirmed it here http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1172/
GUFC linked with Ian Bermingham from UCD and Glen Fitzpatrick of pats, also talks of a swap deal between GUFC and pats of Barry Ryan for Gary Rogers !! probably just wishful thinking though?
26/01/2009, 7:45 PM
When does the LOI window close, is there a seperate league and international window?
Black and White
26/01/2009, 7:47 PM
LOI has an extension because of when our league starts...I think its in the middle of February actually but the usual rules apply in that with the majoirty of players out of contract they can be signed whenever!
26/01/2009, 7:49 PM
It's later than that, or at least it was last year, it's nearer the end of March I think.
Black and White
26/01/2009, 7:53 PM
Are you sure? Does it not normally close for actual transfers between clubs 2 weeks before the league starts but you can sign non contracted players throughout but the less said the better about the Keith Dunne transfer to Dundalk 2 years ago!Farcical!
26/01/2009, 7:56 PM
Pretty sure yeah but in reality it's not going to make a blind bit of difference as practically all players moving are out of contract or can make themselves free agents.
Captain2007
26/01/2009, 9:06 PM
This is the official line from Operation Manager in LOI.
Registration & First Transfer Window closes on Monday 23rd February.
Second Registration & transfer Window opens Wed 1st July.
Second Registration & transfer window closes Fri 31st July.
26/01/2009, 9:09 PM
Fair enough, cheers for clarifying it.
We are apparently after Paddy Kavanagh of Bray Wanderers
as far as i know he is under contract - think he signed a deal to cover this season coming, at some stage last year
26/01/2009, 9:33 PM
He's contracted til the end of this season, afaik.
as far as i know he is under contract - think he signed a deal to cover this season coming, at some stage last year
Fee will have to be paid then
26/01/2009, 10:13 PM
We have a number of lads training with the squad with a view to signing, nothing that exciting though.
Damien Whitehead and Vinny Sweeney.
26/01/2009, 10:48 PM
Faz to us is a done deal according to reliable sources on our forum
26/01/2009, 11:08 PM
He has undoubted ability but he never really shone for Drogheda under Doolin. Maybe he'll play him differently with ye. An improvement on what ye have at the moment either way I suppose.
26/01/2009, 11:12 PM
An improvement on what ye have at the moment either way I suppose.
Yep, thats the bottom line. Then again id have a case for being an improvement on what we have on the wings and up front right now....
26/01/2009, 11:13 PM
So much for "he's in advanced talks" with Dundalk...:rolleyes:
Town Legend
26/01/2009, 11:13 PM
Alan Lynch training with Bray and will very likely be signing with them.
Trainee
27/01/2009, 12:09 AM
rumour Gary rodgers has signed for pats
http://www.saintsforum.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4949&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=315
With Barry Ryan coming to Galway.
Good move for all concerned. Ryan wants to be closer to his family in Clare and is still a good keeper. He was more than likely going to be understudy to Clarke and Rogers is definitely good enough for that job
27/01/2009, 11:18 AM
GUFC linked with Ian Bermingham from UCD and Glen Fitzpatrick of pats
Think Bermo has an offer from Fingal, so you'll do well to beat that.
How does Glen Fitz get a new club time and time again?!
27/01/2009, 11:33 AM
Maybe Ian wants a move to better himself rather than join the Gravy Train at Fingal.
27/01/2009, 12:35 PM
Do you know football at all?
Anyways, looks like you'll be passing each other by this time next year.
Black and White
27/01/2009, 12:40 PM
Any players coming out or going into the Belfield bowl these days Pineapple??
27/01/2009, 12:47 PM
Do you know football at all?
Anyways, looks like you'll be passing each other by this time next year.
I bow to your oh so superior knowledge :rolleyes: