Hmmm where are Dundalk getting all this money.:p
a more reliable place than where CCFC are getting their money from
BTW: keep on topic
dannydundalk
23/02/2009, 4:41 PM
what a signing
The Fox
23/02/2009, 6:38 PM
To be honest i am not envious of your new signing - he blows very hot and cold and drifts out of games. He likes to sulk and never lasts long at a club with some agro - not a great man for club loyalty and knuckling down when the going is tough.
srfc1928
23/02/2009, 6:41 PM
No doubt about it, Dundalk have assembled an impressive squad.
But Connor will have his work cut out managing some of them.
Turner, Collins, Rogers and O'Callaghan, good luck !
By jesus there's gonna be some craic at Dundalk games this year with those 4:D
garyderry
23/02/2009, 6:46 PM
By jesus there's gonna be some craic at Dundalk games this year with those 4:D
yeah i cant believe they all ended up at one club :D
Celdrog
23/02/2009, 6:53 PM
By jesus there's gonna be some craic at Dundalk games this year with those 4:DAnd Fabio picking and choosing his games:D
Louth4sam
23/02/2009, 7:22 PM
And Fabio picking and choosing his games:D
Nah just the one's he isn't getting paid for....
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 8:36 PM
To be honest i am not envious of your new signing - he blows very hot and cold and drifts out of games. He likes to sulk and never lasts long at a club with some agro - not a great man for club loyalty and knuckling down when the going is tough.
Yip and when he plays Drogs he's more worried about there fans than his own actual game.
Celdrog
23/02/2009, 8:56 PM
Nah just the one's he isn't getting paid for....So you're predicting financial problems then:D
Iorfa2MaccaJim
23/02/2009, 8:57 PM
Is the transfer deadline tonight ?
23/02/2009, 9:01 PM
Greg O'Halloran has signed for Cork City today.
Don't know what to make of that since we let Darragh Ryan go, a far better player than him, who incidentally signed for St.Pat's today.
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 9:03 PM
Don't know what to make of that since we let Darragh Ryan go, a far better player than him, who incidentally signed for St.Pat's today.
Who is that one other person we are getting then ?
I presume we an still sign players who are out of contract?
23/02/2009, 9:05 PM
Who is that one other person we are getting then ?
No idea, we badly need a right wing, we seem to have passed on Freimanis too.
El-Pietro
23/02/2009, 9:06 PM
also a natural left sided player
while greg is just a poor version of cillian lordan
and considering we have lordan and pat sullivan who can slot in to various positions you would have though left sided cover would have been a priority
El-Pietro
23/02/2009, 9:06 PM
also signed by SPA today
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 9:07 PM
To be fair to Paul doolin though freimanis was lacking pace. IF we have faz on one side we will need someone quick on the other.
Hopefully we get a late bargain.:D
Would love Benno on loan but it is highly unlikely.
23/02/2009, 9:08 PM
also signed by SPA today
They've done well there, two players we shouldn't have passed on.
Strange one tonight. Mark Leech played last 15 minutes for Pats against Monaghan. A lad who is signed was brought on before him so no idea what the story is
Black and White
23/02/2009, 9:47 PM
Here what happened to yond boy Shane Barrett who left Shels 3 weeks after signing for them?
23/02/2009, 10:22 PM
He got a promtion with 3, there was a link somehwere but can't find it now.
GlasnevinRed
23/02/2009, 10:31 PM
Last paragraph there.
http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/jobs-careers/on-the-move-1622028.html
Former Drogheda United player and 2007 Eircom League winner Shane Barrett has been appointed new business development executive by mobile network 3. In his role, Barrett will be responsible for driving the company’s growing customer base, particularly within the small to medium-sized enterprise sector. He previously worked at Eircom
Hairy Bowsie
23/02/2009, 10:59 PM
I always like Greg O'Halloran and think he's a great player
El-Pietro
23/02/2009, 11:54 PM
They've done well there, two players we shouldn't have passed on.
agree totally
would have finished our squad nicely
im still surprised we didnt talk to Ryan Guy
Guy made it clear to Derry that he wanted to stay at Pats. Presume cork/Doolin heard that and left it
24/02/2009, 8:17 AM
O'Halloran is the kind of player you need in your side, someone to do the dirty work in midfield.
I can't understand why Cork fans are so dead against him tbh. Its not that long ago since Dolan tried to make him captain of the club.
GlasnevinRed
24/02/2009, 8:21 AM
O'Halloran's a very good player in my opinion. Did well with us when he played in the PD and when he cam back to us on loan again in the FD. Top player imho. A real battler.
O'Halloran is the kind of player you need in your side, someone to do the dirty work in midfield.
I can't understand why Cork fans are so dead against him tbh. Its not that long ago since Dolan tried to make him captain of the club.
Yeah because our other 3 defensive midfielders wont do that......
Waste of money, will play very few games and we already have someone under contract who can do the same thing.
Its also not long since he turned down the captaincy............
mrtndvn
24/02/2009, 10:08 AM
Guy made it clear to Derry that he wanted to stay at Pats. Presume cork/Doolin heard that and left it
Is that what he told you?
And American Ryan Guy was keen to join the Brandywell club but Derry failed to secure him a work permit and the player's agent was not prepared to allow him to join the "Candy Stripes" on loan from St. Pat's.
Had the permit been secured, Guy would have arrived in Derry on a "free."
http://www.derryjournal.com/derry-sport/Kenny-claims-39Scully39-in-last.5009367.jp
24/02/2009, 10:11 AM
Is that what he told you?
El-Pietro
24/02/2009, 11:40 AM
Joe Gamble
Colin Healy
Stephen O'Donnell
Cillian Lordan
Shane Duggan
I think were covered in midfield to be honest with you, hes not a patch on Gamble, Healy or O'Donnell
hes not even as good as Killer, I dont know too much about Shane Duggan but he didnt walk waway without collecting his league winning medal, he didnt walk away without telling our chairman he wouldnt be staying, he didnt say to our players I'll be lifting this trophy with heary and the lads next season
Pablo Escobar
24/02/2009, 1:08 PM
El-Pietro,
About Shane Duggan....the guy is class and still only 19!
El-Pietro
24/02/2009, 1:17 PM
El-Pietro,
About Shane Duggan....the guy is class and still only 19!
he looks ok, havent seen enough of him yet though
ill have to take your word for it
24/02/2009, 1:20 PM
Quality player alright; didn't impose himself as much as he could for us, but it was hard given what was going on. Picked up a yellow every other game or so though.
Don't know if you remember the 2-0 win for youz over us back in October time? Duggan nearly scored with a ridiculous first-time 30-yard volley from a clearance. That's the kind of stuff he's capable of. (And don't say "Nearly scoring" :) )
Ok, so he's capable of not scoring :p
We've had plenty of players like that down through the years!
redobit
24/02/2009, 1:37 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1349/
Thought this lad going to Bohs is a little odd considering Derry are the feeder club for Celtic in Ireland. And Derry have also just signed a winger from Glentoran (David Scullion).
24/02/2009, 1:46 PM
Thought this lad going to Bohs is a little odd considering Derry are the feeder club for Celtic in Ireland.
Not that odd seeing as he is from Dublin..
corkboy360
24/02/2009, 3:15 PM
I always like Greg O'Halloran and think he's a great player
I'll stop reading there.
oldyouth
24/02/2009, 5:13 PM
Holden, Sheehan, White & Breen all reported to have now signed for the Youths. The experience these lads bring, will help bring on our youngsters, many of which were brought on too soon because of the lack of depth to the squad.
This has to be be seen as an example of Noel O'Connor's growing influence at Ferrycarrig Park. Hopefully he will resist any approach that may come from Limerick
24/02/2009, 5:28 PM
Hopefully he will resist any approach that may come from Limerick
Not an issue you'll be pleased to hear. :)
If the whole developing local talent thingy is gone out the window why don't you go after more players?? Wouldn't take a big amount of money to challenge this year. (Not that moneys as much of an issue down there as elsewhere as such)
24/02/2009, 7:44 PM
Thought this lad going to Bohs is a little odd considering Derry are the feeder club for Celtic in Ireland.
Do Dundalk not have growing links with Celtic? I thought I heard Seán Connor...
CSFShels
24/02/2009, 7:58 PM
Big fan of Greg O'Halloran aswell.
24/02/2009, 8:38 PM
According to today's Star James Chambers has signed for Drawda.
Playing for them tonight.
Youths4Ever
24/02/2009, 8:58 PM
If the whole developing local talent thingy is gone out the window why don't you go after more players?? Wouldn't take a big amount of money to challenge this year. (Not that moneys as much of an issue down there as elsewhere as such)
To be honest do not think the whole developing local talent is gone. I just think Wallace realises (under NOC influence) that adding some experience can help the local talent develop more and help build their confidence. Some of the younger players where rushed forward in their development and it has set some of them back in terms of confidence.
Money is an issue down here as well though Wallace made the majority of his money in construction and a lot tied up in property so not best industry to be at moment. Saying that though rumored to be more players on the way so watch this space.....
24/02/2009, 9:39 PM
Ideal situation in Wexford IMO would be sign in your outsiders and sprinkle them with locals who are good enough (like Sinnott and.......... erm, sorry :p) play that team in Division 1 while using the A Championship as a breeding ground for local talent.
3500-4000 a week should be a definite playoff spot this year.
Just my two cents anyway. :)
oldyouth
24/02/2009, 9:41 PM
Glad to hear that NOC is not on your shortlist and that you obviously have dozens of applicants for the job with the full monty of coaching badges.
24/02/2009, 9:43 PM
Glad to hear that NOC is not on your shortlist and that you obviously have dozens of applicants for the job with the full monty of coaching badges.
we're just about hitting double figures at the moment so dozens would be a gross exaggeration.
Still fairly good going. :ball:
oldyouth
24/02/2009, 9:43 PM
Ideal situation in Wexford IMO would be sign in your outsiders and sprinkle them with locals who are good enough (like Sinnott and.......... erm, sorry :p) play that team in Division 1 while using the A Championship as a breeding ground for local talent.
3500-4000 a week should be a definite playoff spot this year.
Just my two cents anyway. :)
You still don't get it. It is not about buying a playoff place, it is about buying time till the young lads can be brought through when they are ready
24/02/2009, 9:45 PM
it is about buying time till the young lads can be brought through when they are ready
Why not enter the A Championship aswell??
Had a lot of benefits for us last year in some ways.