View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Lilywhite Army
23/01/2009, 9:56 PM
Right now its no word of a lie..But Connor was at the Dundalk Quiz last night and he came over to the table were a group of us lads were and was having the craic and seems a very nice man..He was telling us that he was ready to unveil burns and that had discussions with Faz

brianw82
23/01/2009, 10:00 PM
Right lads come on we got to keep on topic..I know as much as rival fans are enjoyin slaggin us its transfer rumours...

now i was told that Connor was actaully in discusions with Faz Kudozovic and its not just a rumour

The thing is, Faz played his best stuff under Paul Cook in 2007 as a striker. He was frequently played in an ineffective midfield role by Connor. Much like how Doolin played him too, in fact.

Black and White
23/01/2009, 10:00 PM
Right now its no word of a lie..But Connor was at the Dundalk Quiz last night and he came over to the table were a group of us lads were and was having the craic and seems a very nice man..He was telling us that he was ready to unveil burns and that had discussions with Faz

Your not having a "laff" are ya?? Is it just Faz then?? Burns is defo confirmed with Turner...well we all know about Turner from Dundalkfc.com!

brianw82
23/01/2009, 10:01 PM
I can...im an accountant!!If you work two jobs or are taxed together with a spuse, one person or one job/person will get the majority of the tax credits and thus eliminate any tax to be paid...but because they're being used up in say a footballers 9-5 job and he also plays for a team and earns a part time wage with them then his credits are going to his full time day job, in which the club must pay employers PRSI on top of Employee PRSI because their secondary wage is going to be heavily taxed...therefore its worth while employing a full time palyer because they will not be using their tax credits elsewhere and the club can gain full advantage of this!if that makes scence...its hard to explain!

Ok, so it might make sense to sign 1 full-time player rather than 2-3 part-timers, then? Assuming that the full-timer is on 35grand a year, how much are they likely to save by employing him rather than 3 part-timers on 10grand a year each?

23/01/2009, 10:04 PM
How much did Drogs pay for Faz anyway?

23/01/2009, 10:04 PM
How much did Drogs pay for Faz anyway?They didn't...still owe us some money for him:o

23/01/2009, 10:06 PM
They didn't...still owe us some money for him:o

:DOk...How much was agreed?

Black and White
How much did Drogs pay for Faz anyway?

Its still outstanding...they agreed to pay in installments...Slifgo are one of the Drogs Creditors!!!

Lilywhite Army
Wel he only said discusions..ID imagine Faz is having discusions with various clubs..But yea it seems Burns is in deep negotiations and Turner is 99%

Just wouldnt count on Kudozovic yet..
i also heard a rumour of Celtic coming over to play us..Now thats just a rumour..I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up

23/01/2009, 10:08 PM

He's really not changed a bit...

Link-up with Birmingham soon enough so. Or Wigan because "my mate Steve" is manager there.

Black and White
23/01/2009, 10:09 PM
Wel he only said discusions..ID imagine Faz is having discusions with various clubs..But yea it seems Burns is in deep negotiations and Turner is 99%

Just wouldnt count on Kudozovic yet..
i also heard a rumour of Celtic coming over to play us..Now thats just a rumour..I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up

And they are playing in the UEFA cup!!Faz would be a major coup!where any of the other players at the quiz...heard Beno loves these social events...Donegal two years ago as an example!!lol

23/01/2009, 10:09 PM
:DOk...How much was agreed?Can't remember now, 25k is in my head for some reason.

I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming upAston Villa wanted what, a friendly with Dundalk?:D

Black and White
23/01/2009, 10:10 PM
Can't remember now, 25k is in my head for some reason.
Aston Villa wanted what, a friendly with Dundalk?:D

Yes because they are playing on a plastic pitch in the UEFA cup arent they!!

Lilywhite Army
23/01/2009, 10:14 PM
yea a friendly..Eh Turner attended with Connor and Miller..

Could any Drogs fans enlighten me on what kind of squad is at drogs..is there anyone left..even youths

23/01/2009, 10:22 PM
Probably youths but I wouldn't think it would be active at the minute and as for senior players, there is none contracted AFAIK

Black and White
23/01/2009, 10:24 PM
Nope all have severed ties...including all backroom staff...all thats left is club officials and Directors etc that kind of staff and of course the Under 20 team and youths! Itll be a Shels job!!sign a team in a week!John Gill as manager...taking half our released players with him!:p

Rovers fan
23/01/2009, 10:27 PM
:DOk...How much was agreed?

Around 20k in 3 instalments afaik

23/01/2009, 10:30 PM
Fook, Brilliant if we get him but no point if Connor is going to play him out of position...

Candystripe
23/01/2009, 10:44 PM

Celtic are to bring there 1st team over in july to Derry so maybe they might actually play the 1st team against you's!!!!

They won't come cheap though.

23/01/2009, 10:48 PM
Celtic are to bring there 1st team over in july to Derry so maybe they might actually play the 1st team against you's!!!!

They won't come cheap though.

They will in there **** play a first team against us if they are playing them against DCFC. If there is a friendly then it will be the reserves I 'd say.

Black and White
23/01/2009, 10:54 PM
Still a very good reserve team:
Mark Brown
Naylor,O'Dea,Loovens,Wilson
Mizuno,McGinn,Donati,McCourt
Maloney,Killeen

Im sure one or two full team players will be there too!

Remember that Celtic bar down town, Lennon was over nearly every weekedn after games, Larsson was over quite a bit too same with Burley and a few others!

23/01/2009, 11:58 PM
I do know Aston villa wanted it but as you know the pitch is coming up

I think its Sean that wants it ;)

Suprised he hasnt told ye Wigan are coming:rolleyes:

Black and White
24/01/2009, 9:22 AM
Now back to Transfer Rumour talk...looks like we are signing Alan Cawley(yes Sligo lads, looks like we taking him off ye!!), Chris Turner, Robbie Duggan and Liam Burns

Dundalk boss Sean Connor is close to completing the signings of Liam Burns, Chris Turner and Dave Rogers. However, an attempt to bring Garreth O'Connor to the club appears to be dead in the water, while a return to Oriel Park for Steve Williams has also been ruled out. Alan Cawley and Robert Duggan, though, could be on the verge of becoming Lilywhites.
Burns, Turner and Rogers have trained with the squad over the past week and are all close to striking deals. Burns and Turner have both worked under Connor before at Sligo Rovers and Bohemians, but it will be a new experience for Rogers, who has impressed sufficiently in training to earn a contract offer.
On the other hand, talks with Steve Williams, who started his League of Ireland career at Dundalk in 1997, have come to an end with no agreement reached. It was thought that the Welsh goalkeeper would be at least offered a coaching role, however, he now won't be involved with the club this year. Instead, Connor is eyeing up Shamrock Rovers rookie Robert Duggan as cover for Chris Bennion.
While talks with Williams took place at length, Garreth O'Connor seems to have decided against making a move to the border outfit by failing to enter advanced discussions with Connor. That is, however, likely to pave the way for the arrival of Alan Cawley, who has also been courted by Bohs and his hometown club Sligo in recent weeks. Dundalk are believed to be now leading the chase to sign the Bray midfielder as they are in a position to offer the 27-year-old the best financial package and could tie the deal up sooner than Cawley's other suitors.
In more positive news for the club, it has also been rumoured that Dundalk will mark their return to the Premier Division with a televised clash against 2008 double winners and Connor's former club, Bohemians. A fixture list has yet to be released by the FAI, however, it is believed that it has already been drawn up and has paired last year's league champions together in a mouth-watering opening day encounter.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1166/

adamd164
24/01/2009, 9:36 AM
Dave Rogers? Excellent, he's one of the worst full backs in the league.

Black and White
24/01/2009, 9:39 AM
Everyone has their own opinion...he must be doing something if hes doing well in training etc!Had hios moments...i personally dont think hes suitable to us...but everyone deserves a chance...oh Connor is in advanced negotiations with Kudozovic!!FACT!!

adamd164
24/01/2009, 9:49 AM
Yeah. Everyone does deserve a chance. He was muck at Shels (by a mile the weak link in the side Fenlon built there) and muck at Pats.

24/01/2009, 10:37 AM
Yeah. Everyone does deserve a chance. He was muck at Shels (by a mile the weak link in the side Fenlon built there) and muck at Pats.
He was decent enough at Pats when he played centre back I thought. Absolutely awful full back though.

1895ringsend
24/01/2009, 11:03 AM
He was'nt muck at shels in fairness. had his moments but overall done well in his time here.

eamoss
24/01/2009, 12:04 PM
Finally exams are over (all 7 of them) so I can give my opinion. :D

I think some Dundalk fans are expecting too much of Connor. I am quite worried at some of the players he is trying to bring in such as Rogers, Williams and Cawley who I really don't want to see playing for Dundalk, then bringing in too many players who play the same position like Barbara, Barnett, O'Brien, Moran, Mansaram and Mulvenna, then being linked with Kuduzovic.

Also as some Bohs and Sligo fans have stated is the style of football and the fitness levels because Connor himself said he is about injury prevention thus not pushing players that hard in training which will show against teams who do push their players hard in training.

But being fair I will give him 1/4 of the season before I am going to judge him fully.

And this about getting an 'Big' club from England to play a friendly is just embarrassing.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
24/01/2009, 2:07 PM
Now back to Transfer Rumour talk...looks like we are signing Alan Cawley(yes Sligo lads, looks like we taking him off ye!!), Chris Turner, Robbie Duggan and Liam Burns

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1166/

Dundalk offering the best financial package. Doesn't say much for what we can offer then as Dundalk are working off 12k a week.......

Black and White
24/01/2009, 2:16 PM
Dundalk offering the best financial package. Doesn't say much for what we can offer then as Dundalk are working off 12k a week.......

Yeah after reading that this morning im getting very sceptical now...best wage package and the fact that thats now two players who played at Oriel last season(Rogers and Cawley) who made very harsh gestures to the home support..Cawley is a scumbag!

Town Legend
24/01/2009, 3:16 PM
Yeh agree about Cawley been a scumbag. He was with us for a while big things expected of him and did nothing. Spent more time on the bench cos he was crap, sulked and was sent back to Shels. And then when he was back playing against us with Bray he lashed out at one of his former 'team mates' who was lying on the ground. Waste of money in my opinion.

Iorfa2MaccaJim
24/01/2009, 4:54 PM
We have been linked with former Sligo player, Carlos Alvarez, and
(possibly former) U.C.D. player Timmy Purcell.

24/01/2009, 5:50 PM
Seems we'l be getting rid of newly signed Davin O Neill, its a part time contract and his job means he cant train by day which Doolin isnt happy with and told him he wont play much.

Leaving by mutual consent and most likely heading to Cobh..

Iorfa2MaccaJim
24/01/2009, 6:24 PM
Or to us.

24/01/2009, 7:46 PM
i heard last night that Emeka Onwubiko ( ex bray and current under 17 international) is training with us. We also have got in a lad from plymouth ( have completely forgotten his name )and brian mccarthy and ray kenny are joining us. saw the two above lads training today..

monutdfc
24/01/2009, 9:27 PM
brian mccarthy
centre-back, tall, young, ex-Athlone?

atfconline
24/01/2009, 9:35 PM
Yes.

His father Tim does golf and basketball commentary for RTE.

24/01/2009, 11:38 PM

He's my hero. What a commentator.

24/01/2009, 11:44 PM

is he the guy with the weird Cork/Yankee accent??

25/01/2009, 1:46 AM
is he the guy with the weird Cork/Yankee accent??

Is it not Limerick/Yankee?

25/01/2009, 11:57 AM
i heard last night that Emeka Onwubiko ( ex bray and current under 17 international)Don't think he's a current international with them Marty, he's about 19/20 now I think.

RedRebel32
25/01/2009, 12:52 PM
His record is decent though. Did well with Sligo and then OK with Bohs as well. Whatever about him, you can't really say he's a spoofer when his record is pretty good.

Having played under him before I pretty much can,yeah he did well for us and I bet he regrets leaving rovers big time, he had a fantastic squad and a decent budget,anyone could have got us out of the first division that year.He messed up the youth system of the club to further his own ambitions with the senior team,he then fcuked off.All this talk of links with birmingham city,steve bruce...******,he never shut up about it yet nothing ever materialised from it.And I don't for one second believe these players are running for dundalk because he is the manager,I know for a fact many of the players at rovers had issues with him,i cant speak for bohs but it seems our fans tend to agree about him.Im quite surprised dundalk took him on.

But I would like to echo other posters welcoming dundalk back to the premier,good to see them back and looks like the squad being built is a very good one indeed.If ye sign turner and get him fit he is one if not the best central midfielders in the league imo,was brilliant with us but his fitness was terrible at bohs.Burns again was great for us,very popular with the support and great talker/organiser of the back four.One thing is certain,with a squad like that ye shouldn't be worrying about relegation,if things go yer way ye have the squad for a top four place

25/01/2009, 1:19 PM
Don't think he's a current international with them Marty, he's about 19/20 now I think.
He was in a few U19 squads.

longfordjames
25/01/2009, 1:24 PM
macarty would be good.no need for oniboiwiko because we have too class strikers

25/01/2009, 6:04 PM
.All this talk of links with birmingham city,steve bruce...******,he never shut up about it yet nothing ever materialised from it.

St.Pats are the LOI team with the big Birmingham connections through their assistant manager.

25/01/2009, 6:06 PM
yeah but Sean Connor used to be the bigshot there.

Well that's what he told me.

26/01/2009, 12:22 AM
What more motivation could one need than a good luck card from Steve Bruce?

Flawless
26/01/2009, 3:58 AM
Doesn't say much for what we can offer then as Dundalk are working off 12k a week.......

To be honest, i dont think our budget was ever officially released, 12k was floate dabout but i dont think the club released it!

26/01/2009, 9:11 AM
That 12k a week is being stretched at the moment.