View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
Cork's 96 fm saying that the combined fee for both players is €50,000
pól-dcfc
16/07/2009, 10:22 AM
Cork's 96 fm saying that the combined fee for both players is €50,000
That would be a disgrace. Your board would want to be shot if that's the figure, seeing as they rejected double that not so long ago. Idiots.
16/07/2009, 10:46 AM
The fee is about right. healy's a croc and Behan is muck.
The fact they turned down 100 grand sterling is the big joke
16/07/2009, 11:18 AM
Eoin Doyle has signed for us according to the Shamrock forum...no confirmation of this anywhere so putting it in the rumour thread.
Supposedly signed Karl Coleman on loan too.
apo11o
16/07/2009, 11:47 AM
Leaving Sligo Rovers......?
D Fallon going back to C bar Celtic ?
E Torphy leaving?
P Curry leaving?
Ezeikial
16/07/2009, 1:34 PM
The fee is about right. healy's a croc and Behan is muck.
The fact they turned down 100 grand sterling is the big joke
I don't think there was any confirmation of either amount - so surely both the €50k and €100k figures are just speculation?
irishultra
16/07/2009, 1:35 PM
eoin doyle is amazing in football manager :D fingal always sign him and then he goes to bohs :)
16/07/2009, 1:52 PM
Rumours are that we have signed another Derry player on loan, still awaiting any confirmation though.
It's on DC Forum but nothing confirmed from either club as of yet.
EDIT: This turns out to be untrue, we don't have the funds to bring in anymore players.
sligofan4ever
16/07/2009, 2:28 PM
Eoin Doyle has signed for us according to the Shamrock forum...no confirmation of this anywhere so putting it in the rumour thread.
Supposedly signed Karl Coleman on loan too.
And now Joe Kendrick is supposed to have signed.
longfordjames
16/07/2009, 8:11 PM
Healy and Behan to Hartlelpool
sligofan4ever
16/07/2009, 8:23 PM
E Torphy leaving?
P Curry leaving?
Where did you hear all this ? Cook said no more players will be leaving this summer. Torpey has been impressive from what i've seen, and from other fans opinions, Danny Fallon has also been impressive whenever he plays.
forza rovers
16/07/2009, 9:28 PM
Where did you hear all this ? Cook said no more players will be leaving this summer. Torpey has been impressive from what i've seen, and from other fans opinions, Danny Fallon has also been impressive whenever he plays. cook said nothing about a team players leaving
sligofan4ever
16/07/2009, 9:41 PM
cook said nothing about a team players leaving
Thats what it says in The Champion.
apo11o
17/07/2009, 3:15 PM
I think the rumour may be wrong about Torphey but right about other 2.
20/07/2009, 2:54 PM
E Torphy leaving?
P Curry leaving?
Gone on AthLoan
hoop4life
20/07/2009, 3:16 PM
E Torphy leaving?
P Curry leaving?
got a scolarship with ucd so he as left ye.
eoin played with yer a team yesterday, i have heard nothing about him leaving ye
Joseph McSweene
21/07/2009, 3:08 AM
Vague rumour about Pat Sul leaving City to go to Shams....
Players meeting with Coughlan tomorrow so guess we'll see after that-but heard he's sorted out a job up in Dublin and is looking to revert to part-time. Every City fan would be sad to lose such a player but if we need to trim the wage bill, then we need to.:(
brianw82
21/07/2009, 5:35 AM
Vague rumour about Pat Sul leaving City to go to Shams....
Players meeting with Coughlan tomorrow so guess we'll see after that-but heard he's sorted out a job up in Dublin and is looking to revert to part-time. Every City fan would be sad to lose such a player but if we need to trim the wage bill, then we need to.:(
Bad news for City if true, but can't really be helped. Looked a quality player whenever I saw him playing.
apo11o
21/07/2009, 10:23 AM
got a scolarship with ucd so he as left ye.
eoin played with yer a team yesterday, i have heard nothing about him leaving ye
I ve posted since that Torphey rumour was just that :confused:a rumour:confused:
I understood D Fallon was going back to castlebar celtic,P Curry going back to his old club, maybe I was wrong where they were going but right that they were leaving.
Joseph McSweene
22/07/2009, 1:40 AM
Bad news for City if true, but can't really be helped. Looked a quality player whenever I saw him playing.
Pat Sullivan is a real man of action-first to every ball, fantastic engine and his tackling is first rate. Positioning at full-back can be suspect and I remember him being outrun a couple of times at centre-half (most noticebly against Galway last year when Dwerek Glynn beat him twice). Still would be a quality signing for Shams if true!
gufc2000
29/07/2009, 3:52 PM
Middlesbrough now want right-back Seamus Conneely from us aswell
29/07/2009, 3:55 PM
Any sign of O'Shea moving to anyone?
redobit
29/07/2009, 4:01 PM
Middlesbrough now want right-back Seamus Conneely from us aswell
Not too suprised he looked depenable any time I seen him play. Looks a bit light, is he still in his teens. Assume it will be a small fee with first team and international add-on bonuses.
gufc2000
29/07/2009, 4:05 PM
Not too suprised he looked depenable any time I seen him play. Looks a bit light, is he still in his teens. Assume it will be a small fee with first team and international add-on bonuses.
To make it across channel, he will have to bulk up alright. Very solid, would be a big blow to lose him
According to Billy Barry on 96 fm
- Dennehy to Fingal
- Faz to Dundalk
- Sullivan to Rovers
- players linked to Malta
- Davin linked with Ipswich
tallaghtfornia
30/07/2009, 12:23 PM
Sullivan having medical at rovers today apparently
boneym
30/07/2009, 12:34 PM
Yeah he is only going part-time though
- Dennehy to Fingal
- Faz to Dundalk
- Sullivan to Rovers
Hope not.
tallaghtfornia
31/07/2009, 9:59 AM
Sullivan gone to Rovers, two and a half year deal
Ezeikial
31/07/2009, 10:04 AM
- Dennehy to Fingal
- Faz to Dundalk
- Sullivan to Rovers
Hope not.
I think that is very improbable. The allocated player budget is fully committed, and assuming Dundalk decide to pay the (non-binding) Rogers award then there is definately no scope for employing any additional players.
The Betting Man
31/07/2009, 11:12 AM
Heard Dan Connor and Danny Murphy are heading to Pats
31/07/2009, 11:14 AM
Heard Dan Connor and Danny Murphy are heading to Pats
I'd be shocked to see Danny Murphy go if were not wound up.Roddy wants him too, he told him he wants to give the club every chance
He came to the pubic meeting the other night, and was saying to people that he's going no where til they shut the gates on him.
Joseph McSweene
31/07/2009, 11:16 AM
I'd be shocked to see Danny Murphy go if were not wound up.Roddy wants him too, he told him he wants to give the club every chance
He came to the pubic meeting the other night, and was saying to people that he's going no where til they shut the gates on him.
I think Danny has a baba on the way, so you can understand his hesitation. What a langer Tom is for messing with people's lives like this.
Good luck to Pat Sul too-a great player!
irishultra
31/07/2009, 1:33 PM
the dutch scouts i talked about in another thread are very big fans of dan connor for the record ;)
gufc2000
31/07/2009, 4:20 PM
Any sign of O'Shea moving to anyone?
Middlesbrough seems a likely destination, but Gareth Southgate claims a potential deal is someway off yet
Ezeikial
31/07/2009, 6:38 PM
George O'Callaghan has appeared in a number of trial games for League One side, Yeovil Town. According to Evening Herald signing is expected:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/yeovil-snap-up-free-agent-ocallaghan-1846790.html
http://www.ytfc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10673~1732756,00.html
blue til i die
01/08/2009, 3:39 PM
Middlesbrough seems a likely destination, but Gareth Southgate claims a potential deal is someway off yet
Not happening for the moment anyway!
Gareth Southgate: “He’s a player we’ve had a look at but at the moment our priority is players who are going to go straight into our first team.
“Our reports are good on him but it’s not something we are able to do at the moment.”
01/08/2009, 3:42 PM
O'Shea's contract is up at the end of the season yes? If so, he'll end up going for free I'd say.
brianw82
01/08/2009, 4:00 PM
George O'Callaghan has appeared in a number of trial games for League One side, Yeovil Town. According to Evening Herald signing is expected:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/yeovil-snap-up-free-agent-ocallaghan-1846790.html
http://www.ytfc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10673~1732756,00.html (http://www.ytfc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10673%7E1732756,00.html)
They do know he's a patron in the Last Chance Saloon, yes?
GuisaSaigon
01/08/2009, 4:04 PM
O'Shea's contract is up at the end of the season yes? If so, he'll end up going for free I'd say.
Going to Birmingham according to a few people last night, he wasn't in the squad and AFAIK wasn't even in Terryland so I'd imagine a deal is very close to being done.
gufc2000
01/08/2009, 5:15 PM
He'll be gone before then I'd imagine. His contract does expire at the end of the year, but we are entitled to compensation if he does leave. He wasn't involved at all last night, so I think its fair to say he won't be around much longer
Black and White
01/08/2009, 5:32 PM
He'll be gone before then I'd imagine. His contract does expire at the end of the year, but we are entitled to compensation if he does leave. He wasn't involved at all last night, so I think its fair to say he won't be around much longer
How do you make that one out, is it not the club that the player first started off with aka Bray who would be entitled to compensation from ye but now that hes moving from ye to middlesboro, possibly for free then is it not free?! Im not to up to date with the under 23/compensation rules but my bad if im wrong!
01/08/2009, 5:36 PM
How do you make that one out, is it not the club that the player first started off with aka Bray who would be entitled to compensation from ye but now that hes moving from ye to middlesboro, possibly for free then is it not free?! Im not to up to date with the under 23/compensation rules but my bad if im wrong!
I'm not fully sure but I think Galway are entitled to compensation because they've developed him as a player over the last few years.
01/08/2009, 5:47 PM
Bray would be entitled to a cut of the transfer fee if an offer is made by the buying club, which is accepted by Galway.
In the case of O'Shea contract expiring compensation would be due to Galway only, as long as the player has been at the club for 2 years and is offered a contract by Galway of the same value as his previous one within a certain time frame. I am unsure if the two year rule applies to seasons or calendar years. He signed for Galway (http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/united-sign-james-o-shea.html) on 20/12/07.
Here's an extract of the rules:
Article 6 Special provisions for the EU/EEA
1. For players moving from one association to another inside the territory
of the EU/EEA, the amount of training compensation payable shall be
established based on the following:
a) If the player moves from a lower to a higher category club, the
calculation shall be based on the average training costs of the
two clubs;
b) If the player moves from a higher to a lower category, the
calculation shall be based on the training costs of the lowercategory
club.
2. Inside the EU/EEA, the fi nal season of training may occur before the
season of the player’s 21st birthday if it is established that the player
completed his training before that time.
3. If the former club does not offer the player a contract, no training
compensation is payable unless the former club can justify that it is
entitled to such compensation. The former club must offer the player
a contract in writing via registered post at least 60 days before the
expiry of his current contract. Such an offer shall furthermore be at
least of an equivalent value to the current contract. This provision is
without prejudice to the right to training compensation of the player’s
previous club(s).
League of Ireland Premier Division clubs are in category 2, as far as I remember. Premier League clubs are category 1. The compensation fee for catergory 2 clubs is £40k. Can't remember what category 1 is, but it is obviously higher.
01/08/2009, 5:52 PM
If a player has been with a club as a professional for two seasons whilst 23 or under the club is entitled to compensation if he leaves at the end of his contract. Bray would get a cut if he's sold I think along with whoever his schoolboy clubs were. If he leaves for compensation and is subsequently sold then Bray and Galway and his schoolboy clubs would be in line for a payment again.
Edit: More or less as Dman says!.
01/08/2009, 6:03 PM
Just for further clarification on when previous clubs get a cut of the transfer deal:
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=4529&Itemid=318
Compensation & Solidarity Payments
Compensation Payments conclude when a player's training is completed
Thereafter, Solidarity Payments are applicable if a player is transferred during contract
Example: If Michael Owen had moved from Liverpool to AC Milan at age 19, when out of contract, training compensation payment would have been payable by Milan to Liverpool.
Solidarity Payments
If the same move had occurred when the player was in contract, the transfer fee would have been negotiable and 5% of this amount would then have been distributed pro-rata to all clubs involved in his training since the age of 12
longfordjames
02/08/2009, 7:46 PM
Galway fans,could John Russell play CCC or L1?Very impressed by him!
gufc2000
02/08/2009, 7:59 PM
Galway fans,could John Russell play CCC or L1?Very impressed by him!
Not sure if he's Championship level, I think League One would be his max. We don't want to let him go though!
longfordjames
02/08/2009, 8:02 PM
Just watch the highlights of yer games on youtube,he ran the Bray game and 1st half of Sligo.
02/08/2009, 8:28 PM
Aaron Shanahan was in goals tonight for us against Atletico Madrid, very impressive so he was. Anyone know if he's signed or what? Used to play with Dundalk I think?