View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

garyderry
21/01/2009, 5:23 PM
Most negative comments about our surface are made by people who have never played on a surface like ours and when the word artifical comes up in a sentence they immediately think Luton and QPR's type surfaces. Oriels is nothing like that.
I will say that in the last 2 seasons no player has pulled up with a serious injury that was a result of our pitch in a competitive match in Oriel Park that dundalk fc have played in.
However over the course of the last 2 seasons we have been made in play on crap cabbage patch surfaces of monaghan, kildare, morton (2008), longford, ballybofey (2007) to name a few.

What on earth has pitch surfaces got to do with transfer rumours???? :confused:

GreenStar
21/01/2009, 5:35 PM
What on earth has pitch surfaces got to do with transfer rumours???? :confused:

Exactly!!! Why does this thread continuously meander onto dundalk? Half the time you check this thread it's people slagging each other off or talking about dundalk.

Back ON-TOPIC, rumours abound that Danny O'Connor is being released by Rovers.

brianw82
21/01/2009, 6:52 PM
Why does this thread continuously meander onto dundalk? Half the time you check this thread it's people slagging each other off or talking about dundalk.

Probably because Dundalk are at the heart of almost every transfer rumour going?

Flexy
21/01/2009, 7:14 PM
Probably because Dundalk are at the heart of almost every transfer rumour going?
And will end up like shels bohs and drogs the way they are going

dannydundalk
21/01/2009, 7:18 PM
i think jealousy is here now :cool:
our owner doesn't even like football he is in a construction business and is a wise fellow that knows his money
no chance!!:D

DUNDALK FC ARE BACK :rolleyes:

21/01/2009, 7:19 PM
and Cork and Rovers (4%) and Dublin City and Kilkenny City and Derry a few years back...

Maroon 7
21/01/2009, 7:52 PM
our owner doesn't even like football he is in a construction business and is a wise fellow that knows his money

That's what they said about Sean Fitzpatrick at Anglo-Irish.:D

On a serious note though it seems a bit odd the way Dundalk are spending when virtually every other club in the league is cutting back. It should be an interesting ride for the fans anyway.

Flawless
21/01/2009, 7:59 PM

I would ask you please not to get too cocky Danny, As GM is not a football man whos to say that he wont get ****ed off with the club in a year or few years and want to cash in?.Im not saying he would or wouldnt but dont get too excited..

21/01/2009, 8:03 PM

have we gone back in time??:confused:

Black and White
21/01/2009, 8:12 PM
And will end up like shels bohs and drogs the way they are going
Stop being a tool and assuming those kind of things! Dundalk nearly went under 5 years ago! Trevor Anderson(god forbid me for bringing his name back up) nearly destroyed us and left us ina emss...he basically p!@d all our money away on nobodies...Gerry Matthews came in and brought us back from the dead, hes a shrewd local business man...he has no interest in football, sure he didnt even go to Kildare on the last day of the season.He said and i quote "Ill be damned if I ever let this club go like that again". He aint going to let us go like that again sure we've operated on a tight budget the last number of years, last year he gave Gill an increased budegt to finally get past that final hurdle...Sean Connor said it himself around the David Cassidy incident that ALL CONTRACTS HAVE TO BE APPROVED BY GERRY, so any mad wages will be throwing out the window!! So grow the hell up and stop assuming we are the next Shels, Drogs or Dublin City...we have one of the biggest fan bases and support in this league and we'll all be damned if we let our club go like that again.

Louth4sam
21/01/2009, 8:56 PM
That's what they said about Sean Fitzpatrick at Anglo-Irish.:D

On a serious note though it seems a bit odd the way Dundalk are spending when virtually every other club in the league is cutting back. It should be an interesting ride for the fans anyway.

Every club is cutting back?? No they're not only the clubs that overspent last year are cutting back. Rovers, Derry and Sligo are not cutting back are they?

brianw82
21/01/2009, 9:27 PM
Every club is cutting back?? No they're not only the clubs that overspent last year are cutting back. Rovers, Derry and Sligo are not cutting back are they?

We are and Derry are.

Rovers probably aren't as they have a bit more financial muscle with the new stadium, but I wouldn't say they're going mad with wages.

Rovers fan
21/01/2009, 9:27 PM

We're cutting comparsion with this time last season.

J

dannydundalk
21/01/2009, 9:50 PM
to black and white....don't let flexy annoy you.
he is jealous tht we are going out and getting premier class players and can afford it.
why else is he saying this? because he thinks of us as a threat...
which is fantastic:D
just go with it ;)

21/01/2009, 10:30 PM
Pats are rumoured to be after Jay O'Shea if he doesnt get a contract across the way. It will cost Pats a few quid to buy out his contract !

dannydundalk
21/01/2009, 10:35 PM
i'd expect birmingham to get him at the moment tbh

21/01/2009, 10:36 PM
i'd expect birmingham to get him at the moment tbh

Why? His trial there was suppose to have been very poor.:confused:

21/01/2009, 10:59 PM
Jay O'Shea will not be going to Pats. Newstalk havent a clue about the el.He has a year left on his contract at Galway and is valued at over €300k,

dannydundalk
21/01/2009, 11:02 PM
he wouldn't want to be at galway anyway.....
well,i heard birmingham are going to give him a try....

Graemerz
22/01/2009, 12:12 AM
Tell ye what if Michael Collins is Dundalk's prime target they'll be nowhere in the Eircom Premier. He's injury prone and suspended frequently. Also he's well into his 30's. Dirty hateful ******* of a player.

22/01/2009, 9:20 AM
Tell ye what if Michael Collins is Dundalk's prime target they'll be nowhere in the Eircom Premier. He's injury prone and suspended frequently. Also he's well into his 30's. Dirty hateful ******* of a player.

He'l fit in great with the rest of our players then...:rolleyes:

22/01/2009, 9:26 AM
Jay O'Shea will not be going to Pats. Newstalk havent a clue about the el.He has a year left on his contract at Galway and is valued at over €300k,

He was valued at that by Derby. No other club has made an offer so he's effectively worhtless. Fine player and if Galway hang on to them he'll be a star for them next year but these "valuations" clubs and fans put on players aren't wroth diddley

22/01/2009, 10:23 AM
Been thinking about this after seeing the names that Dundalk have brought in - no doubt on fair wedges of large cash.

Surely the FAI must veto their budget on grounds of grossly overspending madness - otherwise it'd look a tad unsporting to do this to other clubs and not Dundalk

22/01/2009, 10:27 AM
In fairness to Dundalk, they've let their entire squad from last season go, so while they have signed a lot of players, they had none to start with.

Full-time pros also don't have to be on the inflated wages rumoured to have been paid by the big four in the past couple of years; E1k a week is plenty.

Not to say they're going to be grand next season, but people seem to be overreacting a little. There's been far worse overspenders in previous years.

22/01/2009, 10:31 AM
Fair enough - if they are seen to be culling the sqaud to bring in other players / seen to be trying to balance the wage bill - then that's acceptable.

If however they continue with this signing anyone available and getting them in on fairly obsecene amounts (which I believe was one of Connor's main hobbies) on 3 year contracts - then you've got to start asking questions.

I wonder how many houses you could get on the site of Oriel Park - although we may find out pretty soon once things start to go wrong up there

Billy-Green
22/01/2009, 10:37 AM
Back ON-TOPIC, rumours abound that Danny O'Connor is being released by Rovers.

Could well be true, cant see him starting with Robbo, Cahill, Rice and Bradley in the midfield.

22/01/2009, 10:51 AM
Not sure if it's been reported in this thread yet - but apparently Joe O'Cearuill has left St Pats

Saint_Charlie
22/01/2009, 11:00 AM
Not sure if it's been reported in this thread yet - but apparently Joe O'Cearuill has left St Pats

He's gone to Northampton on trial apparently.

garyderry
22/01/2009, 11:13 AM

Derry ARE cutting back, reducing the number of full-time players to around 16
and added a few part-time players. An estimated 20% reduction in budget
according to local press statements.

Sligo are definitely cutting back from last seasons budget too, didnt there
proposed budget to the FAI get rejected?

As far as i can see only Dundalk and Rovers will be increasing there budget.

22/01/2009, 11:22 AM
Rovers aren't increasing their budget.

Black and White
22/01/2009, 11:24 AM
to black and white....don't let flexy annoy you.
he is jealous tht we are going out and getting premier class players and can afford it.
why else is he saying this? because he thinks of us as a threat...
which is fantastic:D
just go with it ;)

Im not...i just dont see where people are gettign these stories from!They're the same people crying about talking about Dundalk all the time when its the same people who bring us up in threads all the time...if ye want to talk about Dundalks finances then go to the club section and post what you want in a finance rumour section and keep this to a TRANSFER Rumour section!!;)

22/01/2009, 11:31 AM
John Lester to Pats huge loss to Galway despite the smart asses on here.

Flawless
22/01/2009, 12:18 PM
Fair enough - if they are seen to be culling the sqaud to bring in other players / seen to be trying to balance the wage bill - then that's acceptable.

If however they continue with this signing anyone available and getting them in on fairly obsecene amounts (which I believe was one of Connor's main hobbies) on 3 year contracts - then you've got to start asking questions.

I wonder how many houses you could get on the site of Oriel Park - although we may find out pretty soon once things start to go wrong up there

With regards wages, last seasons budget was over 10k a week, now naturally with promotion we are going to increase that arent we?...of course!
We released all but 4 players from last years squad, 3 of these are on p/t contracts.With regards Connor and his penchant for 3 year contracts, nobody signed has been offered more than a 1 year deal.

As for Oriel and houses, The land which Oriel is on is not Owned By Gerry Matthews or the Club, It is owned by the Casey family,(Ie Des Casey, UEFA Life member/former Vice President and former FAI president!),one of the towns great footballing families, who have leased it to dundalk for life as far as i know. It cant be sold without the families permission which would never be given!

monutdfc
22/01/2009, 2:22 PM
certainly is! (good player though)

22/01/2009, 2:31 PM
Right have to get me a season ticket for Inchicore so!

22/01/2009, 3:37 PM
Réiteoir obviously doesn't know what he is talking about. If only keeping 4 players from last year isn't a cull then what is? And as Flawless stated, all players have only been offered one year deals. Just because we are signing players on full-time deals doesn't mean they are all on €2,000 a week.. A player can be on €600 a week and still be full-time..

The Lilywhites
22/01/2009, 3:47 PM
I wouldn't worry Holidaysong. Réiteoir is living in Bohs land.

dannydundalk
22/01/2009, 3:47 PM
exactly holidaysong just because most our squad will be full time most of them will just be on say 1k a week and our squad will only consist of say 16 full timers and a few part times with not much money
by the way dundalk get money out of hiring oriel out...day to day ...as well as that we were giving 30k for winning the 1st division as i recall

anyone that mouths ow you will go bust etc.! you really can shove it now as you are fans of teams jealous of what we can possible do this season :rolleyes:

22/01/2009, 3:56 PM
...we were giving 30k for winning the 1st division as i recall..

€60,000 actually..

22/01/2009, 3:57 PM
Réiteoir obviously doesn't know what he is talking about. If only keeping 4 players from last year isn't a cull then what is?

Sure - if you'd have actually read the post - I stated that "Fair enough - if they are seen to be culling the sqaud to bring in other players / seen to be trying to balance the wage bill - then that's acceptable."

I was under the initial impression that you hadn't released players allowing you to bring more in - that was before one of your colleagues informed me in here of this fact. It's if you hadn't of released anyone - but just kept adding "marquee-signings" (to quote the Yanks) to the bill then problems start to mount.

But then again - I'm not one of these prevalent characters who squats on other clubs message boards picking up every tiny bit of irrelevant discussion.

It is owned by the Casey family,(Ie Des Casey, UEFA Life member/former Vice President and former FAI president!),one of the towns great footballing families, who have leased it to dundalk for life as far as i know. It cant be sold without the families permission which would never be given!

I'm sure that's what Rovers fans said about Mr Kilcoyne before the whole Milltown thing happened, and Brighton fans said about those reprobates before they sold the Goldstone Ground out from underneath them.

Property developers getting involved in high level running of clubs is not necessarily a good thing...

And as for "living in Bohs land" - only one response for that: :rolleyes:

dannydundalk
22/01/2009, 4:03 PM
let all the bohs know that darren mansarams better than crowwwee
sorry for going off topic just to reiteoir:D

22/01/2009, 4:04 PM

laughed out loud at that!

22/01/2009, 4:23 PM
Sure - if you'd have actually read the post - I stated that "Fair enough - if they are seen to be culling the sqaud to bring in other players / seen to be trying to balance the wage bill - then that's acceptable."

I was under the initial impression that you hadn't released players allowing you to bring more in - that was before one of your colleagues informed me in here of this fact. It's if you hadn't of released anyone - but just kept adding "marquee-signings" (to quote the Yanks) to the bill then problems start to mount.

Ok then. I wish other people on here could see that what we are doing can hardly be termed overspending given the fact that we only have 9 players currently signed up for the new season and that we're unlikely to have a very large sqaud - 16 players in the first team complimented by youngsters is what Connor said at the press conference..

jinxy lilywhite
22/01/2009, 4:33 PM
I'm sure that's what Rovers fans said about Mr Kilcoyne before the whole Milltown thing happened, and Brighton fans said about those reprobates before they sold the Goldstone Ground out from underneath them.

Property developers getting involved in high level running of clubs is not necessarily a good thing...

Reiteoir. Oriel Park is owned by the Casey. Casey senior left in his will that Oriel Park could never be sold and that as long as there is a football team in dundalk, Oriel park will be available. The Casey family cannot just upsticks and sell OP.

dannydundalk
22/01/2009, 4:35 PM
laughed out loud at that!

taught i would indeed :cool:

WoodquayBoy
22/01/2009, 4:39 PM
Agree, he was a rock for us as we fought for our Premier Division lives, one of the players from last season I would have back in an instant, seriously weakens our already weak hand

22/01/2009, 4:46 PM
sorry for going off topic just to reiteoir:D

Did Seanie not tell you how good Paul Brown is?

Paul Brown > Péle according to Connor

LeixlipRed
22/01/2009, 5:03 PM
taught i would indeed :cool:

:o

This lad's great entertainment.

Ezeikial
22/01/2009, 5:37 PM

But then again - I'm not one of these prevalent characters who squats on other clubs message boards picking up every tiny bit of irrelevant discussion.

The old saying comes to mind here
"don't argue with a fool, others might not know the difference"
Reiteoir clearly has no clue of what he is babbling on about!

22/01/2009, 5:55 PM
Well holidaysong understands perfectly - and as he's the most sane and clued up Dundalk fan on here (rather than some random with 3 posts to their name) - that's good enough for me.