View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

14/01/2009, 11:03 PM
But surely Cork should be forced to sort those players who are as yet unpaid out before they go signing new 1s? What you're saying doesn't really dispute that fact.
The FAI set teh deadlines.

The deadline for the wages etc is the 31st of january. The transfer window closes on teh 2nd of February.

You think we could sign enough players to have a squad in 2 days?

If the players have a problem with teh way its being done they can contact the PFAI(who havnt said anything about it) of late, and try to get the rule changed.

As it stands we are doing nothing wrong

I'm sure if I wasn't getting paid in work, the job told me they weren't able to pay me my backpay until the 30th of May, I agreed, and then on the 20th of April, new employees were hired, I'd have some rights within the law.

Are you really sure? Or are you guessing?

Our players under contract will be paid extra every paycheck until its covered, they are happy with this and have signed new contracts.

Those leaving us are being paid up in full.

The 2 not sorted yet are still in negotiations about contracts afaik, the backpay is part of this

Yes they have. Davin O'Neill and Kevin Murray. Apparently Kuduzovic aswell. And it clearly is a big deal. You're dealing with people's livelihoods here. I know Shels didn't sort everyone out on time, but at least there was the consolation that everyone got 100%.

We have signed 1 player so far, Davin O neill.

Given that many of our players were willing to take pay cuts on contracts so that we could sign players and be competitive next year shows their stance on the issue.

Yes its people's livliehoods but you seem to be getting offended on behalf of people who havnt said they have a problem with it

All our players are also getting 100% so whats your point?

14/01/2009, 11:04 PM
Shels didn't sign a single player til everyone was sorted out. There were financial difficulties but no1 was messed about.

Rubbish. Explain how ye fielded a team at the start of 2007 then? The money was not all paid paid by then

BulmersKid
14/01/2009, 11:06 PM
Shels didn't sign a single player til everyone was sorted out. There were financial difficulties but no1 was messed about.

Shels didn't sign or Couldn't sign....there is a difference

14/01/2009, 11:50 PM
The transfer window closes on teh 2nd of February.

Don't think that's the case, not for out of contract players anyway. Which would be 90% of signings in the League. Certainly was not the case last year anyway.

Candystripe
15/01/2009, 3:50 AM
AFAIK our transfer window is different from Englands and ours stays open for a while after that.

Bunny Kelly
15/01/2009, 9:58 AM
You can sign out of contract players outside the transfer window so it's just those big money transfers that need to be wrapped by the end of the month.

So in essence there is no real transfer window this year :)

BulmersKid
15/01/2009, 10:11 AM
You can sign out of contract players outside the transfer window so it's just those big money transfers that need to be wrapped by the end of the month.

So in essence there is no real transfer window this year :)

Isn't there something about a domestic and international transfer window too?

15/01/2009, 10:19 AM
Yeah transfers between countries need international clearance and can only be applied for within the window

Inside Man
15/01/2009, 10:28 AM
Sligo Rovers movement in transfer window due to unfold today allegedly.
Morrison, Parkhouse, Cawley are the tranfers.
O'Grady and Almeidia signing contracts.
Rumoured.

15/01/2009, 11:07 AM
Dan Connor in talks with us apparently....

BulmersKid
15/01/2009, 11:14 AM
Rumoured.

Parkhouse confimred here (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1086874&postcount=58) and here (http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donegalsport/Parkhouse-quits-Finn-Park-for.4875961.jp)

HammerNThongs
15/01/2009, 11:26 AM
Rumoured.

As in Owen Morrison who started last season with some highlight reel goals?

Not too shabby if I'm to be honest.

Inside Man
15/01/2009, 11:59 AM

Not too shabby if I'm to be honest.
Ya thats the man. I'd say that Morrison fella is a hot head and i would be wary of him.

garyderry
15/01/2009, 1:08 PM
Ya thats the man. I'd say that Morrison fella is a hot head and i would be wary of him.

he will start off amazing for you like he does everywhere else
then its all down him ..... attitude problems allegedly

HammerNThongs
15/01/2009, 1:54 PM
Morrison Vs Cook....bit of a more combustible and emotional character then Kenny is though. Might be able to keep him in check.

We'll see though I guess

The Lilywhites
15/01/2009, 4:38 PM
Dundalk IN:
Declan O'Brien (Drogheda)
Joe Miller as assistant manager

http://dundalkfc.com/news/090114_PressCon.asp
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1118/

15/01/2009, 4:47 PM

Not too shabby if I'm to be honest.Do Rovers still have Brian Cash?

If so, be afraid, very afraid....

Possibly the most erratic wing combo ever to grace a football pitch.

niallsparky
15/01/2009, 7:14 PM
Stuart Byrne, Paul Keegan, Ger Rowe and Alan Cawley training with Bohs. Make of that what you will.

niallsparky
15/01/2009, 7:15 PM
Stephen O'Donnell is flaunting himself in England and is having a trial with Gillingham.

15/01/2009, 7:17 PM
Alan Cawley training with Bohs. Make of that what you will.He did say he was in talks with other clubs but is hoping an agreement with us can be made.

15/01/2009, 7:38 PM
Do Rovers still have Brian Cash?

If so, be afraid, very afraid....

Possibly the most erratic wing combo ever to grace a football pitch.

hes still there for now.

can Owen play both wings? If so Cashy wont get a look in coz it will be Doherty and Morrison on the wings.

15/01/2009, 7:49 PM
I can't think of many companies that would get away with leaving current/past employees unpaid, but are able to hire and pay new 1s.

You'll be delighted to hear that according to Coughlan today, all back pay issue have been sorted with the players

The Fox
15/01/2009, 8:42 PM
Rumoured.

Tell me how are Sligo affording all these new players - were they not urgently searching for large sums of money 3 or 4 months ago. I find it hard to believe there was such a turnaround?

15/01/2009, 8:53 PM
Tell me how are Sligo affording all these new players - were they not urgently searching for large sums of money 3 or 4 months ago. I find it hard to believe there was such a turnaround?Well believe it. We were set to finish the 2008 season with little or no loss.

brianw82
15/01/2009, 10:15 PM
Tell me how are Sligo affording all these new players - were they not urgently searching for large sums of money 3 or 4 months ago. I find it hard to believe there was such a turnaround?

The budget has been substantially reduced, afaik. The main problem last year was carrying over a large revenue bill from '07. That won't be the case this year.

Black and White
16/01/2009, 12:59 PM
Chris Turner and Garreth O'Connor to Dundalk.

www.extratime.ie (http://www.extratime.ie)

adamd164
17/01/2009, 11:20 AM
Dan Connor spotted with Doolin in Cork yesterday.

adamd164
17/01/2009, 1:00 PM
Connor trained with us this morning.

17/01/2009, 3:36 PM
Liam Burns and Dave Rogers suppose to have trained with Dundalk this morning, also Steve Williams is in talks with the club.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1131/

Iorfa2MaccaJim
17/01/2009, 4:16 PM
Rumour has it that Kevin Murray signed for us this morning.
Can anyone confirm this ?

Black and White
17/01/2009, 4:21 PM
Liam Burns and Dave Rogers suppose to have trained with Dundalk this morning, also Steve Williams is in talks with the club.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1131/

Major coup if Burns signs for us but it was said that he and Connor are on great terms and he wanted to leave when Connor was sacked from Bohs so chances of him signing would be pretty good...other two im unsure about, they both played against us last season for Fingal and both looked very ordinary!Williams id imagine would be coach/player/sit on the bench!

DRDoc
17/01/2009, 4:22 PM
Rumour has it that Kevin Murray signed for us this morning.
Can anyone confirm this ?

Yep!!

adamd164
17/01/2009, 4:38 PM
Yeah, he signed for ye today: http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1132/

Lamper.sffc
17/01/2009, 4:55 PM
Major coup if Burns signs for us but it was said that he and Connor are on great terms and he wanted to leave when Connor was sacked from Bohs so chances of him signing would be pretty good...other two im unsure about, they both played against us last season for Fingal and both looked very ordinary!Williams id imagine would be coach/player/sit on the bench!

Williams had a reasonable good season for us. Except that game against yous:o

Rogers was great for us while he was on loan. One of our best players at that point.

Jicked
17/01/2009, 5:10 PM
Shane Robinson returning to Rovers. Great signging!

17/01/2009, 6:22 PM
Shane Robinson returning to Rovers. Great signging!

where is that confirmed?? thought he was going to cork???

17/01/2009, 6:24 PM
heard today that gary murphy is on his way out from us to go to galway utd.. heard too that ex players adrian murphy( who plays in the longford district league ) and paul kelly could be making comebacks for us after playin on trial today.

Town Legend
17/01/2009, 6:32 PM
heard too that ex players adrian murphy( who plays in the longford district league ) and paul kelly could be making comebacks for us after playin on trial today.

Hopefully thats true Martinho, 2 players who had great prospects within the game but decided to opt out for various reasons a couple of years back. Still both young lads so would be another 2 good signings.

srfc-1901
17/01/2009, 8:24 PM

Prob wont be confirmed till monday but yes,Robbo has returned.

Once a hoop ,always a hoop

happydays97
17/01/2009, 11:43 PM
Seamus Coleman to Everton going by the paper today

niallsparky
18/01/2009, 1:06 AM

I'm not suprised, Tony Hibbert is terrible. :p

Finlay Harp
18/01/2009, 9:38 AM

Heard that one myself. Wonder what he would be worth?

sligofan4ever
18/01/2009, 10:37 AM
Heard that one myself. Wonder what he would be worth?

There offering 200,000.

Pablo Escobar
18/01/2009, 11:36 AM
Rumour this morning saying Dan Connor has signed for us......oh the irony!

brianw82
18/01/2009, 11:51 AM
Yesterday's independent confirmed that Ollie Cahill and Michael Bradley have signed for Shamrock Rovers.

adamd164
18/01/2009, 12:16 PM
Dan Connor signed for us yesterday evening; 2 year contract.

btw, brianw82, Rovers signed Robinson too.

Joe Strummer
18/01/2009, 12:36 PM

Right Here :D http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/pressrelease.php?subaction=showfull&id=1232282797&archive=&start_from=&ucat=10&

adamd164
18/01/2009, 1:39 PM
Any Drogs fans know what Kudozovic has been doing? Has he gone on trial anywhere?

The papers are linking us to him again today.

Bunny Kelly
18/01/2009, 2:03 PM
Right Here :D http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/pressrelease.php?subaction=showfull&id=1232282797&archive=&start_from=&ucat=10&

Rovers have generally been prudent over the last few years but first Cahill & now Robinson, both were on healthy wages at Drogheda, are they going to be next side to invest heavily for some glory? They may have the potential of the new stadium but plenty of sides have invested on the back of potential & ended up broke!!

hollocaine
18/01/2009, 3:22 PM
Yesterday's independent confirmed that Ollie Cahill and Michael Bradley have signed for Shamrock Rovers.

Bradley's gonna have a busy year then. Playing for Rovers along with managing Connacht rugby!