View Full Version : Transfer Rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Flexy
18/11/2008, 1:11 PM
Dundalk board are a joke if they let a championship winning manager go

Tir Oilean
18/11/2008, 2:13 PM
Rumour in Dundalk is that gill is been let go and that doolin ..yes doolin...is been lined up as his replacement taking with him some of the drogheda players who are out of contract:eek:

Are ye the ne Drogheda then ..... I can hear the chants already.........

......are you Drogheda in disguise:D:D

18/11/2008, 2:19 PM
Dundalk board are a joke if they let a championship winning manager go

Yeah but how many times did he blow the chance for promotion before this season?

Given the budget Gill has been handed season after season I personally think they should have been a premier side long before this.

There will be no want for candidates for this job imo. Scully, Reynolds, Collins, Doolin, Gill and many more will eyeing the job imo. Maybe Rico could be interested? Fat Pat if given the right money?

Dundalk are a massive club and any decent manager out of work will be in for the job (maybe even some not out of work)

The Lilywhites
18/11/2008, 2:29 PM
Given the budget Gill has been handed season after season I personally think they should have been a premier side long before this.

Long before this? He won it on the field two years ago in his first season at the club but we all know what happened then. Hardly anything Gill could do about that. Last year, fair enough, was bad, but we've come back this year and won it. We got a bit of luck in the end but the table never lies.

Two promotions in three years is a fair record for a division which is incredibly difficult to get out of. And for the record, we had in or around the same budget as Shels this year. Fingal had the biggest and look where they finished.

18/11/2008, 2:54 PM
A poster on OrielWeb has said that it has been announced on LMFM that Gill hasn't been given a new contract and the job will be advertised..

Demoshield
18/11/2008, 3:11 PM
Long before this? He won it on the field two years ago in his first season at the club but we all know what happened then. Hardly anything Gill could do about that. Last year, fair enough, was bad, but we've come back this year and won it. We got a bit of luck in the end but the table never lies.

Two promotions in three years is a fair record for a division which is incredibly difficult to get out of. And for the record, we had in or around the same budget as Shels this year. Fingal had the biggest and look where they finished.

Yep. He didn't read the rules of the competition he was in. Surley grounds to be sacked on the spot.:confused:

There was no promotion two years ago as the league was disbanded and a new one formed.

18/11/2008, 3:38 PM
Hey GUFCT...O'Shea was going to Dalymount , agreed to do so until Bohs went wallop and then Derby came in with an offer....put that in your pipe and smoke it!...........;)

Jay as you were told before was on a 2year contract and couldnt agree to go anywhere without GUFC being paid a large Fee.

Jersey Cow
18/11/2008, 3:57 PM
Pal of mine who works with me follows Dundalk and said Gill had a budget of 7000 ....

Tir Oilean
18/11/2008, 4:04 PM
euros a day and still only managed promotion with the last kick of the season!:D

Joe Strummer
18/11/2008, 5:38 PM
A poster on OrielWeb has said that it has been announced on LMFM that Gill hasn't been given a new contract and the job will be advertised..

It was also on newstalk that he is gone. Scully for the job??

The Lilywhites
18/11/2008, 5:48 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1068/

sligofan4ever
18/11/2008, 7:15 PM
Doe's anyone know if Pat Jennings and David McDaid are heading back to Derry ?

18/11/2008, 7:18 PM
Jennings is out of contract and very unlikely to be offered a new deal with us.

18/11/2008, 7:19 PM
Doe's anyone know if Pat Jennings and David McDaid are heading back to Derry ?Their loan deals are up so yes. McDaid would be willing to come back if another deal was agreed.

18/11/2008, 8:06 PM
I'd be surprised if Derry would let him go...

18/11/2008, 8:17 PM
I'd be surprised if Derry would let him go...Hard to know, can't see him getting too many appearances with Derry just yet. Can't see them being too against it if Rovers were interested in bringing him back next season.

Tir Oilean
18/11/2008, 9:31 PM

Thats fecking unbelieveable! How f*cking dare a board of directors treat the manager players and supporters in such a way. That behaviour is unreal.

I feel sorry for the supporters that they have such cretins on their board. That much take so much of the good feeling of promotion away.:mad:

Flawless
18/11/2008, 10:01 PM
Dundalk Job has been advertised in Loacl Papers out tonight apparently.

Lamper.sffc
18/11/2008, 10:44 PM

Hey no fair, Leave us out of it:)

In fairness it does take a team a while to gel. We may of had a big budget but all our team was put together 2 months aprox before season started. We didnt really start to gel as a team fully until midway through the season.

WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 11:11 PM
That Dundalk news is a huge surprise, feel a little sorry for Gill. Only a little though.

19/11/2008, 12:01 AM
Thats fecking unbelieveable! How f*cking dare a board of directors treat the manager players and supporters in such a way. That behaviour is unreal.

I feel sorry for the supporters that they have such cretins on their board. That much take so much of the good feeling of promotion away.:mad:

I can't believe all of that story on extratime.ie. Surely the board would know better than to go back on an agreement about a bonus for winning the league.. You might as well tell all the players to feck off that they're not wanted next season.

Candystripe
19/11/2008, 1:29 AM
That is shocking news!

It will be hard for Dundalk to asemble a completely new ream for the 10 team premier and compete.

celticV3
19/11/2008, 1:36 AM

That is unbelievable. Terrible form from the board and someone needs to get it through to them that they are not the football club and cannot run it into the ground for the benifit of their ego's

Now where to find such a militant dundalk fan?:D:cool:

19/11/2008, 8:37 AM
That article appears to be leaning towards a certain agenda. The article does not say a bonus had been agreed with the players beforehand therefore I would fully support DFC in not handing one out. Did the players hand the club money when they played crap and finished mud table a few years ago? Did they f**k!

Obviously it's surprising that Gill would depart, but the duty of the board of Dundalk is to put the best manager possible in place for next season, and Gill's contract is up after all. Dundalk are being ruthless for sure, but it remains to be seen what the result will be.

19/11/2008, 9:38 AM
Celtic interested in Fahey and Shelley and Zayed playing a trial game for Hamilton according to the Indo;
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/celtic-interest-in-fahey-as-saints-reject-blues-bid-1544091.html

Black and White
19/11/2008, 10:23 AM
Gill is not gone yet...at least 2 news papers interviewed him at some stage yesterday.

And its safe to say all Dundalk players are available if rumours are true...none will sign a new contract after this treatment of Gill!!therefore all are available except shane grimes who ahys a 2 year contract....GOD HELP US ALL!!!!

19/11/2008, 12:12 PM
As I said already, I'm not convinced by that article on extratime.ie.. It is important that a manager is appointed soon though before our better players are offered deals elsewhere.

Louth4sam
19/11/2008, 12:26 PM
Gill is not gone yet...at least 2 news papers interviewed him at some stage yesterday.

And its safe to say all Dundalk players are available if rumours are true...none will sign a new contract after this treatment of Gill!!therefore all are available except shane grimes who ahys a 2 year contract....GOD HELP US ALL!!!!

What a load of crap. Players are going to turn down a chance to play in the premier league with a club that is financially stable (for now)??

As for Gill, he certainly isn't up to premier division standard in my opinion and the board are making the right choice for the club by trying to get the BEST available manager for the club.

I'd also agree 100% with MrA that that article seems to be written with somebody with a certain agenda. Seems very anti dundalk.

19/11/2008, 12:39 PM
I swear to god it had nothing to do with me. Havent even the time to read it!

Black and White
19/11/2008, 12:44 PM
:mad:Well at the moment who bloody knows what to believe...all i can say is that its turned us into the bloody laughing stock of the league!

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 12:49 PM
Ive heard both Shane Tracy (Galway United) and Brian O Callaghan (ex-Cork City) are on their way to Limerick.

Only rumours though.

LK37oldskool
19/11/2008, 12:52 PM
Both players would be a huge boost. What we saw of Tracey last season looked really promising.With both Galway and Cork cutting their cloth these sound like a reasonable rumour!

19/11/2008, 12:57 PM
Both players would be a huge boost. What we saw of Tracey last season looked really promising.With both Galway and Cork cutting their cloth these sound like a reasonable rumour!

DO NOT SIGN BRIAN O CALLAGHAN.

Not even related to a footballer. Released by halifax after a month ages ago and hasnt gotten a contract since afaik

L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 1:06 PM
DO NOT SIGN BRIAN O CALLAGHAN.

Not even related to a footballer. Released by halifax after a month ages ago and hasnt gotten a contract since afaik

I may be wrong, but didn't he do well over in England with Barnsley and Notts County. Must be decent enough. I heard both Cobh and Galway were also interested in him.

I really hope Limerick can hold onto the young squad we have now and add a couple of experienced players like him.

19/11/2008, 1:08 PM
I may be wrong, but didn't he do well over in England with Barnsley and Notts County. Must be decent enough. I heard both Cobh and Galway were also interested in him.

I really hope Limerick can hold onto the young squad we have now and add a couple of experienced players like him.

No, no he's not decent.

He did ok years ago. Now he's overweight, unfit and turns like an arctic.Trust me, you'll regret signing him

19/11/2008, 1:25 PM
:mad:Well at the moment who bloody knows what to believe...all i can say is that its turned us into the bloody laughing stock of the league!

Eh you've never been anything else really:confused:

Lilywhite Army
19/11/2008, 1:30 PM
ha and thats coming from a shels fan..
hated by everyone in the league..why do yous think everyone was so glad to see Dundalk go up instead..
have fun in the first division for a few years

BrayUnknowns
19/11/2008, 1:47 PM
hated by everyone in the league..why do yous think everyone was so glad to see Dundalk go up instead..

I'll be honest with ya... i'd much prefer to have Shels fans in the Carlisle next season rather than the bunch of Dundalk fans we had down for the cup match this season... The main bunch were some of the worst i've come across.

19/11/2008, 2:36 PM
why do yous think everyone was so glad to see Dundalk go up instead..

Cos it heralded the end of Thursday night football in Division 1 :p

GenerationXI
19/11/2008, 2:40 PM
Cos it heralded the end of Thursday night football in Division 1 :p

AMEN :ball:

19/11/2008, 2:46 PM
Don't despair! I'm sure Sporting Fingal will contine to play a few games on a Thursday night (like they did this season) when there is a clash with athletics events at Morton Stadium, so Thursday night football will live on in the first division.. :)

19/11/2008, 2:53 PM

More like 62% according to this (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=106265)

Maroon 7
19/11/2008, 4:50 PM
No, no he's not decent.

He did ok years ago. Now he's overweight, unfit and turns like an arctic.

Sounds perfect for Limerick.

Youths4Ever
19/11/2008, 5:03 PM

seems like an article written with no backing like no quotes or sources mentioned or am i missing something :confused:

last paragraph "This weekend's planned celebrations in Dundalk are also set to be badly hit by the absence of Gill and his league winning squad, with the players expected to boycott Friday's Player of the Year awards night in protest at the treatment by the club of both Gill and the players."

have a question are the player of the year awards organised by club or a supporters club? bad form from players not to show up and thank fans especially if organised by a supporters club. know been treated badly if what in article true but surely another way to protest rather than letting fans down

19/11/2008, 9:37 PM
He did ok years ago. Now he's overweight, unfit and turns like an arctic. In short, he is the perfect First Division centre half

Fixed that for you. :)

19/11/2008, 9:38 PM
Sounds perfect for Limerick.

This from a supporter of a club which gave Ciaran Foley pro terms :)

GalwayRed
19/11/2008, 9:42 PM
Ive heard Dave McCallister is interested in returning on loan to us next season:) hope this is true hes been fantastic since we got him on loan from drogheda

19/11/2008, 10:03 PM
Speaking of Shels, I heard Freeman could be on his way back to Longford.

19/11/2008, 10:23 PM
I'd doubt that for numerous reasons.

hollocaine
19/11/2008, 10:55 PM
Speaking of Shels, I heard Freeman could be on his way back to Longford........

.......to play in Sean Prunty's Testimonial on Friday evening more like.

Sheridan, there's more chance of Dublin City FC rising from the ashes than there is of that pr!ck playing for us again.