View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
Pablo Escobar
02/02/2009, 10:31 PM
Oh God no...
You should be thanking God.....as you know Georgie is bigger than this league on his own :p
garyderry
02/02/2009, 11:08 PM
I thought Gault was full-time already!?
Linfield only have a few full-time players, and train during the day with the NI womens team, jeffries has a job and only takes training in the evening with the part-time and full-time players.
Obviously this would help a bit with fitness, but hardly what you would call full-time, in regards coaching and progessing the players skills wise or as a team?
Im surprised they havent went full-time, but they seem well able to stay ahead of everyone in the IL the way they are so why would they bother spending any more money on players to go fully full-time.
03/02/2009, 9:39 AM
You should be thanking God.....as you know Georgie is bigger than this league on his own :p
We'll have to play a 4-5-2 system to accommodate his ego in midfield.
03/02/2009, 10:46 AM
Michael Collins has joined Dundalk from Newry City.
garyderry
03/02/2009, 10:55 AM
you lot wont be winning the fair play award so :p
03/02/2009, 10:59 AM
you lot wont be winning the fair play award so :p
That's true.. :o
Hibs4Ever
03/02/2009, 11:03 AM
Hard luck
jinxy lilywhite
03/02/2009, 1:34 PM
Can't wait to see "Mental Mickey" in action.
brianw82
03/02/2009, 2:24 PM
Does he get wound up by people comparing him to the 'other' Michael Collins?:)
garyderry
03/02/2009, 2:30 PM
Does he get wound up by people comparing him to the 'other' Michael Collins?:)
i think if you look at him he gets wound up he has had so many red cards :D
Steve Bruce
03/02/2009, 2:56 PM
Micky Collins a few years ago was one of the best midfielders about but now he is past it and hasn't shown much since a couple of seasons before he left Portadown. One player I'll miss bantering from the terraces
Pablo Escobar
03/02/2009, 4:22 PM
Micky Collins a few years ago was one of the best midfielders about but now he is past it and hasn't shown much since a couple of seasons before he left Portadown.
Agreed
Mr Maroon
03/02/2009, 5:34 PM
Defender Shane Guthrie is training with Galway United.
The 24 year old centre back told extratime.ie "Im spending the week training with Galway and hopefully something will come from it"
Guthrie played twenty five times for Cobh Ramblers last season in the Premier Division. The 24-year-old has two First Division titles to his name and was a regular in Pat Fenlon's Irish U23 team.
A proposed move to Dundalk fell through during January.
Battery Rover
03/02/2009, 5:47 PM
Defender Shane Guthrie is training with Galway United.
Would be an excellent signing for any team
Town Legend
03/02/2009, 6:36 PM
Wasn't he also the lead singer in Rodney's band in Only Fools and Horses!!!:D
03/02/2009, 6:55 PM
saw today in the longford news today that daithi garry and john mcguinness both ex squad members from last season are training with athlone town and neil gallagher is back training with dundalk...
03/02/2009, 7:30 PM
Garry is very mediocre, too slow and McGuinness is woeful, conceded 5 on his debut, not all his fault but more than one was. Played a few friendlies as well and just looked way off what you need in a keeper. Too small for starters. Gallagher would be a decent back up keeper for Dundalk if they could forgive him for his exit last time around. Great shot stopper.
Black and White
04/02/2009, 7:51 AM
Local paper The Argus says and quotes Sean Connor in saying that KLiam Burns has basically joined us, he also wants to sign 4 more players in the next 10 days to complete the squad! He also says that a deal with an un-named midfielder will be sorted in a day or 2 and also rumours of Neil Gallagher joining are not true, he offered him pre season so he could stay fit in the off season whislt looking for a club!He is also looking at 2 goalies atm!
roversforever
04/02/2009, 9:16 AM
Local paper The Argus says and quotes Sean Connor in saying that KLiam Burns has basically joined us, he also wants to sign 4 more players in the next 10 days to complete the squad! He also says that a deal with an un-named midfielder will be sorted in a day or 2 and also rumours of Neil Gallagher joining are not true, he offered him pre season so he could stay fit in the off season whislt looking for a club!He is also looking at 2 goalies atm!
I take absolutely no pleasure in saying this but seanie is going to bankrupt ye....
Black and White
04/02/2009, 9:27 AM
I take absolutely no pleasure in saying this but seanie is going to bankrupt ye....
Just like Cook has done to ye...I love the way that when Connor left ye, your finances where grand now since Cook took over, its been nothing but trouble all the way, ye nearly went bust in the summer, now ye have to satisfy Cook re a budget!If I where you I'd worry about your own clubs finances but if you want to get involved with ours then do you want to come over to Oriel tomorrow night as there is a q&a session with the Gerry matthew, Sean Connor and Paul Jonhston, alot of q's are going to be asked about finances etc!!
roversforever
04/02/2009, 10:03 AM
Just like Cook has done to ye...I love the way that when Connor left ye, your finances where grand now since Cook took over, its been nothing but trouble all the way, ye nearly went bust in the summer, now ye have to satisfy Cook re a budget!If I where you I'd worry about your own clubs finances but if you want to get involved with ours then do you want to come over to Oriel tomorrow night as there is a q&a session with the Gerry matthew, Sean Connor and Paul Jonhston, alot of q's are going to be asked about finances etc!!
Not much point coz seanie won't be telling the truth anyway....he doesn't know how!!!;)anyway the dundalk fans seem determined to ignore all arguments against connor so im not going to talk about him again!as regards finances its too very different situations...firstly the MC wanted to sell boco in order to raise funds for two new players but now the fans are attempting to raise that money which would mean getting the players without having to sell anybody and hopefully get cookie back in the process!hardly reckless spending.But with all the signings dundalk are making im just asking where is all the money coming from?im not stirring here,just a genuine question.
We released almost our whole squad!!! So all we are going to do is pay wages for a squad of approx 16 players(some of whom are locals on relatively low wages),so if its within an approved budget then what is the problem??
Black and White
04/02/2009, 10:12 AM
They wont be asking Connor about finances, they will be asking the owner and the commercial manager! COnnor will be asked if hes ben keeping within buget and we all know what he'll say so theres no point asking him about that, whta we are more worried about is atht 11 players are sigend and hes signing another 4 and thats that!15 players for a season!
As was discussed several time before, its far cheaper and in the best interests of a club to employ a full time player than it is a part time player and with so many players out of contracts and clubs cutting back, its an advantage to clubs to employ players in terms of saving in tax, paye/prsi and off course wages!
Lamper.sffc
04/02/2009, 11:36 AM
Are we back here again.
I would just like to say cheers to Dundalk for taking the flak and allowing the fact that Sporting Fingal have gone full time, go under the radar;).
Its been nice to not getting it in the ear from other clubs.
Oh wait, what have i just done! :eek::p
Best of luck for the new season. Hope Dundalk do well
04/02/2009, 12:26 PM
I would just like to say cheers to Dundalk for taking the flak and allowing the fact that Sporting Fingal have gone full time, go under the radar;).
Its been nice to not getting it in the ear from other clubs.
Maybe people already know the ending of Dublin City II: Return of the Debt Collectors?
passerrby
04/02/2009, 12:32 PM
Maybe people already know the ending of Dublin City II: Return of the Debt Collectors?
It il all end in tears dont ya know
GalwayRed
04/02/2009, 1:19 PM
Can we get back to what this thread is actually about please? Transfer Rumours.
Any ideas on who Drogs might bring in now that they have Matthews in place?
04/02/2009, 1:21 PM
I'll have a guess at Alan Kirby, depending on the money they can offer. I know Sporting Fingal are in for him but Alan Mathews would want him, he tried to sign him for Cork and they get on well from their years down here.
The Lilywhites
04/02/2009, 1:23 PM
Indo reported yesterday that Kirby has officially signed for Fingal.
Kirby already signed for SF according to the Indo.
04/02/2009, 1:26 PM
I see, well I don't read the Indo so hadn't seen that!. I'd guess he'll take a few of the ex-Dundalk lads, maybe Duffy, Crowley, Whelehan, Robbie Martin possibly.
eamoss
04/02/2009, 2:43 PM
daithi garry....training with athlone town
I played with Daithi on the university team and I thought he was good but didn't think he was good enough for the LOI. Seen him around campus a few times with all the Longford gear on, Was he any good with Longford last year?
Rocky77
04/02/2009, 2:45 PM
He wasn't hectic to be honest with you, not too conerned he's not being kept on
04/02/2009, 2:45 PM
Fairly average to be honest. He worked hard but he was a bit slow and he was limited going forward.
04/02/2009, 6:47 PM
daithi was injured for the last few mths of last season.. we didnt exactly miss him tbh
06/02/2009, 10:12 AM
Shane Guthrie has apparently signed for us but nothing official yet.Excellent signing if its true.
Lamper.sffc
06/02/2009, 11:40 AM
Bray Wanderers have signed Pats, Stephen Brennan and Sporting Fingals, Paul Byrne.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/eircomleague/news.asp?n=35769
Rumour has it, Chris Deans is also going from sporting to Bray
The Lilywhites
06/02/2009, 11:45 AM
Deans confirmed on Bray's site yesterday.
robertob
06/02/2009, 3:02 PM
Any rumours for Joseph Ndo? I know he left St. Pats, so is he going to play next season for Shamrock Rv. or have he ended his career?
robertob
06/02/2009, 3:05 PM
Going to Bohs.
Really? :eek:
Do you have a link for this transfer?
Btw: What is with Joxer Kelly? He left Bohs and I hope he will find a good team. Any news for him?
ndo defo to bohs, he was even going on their pre-season trip to spain
Joxer trialed with millwall and yeovil but looks like he'll no go to drogs
06/02/2009, 3:54 PM
ndo defo to bohs, he was even going on their pre-season trip to spain
Joxer trialed with millwall and yeovil but looks like he'll no go to drogs
Speaker of Joxer and Drogs I saw a fella that looked on awful lot like Joxer in a top that looked a lot like Drogs on the Luas yesterday, Dublin is a small place :)
blue til i die
06/02/2009, 7:28 PM
Really? :eek:
Do you have a link for this transfer?
Btw: What is with Joxer Kelly? He left Bohs and I hope he will find a good team. Any news for him?
From extratime:
Ndo completes Bohs switch (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1205/)
robertob
06/02/2009, 9:09 PM
From extratime:
Ndo completes Bohs switch (http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1205/)
Oh thank you! Hadn't seen it because I look at most at eleven-a-side, and there is nothing to this transfer. :confused:
btw: Great signing for Bohs. What a great player, think Ndo is able to help Bohs. Together with Paul Keegan, great signings for the midfield, actually.
Here is another link for you robertob:
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/fenlon-ill-get-best-from-ndo-1622170.html
robertob
06/02/2009, 9:50 PM
Really good article - thank you Dunny. :)
Something news to Mindaugas Kalonas? Or is he still looking for a new club, like I've read in the article? Maybe there is a little chance for a comeback in the Bohs shirt?
jshabba1973
07/02/2009, 1:09 AM
Can anyone answer this for me?
If a player signs for a LOI Club from a Junior Club as a Pro Player on a pro contract , is that club entitled to receive a fee for the player, and also is does the player have to receive a release from the Junior Club prior to signing ? ( I'm Sure he needs a release but just checking)
Finally where would be the best place to source players (free agents) to play Junior Soccer , upon signing each player would be guarnteed a job with club sponsor. Still Amateur but job provided to suitable candidates. (Is this allowed ?)
Was thinking to advertise in east european newspapers , but maybe some Irish talent out there especially with current economic situation ?
Any ideas ?
dublinwanderer
07/02/2009, 3:59 PM
has john fitzgerald, former galway defender signed for anyone? would nt mind him out in bray!!!!
what about glen fitzpatrick???? is he still out in Vietnam?
oh confirmed on bray site, stephen brennan and dave mulcahy signed for bray!
Fitzy has taken a year out and travelled to Australia with his girlfriend .Sound Bloke.