22/01/2009, 6:40 PM
Hoops R Us wont be happy about this...:D
Ho Hum
dannydundalk
22/01/2009, 6:45 PM
the topic is about transfer rumours by the way lads:p
RedRebel32
23/01/2009, 1:09 AM
Would be great signings for dundalk,burns is quality and I'd also be a fan of hughes as a player.Faz tbh I don't think rovers miss too much,boco is much better.Turner if fit and motivated is one of the best players in the league for sure,but at bohs he certainly was not the player sligo rovers had,unfit and sluggish.Singh is a good footballer and manseram is a decent signing for dundalk.Out of all them I'd probably have hughes,turner and burns back,but really im a bit shocked another club would take on sean connor he's a complete tool/spoofer who loves to give himself a nice bit of praise,but then again he's supposed to be a charming fella,just ask the bohs secretary:D
Town Legend
23/01/2009, 1:38 AM
Well all I can say is fair play to Dundalk and good luck to them. They have a great set up up there and have great support, always had a great following. Not sure about Connor though but time will tell. A great club and about time they were back in the top flight.
,but really im a bit shocked another club would take on sean connor he's a complete tool/spoofer who loves to give himself a nice bit of praise,but then again he's supposed to be a charming fella,just ask the bohs secretary:D
His record is decent though. Did well with Sligo and then OK with Bohs as well. Whatever about him, you can't really say he's a spoofer when his record is pretty good.
Flawless
23/01/2009, 10:42 AM
Réiteoir, im not trying to be petty or cause rows over little things either, and i do see your point. Im just getting slightly irked at people willing us to crash and burn and questioning our finances when truly there is nothing to be questioned!..as holidaysong says we have only 9 players signed up, they include 6 f/t and 3 p/t and a few on trial...Dwight Barnett, Kyle Moran, Michael Synnott, Dave Rogers.
In the economies current financial state, no player can hold out for exhorbitant wages, unless of course Man City want him!
Rovers Maniac
23/01/2009, 11:06 AM
His record is decent though. Did well with Sligo and then OK with Bohs as well. Whatever about him, you can't really say he's a spoofer when his record is pretty good.
Of course you can, he is full of rubbish telling fans what they want to hear the whole time. If you look at his managerial record in line with estimated budgets. We give him the biggest budget by far in the first we just about won it, our budget 6th biggest in Connor's first year in the Prem finished 5th (ahead of Bohs). Bohs then i would guess had the biggest budget in the league they finished 3rd, hardly the work of some sort of demi god, although he likes to paint it that way. The truth is that Both Rovers and Bohs teams had stopped improving and i would say with us we were firmly going backways come the end of his reign. Of course he talks a great game and likes to paint a picture that Cook worked with his players and that he was given a chance to finish the job at Bohs.
There's hardly anyone involved in football as a player or manager that don't tell the fans exactly what they want to hear when it suits them. And in fairness both clubs continued to progress on his departure.
Ezeikial
23/01/2009, 11:33 AM
Of course you can, he is full of rubbish telling fans what they want to hear the whole time. If you look at his managerial record in line with estimated budgets. We give him the biggest budget by far in the first we just about won it, our budget 6th biggest in Connor's first year in the Prem finished 5th (ahead of Bohs). Bohs then i would guess had the biggest budget in the league they finished 3rd, hardly the work of some sort of demi god, although he likes to paint it that way. The truth is that Both Rovers and Bohs teams had stopped improving and i would say with us we were firmly going backways come the end of his reign. Of course he talks a great game and likes to paint a picture that Cook worked with his players and that he was given a chance to finish the job at Bohs.
If Connor is such a spoofer & poor manager, how come so many players appear to be interested in following him to Dundalk?
neutrino
23/01/2009, 11:53 AM
If you look at his managerial record in line with estimated budgets.
That's really just trying to quantify his record. He was given a budget and he made the most of it getting us promoted. Saying barely got us promoted is petty enough since no club ever strolls the first division. We were cut away from the top tier for 6 years - those were dark days with young teams, small crowds and not much prospect of turning things around. He got us promoted and 5th in the league and any sligo rovers supporter would have taken that before 2005. Alot of sligo rovers supporters hate the guy, based on not much more than the fact he left for another job.
Connor did a good job with rovers and ok with bohs. his record does stand up. that's not to be confused by his nature - he had a certain way of doing things, alot of things that I wouldnt agree with. I dont like him or his method of doing things but his persona doesnt suddenly tarnish a decent record.
He'll do well at Dundalk and could bring them top 5. I just hope he has copped on abit and learned from his last two jobs.
redobit
23/01/2009, 11:58 AM
If Connor is such a spoofer & poor manager, how come so many players appear to be interested in following him to Dundalk?
Eh, because they need a job!
Black and White
23/01/2009, 12:49 PM
Eh, because they need a job!
Grow up will ya...theres obviously something the man is doing right, Burns for example, has rejected a new contract, games in Europe,Setanta Cup campaign, defence of the league and cup!playing for a big club! and he's training with us with a view to joining us!!theres several more high profile players connected with joining us too and then theres Joe Miller...his new assistant, wjhere did he pull that one out off...Miller was working in Australia and came over here!!he wasnt stuck for a job!!Burns aint stuck for a job!!
redobit
23/01/2009, 1:27 PM
Look, when most Bohs fans and most Sligo Rovers fans agree on somthing, that says alot.
Best of luck to ye next sesaon, and i really mean that, oriel was my first away trip as a kid and im looking forward to the trip over this sesaon.
Grow up will ya...theres obviously something the man is doing right, Burns for example, has rejected a new contract, games in Europe,Setanta Cup campaign, defence of the league and cup!playing for a big club! and he's training with us with a view to joining us!!theres several more high profile players connected with joining us too and then theres Joe Miller...his new assistant, wjhere did he pull that one out off...Miller was working in Australia and came over here!!he wasnt stuck for a job!!Burns aint stuck for a job!!
Money. Simple as that. He will probably get a contract worth more at Dundalk than the one on the table at Bohs. And at his age, with this contract being probably one of the last ones he will get, its obvious what is motivation is.
Lets not kid ourselves. The lure of European football (and for LoI players that is a couple of games a year in the arse end of Europe) is not enough to keep a player playing for a club for less money than he can get elsewhere.
He has got his medals at Bohs and doesn't owe them anything or need to prove anything to himself or anyone else. So the 'honour' of defending the double is not a big draw - especially when he sees Bohs only have 12 players contracted less than 2 months before the season starts.
Add all that to the fact that he will probably have an easier time of it under Connor than Fenlon, judging by the very obvious differences in his fitness when managed by both of them at Bohs, then I think its clear why he wouldnt have a problem working with Connor again.
Lets face it most footballers would play for the devil himself if the price was right.
23/01/2009, 2:24 PM
its probably already been stated but do any of the Dundalk fans know what Dundalk's est budget is this season??
jinxy lilywhite
23/01/2009, 2:40 PM
its probably already been stated but do any of the Dundalk fans know what Dundalk's est budget is this season??
€12,000 a week.
23/01/2009, 2:41 PM
cheers JL
Liam Burns is signing for ye because was offered more money by ye not because he thinks Sean Connor is the "Special One".
€12,000 a week.
Is that your Playing Budget or does it include Managers,Coaches and all your overheads. If it doesnt your budget will be closer to €20,000 than €10,000 which no club in Ireland could sustain at the moment.
randomcomment
23/01/2009, 3:42 PM
Bit rich coming from a Galway fan
Not really we found out the hard way last season and dropped our budget by over 15% and this years has been cut by 40% . We are far from out of the woods yet but we took action immediately we could see our revenues dropping.
The economic Climate at the moment is the worst ive ever seen in nearly 30 years working and even our own business which has always managed to pull through is living day by day the same as thousands of others throughout the country. Dundalk Fans are saying they wont be full time but there overall Budget on a par with ours from last season and there isnt a hope in hell of raising that kind of Money on Gates of less than €30,000 a fortnight.
sligored
23/01/2009, 4:00 PM
Sligo fans told the bohs fans of the trouble this man would cause them and they chose not to believe us and could not see anything but good in this man.
this is a warning to dundalk fans. Be scared , be very scared. This man is trouble.
i like dundalk fc and think they are a huge addition to the premier division.
23/01/2009, 4:11 PM
What trouble did Connor cause?
The allegations against him were thrown out after they were retracted. The two Gerrys caused far more trouble than Connor. I know as well as you how much fun it is to slag a former manager, but Connor seems a decent enough manager for Dundalk to have.
Sligo fans told the bohs fans of the trouble this man would cause them and they chose not to believe us and could not see anything but good in this man.
this is a warning to dundalk fans. Be scared , be very scared. This man is trouble.
i like dundalk fc and think they are a huge addition to the premier division.
thats not quite true sligored, there were a majority of bohs that thought this was a very questionable appointment. The remainder saw what he did at Sligo and were prepared to give him a chance.
However, from the off, things were wrong - players were losing fitness and trainig was said to be unimaginative and unproductive. Connor had us playing some terrible stuff which led to a few of his supporters getting ****ed off. Connor and his achievements were a huge bone of contention amongst Bohs fans at the time and there was a collective sigh of relief when the board got rid. Though it was the right thing for them to do, the fall out has taken the gloss of that decision.
I think, however, that Connor could be the man to stabilise Dundalk this year and Burns (he went for more money by the way, simple as) is a great signing. I think and hope they will do alright this year...
Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/01/2009, 4:28 PM
I wonder will he go for black or white tracksuit bottoms?
one leg black, one leg white id say!!
23/01/2009, 4:33 PM
I wonder will he go for black or white tracksuit bottoms?
Please not white, imagine if they got really wet!!! :eek:
that would probably only happen after he invites you out to dinner, magicme!! ;)
dannydundalk
23/01/2009, 4:41 PM
this thread is gone into being a hate dundalk thread basically and slag them off by using sean connor ad their big budget
to evryone right he got sligo up in his first attempt and he then got them top 5 position in the premier
that was a great job he did....
he then took over bohs who finished 6th/7th the season before that and he got them 3rd with 2 semi finals
so thats not good no?
did a great job with wih both to be honest considering
23/01/2009, 4:46 PM
that would probably only happen after he invites you out to dinner, magicme!! ;)
Oh god no!
Black and White
23/01/2009, 4:53 PM
This is turning into one hell of a TRANSFER RUMOUR THREAD!!!well done lads...ye keep slating us away there will pointless posts!
how is my post pointless? - how is it attacking Dundalk?
adamd164
23/01/2009, 5:21 PM
Dan Connor finally confirmed - 2 year deal. http://corkcityfc.ie/main.php?action=newsLink&headlineID=768
Mark McNulty has re-signed for us too as backup.
Dundalkjames
23/01/2009, 7:21 PM
I've heard that Bray haven't signed anyone yet and have released alot of players from last season including Alan Gough who was brilliant last season. I was just thinking why does Eddie Gormley not try and sign the likes of Ian Ryan,Ben Whelehan,Robbie Martin etc
In fairness,you have said nothing pointless or attacked us..in one of your posts you even said you hope we do well,so dont think it was aimed at you.
23/01/2009, 7:50 PM
Chris Turner close to a deal with Dundalk FC. Also, trialists Dwight Barnett and Maltese international Etienne Barbara seem to be impressing in training.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/news/090123_Connor.asp
Anyway...
I am just off the phone from a player in Scotland that I am very keen to bring in. I am hoping to call a press conference early next week for two new signings. We are virtually over the line with Chris Turner and just dotting the i's and crossing the t's on his contract. I think he's the best attacking midfielder in the league.
Hulsey
23/01/2009, 8:01 PM
I've heard that Bray haven't signed anyone yet and have released alot of players from last season including Alan Gough who was brilliant last season. I was just thinking why does Eddie Gormley not try and sign the likes of Ian Ryan,Ben Whelehan,Robbie Martin etc
Think theres about 12 or so players signed up or in the process of signing and the impressive u20's team are all signed. Gough wasn't released he was about to sign for next season but then Longford offered him the player manager role and he wanted to take.
dannydundalk
23/01/2009, 8:01 PM
by the way if you want to slag dundalk off make up your own topic we are all jealous of dundalk just keep this transfer talk
yes chris turner and another player from scotland :rolleyes:
23/01/2009, 8:08 PM
Anyway...
Turners good but best attacking midfielder in the league? Your having a laugh!
dannydundalk
23/01/2009, 8:51 PM
HE IS VERY YOUNG ISN'T HE?:ball:
sligofan4ever
23/01/2009, 8:58 PM
HE IS VERY YOUNG ISN'T HE?:ball:
Turned 22 this month.
Black and White
23/01/2009, 9:25 PM
It wasnt directed at you my man...you actually had something good to say about all this but there are a few certain tools posting nonscience after nonscience on this aimed at Dundalkfc and its manager and players he has signed. Its completly off topic...there should be something done on this about posting completlky off topic!
Come on now, they obviously have reason to be saying these things about him if that was the experience they had. Would you have kind words for say Trevor Anderson....
brianw82
23/01/2009, 9:41 PM
When you have part-time players the club has to pay a lot of tax while the club has all the tax credits when they are full time. It's not as expensive as people think.
Can anyone elaborate on this? *looks around for random UCD fan*
Black and White
23/01/2009, 9:47 PM
Come on now, they obviously have reason to be saying these things about him if that was the experience they had. Would you have kind words for say Trevor Anderson....
Off course not...he hadnt managed a team in years...and he comes from the Irish league to manage us and brings back a very unfit and old Dessie Gorman and fat Paul Byrne!he compltly lost the plot! My point is..Connor won promotion in his fiirst season with Sligo, took them to 6th the next season and then took Bohs from the bottom of the table to an eventual 3rd place finish...he has a proven track record with these clubs but their fans are saying he didnt do this with them and he didnt do that with them and he said this, said that andc its the same here!!how is it???
Black and White
23/01/2009, 9:51 PM
Can anyone elaborate on this? *looks around for random UCD fan*
I can...im an accountant!!If you work two jobs or are taxed together with a spuse, one person or one job/person will get the majority of the tax credits and thus eliminate any tax to be paid...but because they're being used up in say a footballers 9-5 job and he also plays for a team and earns a part time wage with them then his credits are going to his full time day job, in which the club must pay employers PRSI on top of Employee PRSI because their secondary wage is going to be heavily taxed...therefore its worth while employing a full time palyer because they will not be using their tax credits elsewhere and the club can gain full advantage of this!if that makes scence...its hard to explain!
Lilywhite Army
23/01/2009, 9:51 PM
Right lads come on we got to keep on topic..I know as much as rival fans are enjoyin slaggin us its transfer rumours...
now i was told that Connor was actaully in discusions with Faz Kudozovic and its not just a rumour
Black and White
23/01/2009, 9:54 PM
Right lads come on we got to keep on topic..I know as much as rival fans are enjoyin slaggin us its transfer rumours...
now i was told that Connor was actaully in discusions with Faz Kudozovic and its not just a rumour
Source dude...too big a transfer/rumour to be bulls!!!ing about!!