View Full Version : Transfer Rumours
Black and White
10/06/2009, 8:32 PM
According to a few on Orielweb and app in the local Newry paper this week, local Dundalk goalie Paul Murphy is coming back to oriel for a second stint. He played under Jim Gannon before.
Read on ILS forums Gareth Whean could be going to Distillery.
blue til i die
16/06/2009, 7:35 PM
Dave Warren has signed for us.
www.waterford-united.ie/ (http://waterford-united.ie/news/warren-back-with-the-blues/)
Dave Warren has signed for us.
www.waterford-united.ie/ (http://waterford-united.ie/news/warren-back-with-the-blues/)
:(
This is a transfer rumour thread
blue til i die
16/06/2009, 8:33 PM
:(
This is a transfer rumour thread
Yeah but the transfer thread is locked! :p
Ezeikial
17/06/2009, 12:39 AM
Alex Williams, 26 year old Glaswegian, ex Ayr Utd (23 goals in last two seasons) likely to be one of several new faces at Oriel Park.
Goalkeeper Paul Murphy, rumoured above to be rejoining Dundalk from Newry City, has joined Lisburn Distillery on a months long loan deal
Gareth Cambridge supposed to be signing for Waterford aswell.
Black and White
18/06/2009, 7:56 AM
Ex Airdrie Utd keeper Stephen Robertson is close to joining us and is supposed to be the Scottish keeper that played against Lisburn on Tueday night according to the Sun.
18/06/2009, 5:03 PM
We have five players on trial at the moment. 2 from Preston, 1 from Dublin, one from the north(fairly sure Derry) and not sure about the other.
18/06/2009, 6:34 PM
Gary Cronin signing for LTFC for a second spell apparently. His last club was Bray I believe.
DRDoc
18/06/2009, 10:11 PM
Ex Airdrie Utd keeper Stephen Robertson is close to joining us and is supposed to be the Scottish keeper that played against Lisburn on Tueday night according to the Sun.
He didnt play vs Lisburn
BobtheDrog
19/06/2009, 2:15 PM
Read on ILS forums Gareth Whean could be going to Distillery.
Gavin Whelan has signed for them
GlasnevinRed
19/06/2009, 6:37 PM
Maurice Farrell on the bench for us tonight! :eek:
19/06/2009, 6:43 PM
Maurice Farrell on the bench for us tonight! :eek:
As in Maurice Farrell, cnutish left back that used to play with Bray? :eek:
19/06/2009, 6:45 PM
One and the same. I was reading about that in the paper. He's nearly 40.
GlasnevinRed
19/06/2009, 6:45 PM
Must be. He's 39 anyway. Why we need another left-full I do not know. Unless he's playing for free of course :D
gufc2000
19/06/2009, 10:04 PM
There's talk we could be offloading in July, to cut costs
Ezeikial
20/06/2009, 1:36 AM
It has always puzzled me how clubs generally can "off-load" players in July if they are under contract. If a player has a contract to the end of the season, then presumably they are going to be slow to move to another club, unless they get at least similar terms. If a club needs to cut costs (be it Galway, Bohs, or Cork), then surely it is the high earners they want to move on (or high to mid range earners who are not playing well).
With so little money available generally in the League, it must definately be a "buyers" market.
sligo manager Paul Cook has been quoted (according to gufc.net) to be interested in a good few of our players but will wait to see if Ian Foster is willing to sell first !!!! :(
Black and White
20/06/2009, 9:10 AM
It has always puzzled me how clubs generally can "off-load" players in July if they are under contract. If a player has a contract to the end of the season, then presumably they are going to be slow to move to another club, unless they get at least similar terms. If a club needs to cut costs (be it Galway, Bohs, or Cork), then surely it is the high earners they want to move on (or high to mid range earners who are not playing well).
With so little money available generally in the League, it must definately be a "buyers" market.
Also didnt Galway "move" alot of players on last Summer, how was their bloody budget approved by the FAI before the sqeason started if their trying to cut costs. Who is the fecking auditor for the FAI then? Jays,I could fecking do it and im not fully qualified yet!
Galway's budget for this season was already much reduced. But their crowds have collapsed so it's not surprising that they might have to trim further. Things really are very difficult this year for all clubs, wit money harder than ever to bring in.
And haven't Dundalk already said they're heading for a big loss?
Black and White
20/06/2009, 9:18 AM
Galway's budget for this season was already much reduced. But their crowds have collapsed so it's not surprising that they might have to trim further. Things really are very difficult this year for all clubs, wit money harder than ever to bring in.
No we are down in sponsorship money coming in! But they're working day and night getting more and more money in, we started the club lotto now as well as ongoing fundraising from the Trust. At the fans forum the other night, it was announced that Sean Connor is working constantly at fundraising and has got quite a few in with sums of 1,000 and 2,000 at times. The loss of two of our biggest earners has helped and also the club stopped paying Collins wagers when it came out Newry messed up his registration so word was that he was seeking loss of earnings from Newry!
Celdrog
20/06/2009, 10:03 AM
It has always puzzled me how clubs generally can "off-load" players in July if they are under contract.
The loss of two of our biggest earners has helped
Don't you guys talk to each other?:D
20/06/2009, 10:34 AM
Earlier in the season it was said at a fan's forum that there would be an expected loss of €150,000. As B&W says, a couple of players coming off our wage bill coupled with increased fundraising measures means it should be less than that now.
Shelsred
20/06/2009, 3:50 PM
Lets face it, Georgie deserves all the abuse he gets.
Good riddence I say :D
Ezeikial
20/06/2009, 4:01 PM
Lets face it, Georgie deserves all the abuse he gets.
Good riddence I say :D
Dundalk are performing a lot better without George, and his departure frees up funds for July window signings. So while I don't regret that he is gone, I do lament that he did not show his undoubted abilities at Oriel.
I have respect for the fact that he was up front about his addiction problems and the fact that he was in rehab earlier this year. However, I also think he was erred in talking publicly about this, as he misjudged the level of ignorance among many people - and therefore left himself open to taking high levels of personal abuse.
I don't understand why you say he deserves this abuse!
Actually smart arse O'Callaghan was driven out of the league by mindless idiots like you and Rogers well Im not getting into that one again. And speak for yourselve too, didnt ye sack Duggan and JP Kelly?!
HA HA :D Your really letting yourself down with that comment ! Boy george has nobody to blame but himself .He has dilusions and thinks hes much better than he actually is .He neeeds to realise that hes a no mark dickwad who is never gonna make it at a higher level and just accept his lot in life .How are mindless idiots to blame for georgies situation ?
I don't understand why you say he deserves this abuse![/QUOTE]
He deserved all the abuse he got from Drogs fans , he actually thrived on it tbh .He loved playing against us and loved the attention . He made 6 toe comments on cork radio and gave us nthe fingers in oriel in the laast leauge game .Alls fair in football , you give it you take it and george did both very well :D
Celdrog
20/06/2009, 4:20 PM
Actually smart arse O'Callaghan was driven out of the league by mindless idiots like you and Rogers well Im not getting into that one again. And speak for yourselve too, didnt ye sack Duggan and JP Kelly?!
Firstly, I fully understand how under contract players are moved on, I wasn't asking the question.
Secondly, when you say Georgie was driven out by "a mindless idiot" like me can you please tell me what I ever did to him. I've never spoken to him, nor have I ever given him abuse, on or off the pitch, despite the numerous occasions he has warranted it.
Thirdly, if you think Georgie was driven out by getting abuse you are living in cloud cuckoo land. Look to all his teammates being in Ridleys on a Friday. Saturday and Sunday night as the real reason.
Fourthly, your post reads like Georgie is a smart arse.
Touchly little feck, aren't you.
And to keep it on topic I heard this morning that Fabio is going to Pats to replace Quigley after his injury last night. Free transfer and all. Was looking possible before last night, now looks probable.
Dundalkjames
20/06/2009, 5:49 PM
Fabio's going no where at the fans forum the other night SC said Fabio is staying at the club!
gufc2000
20/06/2009, 6:47 PM
Also didnt Galway "move" alot of players on last Summer, how was their bloody budget approved by the FAI before the sqeason started if their trying to cut costs. Who is the fecking auditor for the FAI then? Jays,I could fecking do it and im not fully qualified yet!
We have one of the lowest budgets in the Premier, so any wonder it was approved. Our attendances have fallen, thats why we are in the position we are in
correct, last season when we were as bad as we were, there was still 1500 coming in the gates. This season, where we are playing the entire season so far in the midtable region our gates have dropped to a pathetic 600-700 ????? There was no way anyone could have thought that was on the way ! :(
Patrick Dunne
21/06/2009, 9:09 AM
What you mean, gufc2000, is "Several posters on the Galway United Supporters Trust forum, www.galwayunitedfc.net, have speculated that the club may be releasing players".
Ezeikial
21/06/2009, 11:34 AM
Fabio's going no where at the fans forum the other night SC said Fabio is staying at the club!
Although Sean Connor has said this, I still have my doubts.
With Alex Williams signed from Ayr Utd, he now has 5 central strikers - Mansaram, Rowe, Mulvenna, Williams and Fabio, while at the same time is bereft of wingers / wide midfielders. Paul McAreavey from Linfield might slot in on the left side, but I would not be surprised if he let Fabio go in order to free up funds for more strenght in these wide areas.
Ryan Guy for Fabio?
pól-dcfc
21/06/2009, 11:59 AM
Ryan Guy for Fabio?
That would be woeful business from Pat's. I'd take Ryan Guy any day of the week over Fabio - he's starting to look like a spent force.
themaster56
21/06/2009, 1:15 PM
i see waterford united winning the first division thiks year and Shelbourne runners up
Iorfa2MaccaJim
21/06/2009, 4:38 PM
Overall just magic Master.
CSFShels
21/06/2009, 7:23 PM
i see waterford united winning the first division thiks year and Shelbourne runners up
Heard that too, dont think it'll happen though. Probably just paper talk.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
22/06/2009, 3:47 PM
Has anyone heard anymoree developments on the Gareth Cambridge to Waterford United story ?
Steve Bruce
23/06/2009, 2:03 PM
There's a rumour on the Irish League supporters forum or else Hatchets and Hammers forum (can't remember which one I read it on) that Alan Mannus is in talks with Shamrock Rovers.
But rumours are still persisting that he is in talks with 2 Scottish Clubs and 1 English clubs. I thought I should post this anyway, to see if this rumour has circulated down south?
Flexy
24/06/2009, 10:33 AM
There's a rumour on the Irish League supporters forum or else Hatchets and Hammers forum (can't remember which one I read it on) that Alan Mannus is in talks with Shamrock Rovers.
But rumours are still persisting that he is in talks with 2 Scottish Clubs and 1 English clubs. I thought I should post this anyway, to see if this rumour has circulated down south?
Thanks Stevey have you heard anything about Sammy Morrow wanting to go to Linfield, cant remember if hes still contracted at end of year
24/06/2009, 11:10 AM
Thanks Stevey have you heard anything about Sammy Morrow wanting to go to Linfield, cant remember if hes still contracted at end of year
Linfield fans have been saying that for ages. They seem to assume that Sammy is a Linfield fan but I've heard nothing concrete about him moving/wanting to move.
25/06/2009, 10:38 AM
Mark Scoltock rumoured to be signing for Sligo Rovers from Irish league side 'stute.
25/06/2009, 10:40 AM
I saw a fella in full Linfield gear wandering around Dublin this morning. Number 27 on his tracksuit if that means anything to anyone.
I think that's a proper transfer rumour. :)
25/06/2009, 10:46 AM
JP Gallagher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linfield#Current_squad), a player so nondescript, he doesn't even have his own wikipedia entry...
Steve Bruce
25/06/2009, 11:16 AM
JP Gallagher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linfield#Current_squad), a player so nondescript, he doesn't even have his own wikipedia entry...
He's only just signed for Linfield in January from Dungannon Swifts.
He's a left back and looks like he has a lot of potential and put him some very good performances. Although his performances dropped off towards the end of the season.
Steve Bruce
25/06/2009, 11:23 AM
I have heard nothing about Sammy Morrow joining Linfield. He would be a good signing but nothing concrete in him joining Linfield.
We spent £70k in January on 2 strikers (McHugh & McAllister) and we have Munster & Miskimmin. Michael Carville is another option up front but he is predominantly played at the wing. So I don’t know where DJ would fit in another striker although I’d personally ship McHugh out to make room for another striker as he hasn’t demonstrated anything to show us that he is good enough for Linfield. Although I hope next season, with a full pre-season behind him he’ll come into his own. He already has a nick-name amongst some Linfield supporters as Miss-Cue.
25/06/2009, 12:15 PM
Although I hope next season, with a full pre-season behind him he’ll come into his own. He already has a nick-name amongst some Linfield supporters as Miss-Cue.
Is that because of his penchant for not finding the target, or because of his resemblance to a thin lady?
25/06/2009, 12:18 PM
"Lacking distinctive qualities; having no individual character or form."
Now there's a pretty harsh terrace insult, if I can just work out a way to shoe-horn it into a song, hopefully provoking some form of existentialist dilemma in the hapless 'individual...'
...then again "Who are ya?" probably covers it already.
dublinwanderer
25/06/2009, 12:41 PM
I saw a fella in full Linfield gear wandering around Dublin this morning. Number 27 on his tracksuit if that means anything to anyone.
I think that's a proper transfer rumour. :)
I seen David Jeffreys in Dublin today..... Whats he up to!!! :rolleyes::p