View Full Version : Transfer rumours
Cup final hero Stehen Bradley has signed for Pat's.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=4091
Not a rumour I suppose
First of many I thought a few weeks ago would sign for Pats from our outgoings. Hopefully we get the Stephen O'Donnell deal done soon.
poster
05/01/2011, 2:28 PM
First of many I thought a few weeks ago would sign for Pats from our outgoings. Hopefully we get the Stephen O'Donnell deal done soon.
Anyone else going to Shamrock Rovers hoopy?
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2011, 2:33 PM
There a limerick fan posting on the Galway boards saying that Derek O'brien might be leaving,I hope hes right!
A few people saying he is signing for us or Cork hope its Cork.
Anyone else going to Shamrock Rovers hoopy?
The word seems to be O'Donnell, Sheppard and McCabe.
superjohnny
05/01/2011, 2:53 PM
Hoopy, i am not saying you are wrong but i heard McCabe has opted to sign for St pats now. Seemingly very impressed with mahon.
05/01/2011, 3:20 PM
Thought Derek o Brien was supposed to be a handy player but If Galway fans are saying they hope he is gone then I don't see why we would want him.
Mr Maroon
05/01/2011, 4:28 PM
Thought Derek o Brien was supposed to be a handy player but If Galway fans are saying they hope he is gone then I don't see why we would want him.
We're not exactly in a position to be turning players down. Derek will probably be one of the few experienced players we have this season. That's if we can hang on to him!
He can be hit and miss in the Premier but would be good in the First Division.
Hoopy, i am not saying you are wrong but i heard McCabe has opted to sign for St pats now. Seemingly very impressed with mahon.
Wouldn't surprise me
gufc2000
05/01/2011, 6:16 PM
Karl Sheppard has confirmed that he will definitely be not returning to Galway Utd next season
He should really have done that 3/4 weeks ago, he knew he wasnt resigning for Galway. Hope he understands the Glaswegian accent ;)
05/01/2011, 6:50 PM
Just seems unrealistic tbh. The only way it could happen is if ye agreed to mutual termination, which I doubt ye would. we certainly couldn't afford a transfer fee.
Also wouldn't seem to make much sense for him, I'd have no doubt he's on multiple of the amounts we could offer him with ye, unless he's just not happy with the commuting.
One can hope though :D
This Cork poor mouthery is getting tedious. You know as well as I do there has been big figures fired about in the off season and there's bickering in the friends of the rebel army society co operative as a result.
On the otherhand ye might get lucky and Murray might negotiate a release and sign for ye on 50/50 and love for the club like the Cockney Rebel did.
Also Derek O Brien would be a grand job in the First Division provided he was pushed imo.
05/01/2011, 6:52 PM
A few people saying he is signing for us or Cork hope its Cork.
I hope it's us, I saw him cross a ball a few times last year, not too often you see that in Jackman Park.
Also, we have no players. :)
redobit
05/01/2011, 7:33 PM
He should really have done that 3/4 weeks ago, he knew he wasnt resigning for Galway. Hope he understands the Glaswegian accent ;)
Not sure about Sheppard tbh. Is he really a good enough striker for any team hoping to challenge for the league? Cant see him geting 20 goals a season.
bluewhitearmy
05/01/2011, 8:11 PM
I hope it's us, I saw him cross a ball a few times last year, not too often you see that in Jackman Park.
Based on this i want him. We really do need someone that can cross a ball.
Dave_SRFC
05/01/2011, 9:02 PM
Yeah he is
Not sure about Sheppard tbh. Is he really a good enough striker for any team hoping to challenge for the league? Cant see him geting 20 goals a season.
redobit
05/01/2011, 9:13 PM
Yeah he is
And your basing that on what exactly?
(please dont say a few goals against Bohz at the start of the season)
05/01/2011, 9:23 PM
Any of the times I've seen him play he's been fantastic leading the line. The question is whether he'll be able to play alongside Twigg or if he'll just be his deputy.
I think Sheppard is vastly over rated, but McCabe and O'Donnell are class acts.
placid casual
05/01/2011, 9:28 PM
Rovers dont need another 20 goals a season man . we already have one thanks.
we need someone with sufficient nous & skill in the final third to put the ball on a plate for said 20-goal-a-season striker.
if sligo want to challenge for the league, who's their 20 goal a season man?
You know yourself Oriel until they actually sign it's never 100% that they're coming. I'd be tempted to add Paul Keegan and Brian Shelley to the list as well.
poster
05/01/2011, 9:33 PM
if sligo want to challenge for the league, who's their 20 goal a season man?
Mark Doninger's on his way back.
You never know really how two strikers are gonna do together until it happens, but Dessie Baker wasn't up front with Twigg to score loads of goals himself. Anyway, lets see if he signs first, a lot of strange goings on in LOI at the moment!
Mr Maroon
05/01/2011, 11:31 PM
Based on this i want him. We really do need someone that can cross a ball.
Funny that you say that. Crossing really is not his strong point. He'll beat players all day but his crossing/shooting really isn't the best.
CraftyToePoke
06/01/2011, 12:05 AM
Where is Conor Powell? and what happened with the move to Reading? I was looking forward to a potential LB emeging maybe, but it all seems to have gone quiet on that story.
Anyone shed any light?
06/01/2011, 12:13 AM
He went on trial for a week but Brian McDermott basically said he was covered for left backs and didn't need another one, i.e. he was no better than what he already had.
http://www.getwokingham.co.uk/sport/football/readingfc/s/2081673_reading_fc_take_iceland_under21_star_on_tr ial
GUFCghost
06/01/2011, 12:39 AM
Stevo already said he would remain with his home town club!
06/01/2011, 1:08 AM
Funny that you say that. Crossing really is not his strong point. He'll beat players all day but his crossing/shooting really isn't the best.
Ya but I saw him do it like three times!!
Ye're too long out of the First Division, gone decadent. :ball:
Where is Conor Powell? and what happened with the move to Reading? I was looking forward to a potential LB emeging maybe, but it all seems to have gone quiet on that story.
Anyone shed any light?
signed for League One side Colchester today or yesterday (depending where you are in the world!). 18 month contract. Good luck to him!
Mr Maroon
06/01/2011, 2:23 AM
Stevo already said he would remain with his home town club!
No he didn't. He won't be signing for us.
poster
06/01/2011, 3:01 AM
He enjoys running at the full back, doing a stepover, stopping, Cryuff turning himself and then passing it back to the full back. Spent most of the 03,04 seasons doing this to Ian Rossiter.
This Cork poor mouthery is getting tedious. You know as well as I do there has been big figures fired about in the off season
Really? Big figures such as what? Any examples?
and there's bickering in the friends of the rebel army society co operative as a result.
Odd to say the least. Given that the only people who would know the budget at this stage would be the BOM, and it hasn't been presented to members yet.....That will happen at the agm. If there are any 'big figures' as you claim I'm sure they'll be shot down fairly quickly there.
I'd be surprised though. Given how well I know those currently on the BOM and their absolute belief in sustainability above anything else. Now had the BOM changed and new people been involved I might find your claims more believable, as it stands I simply don't.
But it's an off-season, rumours fly around, figures fly around and opposition fans invariably think they know more about their rivals spending. All part of the game. I'm secure in knowing I'll know the figures come the AGM and can challenge anything should there be an issue.
On the otherhand ye might get lucky and Murray might negotiate a release and sign for ye on 50/50 and love for the club like the Cockney Rebel did..
I doubt it. Rovers didn't really use Danny much put Dan is their captain.Can't see why they'd release him.
Also Derek O Brien would be a grand job in the First Division provided he was pushed imo.
Is he a winger? We're badly in need of any half decent wingers.
Dillonman
06/01/2011, 8:07 AM
signed for League One side Colchester today or yesterday (depending where you are in the world!). 18 month contract. Good luck to him!
Todays papers say its only short term til June with the option of a further year!
This Cork poor mouthery is getting tedious. If boring you is the only down side to living within our means then it's a small price to pay.
You know as well as I do there has been big figures fired about in the off season and there's bickering in the friends of the rebel army society co operative as a result.All I heard was it's the same budget as last season but as micls said we won't know until the AGM in a few weeks.
06/01/2011, 12:38 PM
http://www.npr.org/programs/day/features/2004/apr/nile/map.jpg
06/01/2011, 1:17 PM
Denial is not just a river in Africa! I get it!
GUFCghost
06/01/2011, 1:40 PM
No he didn't. He won't be signing for us.
I can remember something in the Galway Indo about it.
MMVIII
06/01/2011, 3:57 PM
Seems to be undecided about who to sign for, as per his Twitter. I have a feeling he could do a job with us but I still believe he'll sign for Shams.
DaveyPats
06/01/2011, 7:32 PM
Seems to be undecided about who to sign for, as per his Twitter. I have a feeling he could do a job with us but I still believe he'll sign for Shams.
As far as I know he had his driving licence taken off him so I can't see him signing for Sligo.
Can only presume it's two Dublin clubs. Personally I dont rate him as high as some others on here.
He was approached by Sligo in the last couple of days so you never know.
scoops85
06/01/2011, 9:55 PM
I've heard these rumors of signings
Shamrock Rovers have signed Stephen O'Donnell. karl sheppard, gary mccabe and ciaran kilduff
Shelly is in talks with sporting
Cretaro is either heading to derry or sligo
07/01/2011, 12:27 AM
Garry Breen to an Irish League side.
GUFCghost
07/01/2011, 1:21 AM
Any idea what the is? http://www.footballuser.com/50169/Galway_United
poster
07/01/2011, 1:47 AM
Teams for next season don't you know?
We're going for it:
http://www.footballuser.com/Formations/2010/09/22521_Sligo_Rovers.jpg
marinobohs
07/01/2011, 9:43 AM
Teams for next season don't you know?
We're going for it:
http://www.footballuser.com/Formations/2010/09/22521_Sligo_Rovers.jpg
.........All on 500 euro a week and DEFINATELY no cash "top ups" :rolleyes:
Garry Breen to an Irish League side.
Portadown i was told
Candystripe
07/01/2011, 11:30 AM
Higgins and Mc Glynn signed/signing for Derry plus rumours of Cretaro and *Jason Mc Guinness!!!
*= shocked if that's true!
07/01/2011, 12:28 PM
Higgins and Mc Glynn signed/signing for Derry plus rumours of Cretaro and *Jason Mc Guinness!!!and if all these become true, do Derry fans still think they'll only have a small budget with the main aim just to avoid relegation?
poster
07/01/2011, 1:46 PM
"We've got Ndo, you've got no dough...." :o
Rasputin
07/01/2011, 2:04 PM
When is this FAI investigation into our finances finally going to end?
Its taking longer than the tribunals.
marinobohs
07/01/2011, 2:05 PM
"We've got Ndo, you've got no dough...." :o
... at least any we had/have is not under the counter :o