View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

01/11/2010, 1:03 PM
When he wasn't suspended of course!

Would fit in well at Dundalk. :p

01/11/2010, 1:11 PM
that sad about Mark Farren did he break Liam Coyles all time goalscoring record for Derry? otherwise he would have being so close...

Think he was 6 goals short... Awful shame if he has to retire, fantastic player when on form.

01/11/2010, 4:26 PM
Didn't think he even got much game time with ye.

craig walsh ended up playing eight games for us.. he only came to us at end of august..

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 5:00 PM
When he wasn't suspended of course!

Would fit in well at Dundalk. :p

Is he out of contract with you lot Stu?

twoenz
01/11/2010, 5:03 PM
With a plastic pitch and a bar for hire.

Well, we all know how expensive a barman can be to LoI teams.

And Mark Farren ended up just short of Coyle's record.

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 9:55 PM
Has anyone got any info on Dean Marshall?

SwanVsDalton
01/11/2010, 9:57 PM
Think he was 6 goals short... Awful shame if he has to retire, fantastic player when on form.

Don't know how likely it is, but Farren isn't entirely ruling out a comeback: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-11664158

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 10:20 PM
Today's Star has an interview with Jason Byrne who says he is going back to part time football next season. Wonder who he will be with, says he will find it hard, esp been a full timer the past 8 years.

01/11/2010, 10:23 PM
Is he out of contract with you lot Stu?

I'd be very surprised if he had a contract for next year. He's under 23 though so we should be due some compensation.

01/11/2010, 10:23 PM
Has anyone got any info on Dean Marshall?Played with us then signed for Athlone, didn't feature much for either team. Fancy footwork, no end product.

01/11/2010, 10:37 PM
Today's Star has an interview with Jason Byrne who says he is going back to part time football next season. Wonder who he will be with, says he will find it hard, esp been a full timer the past 8 years.

I know somewhere by the seaside where he'd be welcomed with open arms..

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 10:39 PM
I'd be very surprised if he had a contract for next year. He's under 23 though so we should be due some compensation.

Does that rule not only apply to players going overseas to bigger clubs? Im not familiar with it at all.

Guinney
01/11/2010, 11:14 PM
TWO bars.

Small correction Dundalk have 3 bars now - Lilywhite Lounge, Enda McGuill suite and the new bar in the Youth Development Centre.

I was in the new bar & function room in the YDC during the badminton tournament and it looks great. Already has a large number of bookings for 21st parties, etc. so hopefully will add to the revenue streams at Oriel.

Also there was a rumour going around Jedward are lined up for a concert in the YDC. Laughed when I heard that one :p

01/11/2010, 11:17 PM

Why not give first division football a lash next season with us i say :D

bullit
01/11/2010, 11:30 PM
Also there was a rumour going around Jedward are lined up for a concert in the YDC. Laughed when I heard that one :p

Feck the concert,sign the feckers up and stick them at centre half.

thedoyler
02/11/2010, 12:18 AM
Come back Jayooo!!! He's been around an awful lot lately with the 25th anniversary etc. Lets hope he's interested in coming back. I was surprised to here he's spent the longest spell of his career at Bray. Lets hope he has a second and equally as successful spell back here!

02/11/2010, 9:43 AM
Does that rule not only apply to players going overseas to bigger clubs? Im not familiar with it at all.
See earlier in the thread. Under 23 and with a club on pro/semi-pro terms for two seasons or more means compensation is due when a player moves, as happened when we sold Darren Quigley, Conor Sammon, Pat Sullivan, Robbie Martin and Alan Cawley to other clubs within the league. This is all provided the club has indicated they want to retain the player (i.e. you can't release someone on a free and then demand compensation).

Louth4sam
02/11/2010, 9:46 AM
See earlier in the thread. Under 23 and with a club on pro/semi-pro terms for two seasons or more means compensation is due when a player moves, as happened when we sold Darren Quigley, Conor Sammon, Pat Sullivan, Robbie Martin and Alan Cawley to other clubs within the league. This is all provided the club has indicated they want to retain the player (i.e. you can't release someone on a free and then demand compensation).

Can't see us signing him if there is compensation due. Unless UCD would settle to a couple of dozen tickets to Jedward?

02/11/2010, 9:51 AM
I think Jedward were lined up for the UCD Ball this year. They withdrew after rumours of imminent egg peltings surfaced. So that's probably a no, thanks.

I've seen enough of pre-seasons to know that anyone can leave, to be honest. I'm only presuming (and hoping!) that that rule - which has benefitted us before - is still in place, and that we have our side of things in order.

White Horse
02/11/2010, 10:00 AM

What if he retires?

Jicked
02/11/2010, 11:10 AM
A pretty desperate "come and get me" plea from Fenlon to Rovers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyOdFvhQZco

Think one of the other lads is that 3 foot linesman who disallowed Bray's goal.

marinobohs
02/11/2010, 11:46 AM
according to this Evenings herald Connor Powell could be on his way to Reading

Dillonman
02/11/2010, 12:08 PM
according to this Evenings herald Connor Powell could be on his way to Reading

Is he a left back if so, than cant see that happening as they signed Ian Harte who has scored quite a few goals fro them so far.

marinobohs
02/11/2010, 12:14 PM
Is he a left back if so, than cant see that happening as they signed Ian Harte who has scored quite a few goals fro them so far.

Yea, left back with Ireland U21 team. was over with Wolves but had very poor end of season at Bohs.

total hoofball
02/11/2010, 12:23 PM
Played with us then signed for Athlone, didn't feature much for either team. Fancy footwork, no end product.

He's with Cherry Orchard now. Was with Coventry before returning home to play with Bohs then on to Sligo, journeyman already.

Jicked
02/11/2010, 12:25 PM
Didn't Powell have a big bust-up with Fenlon during the season though? Perhaps explaining his end of season form to some extent

dong
02/11/2010, 12:32 PM
I think Jedward were lined up for the UCD Ball this year. They withdrew after rumours of imminent egg peltings surfaced. So that's probably a no, thanks.

You crazy students!!!

02/11/2010, 1:00 PM
He's with Cherry Orchard now. Was with Coventry before returning home to play with Bohs then on to Sligo, journeyman already.

Only lasted 4 (I think) games with us before falling foul of the ATFC revolving door

marinobohs
02/11/2010, 1:03 PM
Didn't Powell have a big bust-up with Fenlon during the season though? Perhaps explaining his end of season form to some extent

Yep Jicked (belated congrats by the way) there was a bust up mid season but after getting back in the team he played some of his best games for the club so dip in form at the end of season was unlikely to be connected to the earlier bust up.
When he is good looks a top class player but on other days looks like a school boy lost :o

danthesaint
02/11/2010, 1:10 PM

i heard he asked nutsy for a straightener after the game in wales

**FrOsTy**
02/11/2010, 1:23 PM

Well that's odd seen as he has a skin head :D! And If he really wanted a straightner then surely killian Brennan would of been the best man?

btid1
02/11/2010, 2:42 PM

Must be true so

Aaron
02/11/2010, 3:21 PM
Only rumours doing the rounds up here are Gareth McGlynn has signed a pre-contract with Sligo, and Gary Twigg is signing for Derry City as his girl is living in Rathmullan and wants a move closer to the NW. All rumour though

marinobohs
02/11/2010, 3:24 PM
Only rumours doing the rounds up here are Gareth McGlynn has signed a pre-contract with Sligo, and Gary Twigg is signing for Derry City as his girl is living in Rathmullan and wants a move closer to the NW. All rumour though

I heard the one about Mcglynn signing for Sligo, Suspect the Twiglet rumour just wishfull thinking.

Aaron
02/11/2010, 3:28 PM
It probably is. I very much doubt it myself, Keny said this week he dosnt even know his budget for next year yet so I doubt any player has been approached

02/11/2010, 3:37 PM
Harte plays centre-half for Reading, or at least he started there. Was also playing in the centre for Carlisle the season before.

Paul Byrne's left St. Pat's. Obviously been tapped up by Rovers, so impressed was Michael O'Neill by his skills on the treatment table.

Really can't see anything in Twigg to Derry. Even if he wanted to go, I don't see how Derry could afford to buy out his contract, unless he was planning to retire.

02/11/2010, 3:40 PM
Harte plays centre-half for Reading, or at least he started there. Was also playing in the centre for Carlisle the season before.

Paul Byrne's left St. Pat's. Obviously been tapped up by Rovers, so impressed was Michael O'Neill by his skills on the treatment table.

Really can't see anything in Twigg to Derry. Even if he wanted to go, I don't see how Derry could afford to buy out his contract, unless he was planning to retire.

No THAT would be real Karma.

redbuli
02/11/2010, 3:54 PM
what did Bohs fans make of McGlynn this season?.. might be more suited to sligo

CMcC
02/11/2010, 4:15 PM
what did Bohs fans make of McGlynn this season?.. might be more suited to sligo

Ineffective, takes too many touches and doesnt get the ball into the mix often enough. A bit light weight. In his defence he wasnt playing every week so didnt have the consistency that comes with regular selection (although later in the season he got a good run). The side as a whole were very poor all season and lacking in confidence so its hard to judge him for the future. He has a good touch though and has ability. But on the whole a disappintment for Bohs and didnt influence games at all.

twoenz
02/11/2010, 4:33 PM

The Twigg rumours are coming from the player and not from the club.

02/11/2010, 4:37 PM
according to the pats forum Vinny Faherty and Gaz Coughlan are leaving , paul byrne is officially gone of course.

02/11/2010, 5:12 PM
Those departures are now official , Gaz announced it on his fb just like byrne , no word from faherty but its well known at this stage

SwanVsDalton
02/11/2010, 5:16 PM
The Twigg rumours are coming from the player and not from the club.

In that case if he's happy to take a considerable pay cut, welcome aboard.

Jicked
02/11/2010, 5:18 PM
Was Byrne just released due to injury problems? Weren't Pats fans impressed with him earlier in the season?

danthesaint
02/11/2010, 6:01 PM
Must be true so

that was from a bohs fan, plus i didnt say it was true, i just told ya what i heard, just as well its a rumours thread

02/11/2010, 6:05 PM
Was Byrne just released due to injury problems? Weren't Pats fans impressed with him earlier in the season?

you lot hearing anything about the twigg rumour?

Jicked
02/11/2010, 6:13 PM
No, because it's absolute rubbish, I'd be pretty confident in wagering.

He signed a new deal, talks all the time in the press about how he loves Rovers, is on bigger wages here than Derry could afford, has a great relationship with the manager/board and Derry couldn't afford the transfer fee for him which would surely command a record figure for a LoI club due to his importance to the team as well as the importance to the marketing side of things. I can't think of one single reason why it would be a possibility, can anyone else?

02/11/2010, 6:16 PM
nope.

Jicked
02/11/2010, 6:21 PM
Yeah I can't think of any, if its on the basis of "his girl" living in Donegal, you'd think that being married since the summer they might just consider moving in together, and taking a big pay-cut and taking a backwards career move might be more unpopular with her indoors than living in Newry.

Rasputin
02/11/2010, 6:33 PM
I heard Harps were in the mix due to geographical convenience.