View Full Version : Transfer rumours
14/01/2011, 10:39 AM
Cork City manager Tommy Dunne told Cork's RedFM this afternoon that he's in talks with Hartlepool United about bringing Denis Behan back to Turner's Cross on loan.I can't imagine there'd be too many complaints from Hartlepool on this, he hasn't played in a while.
Or as a friend of mine puts it, he's been found out.
He may surprise us, it being Division 1 but i'm not hopeful.
F yer Denis Behan we've a Hynes outside....Nevermind a Hynes, a horse beats a donkey all day long.
Whats the story with George O'Callaghan? Is he still with Cork?I don't believe George is currently signed to our club.
14/01/2011, 1:42 PM
The word on the streets has Peter Hynes signing with us.
So you can SHOVE your Denise Behans!
Hmmm.....Wouldn't know what to make of that signing if true. Could go very well or very poor i would think. Could be wrong but don't think he did too much with Longford.
Spudulika
14/01/2011, 3:58 PM
A big signing for Rovers on the way. John Giles making a comeback anyone?
14/01/2011, 4:30 PM
Steven Pienaar.
14/01/2011, 5:07 PM
Looks like Hynes is not just a rumour.
www.limerickfc.ie
14/01/2011, 5:18 PM
Wouldn't be expecting too much if I were ye. He scored a few goals for us but overall he didn't exactly ooze commitment and desire. Nobody will be too worried about him leaving.
Cuyahoga
14/01/2011, 5:23 PM
Ciaran Kilduff has signed for Shamrock Rovers for the second time. Great signing for the Hoops!
14/01/2011, 5:24 PM
Wouldn't be expecting too much if I were ye. He scored a few goals for us but overall he didn't exactly ooze commitment and desire. Nobody will be too worried about him leaving.
Ya i'm not too excited by that signing to be honest. Has he impressed anywhere he has been?
14/01/2011, 5:36 PM
Don't think he cares enough about it, just wanders from club to club picking up his wages. He'll do ok for ye but no more I wouldn't think.
14/01/2011, 5:44 PM
Don't think he cares enough about it, just wanders from club to club picking up his wages. He'll do ok for ye but no more I wouldn't think.
Looking at his list of clubs thats what i was thinking. Hopefully he can have a great season but i was expecting maybe a more quality signing if we want to push for promotion.
GlasnevinRed
14/01/2011, 6:01 PM
Looking at his list of clubs thats what i was thinking. Hopefully he can have a great season but i was expecting maybe a more quality signing if we want to push for promotion.
Was never really prolific with Shels, looked decent when he tried but was quite lazy aswell it seemed. Although he did manage to bag our goal of the season for 09. http://vimeo.com/8332894 (last of the 3 there)
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2011, 6:23 PM
Hynes is no good at all from any time ive seen him will add nothing at all.
14/01/2011, 6:37 PM
Will he start ahead of O'Flynn and Sheehan?
bluewhitearmy
14/01/2011, 6:43 PM
Will he start ahead of O'Flynn and Sheehan?
Not a chance i would hope.
Hes poor back up if one of them get injured though.
bingoballs
14/01/2011, 7:30 PM
Shams goin all out now, did they pay the fee for Kilduff i wonder?
Verdebianco
14/01/2011, 7:54 PM
Hynes is no good at all from any time ive seen him will add nothing at all.
Thought Hynes was excellent against Rovers in the cup last year, he bullied Aidan Price form start to finish.
Jicked
14/01/2011, 7:55 PM
Haven't heard yet about any fee, but still a long way from going all out. There'll be more additions to the squad yet too. Great signing for us too, Shepperd, Twigg and Kilduff is a really exciting front line for years to come, even Twigg is only 27 or so. Plus it's affordable too. Considering this time last year we were outbid for Steven Grey by Bohs paying him a four figured sum per week, what a difference a year makes!
14/01/2011, 7:58 PM
Thought Hynes was excellent against Rovers in the cup last year, he bullied Aidan Price form start to finish.
He was actually very good that night. But he was up for that one, his problem isn't a lack of ability he just doesn't seem too bothered about run of the mill games.
placid casual
14/01/2011, 8:29 PM
Haven't heard yet about any fee, but still a long way from going all out. There'll be more additions to the squad yet too. Great signing for us too, Shepperd, Twigg and Kilduff is a really exciting front line for years to come, even Twigg is only 27 or so. Plus it's affordable too. Considering this time last year we were outbid for Steven Grey by Bohs paying him a four figured sum per week, what a difference a year makes!
Whats another year, indeed.
Guinney
14/01/2011, 8:42 PM
There is some kinda fee for him. No idea how much. Foster said a few weeks back that he would of liked to sign Kilduff and put in enquiries for him. But because UCD where entitled to a compensation fee, Foster couldn't offer Kilduff a contract. Its down near the bottom of the first link. Also its mentioned in the second link in the Independent.
http://blackandwhitetown.squarespace.com/home/2010/12/9/we-know-what-were-getting-with-mark-and-jay.html
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/russell-hit-by-ucd-cutbacks-2415750.html
Guinney
14/01/2011, 8:45 PM
According to the Pats forum, Ryan Guy has returned to the USA.
Rasputin
14/01/2011, 8:48 PM
Shams signings this summer are all very good players.
We are fighting just to keep our team togethor from last season while your squad now, even before the next few signings is better than last seasons.
The one saving grace about Shams squad is that Mick O'Neill is managing yee, hopefully he can work his magic again this season and make all that bags of potential into very very average LOI players.
legendz
14/01/2011, 10:03 PM
Kilduff should be a great addition to the Rovers squad. I hope the money is there for these signings and fees incurred, the last thing the league will need is another champions crashing and burning in a few years.
Cuyahoga
14/01/2011, 10:10 PM
Shams signings this summer are all very good players.
We are fighting just to keep our team togethor from last season while your squad now, even before the next few signings is better than last seasons.
The one saving grace about Shams squad is that Mick O'Neill is managing yee, hopefully he can work his magic again this season and make all that bags of potential into very very average LOI players.
His magic worked and he won the League !
redobit
14/01/2011, 10:29 PM
His magic worked and he won the League !
Being 9 or 10 points ahead in the latter stages of a season, then going 3 points behind Bohs and winning it on goal difference on the last day ofthe season. Not exactly magical in fairness.
Shams have a great squad it has to be said.
14/01/2011, 10:30 PM
Anthony Wolfe training with the Cork City squad over the weekend with a view to signing.
14/01/2011, 11:43 PM
Wolfie is a gent, will do a job aswell I'd say, must be pushing on a bit though??
1st time post
14/01/2011, 11:44 PM
Is Kilduff a confirmed one ya??He was one i was hoping we might nick from under your noses but it was wishful enough thinking. You reckon ye will play a normal 4-4-2 next year with Twigg and Shepperd or Kilduff. We really need to sign a few players but anyone i would have liked to see from inside the league has either moved or committed to another club so hooping Cookie can pull a few scousers out of nowhere that are a success.
danthesaint
15/01/2011, 12:11 AM
yeah confirmed
15/01/2011, 12:34 AM
e20k apparently.
SwanVsDalton
15/01/2011, 12:45 AM
He'll put in the odd half of effort - but it'll be whatever half Limerick are playing towards the chipper van.
Ezeikial
15/01/2011, 2:15 AM
e20k apparently.
I would be astounded if that is the upfront fee. A UCD fan suggested 10k elsewhere and that sounds much closer to the mark. Probably add-ons (appearances / winning league) and a sell-on clause.
There are few other clubs in the market that are able and willing to pay fees
its what i heard, this is a rumours thread. If UCD got 20k for him, fair play.
15/01/2011, 2:29 AM
20k sounds a bit much for a player who's going to start third in the pecking order behind Sheppard, who's a couple of years younger than him. I think 10k would be a high estimate.
hopefully someone from UCD can clarify. :)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
15/01/2011, 8:29 AM
Hard to look past Shams at this stage alright. Was really hoping we could have gotten Kilduff. Thought he would have fitted in perfectly into our team.
bingoballs
15/01/2011, 9:32 AM
hopefully someone from UCD can clarify. :)
Ask Hoopy, he seems to know everything that happens in the Showgrounds, surely he knows what's happening in his own club too.
Rasputin
15/01/2011, 10:35 AM
Hard to look past Shams at this stage alright. Was really hoping we could have gotten Kilduff. Thought he would have fitted in perfectly into our team.
According to the "inside sources" even with our really quite generous under the table payments we still couldnt lure him to Sligo.
What more can we do??
hoopy
15/01/2011, 12:40 PM
Ask Hoopy, he seems to know everything that happens in the Showgrounds, surely he knows what's happening in his own club too.
Aside from pms, surely my post the other day saying that UCD would be better off if we win the league this season was a hint in itself?
Ezeikial
15/01/2011, 12:46 PM
Aside from pms, surely my post the other day saying that UCD would be better off if we win the league this season was a hint in itself?
Is this part of a Rovers masterplan? Sign a player from every other PD team giving them each a payout if Rovers win the league.
No probs with match postponements again this season for Rovers
noddy102
15/01/2011, 12:48 PM
20k sounds a bit much for a player who's going to start third in the pecking order behind Sheppard, who's a couple of years younger than him. I think 10k would be a high estimate.
2010 LEAGUE STATS
Karl Sheppard - 33 appearances 8 goals (1 in 4)
Ciaran Kilduff - 35 appearnces 16 goals (1 in 2)
emm interesting!
I suppose UCD didnt have any games televised last year...
jpastay
15/01/2011, 12:48 PM
According to the Pats forum, Ryan Guy has returned to the USA.
Said in a statement he wants to go back to America.
Sounds like he's signing for Shams.
hoopy
15/01/2011, 12:53 PM
Is this part of a Rovers masterplan? Sign a player from every other PD team giving them each a payout if Rovers win the league.
No probs with match postponements again this season for Rovers
Yeah. We've such a poor side that we're gonna need to bribe our way to the league.
Ezeikial
15/01/2011, 12:58 PM
Yeah. We've such a poor side that we're gonna need to bribe our way to the league.
Likely to have the best squad by a remarkable distance. Should win the league in a canter.
But this type of deal leaves clubs open to a charge of a conflict of interest
bluewhitearmy
15/01/2011, 1:25 PM
He'll put in the odd half of effort - but it'll be whatever half Limerick are playing towards the chipper van.
Just get in John Lester so and play them for that half .
poster
15/01/2011, 2:29 PM
Likely to have the best squad by a remarkable distance. Should win the league in a canter.
Bohs should have done that this year with the squad they had.
But this type of deal leaves clubs open to a charge of a conflict of interest
So paying a fee plus extra depending on trophies/appearances is all new is it?
15/01/2011, 3:29 PM
But this type of deal leaves clubs open to a charge of a conflict of interestBit far-fetched isn't it?
The transfer fee is 20 grand - I'd imagine the add-on isn't going to be much of an incentive to throw a game.
PartySaint
15/01/2011, 4:44 PM
If you offer Bohs a bit of money for one of there players they will let yous beat them in every game for the next 10 years
Although you probably wouldn't have tho pay them off for that to happen
Particularly when clubs usually get their own rewards for winning games (you know, like points and a better place in table, more fans, more money etc etc)
Still don't think for one second that when Rovers beat UCD I won't be on here saying its purekly down to UCD looking to help Rovers. Where's you financial fair play now pineapple stu!?!?!?