View Full Version : Transfer rumours
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/11/2010, 2:39 PM
Sligo Rovers are delighted to announce that Paul Cook has signed a new 2 year deal with the club while Matthew Blinkhorn and Gavin Peers have signed back for the 2011 Season. Further signing's will be announced within the next few days
hoops1
19/11/2010, 2:43 PM
McCabe to Rovers
Rasputin
19/11/2010, 2:47 PM
Mc Cabe will definetly not be back with us next season, straight from the horses mouth last monday.
So most likely is he is gone to Shams, cracking talent and sad to see him go but not someone you cant replace.
Louth4sam
19/11/2010, 4:29 PM
Mc Cabe will definetly not be back with us next season, straight from the horses mouth last monday.
So most likely is he is gone to Shams, cracking talent and sad to see him go but not someone you cant replace.
Can't wait til you come up against him next season and are victims of his diving :P
Rumour than Conor O'Grady heading to Galway United
sligored
19/11/2010, 5:26 PM
i am told we have 20% of any sell on fee for seamus coleman -
early stages i know but if it did happen we may be able to challenge shams financially.
And before you say anything i dont know how accurate the reports is
Manchester United Football Club are said to be impressed with Seamus Coleman.
The 22-year-old has forced his way into the first team picture under David Moyes at Everton this season, making eleven appearances in the Premier League thus far.
It is believed his performances have alerted the interest of Sir Alex Ferguson, who is in the market for a right-back to eventually replace Gary Neville.
Although Rafael is showing signs of becoming a quality option, the United boss is also aware of Coleman’s ability to play in a midfield position, as he has done this term.
Capped nine times by the Republic of Ireland, the Donegal-born player has only been at Goodison Park since January 2009, when Moyes took him from Sligo Rovers for £60,000.
http://www.fansfc.com/story/26925.html
forza rovers
19/11/2010, 5:30 PM
Rumour than Conor O'Grady heading to Galway United its between ye harps or athlone but more than likely ye he said it to me after the cup final.
19/11/2010, 6:14 PM
i am told we have 20% of any sell on fee for seamus coleman -
early stages i know but if it did happen we may be able to challenge shams financially.
And before you say anything i dont know how accurate the reports is
Manchester United Football Club are said to be impressed with Seamus Coleman.
The 22-year-old has forced his way into the first team picture under David Moyes at Everton this season, making eleven appearances in the Premier League thus far.
It is believed his performances have alerted the interest of Sir Alex Ferguson, who is in the market for a right-back to eventually replace Gary Neville.
Although Rafael is showing signs of becoming a quality option, the United boss is also aware of Coleman’s ability to play in a midfield position, as he has done this term.
Capped nine times by the Republic of Ireland, the Donegal-born player has only been at Goodison Park since January 2009, when Moyes took him from Sligo Rovers for £60,000.
http://www.fansfc.com/story/26925.html
This rumour was doing the rounds after the United-Everton game a couple of months back, along with Rodwell. Not sure if you can read much into it.
Fivesilver
20/11/2010, 10:30 AM
Great if it happened but I won't be holding my breath.
Lamper.sffc
20/11/2010, 11:10 AM
@ Fingal fans. Do ye think Kenny Browne will re-sign for ye? Heard he's not enjoying it. Rumours down here that he's leaving to go to Pats?
I'd do anything to have him back here.
The uncertainty about our budget at the mo, would mean i wouldnt be sure about any of our players at the moment.
Good defender alright. Looked a little shaky towards the end of the season compared to the beginning. Wins everything in the air. We would miss him if he left.
born2bwild
20/11/2010, 11:31 AM
The uncertainty about our budget at the mo, would mean i wouldnt be sure about any of our players at the moment.
Good defender alright. Looked a little shaky towards the end of the season compared to the beginning. Wins everything in the air. We would miss him if he left.
He made an awful blunder against St Pats away; was it the cup 1/4 final or the league? Can't remember which. However, he is solid and more than good enough to cope with nearly everything he comes up against.
Wouldn't fancy him against Gary O'Neill though.
The Lep
20/11/2010, 2:29 PM
It was the cup but i would tend to go by what he has done throughout the season rather than one notable mistake. He is a cracking player and saved us a few times with goal line clearances and would be missed if he leaves .
20/11/2010, 2:32 PM
I know again its only one game but i thought he looked very shaky against us also in the cup. He was ripped apart every time Tierney ran at him.
The Lep
20/11/2010, 9:54 PM
Heard that Gary O'niell has signed for Shamrock Rovers.
its between ye harps or athlone but more than likely ye he said it to me after the cup final.
There was talk of him joining us last season but it was only a very short term deal and so didn't suit.
We wont have a manager in place for about a week and a half so depends on who steps in.
Cabs88
21/11/2010, 1:20 PM
from what i can remember o'grady played a friendly or two for us (longford)the season before last, and was meant to sign, but didnt
21/11/2010, 2:40 PM
He would have played a game or two for you during Rob McDonald's reign of terror bug re-signed when he left - so around this time 4 years ago
poster
21/11/2010, 2:46 PM
from what i can remember o'grady played a friendly or two for us (longford)the season before last, and was meant to sign, but didnt
Ya, he was about to sign for Longford, then McD left and Cook came in and re-signed him.
21/11/2010, 6:22 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/keegan-keen-for-doncaster-deal-2428829.html
http://www.doncaster.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=222142
Dillonman
22/11/2010, 12:44 PM
More players added to that list:
http://www.pfai.ie/transfer-list
22/11/2010, 1:29 PM
So Flood looking to come back to Ireland?
gufc2000
22/11/2010, 1:38 PM
So Flood looking to come back to Ireland?
He played a grand total of 36 minutes in Sweden. His contract is up now AFAIK
22/11/2010, 5:56 PM
I was talking to flood last Wednesday and he said he is back in ireland weighing up his options but he HAS been offered another year in Sweden , Rovers are been linked with him but who isnt tbf. I reckon hel go back 2 sweeden unless rovers do actually make a move
22/11/2010, 8:01 PM
He played a grand total of 36 minutes in Sweden. His contract is up now AFAIK
AFAIK? I thought he was playing for Örebro :o
Sorry..
The Lep
22/11/2010, 11:53 PM
Sligo are in talks with a young chap called Barry Termon. Highly thought of by all accounts.
23/11/2010, 10:32 AM
Rovers are been linked with him but who isnt tbf
He wasn't good enough for them in the first division, he's hardly good enough for them now
Mario
23/11/2010, 11:54 AM
He wasn't good enough for them in the first division, he's hardly good enough for them now
Anto Flood actually did well for us in the short time he was with us in the first division, but fell victim to one of Scully's moodswings over training or a bus or something like that.
Id be happy enough myself to have him back now, good striker to have in any squad in this league!
23/11/2010, 12:07 PM
Stand corrected so. He looked very decent in patches for Galway last year right enough
(and BTW the first post wasn't a dig at Bisto, butrather a comment that Rovers have moved on a fair bit since his time there)
23/11/2010, 1:55 PM
Robert Bayly, Aidan Price and Stephen Bradley all confirmed to have left Rovers. I'm confused by the decision to release Price... at least I'm assuming he was released and isn't looking for more money elsewhere.
Dessie Baker's retirement has also been confirmed. Ian Foster has yet to comment.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/press-releases/1747-rovers-squad-news
PartySaint
23/11/2010, 2:07 PM
Robert Bayly, Aidan Price and Stephen Bradley all confirmed to have left Rovers. I'm confused by the decision to release Price... at least I'm assuming he was released and isn't looking for more money elsewhere.
Dessie Baker's retirement has also been confirmed. Ian Foster has yet to comment.
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/press-releases/1747-rovers-squad-news
HA at the Ian Foster comment:)
Is Price really a big loss to yous Charlie? I don't really rate him but you will know better
23/11/2010, 2:20 PM
Price would do a JOB for Limerick in fairness :)
150 - 200 blahs a week is the going rate for a centre half in this economic climate right?? :)
Also, can any Cork fan confirm the two Dannys have said a polite no thank you, or is it still on??
El-Pietro
23/11/2010, 2:49 PM
Dan is injured until the middle of next season. Don't think we can afford him anyway.
As for Danny, isn't he under contract? Aren't they both?
23/11/2010, 2:50 PM
I haven't a notion, that's why I asked :)
23/11/2010, 2:50 PM
Price would do a JOB for Limerick in fairness
150 - 200 blahs a week is the going rate for a centre half in this economic climate right?? :)
Don't forget the €20 clean sheet bonus.
23/11/2010, 5:10 PM
HA at the Ian Foster comment:)
Is Price really a big loss to yous Charlie? I don't really rate him but you will know better
I think he and Murray are a great combination but we're sort of lost when it's Price and anyone else. I can only assume that O'Neill has two new centre halves lined up now, otherwise the shaky defence looks like getting shakier.
Rasputin
24/11/2010, 7:56 AM
I dont rate Price tbh, very mediocre, not the standard I would have thought Shams would be aiming for.
24/11/2010, 10:20 AM
I think he and Murray are a great combination but we're sort of lost when it's Price and anyone else. I can only assume that O'Neill has two new centre halves lined up now, otherwise the shaky defence looks like getting shakier.
Have they not signed Kenna from Pats? No massive difference in quality between the 2 of them
24/11/2010, 11:28 AM
Kenna is about ten times the player Price is. In fact I think Kenna's in the top 4/5 in league (along with Peers, Sives and Shelley)
he hasn't signed for anyone yet
Rasputin
24/11/2010, 12:13 PM
Kenna is about ten times the player Price is. In fact I think Kenna's in the top 4/5 in league (along with Peers, Sives and Shelley)
Spot on Dodge.
From what ive seen of both players Kenna is just in a different league, Price is a very mediocre player.
Mario
24/11/2010, 12:33 PM
Spot on Dodge.
From what ive seen of both players Kenna is just in a different league, Price is a very mediocre player.
Price is a good, solid, old fashioned center half, great heart, gets stuck in, does well in the air etc. He has given Rovers great service over the past five and showed his class with his comments in the papers today.
Have to say I am not sure where all the fuss about Keena is coming from, he didnt overly impress me in the 6 times we played Pats last season w4-l1-d1, but I will admit when watching games I dont usually tend to notice opposition players, especially defenders. However everyone else raves about him and he won Pats player of the year and was on the MNS team of the year so he must be decent ...
24/11/2010, 12:38 PM
Kenna was superb for us pretty much from day one anyway. Maybe unspectacular, but a very solid defender. Wins a ridiculous amount in the air given his size.
24/11/2010, 12:53 PM
Both are very good defenders, price has been at the heart of Rovers defence for the past 4 or 5 years and has rarely put a foot out of place in fairness, excellent in the air and dangerous from set pieces. Kenna is also a very good defender and time on his side compared to Price. IMO to say he is 10 times the player Price is is way over the top. I'd bleedin' kill for either in my Bray side :D
As i've said, both are very good defenders but they also have their faults, Jake Kelly and Shane O'Neill both took them apart with pace earlier in the season
24/11/2010, 2:23 PM
I would be delighted with Kenna but I have a policy on not believing anything in this league until I see it for myself. Now if only we could prise Richard Dunne away from Villa and back to his home town...
hoops1
24/11/2010, 2:37 PM
Absolute rubbish. Price couldnt pass water but is a far better defender. If we get Shelley Kenna wouldnt even get on to our bench
24/11/2010, 2:42 PM
Absolute rubbish: Price couldnt pass water but is a far better defender. If we get Shelley Kenna wouldnt even get on to our bench
Fixed that for you. :)
PartySaint
24/11/2010, 2:44 PM
Absolute rubbish. Price couldnt pass water but is a far better defender. If we get Shelley Kenna wouldnt even get on to our bench
Kenna would **** all over Price, He is the best Pats defender I have seen since probably the late 90's, You don't have to Believe me now though you will see next season when he is playing for yous, Himself and Sives at the back will be a great partnership
hoops1
24/11/2010, 2:48 PM
Kenna would **** all over Price, He is the best Pats defender I have seen since probably the late 90's, You don't have to Believe me now though you will see next season when he is playing for yous, Himself and Sives at the back will be a great partnership
Thats more to do with Pats being crap than Kenna being a great defender.
Murray was outstanding for us from Tel aviv until he got injured. Kenna is not going to partner anyone in our defence. Shelley now is another story.
Kenna would **** all over Price
kinky.
24/11/2010, 3:42 PM
More players added to that list:
http://www.pfai.ie/transfer-list
Aidan O'Keefe on that list I see. I'd forgotten about him, it seems he was playing in Croatia.
24/11/2010, 3:47 PM
He was with Hamilton Croatia in Canada.