View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Rasputin
29/10/2010, 2:50 PM
Cheers for that Ezekiel.
Looks good for Dundalk in future tbf.
Just with all that development dya think they could possibly put a roof on the away section, my only problem.

As far as im aware we apparently have about the same playing budget as Pats and Fingal with Bohs and Shams well ahead.
And since the new chairman has come in he hasnt put a foot wrong, getting some decent sponsorship deals.
We also ended last season with a 6 figure profit but alot of that was down to reaching the cup final.

White Horse
29/10/2010, 3:09 PM
And since the new chairman has come in he hasnt put a foot wrong, getting some decent sponsorship deals.
We also ended last season with a 6 figure profit but alot of that was down to reaching the cup final.

If you have the money, you are wise to spend it on good players and a good team.

Dundalk don't have it and the memory of nearly going out of existence in the last decade is far too fresh.

GUFCghost
29/10/2010, 7:48 PM
Maybe because he's not good enough to go to England?

He went on loan to Stoke City during the summer so I would assume he will go in January.

poster
30/10/2010, 12:52 PM
He went on loan to Stoke City during the summer so I would assume he will go in January.

And he'll be straight back again. I can see him signing for us during the close season, but hasn't done enough to convince.

Rasputin
30/10/2010, 12:54 PM
And he'll be straight back again. I can see him signing for us during the close season, but hasn't done enough to convince.
I dont think hes up to Premiership or Championship football in England.
He would probably be able to hold down a place in League 1 but that would be the very height of his talent from what I have seen.

30/10/2010, 1:56 PM
How long was Stevens with you though? As I understand, players there under 2 years can move for free. We've gotten a fair amount of money out of it down the years - Cawley to Shels for E24k was the highest profile cos they refused to pay (and also cos we caught Shels out by backdating his contract to the start of the season he joined in to ensure we'd benefit from this). We've also gotten E10k for Robbie Martin, E15k for Pat Sullivan, E45k for Darren Quigley/Conor Sammon combined and E60k for Gary Dicker in the past few years (all approx amounts). Fairly sure this rule came in on at least one of them.

Edit - Enda Stevens was with Pat's for one year (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enda_Stevens), so no fee applies. Similarly, Bermo was at Rovers for just one year (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ian_Bermingham). Fairly sure two years plus is a different story.

I thought that any club that signs a player under 23 who has been contracted to a club for at least two years (amateur terms don't count) must pay compensation provided that player has been offered a contract equal to or greater than his current terms at least 6 months before his contract expires. Provided we've offered Kilduff or Bolger or anyone else a contract equal to or greater than their current terms in the correct time period then we would have to be compensated with a transfer fee like Conor Sammon to Derry. Sadly we didn't do this for Ronan Finn and Fingal signed him for free.

30/10/2010, 3:20 PM
There was a Mansfield Town scout at the Rovers/Pat's game last night.

CSFShels
30/10/2010, 3:57 PM
There was a Mansfield Town scout at the Rovers/Pat's game last night.
If our league starts losing its good players to there it is time to get worried.

El-Pietro
30/10/2010, 10:22 PM
He did not get on alright! He was a complete liability. Absolute disaster of a defender! Hope we never see him near the club again
and hes rubbish at giving directions

Flexy
30/10/2010, 10:29 PM
With Farren leaving Derry any names in the hat who they will look to sign for next season

The Lilywhites
30/10/2010, 10:38 PM
With Farren leaving Derry any names in the hat who they will look to sign for next season

Why is he leaving?

refjohn
30/10/2010, 10:41 PM
Why is he leaving?

Health reasons apparently. Has retired.

Had treatment on brain tumour last year.

Flexy
30/10/2010, 11:09 PM
Why is he leaving?
His brain tumour has returned Lilywhite, just got married a yr ago and more important things to him now.

RoversInn
31/10/2010, 12:15 AM
Health reasons apparently. Has retired.

Had treatment on brain tumour last year.

I wonder will Mick O'Neill make a move for him?

poster
31/10/2010, 12:21 AM
I wonder will Mick O'Neill make a move for him?

http://www.gifbin.com/bin/6401703g69.gif

Dixie Dean
31/10/2010, 8:44 AM
Id say if Lauchlin stays with us for next season then Foran is definetly gone.
Its a shame cause the lad is a brilliant defender, would walk into most defences in the league.
Just unfortunate for him that we have Peers and Lauchlin.

Lauchlin said in Friday nights programme he wants to stay. If we want a squad we need to eep Foran, bit of a crowd fav now.

Wonder will Pats not getting europe affect they quality of player they can sign?

redbuli
31/10/2010, 9:20 AM
think Foran would get more game time next year if he stays, he;s unlucky that we have Peers and Lauchlin but this is the first season we didnt have too big an injury crisis in the centre back position so his time will come .. need players like him if we are going to mount a challenge

indo today has it that Cook signed a two year contract so hopefully the rest of the squad follows suit

31/10/2010, 10:09 AM
Faz has trials abroad.

Tom Miller going for a trial with Charlton.

Stephen McDonnell going for trials with QPR and Wigan.

Dillonman
31/10/2010, 10:15 AM

You'd imagine that money maybe tight with them as per everyone else and they may look at a few lads from the Northern league as well as maybe nicking Bermingham or Hughes off Mons if they dont go up.

Flexy
31/10/2010, 10:37 AM
How long has gary Twigg got left on his contract. Heard strong rumours he is top of Derrys wanted list? Cant believe it myself but heard these from the game last night

31/10/2010, 10:51 AM
You'd imagine that money maybe tight with them as per everyone else and they may look at a few lads from the Northern league as well as maybe nicking Bermingham or Hughes off Mons if they dont go up.

Neither Hughes or Bemingham will be in Derry.

Dillonman
31/10/2010, 11:09 AM
How long has gary Twigg got left on his contract. Heard strong rumours he is top of Derrys wanted list? Cant believe it myself but heard these from the game last night

Did he not sign a new contract with them last year, keeping him tied up until 2012 or 2013?

dcfc_dee
31/10/2010, 11:24 AM
Did he not sign a new contract with them last year, keeping him tied up until 2012 or 2013?

Thought i read the same somewhere, though did hear very strong rumours the last few days as his woman is living in rathmullan with their child and with him being full time in dublin that doesnt suit him much

31/10/2010, 11:35 AM
He's on a long-term contract and we've agreed on another longer term contract.

http://www.uefa.com/memberassociations/association=irl/news/newsid=844500.html

**FrOsTy**
31/10/2010, 11:40 AM
Not rumours but just my own thoughts on who we may sign, Kenny Browne and Alan Kirby from Fingal - Waterford

Fletch has always said if were back in the premier he'll sign for us and Alan Kirby is not playing much for Fingal and has said that he'll don the Blue shirt once again. If we go up I'd expect a move atleast for these players.

We defo signing a keeper aswel, maybe not as number 1 choice but we will be signing a keeper.

Lamper.sffc
31/10/2010, 12:15 PM
Not rumours but just my own thoughts on who we may sign, Kenny Browne and Alan Kirby from Fingal - Waterford

Fletch has always said if were back in the premier he'll sign for us and Alan Kirby is not playing much for Fingal and has said that he'll don the Blue shirt once again. If we go up I'd expect a move atleast for these players.

We defo signing a keeper aswel, maybe not as number 1 choice but we will be signing a keeper.

I wouldnt like to see either leave. Although Id probably expect it to be Kirbys last with us but hope im wrong. Kirby has actually played a lot of football this season and has started a lot of games. He isnt necessarily first choice (something i dont agree with) but once there is an injury the team usually has kirby in it.

He is a fans favourite and all would be sad to see him leave if it does happen. He would definitely be a good signing for yous no doubt there

31/10/2010, 12:16 PM
Not a player rumour but a few folk at the game last night suggesting that Felix Healy is coming back to Harps as manager replacing James Gallagher.
Hadn't heard it myself until last night though.

31/10/2010, 12:17 PM
How would Harps fans feel about that?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/10/2010, 12:38 PM
think Foran would get more game time next year if he stays, he;s unlucky that we have Peers and Lauchlin but this is the first season we didnt have too big an injury crisis in the centre back position so his time will come .. need players like him if we are going to mount a challenge

indo today has it that Cook signed a two year contract so hopefully the rest of the squad follows suit

Suppose it all depends on what is going to happen with Mauro as well. Can't imagine him being re-signed though after all his injury problems. Shame.

redobit
31/10/2010, 12:56 PM
Suppose it all depends on what is going to happen with Mauro as well. Can't imagine him being re-signed though after all his injury problems. Shame.

Id have Peers Laughlin or Foran ahead of mauro on the teamsheet.

poster
31/10/2010, 1:03 PM
Jim has a few offers from Scotland, and a young family over there. Don't see him staying. :(

poster
31/10/2010, 1:12 PM
. Can't imagine him being re-signed though after all his injury problems. Shame.

I think after what went on with Amond, a lot of fans could have a different attitude towards him.

31/10/2010, 1:41 PM

Kirbs has married a Longford girl and built a house with her here AFAIK. I'd be surprised to see him go back to Waterford if he's living in Longford, as there would be a lot of travelling involved.

31/10/2010, 2:08 PM
How would Harps fans feel about that?

Most would welcome Felix back with open arms, he did after all win this hell-hole of a division for us 6 years ago.

James' record is not great, we were playing poor enough football up until late but our home form is impressive with only 2 home defeats all season in the league (Limerick and Mervue).
We lost 11 of our 16 away games though.

James is highly respected by the fans as probably the best goalkeeper to ever play for Harps, I'd say that would blind alot of people to his managerial failings.

So if you can make any sense out of that let me know because I've just confused myself.

CSFShels
31/10/2010, 2:18 PM
I think after what went on with Amond, a lot of fans could have a different attitude towards him.
What was this?

poster
31/10/2010, 2:20 PM
What was this?

Mauro disguised himself as Amond to get a move back to Portugal.

31/10/2010, 2:42 PM
Mauro disguised himself as an Almond to get a move back to Portugal.

For Halloween? That Nuts....................

bluewhitearmy
31/10/2010, 3:22 PM
Was told that Limerick were signing a defender from Pats any of your lads from down this way?

CSFShels
31/10/2010, 3:41 PM
Mauro disguised himself as Amond to get a move back to Portugal.
Can I've some of what you're smoking?

Bray-Z
31/10/2010, 5:19 PM
Just seen on another forum I'm on that Bohs have apparently released several players, Rossiter and Brennan are definitely two of them according to the poster.

*Powell supposed to be gone as well.

31/10/2010, 5:29 PM
Just seen on another forum I'm on that Bohs have apparently released several players, Rossiter and Brennan are definitely two of them according to the poster.

*Powell supposed to be gone as well.

http://foot.ie/threads/143293-League-of-Ireland-Transfers-2011?p=1418584&viewfull=1#post1418584

Bray-Z
31/10/2010, 5:32 PM
http://foot.ie/threads/143293-League-of-Ireland-Transfers-2011?p=1418584&viewfull=1#post1418584

My humble apologies. :)

31/10/2010, 5:35 PM
that sad about Mark Farren did he break Liam Coyles all time goalscoring record for Derry? otherwise he would have being so close...

In longford town news town defender Mick Lee has attracted the attention of two big premier clubs (not Galway or Sligo ) based around the pale.. Craig Walsh who was on loan with us is interesting a few crosschannel clubs..

31/10/2010, 5:48 PM
Craig Walsh who was on loan with us is interesting a few crosschannel clubs..

Didn't think he even got much game time with ye.

31/10/2010, 5:58 PM

He wasnt with us for long but even before he came to us he had cross channel clubs tracking him , I was talking to a friend of his recently and he said he can pick anyone he wants really and one of the clubs mentioned was Cardiff City.

31/10/2010, 6:00 PM

i am in the process of compiling the appearance records for this season but he has played a good few games since he signed.. Any games that he missed was cos he was on ireland under 19 duty..

31/10/2010, 7:06 PM
He wasnt with us for long but even before he came to us he had cross channel clubs tracking him , I was talking to a friend of his recently and he said he can pick anyone he wants really and one of the clubs mentioned was Cardiff City.

So not one of the other huge clubs like Scunthorpe or Bristol?

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 12:21 PM
Word over on orielweb is that we have signed a UCD central midfielder, strong rumours its Gregg Bolger.

Rasputin
01/11/2010, 12:25 PM
Word over on orielweb is that we have signed a UCD central midfielder, strong rumours its Gregg Bolger.
Wouldnt be a bad signing that.

Dillonman
01/11/2010, 12:39 PM
Wouldnt be a bad signing that.

I defo wouldnt be complaining, thought he was good all season from watching MNS!