View Full Version : Transfer rumours
Rasputin
07/01/2011, 2:11 PM
... at least any we had/have is not under the counter :o
Of all the fans to buy into the rumour mill from the famous "inside sources" that originate on the always-ultra forum.
Careful now, people have had posts deleted and received warnings over EXACTLY the same comments. However you're not a hoop so it's ok I suppose.
poster
07/01/2011, 2:41 PM
Links? proof? A story? Anything?
pauliek
07/01/2011, 3:06 PM
Higgins and Mc Glynn signed/signing for Derry plus rumours of Cretaro and *Jason Mc Guinness!!!
*= shocked if that's true!
Higgins is a donkey, McGlynn and Ralf are class and McGuinness is a racist
Dillonman
07/01/2011, 5:14 PM
As per the Star, Eamonn Zayed is been tracked by two Saudi Arabia clubs.
SwanVsDalton
07/01/2011, 6:06 PM
and if all these become true, do Derry fans still think they'll only have a small budget with the main aim just to avoid relegation?
Kenny turned down McGlynn and Higgins halfway through last season for footballing reasons, reportedly could've signed them for well within our wage structure which, while large for FD, was by no means massive. So I'm not reading much into it, particularly since we've lost a decent number of players including McChrystal and Farren.
07/01/2011, 6:17 PM
Sligoman as has been repeatedly explained, our budget will be higher as we have the revenue from the season ticket we didn't get last year.
It was well known that we had the largest budget in the First Division(larger than three Prem Division clubs I'd reckon as well), so we should be solidly mid table.
bingoballs
07/01/2011, 6:18 PM
Just behind it
That's a good one in fairness :D
If only for the fact that this must be the only league in the world where a jibe like that could possibly make any sense!
Spudulika
07/01/2011, 9:27 PM
As per the Star, Eamonn Zayed is been tracked by two Saudi Arabia clubs.
As being told by......EZ himself. Apparently 2 clubs in Libya (al Madinah and al Ahly) and 1 in Malta (Hibs) were looking for his signature, however it all turned out to be more a little bit less than a smoke screen.
I'd not be surprised to see a host of lovelies showing up in Sliga, a few sponsors here and there and the 65% is sorted and the boys stay happy. But at least it's not hidden away at this stage. Business is business.
Ezeikial
07/01/2011, 9:31 PM
As being told by......EZ himself. Apparently 2 clubs in Libya (al Madinah and al Ahly) and 1 in Malta (Hibs) were looking for his signature, however it all turned out to be more a little bit less than a smoke screen.
I'd not be surprised to see a host of lovelies showing up in Sliga, a few sponsors here and there and the 65% is sorted and the boys stay happy. But at least it's not hidden away at this stage. Business is business.
I must be a bit slow, but what does this mean?
08/01/2011, 12:13 AM
Not a particularly exciting rumour but just confirmation that Sligo were in for Alan Kirby before Christmas. They may still be talking to him I don't know. Couple of other teams sniffing apparently. Sligo's offer was smaller than he was looking for but that's prudent from them. Not sure who the others apparently in for him are. Not us at the moment anyway despite his local roots!
08/01/2011, 1:50 AM
Not a particularly exciting rumour but just confirmation that Sligo were in for Alan Kirby before Christmas. They may still be talking to him I don't know. Couple of other teams sniffing apparently. Sligo's offer was smaller than he was looking for but that's prudent from them. Not sure who the others apparently in for him are. Not us at the moment anyway despite his local roots!
Can any Shamrock Rovers supporter inform us Sligo Rovers supporters how much we were gonna give Kirby under the table?
Rasputin
08/01/2011, 10:23 AM
Can any Shamrock Rovers supporter inform us Sligo Rovers supporters how much we were gonna give Kirby under the table?
Good call Red4Eva, ill have to have a look on the always-ultra forum to see what the "inside sources" have on this one.
I must be a bit slow, but what does this mean?
Me too.
08/01/2011, 11:29 AM
Derry set to sign Finn Harps player Packie Mailey now too. Hoorbags.
1st time post
08/01/2011, 11:43 AM
Not sure re Kirby but if it's a guide Richie Ryan's is 250pw
And ye lot call us bitter.........Richie was offered a sum by Shams that was never gonna be matched by us but has decided to stay for purely personal and footballing reasons. I think ye need to realise that just because bohs cant pay anymore, it doesnt mean every player in the league is gonna want to join your 'part-time setup'
hoopy
08/01/2011, 11:51 AM
And ye lot call us bitter.........Richie was offered a sum by Shams that was never gonna be matched by us but has decided to stay for purely personal and footballing reasons. I think ye need to realise that just because bohs cant pay anymore, it doesnt mean every player in the league is gonna want to join your 'part-time setup'
I'd never expect us to have the financial clout to sign any player in the league. Our budget wouldn't allow it and I'm glad because that's the proper way to run the club. Unfortunately you call me bitter for telling the truth. I honestly don't care what spin you lads are desperate to believe, and I'd never hammer anyone for defending their club, but you lads are seriously deluded if you don't believe what everyone else knows is going on. Bottom line is Sligo players are on more 'after tax' pay than players at any other club, and we all know how.
1st time post
08/01/2011, 12:03 PM
I'd never expect us to have the financial clout to sign any player in the league. Our budget wouldn't allow it and I'm glad because that's the proper way to run the club. Unfortunately you call me bitter for telling the truth. I honestly don't care what spin you lads are desperate to believe, and I'd never hammer anyone for defending their club, but you lads are seriously deluded if you don't believe what everyone else knows is going on. Bottom line is Sligo players are on more 'after tax' pay than players at any other club, and we all know how.
Its been asked before but some sort of proof would be fantastic to back up these claims. Also with Bohs and Fingal with no cash you should have the financial clout to sign most players in this league. Are you aware of what your budget was last year??
08/01/2011, 12:12 PM
Because they're paid for 52 weeks instead of 40?
hoopy
08/01/2011, 12:13 PM
Fingal have got new backers in through Buckley's contacts. If you're comparing your budget and ours last season remember there's a significant figure you have to add on to your budget! Re Ryan, he was nailed on to sign for Fingal but wasn't getting the same fringe benefits he does at Sligo. Nothing to do with any garbage you may read or hear from him about his love for Sligo.
08/01/2011, 12:17 PM
Re Ryan, he was nailed on to sign for Fingal but wasn't getting the same fringe benefits he does at Sligo.
Sligo are paying for a hair transplant? Richie will like that.
PartySaint
08/01/2011, 12:30 PM
To Rovers fans, heard a rumour about Calum Davenport and Malcom Christie signing for yous, any news??
hoopy
08/01/2011, 12:44 PM
To Rovers fans, heard a rumour about Calum Davenport and Malcom Christie signing for yous, any news??
There was a rumour alright, haven't a clue though if there's anything in it. 2 or 3 signed so far but the club's waiting on another 2(I think) before announcing them altogether.
Rasputin
08/01/2011, 1:06 PM
Not sure re Kirby but if it's a guide Richie Ryan's is 250pw
Just for badness ill bite.
Richies wage was only a few hundred at the start of last season, the operative word being start.
Like with most things in capitalist economics football reflects the whole concept of supply and demand.
On his performances the season before last he didnt warrant a contract IMO, have a read over our forum then and you will see.
So the club offered him half the wages that he was on the season before, take it or leave it offer.
Since he had such a bad season, there was no demand for him, we werent too pushed because there was a good chance he would have another bad season, the 300 or so euro a week he was offered was the only offer he got, no other club offered him a contract and on the season he had there is no surprise in that.
From what I heard half way through last season he re-negotiated his contract because he was playing so good, from what I heard he was bumped up another 200 or so (no idea if its the right figures but thats what I heard).
As for his contract negotiations this season he was offered a massive wage by shams, well over 1000 a week.
We couldnt and wouldnt match that, the contract that we offered him from what I heard was 800 a week.
The fact that he has made a home in Sligo impacted greatly in his decision im guessing, he likes the place, his girlfriend and her child are from here.
Rasputin
08/01/2011, 1:11 PM
Bottom line is Sligo players are on more 'after tax' pay than players at any other club, and we all know how.
I love how all this nonsense originally stemmed from a Rovers fan on here stating what Richies contract was at the start of last season and Shams fans inability to comprehend the fact that a bad season merits at the very best a bad contract.
poster
08/01/2011, 2:04 PM
Our chairman said weeks before RR signed that Shamrock Rovers offered Richie 25% more than our final offer. Richie said himself he didn't want to sign for another Irish club and wanted to stay in Sligo. As for the 52 weeks contract, that's bull as the last two seasons where we've had to extend contracts till mornings of 23/11/09 and 15/11/10. (after Cup finals)
poster
08/01/2011, 2:11 PM
. If you're comparing your budget and ours last season remember there's a significant figure you have to add on to your budget!
Hoopy, I assume you're talking about Sligo Rovers' budget? If so, our budget will be pretty much the same as last year as FAI aren't allowing prize money to be added to the budgets at the start of the season. Monies can be added around July or so along with European money.
Richies wage was only a few hundred at the start of last season, the operative word being start.
Like with most things in capitalist economics football reflects the whole concept of supply and demand.
On his performances the season before last he didnt warrant a contract IMO, have a read over our forum then and you will see.
So the club offered him half the wages that he was on the season before, take it or leave it offer.
Since he had such a bad season, there was no demand for him, we werent too pushed because there was a good chance he would have another bad season, the 300 or so euro a week he was offered was the only offer he got, no other club offered him a contract and on the season he had there is no surprise in that.
From what I heard half way through last season he re-negotiated his contract because he was playing so good, from what I heard he was bumped up another 200 or so (no idea if its the right figures but thats what I heard).
As for his contract negotiations this season he was offered a massive wage by shams, well over 1000 a week.
We couldnt and wouldnt match that, the contract that we offered him from what I heard was 800 a week.
The fact that he has made a home in Sligo impacted greatly in his decision im guessing, he likes the place, his girlfriend and her child are from here.
Good post. Again it seems as though you lads are taking this personal. For the record I know what he was offered by us and it wasn't the amount you think it was. If it was then Twigg etc would want the same. Re making a home in Sligo, the fact is he wouldn't have tried to negotiate with Fingal if he had no intention of leaving Sligo, or us for that matter.
I love how all this nonsense originally stemmed from a Rovers fan on here stating what Richies contract was at the start of last season and Shams fans inability to comprehend the fact that a bad season merits at the very best a bad contract.
Believe it or not all this 'nonsense' actually stemmed from Sligo players unable to keep their mouths shut.
Rasputin
08/01/2011, 3:33 PM
Good post. Again it seems as though you lads are taking this personal.
Its the internet, its hard to take any of the drivel that goes on here personal.
For the record I know what he was offered by us and it wasn't the amount you think it was.
And I "know" otherwise, so whatyagonnado.
If it was then Twigg etc would want the same.
What wage is Twigg on out of curiosity??
Re making a home in Sligo, the fact is he wouldn't have tried to negotiate with Fingal if he had no intention of leaving Sligo, or us for that matter.
Not at all.
Like I said the fact that he has made a home here did impact on his decision but other factors such as money, manager, the club itself, the rapport with supporters, the connection with the community etc all factor into these decisions.
Now say for arguements sake he was offered 10,000 a week in Dundalk then I have no doubt that he would go straight there because the margin in difference in money is so big it would outweigh all those other factors I mentioned.
Like Richie himself has said, its his livelyhood so if say he could get better financial terms than those on offer here that would outweigh all those other factors then he would leave and he would be dead right.
But the fact is that the extra 300 or so Shams were offering him did not outweigh those factors so he stayed.
Simples.
That's fair enough, but I hope that fact goes towards dispelling the rumour we're offering huge wages and 'add-ons' to our better players. If it was all about money then Richie would have been outta here November 15th.
I don't see how it does dispel anything though. The 'add on' means he's earning more at Sligo that he would have at Fingal or us. It is about money at the end of the day, otherwise he wouldn't have been touting himself to other clubs. That's not a put down of Sligo btw, just the way some footballers think.
poster
08/01/2011, 3:49 PM
I don't see how it does dispel anything though. The 'add on' means he's earning more at Sligo that he would have at Fingal or us. It is about money at the end of the day, otherwise he wouldn't have been touting himself to other clubs. That's not a put down of Sligo btw, just the way some footballers think.
He said if he was to leave Sligo, he'd sign for a foreign club. He was offered a contract at Shams which was alot more than we offered.If it's about money surely if he was offered a deal per week, guaranteed of say €1,000 at Shams and Sligo offered him €800 and bonus of €200 if he scored or whatever he's gonna take the guarenteed €1,00? Whether you deny it or not Shamrock Rovers will offer him or any other player alot more than we can.
peadar1987
08/01/2011, 6:35 PM
Can I interrupt the sniping to ask if anybody knows if bonuses are included in the 65% cap, official or not?
08/01/2011, 6:51 PM
Right,
This is a rumours thread so obviously there has to be a bit of leeway to give in terms of idle speculation etc.
Throwing in random figures about "official wages" and under the counter figures is not accepted
I deleted the posts, but if it lapses into this again there will be infractions etc dished out.
08/01/2011, 7:00 PM
Can I interrupt the sniping to ask if anybody knows if bonuses are included in the 65% cap, official or not?
I don't see how they wouldn't be. I don't think Derry would have gone to the trouble of multiple contracts if they'd been able to sidestep the rule that easily.
Bonuses are included. Its easy enough to get by licensing for budgeting reasons this way but it has to be tallied up at end of the season
For the record, some people are are delusional beyond belief if they think anyone signs for their (non hometown) club for any reason other than money in this league (and indeed most leagues).
Also find it funny how everyone things their club is doing the rioght thing ad everyone else is cheating
cestlavie
08/01/2011, 9:11 PM
Derry set to sign Finn Harps player Packie Mailey now too. Hoorbags.
Well done the FAI for punishing Derry ****ty, not! Why should clubs live within the rules?
Aaron
08/01/2011, 10:25 PM
Well done the FAI for punishing Derry ****ty, not! Why should clubs live within the rules?
So we're not allowed to sign players now? Its about time you and all those Harps fans got over what happened. We wernt the first club and certainly wont be the last club to be helped out.
09/01/2011, 1:46 AM
Also find it funny how everyone things their club is doing the rioght thing ad everyone else is cheating
But Limerick are doing the right thing and everyone else are cheating. Especially Waterford, Shelbourne and Cork would you believe.
On the rumours front Bobby Ryan (or horsefaced c**t as he is known to their fans if last season is anything to go by) to Shels. :ball:
de bowez
09/01/2011, 2:22 AM
On the rumours front Bobby Ryan (or horsefaced c**t as he is known to their fans if last season is anything to go by) to Shels. :ball:
Didnt realise anyone knew him by any different name?
pauliek
09/01/2011, 3:28 PM
Sheppard the ****ing donkey is gone to Shams, confirmed on his twitter
I think the other 3 signings are to be announced tomorrow with another 2 to be confirmed. Very happy with the players coming in. No excuse for MON not to play a more open game imop.
Rasputin
09/01/2011, 5:13 PM
Mc Cabe is confirmed to have gone to Shams.
Funny enough, in the opposite case to Ryan, the fact that he didnt like Sligo played a big part in him moving to a Dublin club.
Jicked
09/01/2011, 6:24 PM
Stephen O'Donnell, Karl Sheppard and Gary McCabe all confirmed as signing one year deals with Rovers, and crucially Enda Stevens has signed a new two year deal.
Great news for us, really happy with those signings, looking forward to more to come.
09/01/2011, 6:34 PM
These are sexy, sexy developments.
09/01/2011, 6:51 PM
So are ye still after Kilduff with those signings?
placid casual
09/01/2011, 7:30 PM
Mc Cabe is confirmed to have gone to Shams.
Funny enough, in the opposite case to Ryan, the fact that he didnt like Sligo played a big part in him moving to a Dublin club.
whats to like ? :kiss:
in regard to the signings, and hopefully james chambers & manus will sign back for us , youse might as well all just give up on winning the league next year cos i'm loudly confidant we will have the squad to retain the title next year.
and shelley can buy the first round at rovers with his loot from the sinking of the HMS bohemian.;)
So are ye still after Kilduff with those signings?
doubt it!
:cool:
Why would Sligo increase the terms without increasing the length of contract? That doesn't make any sense.