View Full Version : Transfer rumours
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 12:02 PM
rumoured to be between 900 and 1200 a week
similar offer on the table for Joey
Thats the key word really none of ye know what he is actually on.
If that is the offer to Gamble can ye match it?
sullanefc
12/06/2011, 12:08 PM
Thats the key word really none of ye know what he is actually on.
If that is the offer to Gamble can ye match it?
Doubt it. But Joe Gamble would be well worth the money, not Denis Behan though.
El-Pietro
12/06/2011, 12:09 PM
nope, our offer is supposedly much lower.
bluewhitearmy
12/06/2011, 12:16 PM
Doubt it. But Joe Gamble would be well worth the money, not Denis Behan though.
Maybe we are using Denis as bait for Joe ;)
Guinney
12/06/2011, 1:28 PM
Roddy Collins in The Irish Mail today saying Hibernian and at least one other team club from Britain knocking on the door for Monaghans Ryan Brennan. There was a couple of paragraphs on this, but here is the gist of it.
Roddy says Ryans 'got everything ... He's only 19 but he controls the game. He can tackle, pass, head a ball ... Going to the right club, with the right guidance Ryan could go all the way ... Its definitely his last League of Ireland season ... He's the most talented kid I've seen.
In fairness anytime I saw Ryan Brennan play he seemed like a good player.
12/06/2011, 2:53 PM
Roddy did say a few weeks ago that he had found one of the most talented young lads he had ever seen but refused to be drawn on names to avoid the lad feeling too much pressure. Wonder what the rivalry in the Brennan house is like with Killian at Bohs, the 2 younger lads with us and now Ryan maybe moving abroad....some craic I would say!
Mr Maroon
12/06/2011, 4:36 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11796_6986198,00.html
Karl Moore to Motherwell. :confused:
12/06/2011, 6:39 PM
Roddy did say a few weeks ago that he had found one of the most talented young lads he had ever seen but refused to be drawn on names to avoid the lad feeling too much pressure. Wonder what the rivalry in the Brennan house is like with Killian at Bohs, the 2 younger lads with us and now Ryan maybe moving abroad....some craic I would say!
Is Sean the one that plays up front? He's the best of the lot of the Brennans if you ask me.
12/06/2011, 6:40 PM
Maybe we are using Denis as bait for Joe ;)
Is it true Sullivan had to lay off 5 workers to fund Limericks team this season?
12/06/2011, 6:46 PM
Is it true Sullivan had to lay off 5 workers to fund Limericks team this season?
5 workers? The club has mainly volunteers as far as I know and the few may be paid that have been there over the last few years all seem to be still in place this year.
12/06/2011, 6:47 PM
5 workers? The club has mainly volunteers as far as I know and the few may be paid that have been there over the last few years all seem to be still in place this year.
Not from the football club, from his business.
12/06/2011, 6:49 PM
Not from the football club, from his business.
O right, wouldn't have a clue about his own business to be honest and I would think the same about most people from Limerick that would be on this.
PartySaint
13/06/2011, 2:49 AM
Roddy and John Gill were on Newstalk a few weeks ago talking about him, saying he has the potential to make it big in England, Best of luck to him wherever he goes
13/06/2011, 3:34 AM
I'd say brother Killian "I'm too good for this league" Brennan will be delighted :)
If Limerick get Gamble they'l go up imo, and based on the rumours I can't see him getting more elsewhere if true (given he wants to be close to home).
13/06/2011, 8:34 AM
Joe Gamble-Will be good to see one of the most over-rated players back in the league.
No doubt if the lad does go onto better things it'll all be down to Roddy:rolleyes:
bluewhitearmy
13/06/2011, 11:44 AM
If Limerick get Gamble they'l go up imo, and based on the rumours I can't see him getting more elsewhere if true (given he wants to be close to home).
I still reckon Gamble will end up at Cork.
13/06/2011, 1:04 PM
The teams playing budget is €56000 per week.
So, unfortunately he had to lay off 80 workers, all of whom had wives and small, sick, children.
And it's O'Sullivan.
13/06/2011, 1:06 PM
rumoured to be between 9000 and 12000 a week
similar offer on the table for Joey
Fixed. :ball:
sullanefc
13/06/2011, 1:09 PM
I still reckon Gamble will end up at Cork.
Perfect, we'll give you O'Halloran instead.
13/06/2011, 1:12 PM
Perfect, we'll give you O'Halloran instead.
I'd rather we signed Wayne Colbert for there (should be at the club anyway tbh), Greg O'Halloran probably isn't good enough for our midfield.
sullanefc
13/06/2011, 1:14 PM
He is not good enough for any midfield.
13/06/2011, 2:22 PM
The teams playing budget is €56000 per week.
So, unfortunately he had to lay off 80 workers, all of whom had wives and small, sick, children.
And it's O'Sullivan.
You're very defensive of Limericks playing budget.
bluewhitearmy
13/06/2011, 3:07 PM
You're very defensive of Limericks playing budget.
Ever think it might not be the budget but the personal lies about Pat O'Sullivan who is not just doing great work for Limerick FC but also for the city of Limerick that he is defensive about.
El-Pietro
13/06/2011, 4:24 PM
what lies?
no one is saying anything about him personally - just saying that the model hasn't proven sucessful in the past
13/06/2011, 4:27 PM
what lies?
no one is saying anything about him personally - just saying that the model hasn't proven sucessful in the past
But as LTID says in the other thread Pat O Sullivan is doing a lot more for the club than just pumping wages into the first team. People are commenting like this is the model the club are following and Pat is doing nothing more than throwing ridiculous money at players without looking at the facts.
instead of me having to look for it in some other thread, what else is he bringing to the table for Limerick?
Just interested by the way, genuinely dont know.
bluewhitearmy
13/06/2011, 6:41 PM
what lies?
Id find it personal people saying that he has let 5 people go from his company to fund the players.
His company is nothing to do with football or Limerick FC in any case but the story is lies.
Edit:Sk this is what he has done
Instituted a prison programme
Began weekly school visits
Set up numerous community programmes
Founded an Academy for kids aged between 2 and 10 (hoping to take on 11 and 12 year olds next year)
Attempted to enter schoolboy teams but have been repeatedly denied permission
Set up a UL Bursary scheme
Entered a reserve team
Took the FAI to court to win the right to play friendlies in Thomond Park
Sponsored numerous Junior clubs in the city and county
Secured the Markets Field
13/06/2011, 6:48 PM
Id find it personal people saying that he has let 5 people go from his company to fund the players.
His company is nothing to do with football or Limerick FC in any case but the story is lies.
So what funds Limerick FC?
I didn't say it was the sold truth either, I simply heard it as a rumour and asked if it were true. If you're 100% sure this is true then there is no problem and the rumour is quashed. Isn't it?
bluewhitearmy
13/06/2011, 6:52 PM
I didn't say it was the sold truth either, I simply heard it as a rumour and asked if it were true. If you're 100% sure this is true then there is no problem and the rumour is quashed. Isn't it?
I know its the money he has made from his companies that run Limerick but in my view stories like that should not be mentioned in a discussion about signing a player(that we haven't even said we have signed).
Id love to know where you heard this rumour.
13/06/2011, 7:18 PM
Pat O Sullivan The main one obviously but also,
Season Ticket and Match Ticket Sales
Half Time Draws
Limerick FC Lotto
Vantage Raffle
Sponsors (Match Day, Match Ball, Advertising on Jersies and Match Program)
And in the Future hopefully decent friendlies in Thomond Park along with other fundraisers.
instead of me having to look for it in some other thread, what else is he bringing to the table for Limerick?
Just interested by the way, genuinely dont know.
Just to add to what bluewhitearmy said here is a few links to some of the things Pat is doing.
http://www.limerickfc.ie/community/100624presentation_web.pdf
http://www.limerickfc.ie/community/bursaryscheme.html
http://www.limerickfc.ie/community/disabilityindex.html
http://www.limerickfc.ie/community/supportingclubs.html
http://www.limerickfc.ie/fundraising/index.html
bluewhitearmy
15/06/2011, 12:25 PM
In one of the papers today that Barry Conlan (Ex Darlo?) is signing for Monaghan.
Just think of how many people are going to be laid off to pay for his wages?! Disgracfeul
At least no barman are fearing for their jobs now
15/06/2011, 3:47 PM
Reaction from Leeside to the latest news:
"I spoke to Barry today and it looks like he's going to sign for Monaghan.
“To be honest, what Monaghan are paying him the likes of Manchester United would find it hard to compete with.
"I don't know where they're getting their money from, you talk about the 65% rule with regard to turnover, they're getting 14 people through the gate and they're able to dish out that sort of money.
15/06/2011, 7:14 PM
Just think of how many people are going to be laid off to pay for his wages?! Disgracfeul
At least no barman are fearing for their jobs now
Brill! Yeah roddy has been tryin to get him to sign for a while. Good to have another local returning.
Dillonman
15/06/2011, 8:34 PM
Roddys crazy gang is gathering a few more Wombles...literally!
marinobohs
16/06/2011, 10:58 AM
Tommy Dunne appears to be quite liberal with comments about other clubs Limerick/Mons. Perhaps he should concentrate on matters Cork ?
16/06/2011, 11:14 AM
Can't wait for Tommy Dunne's reaction to marinobohs' post on foot.ie.
marinobohs
16/06/2011, 11:18 AM
Can't wait for Tommy Dunne's reaction to marinobohs' post on foot.ie.
...once he "solves"the problems" of Limerick, Mons etc etc I am sure we will hear ;)
16/06/2011, 1:07 PM
"I was speaking to someone today and apparently marinhobohs is making comments on the internet.
"To be honest by the time I've cranked up internet explorer 1 on the windows 1.0 system i've managed to build myself out of a broken lawnmower engine and some parts from an Austin Metro he has all sorts written down. He's working off an operating system that the likes of Real Madrid would find it hard to compete with.
"I don't know where he's getting the money from, you talk about a universal social charge and a recession, there's people emigrating every day and he's still able to dish out that sort of money on fancy computers and the internet.
marinobohs
16/06/2011, 2:00 PM
Class LTID, but t'will all be different when they get that new fangled electic thingy in Cork ;);)*
* for the benifit of our Cork friends I am joking
peadar1987
16/06/2011, 10:04 PM
* for the benifit of our Cork friends I am joking
Yeah, wouldn't want to get their hopes up! ;)
bingoballs
17/06/2011, 6:48 AM
On radio 1 last friday Tony Donohue was on about Alan Mannus possibly leaving shams to join a scottish club, any truth to it?
17/06/2011, 8:47 AM
On radio 1 last friday Tony Donohue was on about Alan Mannus possibly leaving shams to join a scottish club, any truth to it?
Heard that alright, Kilmarnock was it?
Plus, was it reported somewhere that he has a clause in his contract allowing him to leave Rovers for free if a cross channel club came in for him?
Dunno about the clause in his contract but the couple of press reports I read said the club was St Johnstone
17/06/2011, 11:07 AM
Class LTID, but t'will all be different when they get that new fangled electic thingy in Cork ;);)*
* for the benifit of our Cork friends I am jokingJoking or not, I can't wait.
By the way, did you mean eclectic or electric?
marinobohs
17/06/2011, 11:35 AM
Joking or not, I can't wait.
By the way, did you mean eclectic or electric?
I believe the wiring is in place and as soon as the man that does the light switch training finishes in Kerry......:cool: news not so good on the running water though so dont seal the well up just yet :)
Dillonman
17/06/2011, 12:48 PM
No money at Dundalk for new signings as per Ciaran Bond(board member) and the Dundalk Democrat!
22/06/2011, 8:12 PM
Richard Brush to Shams.