View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

born2bwild
24/02/2011, 11:55 AM
It has been for a while now.

Well, yeah, since Fingal went tits up. I'm holding out hope for Drogheda, though.

Jicked
24/02/2011, 11:59 AM
Bull****.

Why do you think that?

MMVIII
24/02/2011, 12:01 PM
Why do you think that?

http://amix.dk/uploads/big_fish.jpg

We got a big one Captain...

marinobohs
24/02/2011, 12:11 PM
The Rovers budget is no doubt the highest in the league if that's what you're wondering, but although I hate to break it to you, at our AGM it will be confirmed as being affordable.

.........Just as it was confirmed that the budgets were affordable at the AGM of Shels 2000, shams 2004, Drogheda, Cork, Bohs And as we all know boards never ever get this type of thing wrong :rolleyes: the more things change.........

Dan6189
24/02/2011, 12:19 PM
Still saying in the sun this morning bohs have got Williams coz he's gone to Celtic in July and rovers wanted full season but that both clubs still have offers on for finn but he's waiting on crystal palace to see if they are taking him

Jicked
24/02/2011, 12:19 PM
Do you really think Shamrock Rovers are about to go the way of Shels in 2006 or Bohs 2010?

ashbournebohs
24/02/2011, 12:44 PM
Do you really think Shamrock Rovers are about to go the way of Shels in 2000 or Bohs 2010?

Well you were banging on about all the money you brought in last year through prize money etc and your euro run but can you tell me here and now if you came even close to breaking even or is it a case that your figures are a state secret while you ****e on about every other clubs finances.Given that many budgets are down and you are signing a greater number of full timers this year with far far reduced income this season unless your operation has scaled back significantly that break even scenario will be lot harder to attain lower wages or not

24/02/2011, 12:50 PM
Do you really think Shamrock Rovers are about to go the way of Shels in 2000 or Bohs 2010?

Or even Shamrock Rovers of 2005?

Jicked
24/02/2011, 12:55 PM
Well you were banging on about all the money you brought in last year through prize money etc and your euro run but can you tell me here and now if you came even close to breaking even or is it a case that your figures are a state secret while you ****e on about every other clubs finances.Given that many budgets are down and you are signing a greater number of full timers this year with far far reduced income this season unless your operation has scaled back significantly that break even scenario will be lot harder to attain lower wages or not

The reason I was "banging on" about the prize money factor I thought was pretty clear.

Some people will say, like you do, that we're signing loads of players.

We're actually just replacing players we let go last year (Barrett, Baker, Fenn, Stewart replaced by Kildfuff, Shep, Kelly and GON)

Perhaps you think Shepperd or Kilduff would be on bigger wages than Baker or Fenn. Most people wouldn't, most would guess they're on lower wages, but if you thought they were being paid more, we also had a couple of windfalls such as the Juve TV money which wouldn't have been budgeted for.

Like all clubs, not just in the LoI, reaching a break even point will be bloody difficult, but there's absolutely no reason to suspect we're going to miss out spectacularly on that and us going down the Shels 2006/Bohs 2010 road doesn't look like happening despite the hopes and dreams of Bohs fans.

Jicked
24/02/2011, 12:56 PM
Or even Shamrock Rovers of 2005?

Bohs/Shels would be a better example if League Champions overspending is the accusation made.

HulaHoop
24/02/2011, 12:58 PM

The 2010 accounts will be on the CRO website later on in the year. If you would like to see the accounts before that date then please click here. (http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/members/about-membership)

24/02/2011, 1:12 PM
What?

de bowez
24/02/2011, 1:14 PM
What?

Massively reduced prize money is the major one.

Jicked
24/02/2011, 1:17 PM
What?

I presume he's referring to LoI prize-money, which if we were to win the league again would be down €100k on last season. Blow for Rovers alright even if we did win the league, but as far as far, far reduced income, surely some of that €100k would be made up in the difference of playing Europa League last year and Champions League qualifiers this year.

24/02/2011, 1:31 PM
surely some of that €100k would be made up in the difference of playing Europa League last year and Champions League qualifiers this year.You think you'll make more money from Europe this year than from playing Juventus last year?

24/02/2011, 1:40 PM
so nobody has a clue about how much Rovers' budget is this year but think they will be told it is affordable.

Grand so. Carry on.

24/02/2011, 1:40 PM
I presume he's referring to LoI prize-money, which if we were to win the league again would be down €100k on last season. Blow for Rovers alright even if we did win the league, but as far as far, far reduced income, surely some of that €100k would be made up in the difference of playing Europa League last year and Champions League qualifiers this year.
OK, I figured that, but in reality you don't receive prize money until the following year so in terms of the 2011 budget we'll be operating with a windfall of prize money (200k instead of 100k I believe, since I'm informed we budgeted for second).

Assuming we budget for second place again, it'll be for 50k instead of the expected 100k - meaning "reduced income" of perhaps 4-5% of total income? It's still a large amount of money but it's hardly impossible to bridge with increased matchday and commercial income. If anything, it'd be a failure if the club couldn't build on the success of last season and make significant advances in both, but I can understand the need to budget prudently in that regard.

The fact is that it is the well-run clubs with reasonably large fanbases (Rovers, Sligo, Dundalk) that are least vulnerable to drops in (supposedly) windfall payments.

24/02/2011, 1:42 PM
You think you'll make more money from Europe this year than from playing Juventus last year?

i see the point your making Schumi but the participation money alone for the CL would run close to the all sources of income generated from their run last year including their game against Juve, i would estimate.

24/02/2011, 1:45 PM
OK, I figured that, but in reality you don't receive prize money until the following year so in terms of the 2011 budget we'll be operating with a windfall of prize money (200k instead of 100k I believe, since I'm informed we budgeted for second).

Assuming we budget for second place again, it'll be for 50k instead of the expected 100k - meaning "reduced income" of perhaps 4-5% of total income? It's still a large amount of money but it's hardly impossible to bridge with increased matchday and commercial income. If anything, it'd be a failure if the club couldn't build on the success of last season and make significant advances in both, but I can understand the need to budget prudently in that regard.

The fact is that it is the well-run clubs with reasonably large fanbases (Rovers, Sligo, Dundalk) that are least vulnerable to drops in (supposedly) windfall payments.

good infor CD, thanks, but surely - given the number of season tickets Rovers sell and the state of the economy at the moment - it will be nigh on impossible for Rovers to significantly increase their matchday and/or commercial income?

Rasputin
24/02/2011, 1:58 PM
And the reason for our budget being the biggest in the league will have more to do with cutbacks elsewhere than an increase in our budget. People seem to want to talk about our 5 strikers being overkill, but Sheppherd, Kelly, Kilduff and Gary O'Neill have replaced Fenn, Stewart, Baker and Barrett, and I'd imagine only Gary O'Neill
would be on similar wages to that which established players like Baker would have been on. Add in last year's increased prize-money from winning the league, reaching the Cup Final, a good European run, the Juve TV money and selling over 2,500 season tickets the last couple of years and I don't see any reason to think everything's not fine. With other clubs finally working off sustainable budgets (well...) it's the perfect chance for us to capitalise having been doing the same for the last few years.
This is all well and good but what happens when the accounts come in this season and your sizeable debt from last year has increased again?
What was last years debt about, was it around 600k or so, ive forgotten tbh.

24/02/2011, 2:04 PM
i see the point your making Schumi but the participation money alone for the CL would run close to the all sources of income generated from their run last year including their game against Juve, i would estimate.
I don't think so. Each round in the CL is 130k or something to that effect? Two rounds of the Europa League were worth 90k apiece (I think) with about 200k in bonus TV money from our friend Berlusconi. I think we'd need to reach the Europa play-offs to even match that without a bumper TV payday?

good infor CD, thanks, but surely - given the number of season tickets Rovers sell and the state of the economy at the moment - it will be nigh on impossible for Rovers to significantly increase their matchday and/or commercial income?
You'd think so, but it's not really the way it's been going, is it? It's still cheaper to go to a football match and bring home a bottle of wine than it is to go to the pub for a few hours - even more so when you factor in babysitters. People are cutting down but they're finding cheaper ways to entertain themselves, not going without entertainment entirely.

Not to mention a certain Dublin club that recently went bust and may have a few fans up for grabs :shut:

24/02/2011, 2:06 PM

I thought the Italian TV money was worth more than the money from UEFA last year, the CL money is hardly that much bigger?

Edit: What Charlie Darwin said!

24/02/2011, 2:08 PM
Fingal CC no likey South Dublin CC... ;) plus three of them sound like theyre off to the Drogs this year (kiss of death for Drogs imo). That leaves about 4 fans for us and Pats and UCD to fight over. I say we give two to UCD and have a 3-way deathmatch for the other two.

I thought the CL money was more than 130k. You'd think i'd know, eh? I still think it will be hard for Rovers to increase their attendances significantly this season.

So the bottom line though is that Rovers are clearly fcked. :)

24/02/2011, 2:10 PM
I thought the Italian TV money was worth more than the money from UEFA last year, the CL money is hardly that much bigger?

Edit: What Charlie Darwin said!

yep - im clearly underestimating the amount of sponds that Juve brought in last year and overestimating the rewards for CL participation. Either way, it does suggest a drop in income this year.

ashbournebohs
24/02/2011, 2:24 PM
All very relevant re the signing or replacing of players but there are a lot of other factors at play.For instance players bonuses(now our rovers brethern will insist they dont exist as they are the best run club) which eat into prizemoney and as i stated earlier reduced income means a lot of things.Gate receipts will be lower at a lot of clubs rovers included as people feel the pinch and the perception that the league is going backwards.Sponsorship will be down and tv money from rte etc will undoubtably be reduced.
Thats just a few off the top of my head and dont get me wrong they will be the same for all clubs maybe a bit les for rovers because they do their business very well .The point im making is that i dont see rovers budget coming down too much versus other clubs and their income may very well come down a bit.They wont go bang theyve done that already but watch out for the losses as they can build up and rovers have no asset so they would have to fold and set up another SRFC holding company and start again.

marinobohs
24/02/2011, 4:02 PM
Do you really think Shamrock Rovers are about to go the way of Shels in 2006 or Bohs 2010?

NO, Jicked because you dont own a ground to borrow on. Over extending budgets appear to be the norn for teams that win the LOI and (in fairness without knowing contract details) it looks as if shams could be going down a similar route.
The point of my post was that "its within budget" is a refrain familar to those assosiated with all the clubs mentioned - shels,shams, drogs,cork, bohs - until the bottom fell out.
Would be almost refreshing to hear a board come out and say we signed so and so but it is outside our budget :o

Most clubs are never far fom financial meltdown and increasing budgets at a time of economic disaster (and associated difficulties in income maintenance) is hardly the smartest fiscal approach.

Jicked
24/02/2011, 4:17 PM
NO, Jicked because you dont own a ground to borrow on. Over extending budgets appear to be the norn for teams that win the LOI and (in fairness without knowing contract details) it looks as if shams could be going down a similar route.
The point of my post was that "its within budget" is a refrain familar to those assosiated with all the clubs mentioned - shels,shams, drogs,cork, bohs - until the bottom fell out.
Would be almost refreshing to hear a board come out and say we signed so and so but it is outside our budget :o

Most clubs are never far fom financial meltdown and increasing budgets at a time of economic disaster (and associated difficulties in income maintenance) is hardly the smartest fiscal approach.

I think the biggest reassurance (for us, biggest disappointment for Bohs fans it seems) is how Rovers passed on players this pre-season. Even though we could afford certain players, once they were out of our budget we walked away and let them join rival clubs. Gary O'Neill, Ken Oman are two we know about for sure, I'd imagine there was more. That shows it's very much a different situation to say Bohs 12 months ago, where they felt they had to beat us to signing certain players, at any cost.

Fivesilver
24/02/2011, 4:32 PM
We're in talks with Brian Cash according to the Star

Thank god for that :pray:
It took us several seasons to get rid of him - I live in fear of waking up some morning and finding out he's back in the Showgies.

superjohnny
24/02/2011, 4:36 PM
I think the big plus for rovers is that they have shifted 2500 season tickets already for this campaign, i dont remember a time at shels, drogs, cork or bohs sold a 1/4 of that..

El-Pietro
24/02/2011, 4:58 PM

Just to remind everyone, when Cork City won the league in 05, we did it quite cheaply.

We didn't start to overextend until Rico was kicked out for being too frugal.

24/02/2011, 5:01 PM
Daniel McDonnell says Finn to Rovers is confirmed, as well as ex-Man Utd youth Conor McCormack who's been on trial all pre-season.

24/02/2011, 5:02 PM
Ronan Finn and Conor McCormack announced as signed for Rovers. 5/6 on them winning the league will get some of my cash shortly.

24/02/2011, 5:09 PM
Too slow Longfordian :p

Also Jamaican keeper Ryan Thompson: http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/news/35-news/1812-hoops-add-trio-to-squad

24/02/2011, 5:17 PM
Quiet Darwin you crackpot, you think man evolved from monkeys ffs

hoopy
24/02/2011, 5:41 PM
Conor McCormack who's been on trial all pre-season.

Very impressive pre season, excellent cover. Sean O'Connor to Pats.

Guinney
24/02/2011, 6:02 PM
Would've liked McCormack to play for us as he lives near Dundalk. But Rovers have some squad.

Doomofman
24/02/2011, 6:11 PM

On loan?

Dan6189
24/02/2011, 9:20 PM
Wheres the socky rumour coming from hoopy

PartySaint
25/02/2011, 11:15 AM
Wheres the socky rumour coming from hoopy

Hopefully a very unreliable source, Soccy is muck wouldn't want him anywhere near our club

hoopy
25/02/2011, 12:01 PM
A mate of his told me that's where he'll likely end up. I'd have to ask you Pats lads but he seemed to think that SOC had already trained with Pats this week?

PartySaint
25/02/2011, 12:39 PM
A mate of his told me that's where he'll likely end up. I'd have to ask you Pats lads but he seemed to think that SOC had already trained with Pats this week?

Didn't hear that hoopy, Heard he might be going to Bohs, Hopefully thats where he ends up

25/02/2011, 2:39 PM
Hopefully a very unreliable source, Soccy is muck wouldn't want him anywhere near our club

I think this calls for a rendition of "That's why you took him back, that's why you took him back":cool2:

Dan6189
25/02/2011, 2:43 PM
Yeah I was never too fond of him when we had him in inchicore always bit of a sulky fecker and I couldn't see pete putting up with that.

Buile Shuibhne
25/02/2011, 3:43 PM
Ollie Cahill signed by Bohs today

de bowez
25/02/2011, 4:18 PM
Ollie Cahill signed by Bohs today

Rumour that Brennan has also signed. Not happy with either signing.

25/02/2011, 5:40 PM
both signings just totally fcking unnecessary imo.

bluewhitearmy
25/02/2011, 9:01 PM
Corie Tracy played for us in iour friendly with Bray tonight what do people make of him?

25/02/2011, 9:56 PM

After his behaviour in the stand at Inchicore when we played Rovers last year this better not be true. He's a disgrace and I don't ever want to see him in a red and white shirt again. (Unless it's Derry or Sligo obviously, then I couldn't give a toss!!!)

Captain2007
25/02/2011, 9:57 PM
both signings just totally fcking unnecessary imo.

agree with you there Skstu and throw in Liam Burns also !

Captain2007
25/02/2011, 10:00 PM
Corie Tracy played for us in iour friendly with Bray tonight what do people make of him?

Looked good for 21 minutes, deserved Red card, lashed out at Bray full-back after getting awarded a free-kick, Corie is from Bray so he might have got a wee bit excited...