View Full Version : Transfer rumours
The Lep
04/11/2010, 6:36 PM
That is exactly what happened as told to me by the man himself.
Like a lot of others on here when talking about Bohs, Lep is talking through his hole.
No im not. Asking the chap to take a 20% cut in wages and telling him that if he does then he will defo have a contract for the following year. What happend at the end of the year after he took the cut? He was told that he wasnt wanted anymore. Is that a way to treat a bohs legend?
White Horse
04/11/2010, 6:40 PM
No im not. Asking the chap to take a 20% cut in wages and telling him that if he does then he will defo have a contract for the following year. What happend at the end of the year after he took the cut? He was told that he wasnt wanted anymore. Is that a way to treat a bohs legend?
Let's see how Fingal treat their "legends" when the property developer money dries up.
The Lep
04/11/2010, 6:44 PM
You dont have to worry about our Legends :)
Alan Keane re-signed for us today.
Apparently Sligo are re-signing there entire squad again for the forthcoming season as well as adding on a few more. Heard rumours they are after Stephen O'Donnell, Seamus Conneelly and Karl Sheppard from GUFC?
marinobohs
05/11/2010, 10:18 AM
First I heard of that, and know personally that Crowey still has a lot of time for Bohs but if true what do you suggest ? contract for life based on what he did 3/4/5 years earlier ? Glenn is and always will be a Bohs legend but unfortunately the feeling was his time was up as a player at the club, Nutsey said at the time how difficult a decision it was but most concurred the decision was right for the club.
Will not detract from the great memories both Glenn and Bohs have of his time at Dalymount.
redobit
05/11/2010, 10:23 AM
Apparently Sligo are re-signing there entire squad again for the forthcoming season as well as adding on a few more. Heard rumours they are after Stephen O'Donnell, Seamus Conneelly and Karl Sheppard from GUFC?
Hard to know how he would do in our team. Quigley would fit in nicely tho I think.
More signings to be confirmed in the next week apparently, before the Cup Final.
Ezeikial
05/11/2010, 11:27 AM
More signings to be confirmed in the next week apparently, before the Cup Final.
Chris Turner time!
05/11/2010, 12:48 PM
Hard to know how he would do in our team. Quigley would fit in nicely tho I think.
Sheppard would just be a better version of Blinkhorn, wouldn't he?
srfc1928
05/11/2010, 12:55 PM
Sheppard would just be a better version of Blinkhorn, wouldn't he?
No.
Would much rather Blinkhorn over sheppard, dont want him at all.
Blinkhorns hold up play and distribution is top class. Also when he got a run of games in the team he started to score on a consistent basis.
We are also linked with Jason Byrne in todays star, dont want him either.
thesilverfox
05/11/2010, 12:58 PM
Jason Byrne possibly coming to the Showgrounds if todays Star is to be believed.
05/11/2010, 1:03 PM
No.
Would much rather Blinkhorn over sheppard, dont want him at all.
Blinkhorns hold up play and distribution is top class. Also when he got a run of games in the team he started to score on a consistent basis.
We are also linked with Jason Byrne in todays star, dont want him either.
Blinkhorn's a good player but any time I've seen Galway Sheppard's show the ability to score goals on his own and link up with the midfield, which is Sligo's real area of strength. Obviously I'd be delighted if you didn't sign him though :D
poster
05/11/2010, 1:52 PM
Apparently Sligo are re-signing there entire squad again for the forthcoming season as well as adding on a few more.
Won't be entire squad, three, four, maybe five will depart. We do have a budget. :cyclops:
Surely like the others who took the cut he got the contract extention added into the ammended contract when the pay cut happened? Seems very strange.
Rasputin
05/11/2010, 2:02 PM
Blinkhorn's a good player but any time I've seen Galway Sheppard's show the ability to score goals on his own and link up with the midfield, which is Sligo's real area of strength. Obviously I'd be delighted if you didn't sign him though :D
TBH both players have a very different style of play.
The Lep
05/11/2010, 2:06 PM
First I heard of that, and know personally that Crowey still has a lot of time for Bohs but if true what do you suggest ? contract for life based on what he did 3/4/5 years earlier ? Glenn is and always will be a Bohs legend but unfortunately the feeling was his time was up as a player at the club, Nutsey said at the time how difficult a decision it was but most concurred the decision was right for the club.
Will not detract from the great memories both Glenn and Bohs have of his time at Dalymount.
I fully agree with your post so the club should have been up front with him and told him the truth instead of asking him to sign up for the pay cut knowing full well they wernt going to keep him on. Fair enough if players had to take pay cuts but to get a player to agree to it on false pretence isnt the way to treat any player.
They've very little in common. I'd say sheppard might suit Sligo's style a bit better but persoanlly, I'd prefer Blinkhorn at Pats. Neither has a great goals record though
Today's Star reckons Dave McAllister is off to Sheffield United. I'd be gutted to see him leave. He'd be the player I'd like us to keep most
05/11/2010, 2:12 PM
Surely Sligo's style would be more suited to playing balls into space for Sheppard than using Blinkhorn as a target man?
Dave McAllister to Sheffield United would be interesting. Didn't they pick up Stephen Quinn from Pats too?
Rasputin
05/11/2010, 2:15 PM
Surely Sligo's style would be more suited to playing balls into space for Sheppard than using Blinkhorn as a target man?
Id agree with that, worked very well with Podge.
Fivesilver
05/11/2010, 3:29 PM
Don't see why it would have to be a straight choice between Blinkhorn and Sheppard, but if it was, I'd be happy enough keeping Blinks.
Don't particularly want Crowe.
05/11/2010, 6:10 PM
Blinkhorn and Sheppard would be a great front 2 imo
danthesaint
05/11/2010, 6:14 PM
Derek Doyle, Ryan Guy, Derek Pender, Danny North, Dave Mulcahy, Chris Bennion all have signed again for next season apparently
Davey McAllister is off to Sheff Utd according to the star
poster
05/11/2010, 6:46 PM
Now I don't watch GU regularly, but am I the only one who thinks Sheppard is massively over rated and is living on his goals V Bohs in the live game earlier in the season?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/11/2010, 8:55 PM
Now I don't watch GU regularly, but am I the only one who thinks Sheppard is massively over rated and is living on his goals V Bohs in the live game earlier in the season?
No you're not
bluemovie
05/11/2010, 11:46 PM
Also there was a rumour going around Jedward are lined up for a concert in the YDC. Laughed when I heard that one :p
Feck the concert,sign the feckers up and stick them at centre half.
I've heard they can be dodgy (ahem) under pressure.
06/11/2010, 12:09 AM
I think he's got huge talent but he has clearly suffered carrying the burden for a team who flash between brilliant and awful. When he came on against Manchester United, he just didn't seem to have any fear, running at Vidic and flashing shots from 25 yards. I think he might end up as a winger if he goes to England - he has that natural belief.
But for Sligo or for Rovers he'd be the kind of player you'd want in Europe against nominally superior opposition. It's a pity we didn't have Dessie against Juventus because he's got the same tendency to back himself.
bingoballs
06/11/2010, 9:55 AM
Any sign of Tipton re-signing for Dundalk lads? Thought he did very well for ye since he joined.
Infadel
06/11/2010, 12:40 PM
Any sign of Tipton re-signing for Dundalk lads? Thought he did very well for ye since he joined.
At the moment he's trying to find suitable accomodation here in Ireland so he can move his family over and sort out school for his kids
GUFCghost
06/11/2010, 12:48 PM
Stephen O'Donnell has said he will remain loyal to United,Sligo have tried to sign Conneelly before but he said he wanted to finish college and Sheppard will most likely be going to stoke or another English club.
Jicked
06/11/2010, 12:49 PM
Strange one, Pats website included in the list of players re-signed Daniel North, but on facebook he's saying he hasn't signed anything.
1895ringsend
06/11/2010, 1:15 PM
Stephen O'Donnell has said he will remain loyal to United,Sligo have tried to sign Conneelly before but he said he wanted to finish college and Sheppard will most likely be going to stoke or another English club.
Difficult to say what will happen if Karl Sheppard dose go back across the water. When he left Shels to go to Everton he was being tipped to be playing for Ireland by now. For whatever reason it didnt work out and Moyes released him. Perhaps hes found his level playing here. I think he prob will fancy another crack at it over there but a another season in the league of Ireland won't do him any harm at all.
Strange one, Pats website included in the list of players re-signed Daniel North, but on facebook he's saying he hasn't signed anything.
Why you friends with Danny North? If you see later in that thread a Pats fan asked him and he replied that the post has nothing to do with football.
poster
06/11/2010, 5:46 PM
Why you friends with Danny North? .
Why are YOU friends with him?
Jicked
06/11/2010, 7:46 PM
Why you friends with Danny North? If you see later in that thread a Pats fan asked him and he replied that the post has nothing to do with football.
I don't know Danny North, but am (actual real life, non-football) friends with another Pats player, I'm sure you're friends with him too, and Danny North is saying on his page that he hasn't signed anything when someone mentioned he's staying having seen it on the Pats site.
Why are YOU friends with him?
I'm not. I think LOI fans being facebook friends with players they don't actually now is weird and creepy
Jicked
06/11/2010, 8:36 PM
Like I said, I do know the player in question for years and have done for years before he was playing LoI football. Just thought it was of interest that Pats would have listed him as signed if the player doesn't think so.
poster
06/11/2010, 8:46 PM
Oh right Dodge..
07/11/2010, 3:16 AM
I don't know Danny North, but am (actual real life, non-football) friends with another Pats player, I'm sure you're friends with him too, and Danny North is saying on his page that he hasn't signed anything when someone mentioned he's staying having seen it on the Pats site.
I think we have a mutual friend...
Jicked
07/11/2010, 3:33 AM
I think we have a mutual friend...
http://www.worldhum.com/images/c_uploads/Its_A_Small_World_thumb.jpg
07/11/2010, 3:55 AM
http://www.worldhum.com/images/c_uploads/Its_A_Small_World_thumb.jpg
http://cmdhar.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/friendship1.jpg?w=420&h=336
El-Pietro
07/11/2010, 2:56 PM
not to take this off topic but Liam Kearney is supposed to be in talks with Tommy Dunne.
celticV3
07/11/2010, 10:19 PM
Heard a rumour of Chris turner going to a Motherwell, Anyone else heard anything?
Ezeikial
08/11/2010, 12:27 AM
Heard a rumour of Chris turner going to a Motherwell, Anyone else heard anything?
CT really likes to get contracts agreed at this time of the year.
Him and Neale Fenn should set up as players agents
L.T.F.C.
08/11/2010, 1:22 AM
I think Jedward were lined up for the UCD Ball this year. They withdrew after rumours of imminent egg peltings surfaced. So that's probably a no, thanks.
They couldn't cos they had a gig that night.
celticV3
08/11/2010, 1:39 AM
How long is his contract with Shams, would they get much in the way of a fee?
08/11/2010, 9:09 AM
I think the Crowe discussion has run its course (as do others, it seems!), so it's gone to rubbish (http://foot.ie/threads/143799-Early-transfer-rumours). Any further talk can go through PM.
Also, I've changed the thread title to just "Transfer rumours" cos we're getting into full swing now.
Agreed but not signed apparently
08/11/2010, 12:49 PM
Dave McAllister to Sheffield United sould be confirmed soon
Fair play to him...strange one though...i wouldnt have thought he would be good enough to cut it in england(although Sheff utd are terrible at the moment)
08/11/2010, 2:52 PM
Good luck to him - shame to lose a quality player from the league but he deserves the chance to prove himself at a higher level.
Fair play to him...strange one though...i wouldnt have thought he would be good enough to cut it in england(although Sheff utd are terrible at the moment)
You probably haven't seen enough of him. Terrific player, with all the tools a pro player needs (technique, speed, strength etc etc)