View Full Version : Transfer rumours
02/02/2011, 9:38 PM
How much did Bohs get for Madden?
"A six figure sum" is the most specific I've heard.
He ain't great.
Seems to be the opinion of him alright. Will get a look at him on Sunday
Dillonman
02/02/2011, 10:25 PM
Seems to be the opinion of him alright. Will get a look at him on Sunday
Hes this seasons Garry Breen/Thomas Heary. He wasnt great tonight. Lundged into a few challenges and his passing is alot to be desired about. He will cost us games if he is signed. Hector was brilliant, so was Keith Ward.
Ezeikial
02/02/2011, 11:40 PM
Any news on where Killian Brennan will be playing next season?
Indications (from Killian Brennan) are that he was offered a deal by Sligo and that he has also had talks with Fingal...........
..........but then any player still looking for a deal will say that!
Dublin Red
03/02/2011, 3:57 PM
Find it a bit odd nobody has been speculating about that transfer on here. Would love to know a better estimate of the figure...
I've heard its far less than that. 60k was the fee. Carlisle don't usually spend six figure sums on ANYONE, let alone unproven irish lads
Hitman
03/02/2011, 4:26 PM
I've heard its far less than that. 60k was the fee. Carlisle don't usually spend six figure sums on ANYONE, let alone unproven irish lads
Not since Roddy left anyway.
Ezeikial
03/02/2011, 11:32 PM
Ken Oman to Shamrock Rovers is the word from a well informed source at Dundalk Fans Forum tonight
Dan6189
04/02/2011, 7:49 AM
Fee for madden was supposed to be 100k, rumour had it Celtic offered a lot more.
marinobohs
04/02/2011, 11:03 AM
Fee for madden was supposed to be 100k, rumour had it Celtic offered a lot more.
I recall Aidan fitzmaurice mentioned 100 K was figure agreed for Madden in Herald last weekend (so it must be true :) ) 100 K was the figure Celtic offered (and was accepted) earlier before deal broke down due to lack of agreement on personal terms. Rumour on Bohs forum that Oman has signed for Fingal.
Dan6189
04/02/2011, 11:46 AM
I recall Aidan fitzmaurice mentioned 100 K was figure agreed for Madden in Herald last weekend (so it must be true :) ) 100 K was the figure Celtic offered (and was accepted) earlier before deal broke down due to lack of agreement on personal terms. Rumour on Bohs forum that Oman has signed for Fingal.
Still don't reckon madden was worth it, he,ll be another Roy o Donovan in England
eamo1
04/02/2011, 12:01 PM
Ger Hanley has re-signed for Mervue for another year.Had a trial with St.Johnstone along with 2 other LOI players but none were signed up.
Oldred
04/02/2011, 12:34 PM
Still signing players they can't pay??????????
The Lep
04/02/2011, 12:38 PM
Did you miss the bit where it says Rumour? On the same forum it says he signed for Rovers.
Oldred
04/02/2011, 1:16 PM
Yes I did. And I also saw the sequence in which they were posted! Both rumours I'm aware. But have you not also signed other players this week? Surely this financial backing was secured before starting to spend it????
04/02/2011, 6:02 PM
Bobby Ryan to Fingal from what I hear,
The Lep
04/02/2011, 6:13 PM
Yes I did. And I also saw the sequence in which they were posted! Both rumours I'm aware. But have you not also signed other players this week? Surely this financial backing was secured before starting to spend it????
Like it says, rumours.
CSFShels
04/02/2011, 10:44 PM
Has Ger Rowe joined Drogheda? Wikipedia has it down as such but obviously it not being the most amazing source, and Drogheda being in turmoil points to the opposite.
bullit
04/02/2011, 10:57 PM
Has Ger Rowe joined Drogheda? Wikipedia has it down as such but obviously it not being the most amazing source, and Drogheda being in turmoil points to the opposite.
I hear he is training up there alright.
Are you worried he might turn up at Shels?? :D
CSFShels
04/02/2011, 11:06 PM
I'd probably be happy enough with him as a signing.
bullit
05/02/2011, 1:54 AM
I'd probably be happy enough with him as a signing.
A good squad player,and a springer from the bench that you would have hope in to score a goal!!,but thats all.A likeable guy who will do his best, but no more than that. Thats Gerard Rowe.(imho)
60k was the fee.
source? Anything ive heard and read has ranged from 90k to 100k plus add ons.
I dont think he'll do too well either by the way, Dan6189, though he has a better chance of a career with Carlisle than he had with Celtic.
05/02/2011, 8:10 AM
Why should he have to provide a source while you don't?
I assume your source - as with anything where you say "I heard" - is just the Bohs forum? Why don't you just say as much rather than putting yourself out as someone in the know?
Rasputin
05/02/2011, 8:47 AM
I assume your source - as with anything where you say "I heard" - is just the Bohs forum? Why don't you just say as much rather than putting yourself out as someone in the know?
Ahh here, 90% of the guess work on here comes from respective forums and passed as Rumours they "heard".
Bit sad you are making an issue of it with the one poster, oh and what a coincidence he happens to support Bohs aswell.
05/02/2011, 10:56 AM
Ahh here, 90% of the guess work on here comes from respective forums and passed as Rumours they "heard".
A fair bit comes from actually talking to people involved in clubs and hearing stories at games. That's fair enough as "I heard" and has often been very accurate. If it's on a forum - and say, you're in Canada and unable to chat to people at games - I think it's only fair to say that you read it on a forum somewhere. Lets people weigh up the rumour better.
Rasputin
05/02/2011, 1:14 PM
A fair bit comes from actually talking to people involved in clubs and hearing stories at games. That's fair enough as "I heard" and has often been very accurate. If it's on a forum - and say, you're in Canada and unable to chat to people at games - I think it's only fair to say that you read it on a forum somewhere. Lets people weigh up the rumour better.
You have heard about the major leaps forward in technology such as telephones and the whole raft of innovations such as skype and facebook?
Is it really beyond the bounds of possibility that a Bohs exile wouldnt have regular contact with Bohs fans in the loop at home?
05/02/2011, 2:06 PM
To be fair, we have an exile in the wilderness of Galways that's "in the know" or is that a "know it all"? Either way, he's definitely a smart arse.
Sorry what was the question?
you'd really need to give over Pineapple. I read it in the newspapers and i also read it on the Bohs messageboard. I also converse on facebook with a load of Bohs fans that are friends of mine. At least Rasputin has the intelligence to realise that i have plenty of resources. The very fact that i put down the words "heard and read" suggests that i am not in the know. It also shows that what i was posting was not supposed to be taken as the absolute indisputable truth. If i was in the know i would have made a statement like Dodges. Now what effin connection does he have to Bohs other than, hmmm, newspapers, and stalking messageboards. Certainly a lot less of an "in" than i might have. And as a matter of fact i wasnt actually demanding he provide a source - i was curious as to how or where he had heard it and why he had stated it so definitively.
Are you going to address Dodge in the same fashion?
Congratulations on making an absolute tool of yourself.
05/02/2011, 2:22 PM
Mons have a few new faces in the squad for todays game against UCD:
Monaghan United: Shanahan, Whelan, P Byrne, McMahon, Grimes, Fitzgerald, A Byrne, McCrosssan, Reilly, McNamara, Haran.
Subs: Sava, Lynch, Rogers, R Brennan, Barrett, O’Brien, S Brennan
I take it that's Dave Rogers, Graham Barrett and Fabio O'Brien on the bench? Also Aaron Shanahan of Longford Town in nets?
total hoofball
05/02/2011, 2:35 PM
Mons have a few new faces in the squad for todays game against UCD:
Monaghan United: Shanahan, Whelan, P Byrne, McMahon, Grimes, Fitzgerald, A Byrne, McCrosssan, Reilly, McNamara, Haran.
Subs: Sava, Lynch, Rogers, R Brennan, Barrett, O’Brien, S Brennan
I take it that's Dave Rogers, Graham Barrett and Fabio O'Brien on the bench? Also Aaron Shanahan of Longford Town in nets?
Barrett = Shane Barrett (ex FORAS, Drogs, Longford), the others are who they are.
Am I correct that 'P. Byrne' is Philip Byrne and Fitzgerald is Shane Fitzgerald?
Anyway, that has the looks of a very useful squad for Monaghan this season.
05/02/2011, 2:36 PM
Think it may be Shane Barrett. P Byrne could be Philip Byrne that was with us last season, hopefully not for their sake and yeah I assume that's Aaron Shanahan. Their sub keeper this year probably. Sava is better.
05/02/2011, 3:51 PM
Good guessing guys. Yeah philly Byrne, shane barrett and shane fitz. Shanahan was on in first half and was grand but its hard to beat gabby.
05/02/2011, 4:07 PM
He's capable of magnificent saves and horrendous blunders. Could be a decent sub keeper though alright. Philly Byrne was injured pretty much the whole season with us and was poor when he did play.
05/02/2011, 5:12 PM
Chris Breen any good anyone?
I vaguely remember him being decent but could be confusing with someone else.
05/02/2011, 5:47 PM
Chris Breen any good anyone?
I vaguely remember him being decent but could be confusing with someone else.
Yes, very fast player not really a goalscorer though. Spent the majority of the last 2 years travelling around Austrailia and only managed about 5 appearances for us last season.
Word is he's turning ye down anyway to stay with us.
Out of interest, how big would ye say your budget is this season?
05/02/2011, 5:48 PM
Yes, very fast player not really a goalscorer though. Spent the majority of the last 2 years travelling around Austrailia and only managed about 5 appearances for us last season.
Might not mean much but he played and scored in a friendly today for us.
05/02/2011, 5:53 PM
Might not mean much but he played and scored in a friendly today for us.
Yeah I hear that alright, I think he is back up this evening and playing for us tomorrow against the muckers.
05/02/2011, 5:55 PM
Looked tidy today but it's hard enough to tell in pre season (although I can confirm that Rory Gaffney has less business at Mervue than Messi would have at Limerick!)
He would actually suit us down to the ground then as we need a winger, Stevo and Sheehan are in theory at least 40 goals between them.
Is he a local lad? He'd hardly be travelling down to Limerick to play...
More than Harps, less than Shels. :)
I wouldn't have a clue about actual numbers to be honest, just that there's no crazy money being thrown around. Like for example AFAIK Vinny Sullivan was told where to go before he wound up at Foras.
05/02/2011, 7:52 PM
Looked tidy today but it's hard enough to tell in pre season (although I can confirm that Rory Gaffney has less business at Mervue than Messi would have at Limerick!)
Gaffney is quality, should be in the prem.
He would actually suit us down to the ground then as we need a winger, Stevo and Sheehan are in theory at least 40 goals between them.
Is SteveO definitely signed? Rumour has it Kenny is talking to him.
Is he a local lad? He'd hardly be travelling down to Limerick to play...
From Ballybofey, I think digs are part of the deal on the table.
More than Harps, less than Shels. :)
I wouldn't have a clue about actual numbers to be honest, just that there's no crazy money being thrown around. Like for example AFAIK Vinny Sullivan was told where to go before he wound up at Foras.
Not hard to have a higher budget than us in fairness, there is Ulster Senior League sides with bigger budgets than us :(
The Lep
05/02/2011, 7:59 PM
you'd really need to give over Pineapple. I read it in the newspapers and i also read it on the Bohs messageboard. I also converse on facebook with a load of Bohs fans that are friends of mine. At least Rasputin has the intelligence to realise that i have plenty of resources. The very fact that i put down the words "heard and read" suggests that i am not in the know. It also shows that what i was posting was not supposed to be taken as the absolute indisputable truth. If i was in the know i would have made a statement like Dodges. Now what effin connection does he have to Bohs other than, hmmm, newspapers, and stalking messageboards. Certainly a lot less of an "in" than i might have. And as a matter of fact i wasnt actually demanding he provide a source - i was curious as to how or where he had heard it and why he had stated it so definitively.
Are you going to address Dodge in the same fashion?
Congratulations on making an absolute tool of yourself.
Thats a bit nicer than what you posted on the Bohs forum:)
Liam Burns training with Bohs apparently
05/02/2011, 8:02 PM
Aaron Greene is on trial with us.
Thats a bit nicer than what you posted on the Bohs forum:)
needs must...
Predator
06/02/2011, 1:50 PM
On the back of the Derry News this week that Derry want Shane Duffy on loan... not sure how likely that one is, but I admire Kenny's ambition!
Is Jimmy Browne assistant to Seanie at Galway this season?
Newry Lifer
06/02/2011, 5:08 PM
Is Jimmy Browne assistant to Seanie at Galway this season?
Seanie confirmed this yesterday on BBC Radio Ulster.
Frank76
06/02/2011, 6:30 PM
I got a 3 points on my foot.ie licence! I should put that in the transfer thread and not the rumours!
poster
06/02/2011, 6:58 PM
Brennan to Rovers back on, might choose them over Sligo
Ya heard he's looking for huge wages, way out of our reach.
06/02/2011, 8:06 PM
Is Aidan price to Derry confirmed? Or is he just on trial , alot of diffrent reports going around.
Rasputin
07/02/2011, 11:06 AM
Ya heard he's looking for huge wages, way out of our reach.
We even threw the under the table contract at him and he still wouldnt budge, whats a girl to do.