View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

Dillonman
10/02/2011, 10:07 PM
Colin Hawkins also apparently in Oriel tonight.. not 100% certain of that though source is normally reliable..

Was apparently only talking to Foster, dont think anything was agreed. Maher is away for a scan so could be injured atm. Thats what is holding that transfer up.

10/02/2011, 10:10 PM
What happened Karl Bermingham of Monaghan?

Released

Dillonman
10/02/2011, 10:13 PM
Released

That confirmed?

10/02/2011, 10:14 PM
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4744/

Monaghan United
IN:

OUT:
Cathal O'Connor (moved abroad)
Dean McMahon (Dungannon Swifts)
Philip Donnelly (Dungannon Swifts)
Karl Bermingham (Released)
Darragh Hanaphy (Released)
Phillip Hughes (Shelbourne)
Barry Clancy (Shelbourne)
Brian Gartland (Portadown)

Ezeikial
10/02/2011, 11:55 PM
Oman was offered a deal within our budget, he rejected it. Was set to join Fingal. Now it looks like that deal that is ok for our budget is also ok for Oman. The difference was we didn't get in a bidding war with Fingal for him, if the deal wasn't ok for us we washed our hands of the player. Just like we did for Gary O'Neill at the start of the pre-season. And just like we did with Steven Gray last year, we could have offered him a bigger deal than what you offered but that would have broke our budget, so we were happy to walk away from him, whereas Bohs made repeated, better offers to him to outbid us for the player.

To be fair, it is admirable how Rovers appear to have gone about their business with these players (whatever about Turner and Fenn last season) and the policy of backing off in bidding wars augers well for their financial prudence.

Although I still can't square the circle with the reported increase in accummulated losses (€600k + ??) and the obviously huge budget.

The Lilywhites
11/02/2011, 4:14 AM
Foster close to a deal with Shaun Maher

http://dundalkfc.com/news/110211_Foster.asp

Bolger confirmed to Dundalk

http://dundalkfc.com/news/110211_Bolger.asp

hoopy
11/02/2011, 8:33 AM
Maher is away for a scan so could be injured atm. Thats what is holding that transfer up.

I know you lads have been worried about lacking in defence, but this guy is a crock. I'll gladly stand to be corrected during the season if he does the business, but other managers have shied away from him because of his injuries.

Dillonman
11/02/2011, 8:40 AM
I know you lads have been worried about lacking in defence, but this guy is a crock. I'll gladly stand to be corrected during the season if he does the business, but other managers have shied away from him because of his injuries.

Hence the reason why Foster has sent him for a medical before he signs him!

11/02/2011, 8:56 AM
Medical pretty much only checks his fitness now and stuff like heart etc.

Can't check for brittle bones and dodgy hammers.

And I'm not saying maher's awon't last but he's averaged about 18 games a season the last 3 years

(Oh and Foster didn't send him to a medical for that reason. All signings go for medicals)

A N Mouse
11/02/2011, 12:44 PM
Derry meant to have signed scottish defender Stewart Greacen. Was on trial with dundee, who were unable to sign him because of a transfer embargo.

11/02/2011, 5:23 PM
Brendan Clarke to us.

Dan6189
11/02/2011, 7:56 PM
Brendan Clarke to us.

Quality signing was our best keeper while he was at pats but couldn't get a look in with that sap jeff kenna

kdjaC
11/02/2011, 9:06 PM
Brendan Clarke to us.

thought you had Cherrie and Brush, dunno why i think that tho :confused:

Clarke is a great keeper, got 2 decent runs with us and other than one howler vs Derry was very solid , made a save away to cork vs behan that defied gravity. Due to Buckleys inability to pick a keeper and play a different one each week dont think he has had a full season in the LOI ever.

11/02/2011, 9:12 PM
Cherrie:confused:

11/02/2011, 9:16 PM

Clarke is a great keeper, got 2 decent runs with us and other than one howler vs Derry was very solid , made a save away to cork vs behan that defied gravity. Due to Buckleys inability to pick a keeper and play a different one each week dont think he has had a full season in the LOI ever.We had Brush but we didn't re-sign him this year due to injury. Never had Cherrie. Was being linked to us on here for a few days after 2010 season but nothing ever came of it.

Just to confirm Clarke hasn't signed, just a rumour. Ciaran Kelly's the only first team keeper we have at the moment. Clarke is training with us.

gufc2000
11/02/2011, 9:32 PM
I see Shane Fitzgearld, Andy Haran, Ryan Brennan and Aaron Shanahan were part of the Monaghan Utd Squad for the Dundalk friendly

11/02/2011, 10:41 PM
I saw that too....in the flesh! I carried a :watermelon:

poster
11/02/2011, 10:46 PM

That's slightly...strange. I think...or something. :bulgy:

11/02/2011, 10:58 PM
Its a chick thing.

bullit
11/02/2011, 11:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Fd8_gojNXc
Its a chick thing.

KK :D

11/02/2011, 11:45 PM
Love it!

SwanVsDalton
12/02/2011, 1:48 AM

Its a chick thing.

Melons?

12/02/2011, 4:45 AM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/bohs-close-to-first-signings-bartons-irish-link-2536132.html?

Bohs close to first signings

Friday February 11 2011

PAT Fenlon is close to making his first close-season signing for Bohemians as strikers Anto Flood and Chris Fagan are in talks with the Dalymount Park club.

Fenlon has been unable to officially sign any new players for the 2011 season due to the club's financial wrangles, but pre-season training continued this week with a number of trialists -- including an impressive import from Hungary.

Fenlon could raid the squad of the now-defunct Sporting Fingal and players such as Ronan Finn, Shaun Williams and Ger O'Brien have already been linked with a move to Phibsborough.

Former Shelbourne man Flood was in line to sign for Fingal after a spell in Sweden but has trained with Bohs this week and Fenlon could do a deal with the striker.

Ex-Manchester United trainee Fagan has trained with Bohs too and though he was also on trial with Shamrock Rovers, playing for the Hoops against Cork City last week, Fenlon has now been linked with the 21-year-old.

Flawless
12/02/2011, 12:04 PM
Hawkins in at oriel..

Dillonman
12/02/2011, 6:12 PM

Clarke is a great keeper, got 2 decent runs with us and other than one howler vs Derry was very solid , made a save away to cork vs behan that defied gravity. Due to Buckleys inability to pick a keeper and play a different one each week dont think he has had a full season in the LOI ever.

Cherrie said in an interview with his local scottish paper around xmas that if he where to leave dundalk he would'nt play for another LOI side!

Dave_SRFC
12/02/2011, 7:53 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/bohs-close-to-first-signings-bartons-irish-link-2536132.html?

Bohs close to first signings

Friday February 11 2011

PAT Fenlon is close to making his first close-season signing for Bohemians as strikers Anto Flood and Chris Fagan are in talks with the Dalymount Park club.

Fenlon has been unable to officially sign any new players for the 2011 season due to the club's financial wrangles, but pre-season training continued this week with a number of trialists -- including an impressive import from Hungary.

Fenlon could raid the squad of the now-defunct Sporting Fingal and players such as Ronan Finn, Shaun Williams and Ger O'Brien have already been linked with a move to Phibsborough.

Former Shelbourne man Flood was in line to sign for Fingal after a spell in Sweden but has trained with Bohs this week and Fenlon could do a deal with the striker.

Ex-Manchester United trainee Fagan has trained with Bohs too and though he was also on trial with Shamrock Rovers, playing for the Hoops against Cork City last week, Fenlon has now been linked with the 21-year-old.

ha ha ha funniest thing I've heard in a while...

12/02/2011, 8:09 PM
really? you should check out the jokes thread in off-topic so!

ger121
12/02/2011, 9:09 PM

You need to get out more:sarcastic:

The Lilywhites
12/02/2011, 9:42 PM

Tis true.

Dave_SRFC
12/02/2011, 9:58 PM
really? you should check out the jokes thread in off-topic so!

Not as funny as some of the posts on the Bohs forum...

Dave_SRFC
12/02/2011, 10:08 PM
This is one of the funniest threads ever, not as funny as the Johnny Logan love in thing.

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=15544&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=20

hoops1
12/02/2011, 10:21 PM
Who wrote that herald piece Jim Corr?

bullit
12/02/2011, 10:24 PM
Who wrote that herald piece Jim Corr?
Lord Monckton ;)

12/02/2011, 10:25 PM
Surely bohs should be looking for players nowhere near the 500pw mark or am I missing something. Surely they need to be making as much a saving on the budget as possible and not trying to rely on the income so much. If they where to have a budget of paying the majority of players around 500pw I think the FAI should be telling them to cop onto themselves.

sligo23
12/02/2011, 10:25 PM
Withdraw!!

Dave_SRFC
12/02/2011, 10:28 PM
Couple of Johnny Logan benefit gigs will cure all their ails, they'll be grand...

13/02/2011, 1:47 AM
but if your at bohs whats another year??

hoopy
13/02/2011, 9:31 AM
Surely bohs should be looking for players nowhere near the 500pw mark or am I missing something. Surely they need to be making as much a saving on the budget as possible and not trying to rely on the income so much. If they where to have a budget of paying the majority of players around 500pw I think the FAI should be telling them to cop onto themselves.

There's not a LOI fan alive who thought that Nutsy would hang around if he thought he was going to be managing a team of kids and rejects, even the Bohs lads on here would've known that, and in fairness some would rather he wasn't there for that reason. It's gonna be a case of a lot of there fans falling into the trap again of expecting to be challenging for the league. You just cant fathom some people.

Rasputin
13/02/2011, 9:57 AM
Any Harps fans hear about Mark Mc Goldrick going on loan to yee for the season?

Dan6189
13/02/2011, 12:27 PM
Any truth in rumors of Shane mcfaul to pats. was in Saturday's herald but not the greatest source, surely we need more strikers than another midfielder. Looking like a season of 4-5-1 at Richmond this year.

13/02/2011, 12:46 PM
Any truth in rumors of Shane mcfaul to pats. was in Saturday's herald but not the greatest source, surely we need more strikers than another midfielder. Looking like a season of 4-5-1 at Richmond this year.
He's all but signed. Should be announced Monday

13/02/2011, 2:45 PM
Any Harps fans hear about Mark Mc Goldrick going on loan to yee for the season?

Yeah heard that alright, what do ye think of him?

Dan6189
13/02/2011, 3:57 PM
He's all but signed. Should be announced Monday

He's a quality player dodge but do ya not think we,re bit thin up front

poster
13/02/2011, 4:46 PM
Yeah heard that alright, what do ye think of him?

He'll do well in the first division. He's scored three goals so far in our pre-season, even though they were against weaker teams but a season in the first would definitely do him good.

PartySaint
14/02/2011, 6:18 PM

We are very little up front and also out wide, Rumour on the saintsforum that we might be signing Gary O'Neill

14/02/2011, 6:43 PM

Very thin up front, yeah. Only 3 who can play there and none established in this league as goalscorers. O'Neill might help.

We'll see

Dan6189
14/02/2011, 7:15 PM
Yeah I wouldn't say no to havin o niell back.he at least is partial to an odd screamer here and there, altogether though fairly happy with the squad pete and John are throwing together

14/02/2011, 7:28 PM
http://twitter.com/ReadingFC/statuses/37194150533275648

Danny Joyce (Reading) on loan to Bohs til end of June.

Jicked
14/02/2011, 8:39 PM
Bohs press conference tomorrow to announce their squad for the new season it seems. Will be interesting to hear what's changed in the two weeks since Fenlon was doing his annual cap in hand job, practically saying he could barely put any 11 players together, because it seems like Bohs have found a few bob after all.

de bowez
14/02/2011, 10:07 PM
Bohs press conference tomorrow to announce their squad for the new season it seems. Will be interesting to hear what's changed in the two weeks since Fenlon was doing his annual cap in hand job, practically saying he could barely put any 11 players together, because it seems like Bohs have found a few bob after all.

Nothing has changed unfortunately. Its the same few bob that was used to pay off the players.