View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

27/10/2010, 10:02 PM
If that happens will the Cobh/Salthill game be played?

They'll probably just get Waterford to play Dundalk.

**FrOsTy**
27/10/2010, 10:04 PM
Thought it was odd alright as any sort of injury and he'd of screwed ye to pay him for the rest of the contract.

What's more of a joke was that you said it in the middle of a good discussion on the topic which I must of won for you to bring jokes into it:o:p

27/10/2010, 10:05 PM
http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs23/f/2007/322/c/9/Must_Win_Internet_by_DanShive.jpg

**FrOsTy**
27/10/2010, 10:06 PM
They'll probably just get Waterford to play Dundalk.

:cool: "Post Season friendly! It's just a post season friendly post season friendly! its just a post season friendly"

monutdfc
27/10/2010, 10:20 PM
Mervue pulling out of the league is just about confirmed i keep hearing.
Wish they had've done it last week

Lamper.sffc
27/10/2010, 11:02 PM
Took that from the "Top Keepers in the league" thread.

The only rumours about our team is that the majority of the squad should sign for next season. Murray, Burns, Coady and Murphy have already signed from a few weeks ago more expected soon.

Heard also that if we go up then Kenny Browne could return if not then he's off to Pats. Any fingal/pats lads confirm?

Have not heard a thing tbh. That said, I doubt many decisions will be made untill we know who is and is not in Europe.

28/10/2010, 12:23 AM
Would that be a certain winger Dodge?

Probably. hanging on to the hope its Peers :)

(Genuinely don't know, just heard "one of the Sligo lads")

28/10/2010, 1:01 AM
\\
Kelly was at the old Cork club and got on alright, I'm only going by what I was told by people who'd be talking to him is all. Haven't it first hand like.

He did not get on alright! He was a complete liability. Absolute disaster of a defender! Hope we never see him near the club again

poster
28/10/2010, 2:33 AM
Probably. hanging on to the hope its Peers :)

(Genuinely don't know, just heard "one of the Sligo lads")

haha, no Peersy will be here for a long time. I've hear McCabe to Pat's rumour, not too upset either. He's a great player but a messer at the same time and has the Brian Cash's about him.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/10/2010, 7:59 AM
I'll be very dissapointed if McCabe goes. A great little player. Would rather see Dillon or Doyle go before him. Although we should be doing our best to keep this squad together

28/10/2010, 9:10 AM
haha, no Peersy will be here for a long time. I've hear McCabe to Pat's rumour, not too upset either. He's a great player but a messer at the same time and has the Brian Cash's about him.

I'd rate McCabe as better than Cash to be honest! Hope he doesn't leave and as NNNN says we should really be looking at keeping this squad together- Only really need 1 or 2 additions

Rasputin
28/10/2010, 9:33 AM
I'd rate McCabe as better than Cash to be honest! Hope he doesn't leave and as NNNN says we should really be looking at keeping this squad together- Only really need 1 or 2 additions
TBF Mc Cabe is miles ahead of Cash in the consistancey stakes.
Not to mention if the lad sorts himself out he has the possibility to go somewhere.
If he wasnt such a messer he would be a far better prospect but that saying he does have bags of talent and has performed for us alot more than Cash ever did.
Id think it would be a mistake to let him go, as NNNN said I would rather let Doyle or Dillon go.

WoodquayBoy
28/10/2010, 10:31 AM
Mervue pulling out of the league is just about confirmed i keep hearing..
Not true, they have every intention of applying for a licence for next season, but they don't plan on playing in Terryland, so if that poses a problem, then they'll pull out, but they have every intention of playing in the First Division next season

28/10/2010, 10:38 AM
Cants see Fahy's Field in its present state being passed and there is no hope of any grants for development for any el grounds.

WoodquayBoy
28/10/2010, 11:30 AM
Cants see Fahy's Field in its present state being passed and there is no hope of any grants for development for any el grounds.

I could be wrong but . . didn't they get planning approval for work at Fahy's Field? And if that is the case, isn't that enough to be granted a licence - otherwise how did Devon get the rgeen light to use Drom, which has no seating of any kind, never mind covered seating

28/10/2010, 12:34 PM
Mervues Problem isnt seating it the lack of a Perimeter Wall enclosing the Ground.

WoodquayBoy
28/10/2010, 1:31 PM
Mervues Problem isnt seating it the lack of a Perimeter Wall enclosing the Ground.

Which they have permission for, from what I heard, they were delaying building works at Fahy's Field because of rumours of a 16 team Premier League and the scrapping of the First Division, as it would be a waste of money if they were not playing LOI, which would mean a perimeter wall (amongst other things) was not needed.

poster
28/10/2010, 1:45 PM
I'd rate McCabe as better than Cash to be honest

I'm not comparing them on football ability Gus. Which there's no doubt he (GMcC) has bags of.

sligo23
28/10/2010, 2:25 PM
McCabe would be stupid to leave us. The way we play gives him freedom and suits him perfectly. If he moves to Pats or Shams any chance of progression in his carrer will effectively be over, but I'd say he wants back to Dublin. Derek Foran likely to leave us too, probably back to Bray.

GUFCghost
28/10/2010, 2:34 PM
Mervue pulling out of the league is just about confirmed i keep hearing.So Galway Utd are taking their best 3 players including Ger Hanley coming back.Heard Sligo sniffing around 1 or 2 Utd players aswell,not sure who though,possibily Connelly,Walsh maybe.
I don't think he would leave as he is attending college in Galway.

28/10/2010, 2:40 PM
Which they have permission for, from what I heard, they were delaying building works at Fahy's Field because of rumours of a 16 team Premier League and the scrapping of the First Division, as it would be a waste of money if they were not playing LOI, which would mean a perimeter wall (amongst other things) was not needed.

Correct, both mervue and salthill are intending to stay in the league once there is a first division to play in next season.

Rasputin
28/10/2010, 3:06 PM
I don't think he would leave as he is attending college in Galway.
Ya, id agree with that, apparently we tried to sign him at the start of the season but he didnt want to leave Galway because of College.

WoodquayBoy
28/10/2010, 3:45 PM
Correct, both mervue and salthill are intending to stay in the league once there is a first division to play in next season.

I think Cobh have something to say about Salthill Devon's destination next season!

28/10/2010, 3:46 PM
Wouldn't it be gas if there was three Galway teams in the First Division next year. Great for the game.

PartySaint
28/10/2010, 3:46 PM
Heard today Bradley from Rovers, Eoin Doyle and Gary McCabe all signing for us next season

Rasputin
28/10/2010, 3:48 PM
Heard today Bradley from Rovers, Eoin Doyle and Gary McCabe all signing for us next season
Yee can help yourself to Doyle, would be a mistake to let Mc Cabe go.

28/10/2010, 3:48 PM
Only in the LoI would a transfer rumour thread justifiably include talk on clubs transferring in and out.

redobit
28/10/2010, 4:51 PM
Yee can help yourself to Doyle, would be a mistake to let Mc Cabe go.

100% agree. McCbe has been great for us latley. Id prefer him to Dillon too, although he has a conract signed already for next season.

Dillonman
28/10/2010, 5:41 PM
From local paper Dundalk Democrat

The waiting game - Foster giving players until the end of next week to decide about contracts
BY the end of next week, Dundalk FC manager Ian Foster expects to know exactly where his players stand as regards signing new contracts.

So far, for the 2011 season, Foster has only Ross Gaynor and Daniel Kearns tied down to deals.

But with the league season coming to a close this Friday, Foster has admitted that by next week, he will know where he stands.

To date, the Dundalk manager has had only one refusal of a contract offer so far, whereas several players have said 'Maybe' to the offer of a new deal.

However, one thing that is delaying the process is the lack of funds available at Oriel Park with six or seven clubs able to offer higher contracts to players who have impressed in outings for the Lilywhites this year.

Speaking on the contract negotiations, Foster said: ""It's difficult with the money we have. We have to try and be smart with the money we have.

"Players will be sat down by the end of the week. We cannot put a gun to their heads, but so far, we have had one player say no.

"We've had a lot of 'maybes' and I have to appreciate the players' views. They have given a lot to the club and want better deals but we are trying to move in one direction and they have their livelihoods to look after."

Speaking on his current system of spending this year, Foster said it was a tough balancing act.

"This year, we tried to get experience which is difficult, because good experience costs money and we had to surround them with young players.

"Hopefully our young players will reach their potential but it's hard because when they do, we have the vulchers around us."

According to Foster, he has offered several players a contract at the club, including goalkeeper Peter Cherrie, who was voted the club's Player-of-he-Year and Players-Player-of-the-Year and has been linked to Sligo.

"We are exploring every avenue available. But by next week, we will know more as I cannot wait around too long and need to have people nailed down."

One thing Foster is keeping a close eye on is developments in the promotion race as he fears Derry City could leapfrog them in the spending wars, along with Shelbourne.

"I cannot get 20 players in on the budget I have. One hope is that someone may invest in the team over the break as that is our only way of breaking into the top five. If Derry and Shelbourne come up, we will be in trouble as they will be offering better money too, so it is my hope that only one team from the First Division gets promoted."

Although circumstances are pretty tight at the moment, Foster appealed to fans to join the Patron Scheme. Identifying with the lack of free spending cash at the moment, Foster understood why so many people could not join the scheme, but he issued a plea to anyone, who does have the money, to join the scheme.

"It's the club's goal to get as many people as possible into the scheme as it goes directly to the players budget."

bingoballs
28/10/2010, 7:02 PM
McCabe would be stupid to leave us. The way we play gives him freedom and suits him perfectly. If he moves to Pats or Shams any chance of progression in his carrer will effectively be over, but I'd say he wants back to Dublin. Derek Foran likely to leave us too, probably back to Bray.

Would be awful sorry to see eoither go, but especially Foran. He has been very unlucky with lack of opportunutues and always impressed me whenever he played. He is a young man with lots of talent and I think any club in this league would be lucky to have him.

CSFShels
28/10/2010, 9:07 PM
Shocked to see no Fingal rumours yet. Rumour on boards that this is the season the funds dry up. Anything to that?

Ezeikial
28/10/2010, 9:17 PM
Shocked to see no Fingal rumours yet. Rumour on boards that this is the season the funds dry up. Anything to that?

According to Liam Buckley many of his squad are already contracted for next season.

danthesaint
28/10/2010, 10:36 PM
Foran links with us as well apparently

Rasputin
29/10/2010, 9:49 AM
How are Dundalk so skint? Decent attendances with a good local support??

Rasputin
29/10/2010, 9:51 AM
Foran links with us as well apparently
Id say if Lauchlin stays with us for next season then Foran is definetly gone.
Its a shame cause the lad is a brilliant defender, would walk into most defences in the league.
Just unfortunate for him that we have Peers and Lauchlin.

29/10/2010, 9:56 AM

Weve been asking the same question!!

29/10/2010, 9:56 AM
With a plastic pitch and a bar for hire.

29/10/2010, 9:59 AM
TWO bars.

29/10/2010, 10:26 AM

Question is how do other teams have more money? Some have bigger crowds or better sponsorship. Wonder about the rest

29/10/2010, 10:33 AM
I thought Kilduff to Fingal was a done deal for next season, no?

stann
29/10/2010, 10:42 AM

"...we have the vulchers around us."
:shock: :bulgy:

29/10/2010, 10:46 AM

They've spent a fair bit on their facilities haven't they? Plus they carried over a fair sized loss from last season. Still though, Dundalk should be in a better position than most clubs.

dong
29/10/2010, 10:57 AM

It's called the "Faz Factor". Happens every club he joins.:D

Ezeikial
29/10/2010, 11:15 AM
They've spent a fair bit on their facilities haven't they? Plus they carried over a fair sized loss from last season. Still though, Dundalk should be in a better position than most clubs.

Dundalk are probably in a better position for the medium to long term then most clubs. The club Communications Manager recently posted on Oriel Web (see below) a summary of the current position, where a surplus is anticipated this season, which offsets some of the losses from the previous year.

The board appear to be unwilling to increase the playing bugdet to a level that would project a loss for 2011 (it's questionable if the FAI licensing would allow this anyway). This concept is probably alien to most LOI supporters, and is difficult to accept for the Oriel faithful, but Gerry Matthews has a clear visiion of where the club is going

The new Youth Development Centre is due to be fully operational shortly and will undoubtedly add to the income stream, with Concerts, Exhibitions, Trade Shows and other large scale events complimenting the Gym, Indoor pitches, and Bar/Function facilities.

The concept is one of sustainable development, and that if you build a successful club, then a successful team will follow

The simple picture is that the club will return a surplus this year, but will carry accumulated losses going forward (primarily the deficit from 2009). The underlining picture is that when the Europa League activity is stripped out, the club is operating at a loss. Clearly, with European revenue unlikely for 2011, if the club operated with identical income and expenditure otherwise in the season ahead, further losses would be anticipated. This is certainly a “very challenging financial position” as budgeting for an operating loss on top of accumulated losses would be irresponsible in the extreme, and would place the future of the club at risk.

29/10/2010, 11:21 AM
Cheers for that Ezeikial

As I intimated above, the question shouldn't be why is Dundalk's budget low but why have other clubs with similar (or lower) bases (in terms of facilities and crowds) got such high budgets?

29/10/2010, 11:35 AM
There's only five clubs finished ahead of Dundalk in fairness.

Bohs - obvious really
Rovers - twice Dundalk's crowds
Sligo - decent crowds; occasional fire-fighting and fun rumour
Fingal - obvious really
Pat's - quality manager :)

redobit
29/10/2010, 11:42 AM
In my opion Dundalk would be mad to spend big next season. There is practically no relegation next season with the 16 team premier coming in so - pay the debts now, mid table finish next season on a small budget and look to the future for sucess and club stability.

29/10/2010, 11:44 AM
16-team Premier isn't a cert. It'd have to be passed by the FAI to come in.

29/10/2010, 11:47 AM
Cheers for that Ezeikial

As I intimated above, the question shouldn't be why is Dundalk's budget low but why have other clubs with similar (or lower) bases (in terms of facilities and crowds) got such high budgets?

Cause some clubs never learn their lessons. Just waiting for it to break about the next club to go belly up.

29/10/2010, 12:03 PM
Would be suprised if Cork wanted Kelly. I'd be surprised, shocked and dismayed.
Have heard Tommy 4-5-Dunne is talking to Liam Kearney and Danny Murphy but no more than talking.
He might have more progress than he did in his talks with Kevin Murray.