View Full Version : Transfer rumours
So are you telling me Dodge that if you played for Fingal you rather stay there for the same money or very slightly more than what you'd get at Rovers?
very, very few players have an affinity to any team in Ireland, hoopy, youre kidding yourself that any club holds a particular attraction over another.
Money talks - whether its 50euros or 500euros.
Ezeikial
06/12/2010, 5:46 PM
Fact is it's sad when a player would rather play for Fingal than Rovers for a few extra quid.
That is a really hilariously blinkered view of the "beauty" of playing for Rovers. Imagine the spiel -
" We can't pay you as much as the other club, but you get to play with icons of decency like Chris Turner and Neale Fenn"
06/12/2010, 5:48 PM
A few extra quid adds up to a lot of extra quid over the course of 40 weeks.
My point is lads, nothing to do with the fact it's Rovers, but let's be honest we're a lot more likely to win trophies in the near future than Fingal are, I'd have the same attitude if it was Sligo who tried to sign him and he stayed at Fingal. Do players value 50 quid a week more than looking back on a career with medals to show for it?
probably. Whether it is admirable or not is another matter entirely.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/12/2010, 6:52 PM
My point is lads, nothing to do with the fact it's Rovers, but let's be honest we're a lot more likely to win trophies in the near future than Fingal are, I'd have the same attitude if it was Sligo who tried to sign him and he stayed at Fingal. Do players value 50 quid a week more than looking back on a career with medals to show for it?
If players were getting paid a fortune then I would think your view would hold up but players are not that well paid and I would expect any of them to move to whoever offers them the most money. They have bills to pay and aren't going to be in their 'job' until they're 66
O'Neill has medals. He, likem every other player in the league, looks after himself first before thinking about his 'memories' (and BTW in now way am I knocking O'Neill or the others)
06/12/2010, 9:49 PM
No club in the league offers near enough to allow a player the luxury of that decision. We're not talking about a player wanting 70,000 a week at Man city instead of 65,000 at Barca.
50 quid a week (if that's the difference) is 2,600 a year, and more if Rovers would only be paying part-time and Fingal offering full-time. In this league and this economy, it's significant.
06/12/2010, 10:02 PM
I don't know if it's been confirmed but Fingal appear to be going part-time as well. Stephen McGuinness said something to the effect that no club is offering more than 40 weeks.
bullit
06/12/2010, 10:20 PM
What are the rules Re tax for those involved in full-time sports???
The Lep
06/12/2010, 10:29 PM
I'l put it another way smart hole. He was offered a contract by us, went back to Bucko to see if he would top it. Fact is it's sad when a player would rather play for Fingal than Rovers for a few extra quid.
Who would you work for, a company that has a proud and successful history or a company that will pay you more for the time you plan to be there for? Dont forget that the players have a living to earn the same as the rest of us so will always look at whats best for them.
Ezeikial
06/12/2010, 10:36 PM
Stephen McGuinness said something to the effect that no club is offering more than 40 weeks.
Thats not necessarily true (especially if Mr "unfinished business" McGuinness said it!), although I imagine that contracts longer then 40 weeks will be few and far between. Paying a player €400 a week over 50 weeks is similar to €500 a week over 40 weeks from the clubs perspective.
The Lep
06/12/2010, 10:37 PM
I don't know if it's been confirmed but Fingal appear to be going part-time as well. Stephen McGuinness said something to the effect that no club is offering more than 40 weeks.
No much change from this season . Define the diffrence between Rovers who won the league as a so called Part-time team and a full time team.
06/12/2010, 10:53 PM
Thats not necessarily true (especially if Mr "unfinished business" McGuinness said it!), although I imagine that contracts longer then 40 weeks will be few and far between. Paying a player €400 a week over 50 weeks is similar to €500 a week over 40 weeks from the clubs perspective.
Insurance costs would be higher for one thing.
I assume some players are still going to be full-time (Twigg for one) but I don't think any new ones will be taken on unless it's a really exceptional case. I can't foresee too many clubs offering more than one-year contracts anyway, so it's in the player's interest too.
06/12/2010, 11:03 PM
Except the majority of clubs only have steady income for 40 weeks
Dixie Dean
07/12/2010, 10:11 AM
I agree with you but for a different reason. If the choice is between Fingal and Rovers or Shams even if Fingal are offering more money the player has to ask the question is that money guaranteed for the season. There is never smoke without fire in this league so i would be asking serious questions off Fingal.
Rovers or Shams have never missed a payment to a player as far as im aware and thats a big selling point.
07/12/2010, 12:02 PM
As far as you're aware? Not being funny but how would you know?
El-Pietro
07/12/2010, 12:07 PM
Galway's end of season form -
D W L W W D L D L L L L W D W
Guess which four games Ryan was suspended for?
He'd be an excellent signing for a Div 1 team. Would believe it too cos he seems happy to play close to home these days.
id take him over Nults!
dublinred
07/12/2010, 12:13 PM
Agree it doesn't make sense to sign for an un-viable outfit like Fingal for the sake of a few quid , he should give Faz a ring and ask him about his experiences at Drogheda and Cork.
hoops1
07/12/2010, 12:22 PM
Pass the parcel
Line Dancing
Hide and seek
Cops and Robbers
he should give Faz a ring and ask him about his experiences at Drogheda and Cork.
if you ask me, that is almost justice being done for unashamedly chasing the most moola - you might get badly burnt! I find it hard to have sympathy for modern day footballers and not just in Ireland.
Dixie Dean
07/12/2010, 4:01 PM
As far as you're aware? Not being funny but how would you know?
I know Rovers havent missed a payment, been said numerous times in the local papers. Im not sure about Shams though but expect the same.
So you're guessing. Interesting that you pick them out too.
Dixie Dean
07/12/2010, 4:11 PM
Im not guessing about Rovers
07/12/2010, 4:31 PM
Galway's end of season form -
He'd be an excellent signing for a Div 1 team. Would believe it too cos he seems happy to play close to home these days.
He's signed now so happy days. :)
We're only four players short of a serious promotion tilt. :ball:
poster
07/12/2010, 4:43 PM
Im not guessing about Rovers
Sligo isn't a big spot, if it had happened it almost definitely would have come out.
The Lep
07/12/2010, 5:51 PM
[QUOTE=Dixie Dean;1432077]I agree with you but for a different reason. If the choice is between Fingal and Rovers or Shams even if Fingal are offering more money the player has to ask the question is that money guaranteed for the season. There is never smoke without fire in this league so i would be asking serious questions off Fingal.
Rovers or Shams have never missed a payment to a player as far as im aware and thats a big selling point.[/QUOT
Neither have Fingal. The question i would ask is how Rovers cant offer a player more money than a club who is rumoured to be working off a smaller budget next season? Is there any truth in that a player was on the brink of signing for Rovers but went back to Fingal instead or is it just chinese whispers again? The last i heard was that Gary O had signed for Rovers but seeing that it hasnt been confirmed anywhere i wasnt sure home much truth there was in it.
GUFCghost
07/12/2010, 7:26 PM
Next....
Anyways,
Limerick rumoured to be looking at Barry Ryan of Galway to replace his younger brother David Ryan who is supposed to be not signing back with the club.
http://file046b.bebo.com/1/large/2009/03/12/07/9092206a10323811342l.jpg
GUFCghost
07/12/2010, 7:28 PM
I presume Ger Hanely will soon be signing for Galway so?
srfc1928
07/12/2010, 9:48 PM
by the sound of things Derry City will have a huge budget next season.
Which is nice after all they've been through.
Aaron
07/12/2010, 10:50 PM
by the sound of things Derry City will have a huge budget next season.
Which is nice after all they've been through.
Will we? Said whom? If your going by players linked, your forgetting this is a RUMOURS thread. Just for the record, Stephen Kenny was in the Derry journal today dismissing speculation linking us with Twigg & Oman, so there's 2 that can be scrapped off the rumour list to Derry
I would worry more about what my own club is paying than what others are
Mr Maroon
07/12/2010, 11:27 PM
I don't think he's good enough to start for a Premier Division team. SC will find someone.
08/12/2010, 9:11 AM
He's signed now so happy days. :)
We're only four players short of a serious promotion tilt. :ball:
If there's three going up next year, I'd say ye've a squad right now for a serious promotion tilt. Ryan, Rogers, Heary, Frost, O'Flynn - decent spine just there (says wikipedia). Won't be conceding many, I'd say.
08/12/2010, 9:15 AM
If there's three going up next year, I'd say ye've a squad right now for a serious promotion tilt. Ryan, Rogers, Heary, Frost, O'Flynn - decent spine just there (says wikipedia). Won't be conceding many, I'd say.
Rogers and Heary are gone. Still Barry Ryan, Pat Purcell, John Frost and Stephen O Flynn are a very good start experience wise. A few very good young fellas in Limericks teams team also. Add into that 3 or 4 more players and i would be hoping for a good season ahead. Looking like our best squad assembled in a long time.
08/12/2010, 9:16 AM
Is Bobby Ryan still there?
08/12/2010, 9:24 AM
Is Bobby Ryan still there?
No, he is up on the PFAI list at the moment. Rumour is he is joining Pike Rovers but i can't see him playing junior in Limerick.
bluewhitearmy
08/12/2010, 10:17 AM
No, he is up on the PFAI list at the moment. Rumour is he is joining Pike Rovers but i can't see him playing junior in Limerick.
Has been offered a deal on reduced terms i hear.
08/12/2010, 10:30 AM
I would worry more about what my own club is paying than what others are
Worst internet argument ever
Redzer
08/12/2010, 12:05 PM
Worst internet argument ever
Not if you are a Derry fan:rolleyes:
08/12/2010, 12:13 PM
Of course our budget will be larger.
Last year we had several hundred people who paid for season tickets where the money disappeared into the black hole that was Wellvan. The new board decided to honour those tickets purchased.
Simples.
08/12/2010, 4:33 PM
Ryan, Purcell, Frost, potentially O'Callaghan plus a mystery right back is the makings of a very good back five.
Dave O'Leary in the middle is a diamond of a young player, Sullivan very good aswell if he re signs.
O'Flynn is 15 to 25 goals a season guaranteed, a lot of the lads were giving out about his form last year because he only scored 9 in 15!!
Sheehan will cause problems in First Division, I'd love to see John Tierney have a change of heart as he's arguably one of the best players in the Division but Sheehan is a replacement of sorts.
So good bones of a team there and I'd like to think we'll be there or there about but would like to see a centre half/right full, a bit of experience in midfield and a striker come in. :ball:
gufc2000
08/12/2010, 5:45 PM
Just re-sign Rhys Meynell and there is Barry Ryan's replacement
JC_GUFC
09/12/2010, 8:19 AM
Rumours that Sean Connor has been in touch with the following. Obviously we need to have funds in place to be able to sign anyone...
Colin Hawkins, Vinny Faherty, Conor O'Grady, Faz Kuduzovic, Chris Turner, Ciaran Kelly, Anto Flood, Shaun Kelly, Alan Kirby.
Ezeikial
09/12/2010, 8:43 AM
Rumours that Sean Connor has been in touch with the following. Obviously we need to have funds in place to be able to sign anyone...
Colin Hawkins, Vinny Faherty, Conor O'Grady, Faz Kuduzovic, Chris Turner, Ciaran Kelly, Anto Flood, Shaun Kelly, Alan Kirby.
Seannie has always been good at talking
L.T.F.C.
09/12/2010, 8:55 AM
Unless his educational situation changes, I highly doubt Alan Kirby will be joining you.
09/12/2010, 9:44 AM
He's finished college now I believe. Sligo are interested too by all accounts, he lives in Longford so neither would be a massive ordeal travel wise.
09/12/2010, 10:00 AM
If Humpty has been in touch with any of those it was to touch them up for a few bob.
L.T.F.C.
09/12/2010, 10:02 AM
He's finished college now I believe. Sligo are interested too by all accounts, he lives in Longford so neither would be a massive ordeal travel wise.
In that case, he'll be looking for a job. He could end up anywhere.
09/12/2010, 10:22 AM
In that case, he'll be looking for a job. He could end up anywhere.
longford? :)