View Full Version : Transfer rumours
08/11/2010, 3:32 PM
John Tierney to someone else. :bulgy:
You probably haven't seen enough of him. Terrific player, with all the tools a pro player needs (technique, speed, strength etc etc)
Probably true...think he was sent off in 1st game in Inchicore and didnt catch my eye in other games.Its hard to judge teams players from 4 games year and 20second goals highlights...but by all accounts he has had a great season for you,i just wouldnt have thought he would be a player who was being watched.
bluemovie
08/11/2010, 4:37 PM
Daryl Kavanagh to......
celticV3
08/11/2010, 5:42 PM
Apparently Chris Turner met with a Motherwell today, Nobby Clark? Hope he hasn't a contract signed for next year, Shams shouldn't get a cent for him after what happened at the start of the season.
I Hear Seamus Conneely is close to a move to us, can't see that happening though.
PartySaint
08/11/2010, 10:33 PM
Best of luck to Dave but gutted to see him go and with Conor Kenna expected to be confirmed a Rovers player soon enough thats our two best players gone, going to be very tough to replace them
Boots9
08/11/2010, 11:27 PM
Apparently Chris Turner met with a Motherwell today, Nobby Clark? Hope he hasn't a contract signed for next year, Shams shouldn't get a cent for him after what happened at the start of the season.
I Hear Seamus Conneely is close to a move to us, can't see that happening though.
They shouldn't get a fee because Sligo signed him on a dodgy contract? Or did I miss something....
09/11/2010, 3:13 AM
So was McAllister tapped up then?
Hibs4Ever
09/11/2010, 8:29 AM
So was McAllister tapped up then?
Considering he was out of contract, and Sheff United still contacted the club before the player, No
Lamper.sffc
09/11/2010, 9:43 AM
You probably haven't seen enough of him. Terrific player, with all the tools a pro player needs (technique, speed, strength etc etc)
Definitely a great prospect. Iv seen plenty of the lad in the last 3 years and Iv had the displeasure of watching him score plenty of goals against fingal. Had a quick word with him in the local in Rush and he said nothing was confirmed yet but fingers crossed. I guess he would say that though. Hope it works out for him. A loss to Pats and the league.
I could definitely see that happening. He's finished college now and from what I'm told wants to keep up football. He probably hasn't done enough to warrant a move to england, and shams probably aren't in for him. We've already taken a few players of our feeder club in the last few years and conneely is the type of player who could flourish under Cook.
Less of that rubbish please...
KBurke
09/11/2010, 1:03 PM
Seamus confirmed in a local radio interview that he hasn't had any discussions with Sligo. He also said he's preferred choice would be to show loyalty to Galway United as the club has been good to him in the last few years.
He also said he dosent expect any decision to be made untill the new year.
redobit
09/11/2010, 5:03 PM
Seamus confirmed in a local radio interview that he hasn't had any discussions with Sligo. He also said he's preferred choice would be to show loyalty to Galway United as the club has been good to him in the last few years.
He also said he dosent expect any decision to be made untill the new year.
Cant see him coming to us, especially now that Keane has just signed. He wouldnt be first choice imo. HAsnt been as good this season as he has in others, from what i seen of him anyway.
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalksport/Dundalk-FC-manager-Ian-Foster.6619347.jp
poster
09/11/2010, 7:20 PM
"At Galway I had the likes of Jay O'Shea, Aaron Greene, John Russell, Vinny Faherty and Shane Guthrie who have moved on to better things so I feel as though I can help younger players progress." Is that a pop at Galway??
POP
1st time post
09/11/2010, 7:23 PM
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalksport/Dundalk-FC-manager-Ian-Foster.6619347.jp
Slightly off topic but i asked the Dundalk fans with about 6 ot 7 games to go what their opinion of Foster was. Just wondering do ye think he is the man to bring ye forward??obviously your form improved towards the end of the season and ye have already signed what looks to be a decent nucleus of a squad for next season and with a few more siginings from the outside it looks like ye would definitely be dark horses next year especially with no European distractions. What ye think??
White Horse
09/11/2010, 7:33 PM
Slightly off topic but i asked the Dundalk fans with about 6 ot 7 games to go what their opinion of Foster was. Just wondering do ye think he is the man to bring ye forward?
You'll get a wide variety of opinions on that question.
Personally, I think he's got a lot more things right than wrong.
We need to build the team (as you have) over a period of a few years. Our major weakness is at the back. There are question marks over the coaching of our defensive play and many fans would like to see Hatswell concentrate more on coaching.
bullit
09/11/2010, 8:12 PM
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Dunny http://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1422649#post1422649)
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundal...ter.6619347.jp (http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/dundalksport/Dundalk-FC-manager-Ian-Foster.6619347.jp)
Faherty was offered a contract with Dundalk last year for more money than the one he eventualy signed at Pats.At the time he said his reasons for doing so were because he wanted to play for a "Dublin club" which would give him better exposure to British/foreign football scouts:confused:.Dundalk fans dont take such rejection lightly and he would be under immense pressure from them right from the start to prove himself.
robertob
09/11/2010, 10:14 PM
"Faz Kuduzovic is on trial in Germany"
Does anyone know where he is on trial? Couldn't find anything in German media...
09/11/2010, 10:31 PM
I'd imagine it'd a low level.
Semi pro somewhere
redobit
09/11/2010, 10:55 PM
]"Faz Kuduzovic is on trial in Germany"[/B]
Does anyone know where he is on trial? Couldn't find anything in German media...
Where did he go on trial during last years off season?
MMVIII
09/11/2010, 10:57 PM
I could be completely wrong here, but didn't Faz have a trial with a club in Germany last year or the year before?
CSFShels
09/11/2010, 11:00 PM
Semi pro somewhere
Even if that is his level, I doubt that is the case. I'd say it is probably a second division club.
bullit
09/11/2010, 11:04 PM
Even if that is his level, I doubt that is the case. I'd say it is probably a second division club.
I would imagine a player could make more money in the regional leauges in Germany than they could here???
robertob
09/11/2010, 11:13 PM
Semi pro somewhere
Would surprise me because all below 3. Bundesliga would be a step backwards in contrast to LoI football imo.
Fivesilver
10/11/2010, 4:26 AM
[QUOTE=robertob;1422776]"Faz Kuduzovic is on trial in Germany"
On trial for what?
bullit
10/11/2010, 5:03 AM
[QUOTE=robertob;1422776]"Faz Kuduzovic is on trial in Germany"
On trial for what?
for going to Sligo.
redobit
10/11/2010, 9:28 AM
for going to Sligo.
That was 6 years ago. Keep up theres a good lad. :)
baz-dcfc
10/11/2010, 3:44 PM
Players that have been linked with Derry so far are: McGylnn (Bohs), Higgins (Bohs), McLaughlin (Finn Harps), Joe McCready (Institute), Gary Hamilton (Glentoran), Creataro (Bohs) Marc Mukendi (Coleraine) and Gary Twigg (Shamrock Rovers). James McClean has also been linked with a move to England with Brighton being one of the teams mentioned. Stephen Kenny has been quoted in the paper as saying that he intends to contract most of last years squad prior to looking for new recruits however he has stated that a few of last years squad will leave the Brandywell. One of our Directors Tony Doc has also been quoted in the the local press as sayin that our Squad will most likely be a local team unless outside players are willing to relocate to the local area (namely Derry, Donegal, Tyrone and possibly Co.Antrim) and agree to our wage structure.
CSFShels
10/11/2010, 7:43 PM
I would imagine a player could make more money in the regional leauges in Germany than they could here???
I wouldn't think so.
11/11/2010, 12:53 AM
Depends, some giant clubs in that by Irish standards I think?? (could have been lied to by a German)
11/11/2010, 9:03 AM
The German league is quite big; you've an average of 1300 (http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/nav/attnger.htm) going to fourth division games (and that's deflated a bit by the reserve teams). Add in a TV deal (don't know if the fourth flight has one; there's probably some money dripping down though, like in England) and the chance of a big gate from a Cup run, and I'd hazard a guess you'd earn more in the Regionalligaen than in the LoI Premier.
11/11/2010, 9:07 AM
This talk of earning money in the German lower leagues has got me wondering. What is the highest wage a LOI player is on at the moment approximately. Are some premier players still on 800-1,000+ per week? Are some First Division players on 600-800+ per week or has it come way down in the last few years. Is there a huge gap between the top earners and the lower earners.
Bohs board told them that they had 10 players contracted for next year with liabilities of 600k. YOu can work out the likely weekly wage yourself ;)
Jicked
11/11/2010, 10:11 AM
Jaysus, those with contracts for next year would have been the players given deals at the start of this season right? How mental could the Bohs board have been? Wow.
11/11/2010, 10:22 AM
AFAIK most of them were given out 2 years ago (ie 3 year deals) or last year but restructured during the season to give them longer contracts but less money
I was a bit sceptical about the figure but I've seen plenty of references to it on the Bohs forum
robertob
11/11/2010, 10:26 AM
The German league is quite big; you've an average of 1300 (http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/nav/attnger.htm) going to fourth division games (and that's deflated a bit by the reserve teams). Add in a TV deal (don't know if the fourth flight has one; there's probably some money dripping down though, like in England) and the chance of a big gate from a Cup run, and I'd hazard a guess you'd earn more in the Regionalligaen than in the LoI Premier.
The reality in the Regionalliga isn't quite rosy at the moment. Most Fourth Division clubs (= North, West & South Division) have big financial problems. They just haven't enough money. Particularly West and South Division clubs have problems to pay their bills. The problem is: There are too many reserve teams of the bigger German clubs in the Leagues. Take a look at the West Division: There are for example Schalke II, Leverkusen II, Bochum II etcetera - overall 12 reserve teams! That means that this league isn't very interesting for sponsors and actually not for spectators. The traditional teams have loyal crowds but that's not enough to pay the bills. Only the north division works reasonably due to some clubs with huge tradition (Magedburg, Chemnitz, Lübeck, Halle, Kiel) and the new formed Red Bull Leipzig. They have some nice derbies.
The German FA adopted recently a reform for the Fourth Division. There will be five divisions next year within the Regionalliga. Only seven reserve teams will be allowed in each division.
But back to topic: In my opinion it would be a step backwards for Kudozovic if he signs for a German Fourth Division club. Maybe in financial terms he could earn more money than in Ireland if he gets a contract with one of the bigger Fourth Division clubs but as a footballer it would be a step backwards.
Dillonman
11/11/2010, 12:37 PM
According to todays papers, Conor Powell and Paul Keegan are going on trial with Reading.
11/11/2010, 12:38 PM
Thanks for that, robertob; interesting post. Though I don't think this point -
The reality in the Regionalliga isn't quite rosy at the moment. Most Fourth Division clubs (= North, West & South Division) have big financial problems. They just haven't enough money.
- is hugely relevant given we've got the exact same problems here at the moment!
11/11/2010, 12:42 PM
According to todays papers, Conor Powell and Paul Keegan are going on trial with Reading.
I don't like this trial business, there either good enough or there not. Surely Reading have watched them several times by now and know what they are like as players
Dillonman
11/11/2010, 12:50 PM
I don't like this trial business, there either good enough or there not. Surely Reading have watched them several times by now and know what they are like as players
It said they watched Poewll several tiems in the last 2 months and that they have invited both over to train with them for a few weeks!
11/11/2010, 12:52 PM
Still if they bring them over a long with maybe two other players they are looking at they will want to see how they shape up against each other and make their decision from there. If Powell and Keegan don't want to go over on a trial then they can turn it down.
I have though always felt that Irish lads are only brought over to make up the numbers. An Irish player has to really stand out to have any chance. If it comes down to an Irish or an English player of similar talent they are always going to choose the English player.
Just look at Footballs Next Star that was on Sky One. It was Italian Coaches looking at the players and 3 Irish lads managed to get into the top 10 out of the whole of Ireland and the UK. I feel this was down to the Italians not having a bias on picking English lads and went purely on talent.
11/11/2010, 1:42 PM
According to the local news, the Reading manager has already ruled out signing Powell.
http://www.getwokingham.co.uk/sport/football/readingfc/s/2081673_reading_fc_take_iceland_under21_star_on_tr ial
robertob
11/11/2010, 8:15 PM
Thanks for that, robertob; interesting post. Though I don't think this point -
- is hugely relevant given we've got the exact same problems here at the moment!
Okay that's right, stu. Most LOI clubs have the same financial problems too.
Btw, anyone know already where he has the trial? I've heard nothing here in Germany about a Kudozovoc trial so far. Not in the 3. Bundesliga and not in the Fourth Division. Maybe he got a regular job offer or something else?
Sligokid91
11/11/2010, 9:27 PM
reading very unlikely to sign conor powell. Mcdermott does fancy him now but he already has 3 left backs pushing for senior place. with keegan i think he could get chance. reading only have 2 real DM at the moment and they play normally with the 2 of them in starting team. one of them is 35. i say there could be merit in that rumour. reading are very secretive with their trialists so say hard to know if they really going there for real.
12/11/2010, 8:18 AM
If they have three left backs already why did they bring him on trial if they were only going to reject him on those grounds?
Maybe they had him earmarked for a left wing spot. I personally think he'd be better there then left back but its hard to judge if he doesn't get to play there
12/11/2010, 3:43 PM
I dont think he has actually gone on trial yet they were just eyeing up a trial 4 him , but other reports say diffrent so who knows
15/11/2010, 10:15 PM
Connor Kenna was at our after-cup celebration party last night. Perhaps he just knows some of the lads...
sligo23
15/11/2010, 10:56 PM
so was Chris Shields, he was there because of McCabe and Foran though. Wouldn't read too much into it.
Connor Kenna was at our after-cup celebration party last night. Perhaps he just knows some of the lads...
All indications are that he's joining the cup losers