View Full Version : New Irish manager
09/12/2007, 8:36 PM
"If someone was to tell me that X could improve Irish football, then why not?"
It's got to be X then. Only there are many potential Xs. That's the whole point. We're trying to get the best one we realistically can.
Keane has his own situation to think of. I doubt who gets the Irish job has caused him a moment's thought.
carloz
09/12/2007, 9:11 PM
Keane is still newish to the management game and if some reporter asks him about Mr. X getting the Irish job well then Roy is hardly going to be dismisive of him. His comments were fair on Venables, not glowing reference by any stretch of the imagination but he gave respect to the guy
09/12/2007, 10:14 PM
I thought Keanes so called endorsement of O'Leary had more than a hint of sarcasm,'the role would suit him - he wouldn't have to work every day'
Noelys Guitar
09/12/2007, 11:58 PM
Keane in his autobiography praised Venables.
eekers
10/12/2007, 3:51 AM
Keane in his autobiography praised Venables.
dunphy in keane's biography praised venables :p
Noelys Guitar
10/12/2007, 11:06 AM
dunphy in keane's biography praised venables :p
Fair enough.
Ordinary Fan
13/12/2007, 8:09 AM
Why don't they just get on with it. Delaney going to the match fixing meeting will want to ensure full house in Croke Park, so expect an Italy & Cyprus double header for October after we open with a Bulgarian odessy in September.
A manager needs to be in place before Christmas on 4th at the latest, so he can decide on the best deal he can get from the meeting.
Also with Brazil RH will need to do a bit of home work on the make up of the Irish squad.
Some chance!
SuperDave
13/12/2007, 10:46 AM
Why don't they just get on with it. Delaney going to the match fixing meeting will want to ensure full house in Croke Park, so expect an Italy & Cyprus double header for October after we open with a Bulgarian odessy in September.
A manager needs to be in place before Christmas on 4th at the latest, so he can decide on the best deal he can get from the meeting.
Also with Brazil RH will need to do a bit of home work on the make up of the Irish squad.
Some chance!
well that explains the cyprus and san marino debacles...
jmurphyc
13/12/2007, 11:57 AM
I'm sure that it wouldn't be allowed, but a thought has just occured to me. Perhaps Platini was also in Ireland last week for JD to interview him for the job. With the UEFA President on board, surely we'd get some success (of course, I know that this isn't at all possible). Although Blatter would be my first choice as he would be able to void all our results when things don't go our way and we'd win everything. :D
as_i_say
13/12/2007, 12:54 PM
should we start a new poll for this one? any reason why martin jol is not mentioned at all by the meedja?
13/12/2007, 12:56 PM
any reason why martin jol is not mentioned at all by the meedja?I've wondered that too.
I also thought it was odd that Chris Hughton seemed to offer support for Venables last week, implying (to me anyway) that the Jol/Hughton ticket was a non-runner.
conlonn
13/12/2007, 3:15 PM
start up a new pole with those left in contention and see what changes there (if any) to the last poll!
Hodgson
O Leary
Venebles
Troussier
Graham
Noelys Guitar
13/12/2007, 4:56 PM
Anyone know the reason Johnny Giles is fifth favourite for the job on Paddy Power at 22/1?
colster
13/12/2007, 7:12 PM
Anyone know the reason Johnny Giles is fifth favourite for the job on Paddy Power at 22/1?
Found that odd myself.
macdermesser
13/12/2007, 8:38 PM
he's been added to betfair too.
all we need now is Dunphy, Beglin and Pat Dolan to be added!
13/12/2007, 10:34 PM
Johnny is only 2 years and a couple of months older than Venables, so why not? :)
14/12/2007, 10:03 AM
Here's another name!
Luxemburgo to quit Santos, hints at English move
RIO DE JANEIRO, Dec 13 (Reuters) -
Former Brazil and Real Madrid coach Vanderlei Luxemburgo said on Thursday he was quitting Santos and indicated he had received an offer from an English club.
Luxemburgo, in his third stint at Pele's former club, told his Web site (http://luxemburgo.globo.com) he would not renew his contract when it ended on Dec. 31.
"From this moment I will be open and ready to listen to a concrete offer from a club in England as well as other teams interested in my professional work," he said.
macdermesser
14/12/2007, 10:13 AM
Get on the Wanderly Wagon!
Deckydee
14/12/2007, 12:23 PM
Here is a question:
Why, if we are (well ye, me be across the waves you see) supposedly the second richest country in the world, are we offering just 1 million euros a year to the new boss? Didn’t the FAI make 30 Million or so quiet recently? Why can’t we offer up to three million for example?
This is the same oul ****é that has been going on now for ages, sick a lishtenin to it. Terry Venables, Liam Brady, Goodness sake, are we that badly off? Are we that desperate?
Why oh why can’t we aim high? (Just thought of that rhyme now, all rights reserved)
14/12/2007, 12:31 PM
(a) there's a thread just below this called "New Ireland Manager". Not being a smartarse Decky but this is just a twist on the new manager discussion isn't it?
(b) we may be a rich nation in terms of income per head but our football association isn't that rich and it has huge costs ahead of it associated with Landsdowne
We should aim high but there are practical constraints as well. Continental savvy and tactical understanding is all well and good but the whole squad plays in Britain and experience of (or an understanding of) working within this constraint is also important. Linguistics are a potential constraint too. I think there's also the danger of trying to use a sledgehammer to crack a nut. World class managers have generally had world class talent to work with.
We really need a guy with up to date experience, a good track record and the gravitas / personality to get the best out of our players.
Torn-Ado
14/12/2007, 12:38 PM
No top quality manager would touch it tbh.
14/12/2007, 12:43 PM
Yes, and that!
Wolfie
14/12/2007, 12:51 PM
A couple of random thoughts:
Have the selection panel the remit to make approaches to who they consider to be up to the job or worth interviewing?
When the Manager is finally selected. I say finally - will he get a 2 year or 4 year contract? I'd offer a 2 year with a review after that period. Has there been any confirmation in relation to this. I'd imagine many would be of the opinion of "Get the right man. Then worry about the contract". How and ever......................
Obviously - FAI will be handling the contract and not the selection team. Just curious about intended duration of contract.
Noelys Guitar
16/12/2007, 8:28 AM
I'm surprised no one has mentioned Giles comments about the selection committee made before the Rangers game on RTE. He said that mangers currently working might be encouraged to apply for the Ireland job if they believe it will be handled discretely and that was reason alone for creating a selection committee. From the premiership that can only mean Coppell. From the championship Burley (Giles has praised Burley's record in the past). I'm not convinced Coppell would leave Reading in January but I can see him leaving at the end of this season. I'm sure some arrangement could be found of Coppell wanted the job.
Irish_Praha
16/12/2007, 9:20 AM
I'm not convinced Coppell would leave Reading in January but I can see him leaving at the end of this season. I'm sure some arrangement could be found of Coppell wanted the job.
Yeah, if Coppell was to get the job I would have no problem with him staying with Reading until the end of the season as the serious stuff doesn't start until the Autum. It wouldn't be the first time that someone manage both a club and a national team at the same time. It should be ok for a few months.
Would Reading agree to it though?
Noelys Guitar
16/12/2007, 9:25 AM
Yeah, if Coppell was to get the job I would have no problem with him staying with Reading until the end of the season as the serious stuff doesn't start until the Autum. It wouldn't be the first time that someone manage both a club and a national team at the same time. It should be ok for a few months.
Would Reading agree to it though?
I'm sure Reading would want some compensation if Coppell breaks his contract. Anyone know when Coppell's contract expires? Looked it up and his contract expires May 2009. One years compo would be about 500 grand.
16/12/2007, 9:30 AM
Why, if we are (well ye, me be across the waves you see) supposedly the second richest country in the world, are we offering just 1 million euros a year to the new boss? Didn’t the FAI make 30 Million or so quiet recently? Why can’t we offer up to three million for example?
Nonsensical carry on. At €400,000 p.a. Stan was already far better remunerated than many international football managers. Well above average salary I'd say.
Where are you getting 3 million from? ...a comparison with the premiership I'll guess. Well it's invalid. About half a dozen premiership jobs come available per year and half those for smaller clubs involved in relegation.
In short, there is actually an over-supply of decent managers out there relative to the number of massive-salary, top flight jobs out there.
We can get a bloody good manager on an attractive salary within the international game and it can be done for under the million quid that's been mentioned here and elsewhere.
Keen2win
16/12/2007, 9:41 AM
Is there any chance of Paul Jewell?
16/12/2007, 10:39 AM
Delaney himself in the interview with Jon Murray said that the FAI were prepared to pay a 7 figure sum for annual salary plus bonuses.
Paddy Garcia
16/12/2007, 10:42 AM
The Committee are meeting Souness next week.
If we can't do better than him then there is no hope for us. I'd have Terry any day before Souness, not saying we can't do better than TV.
16/12/2007, 3:36 PM
This was posted on boards.
http://www.moyleparkppfc.com/images/walker1.jpg
http://www.moyleparkppfc.com/images/walker2.jpg
16/12/2007, 3:43 PM
I think I agree with everything Walker says in that article.
16/12/2007, 5:57 PM
Walker should have been on the selection committee unless he's actually a candidate of sorts. He's the kind of guy that'd be very useful around the Ireland set up. Assistant to Hodgson I wonder?
16/12/2007, 6:45 PM
Walker should have been on the selection committee unless he's actually a candidate of sorts. He's the kind of guy that'd be very useful around the Ireland set up. Assistant to Hodgson I wonder?
No offence Stutts but Pat Walker hasn't managed any of the top teams in Sweden. Sundsvall and Örebro are, at best, similar in standard to the top of our own league. If a LOI coach came out and said the same things as Pat Walker you wouldn't blink an eyelid in recognition. And if the FAI ask for the opinion of any LOI coach I'm sure they'll repeat the same things Pat Walker said in that article. There's nothing revolutionary in what he's saying. It's simple common football sense. Preparation and organisation will produce long-term results. Brian Kerr attempted to bring a level of professionalism into the Irish set-up but our players didn't want any of it.
Newryrep
16/12/2007, 6:49 PM
Is Hodgson still candidate ? i thought he ruled himself out if nobdy got in touch with him within 48 hrs ?
16/12/2007, 7:27 PM
so with Souness now pulling out of the race we are now left with El Tel and ...... ?
16/12/2007, 7:44 PM
Hodgson is still a candidate as far as I know and Houghton said they had about 16 people to interview.
16/12/2007, 8:10 PM
Hodgson is still a candidate as far as I know and Houghton said they had about 16 people to interview.
16?! There is still hope then!
16/12/2007, 8:12 PM
That's a ridiculous number to interview imo. That list should be at the very least halved before interviewing anyone.
amaccann
16/12/2007, 8:44 PM
That's a ridiculous number to interview imo. That list should be at the very least halved before interviewing anyone.
As Giles/Brady mentioned during the week, the English were lucky in the Capello actively said "I want the job", and frankly, you don't say "we'll think about it" when it comes to someone like him.
We don't have that luxury, and if it's done right & we get the right man for the job, I have no problem with the committee taking their time and interviewing everyone.
carloz
16/12/2007, 9:39 PM
Im fairly sure Hodgson said before that he would consider an international job if it were offered before January. And we should listen to Walker, Carlow men know best:D
irishfan86
16/12/2007, 10:11 PM
Walker said some good things there, and I like the fact that he avoided cliches. It may seem like a minor thing, but reading English football articles can be mind numbing.
eekers
17/12/2007, 7:30 AM
hodgson is definitely still in the running.
17/12/2007, 8:17 AM
No offence Stutts but Pat Walker hasn't managed any of the top teams in Sweden. Sundsvall and Örebro are, at best, similar in standard to the top of our own league. If a LOI coach came out and said the same things as Pat Walker you wouldn't blink an eyelid in recognition. And if the FAI ask for the opinion of any LOI coach I'm sure they'll repeat the same things Pat Walker said in that article. There's nothing revolutionary in what he's saying. It's simple common football sense. Preparation and organisation will produce long-term results. Brian Kerr attempted to bring a level of professionalism into the Irish set-up but our players didn't want any of it.
True, but it's simple football common sense that a lot of people with our uniquely anglo-ccentric focus on the game overlook. Pride, passion and all that other wnakology is all I ever hear people talking about.
eekers
17/12/2007, 8:39 AM
True, but it's simple football common sense that a lot of people with our uniquely anglo-ccentric focus on the game overlook. Pride, passion and all that other wnakology is all I ever hear people talking about.
they need to get in amongst them!
17/12/2007, 8:48 AM
Sweden looks to the British game as much as we do. I can ensure you that the Premiership is just as popular in Sweden and Scandinavia as anywhere in Ireland. The only difference between their international side and our international side is cultural. Their international side just reflects Swedish society - it's bureaucratic, organised, disciplined, the bus always goes on time, and everybody knows his/her role. Our international side reflects Irish society - it's disorganised, everything is up in the air, the bus never goes on time, if it happens it happens, brown envelopes are the order of the day, and the main thing is to have a good laugh.
The problem is, as I see it, we know that we need to be organised and prepared if we want to win matches. But can we in our disorganisation attract a manager that can get us organised and will our players be acceptant of the culture shock.
Noelys Guitar
17/12/2007, 8:53 AM
Graham Taylor and Howard Wilkinson have thrown their hats into the ring! What can I say.
17/12/2007, 8:55 AM
Graham Taylor and Howard Wilkinson have thrown their hats into the ring! What can I say.
It's all just a big mickey take.
17/12/2007, 8:58 AM
Is that from David Kelly's article this morning?
Noelys Guitar
17/12/2007, 9:05 AM
It's all just a big mickey take.
Kelly's comments might be tongue in cheek but Taylor has definetely applied for the job and is one of the 16. Not sure about Wilkinson. The majority of the people that have applied are English managers out of work. Royle, Kendall, Hoddle etc etc. It would be hilarious if it wasn't true.