View Full Version : New Irish manager
kennedmc
30/11/2007, 11:15 PM
Was never a huge fan of the kind of football Charlton played.....Although I find it bizarre the way some people readily dismiss a man with over 600 leagues appearances for Leeds, a world cup winners medal and who qualifed us for 3 main tournsments is laughable.
Jayk69
30/11/2007, 11:52 PM
I think its quite hilarious how people knock the Charlton era!!! He brought us into the quarter final in the world cup to be beaten by one goal that no-one that was around will ever forget!!!! Thats up to 8th place in the world rankings. Were these lads that slate these glorious Ireland days not down in the pub enjoying the terrific atmosphere that it created and the sheer buzz around Ireland back in 90'. How easily we forget. I do agree that Charltons methods of the long ball up to the front big man would not be suited to modern day football but proof is in the results back in the day that it did. Ireland has never seen such great success since Italia 90 and this is pushing 18yrs on now and still on a slide down the rankings, currently 32nd and slipping fast!
As far as the new manager goes, no-one thats appointed will suit everyone but what we need is the lads to do the business on the pitch instead of blaming the manager non stop. Its so much easier to sack a manager instead of getting rid of our players that are over-rated and act like they are gods gift with an ego to match the size of their over inflated wages.
Soper
01/12/2007, 10:43 AM
Seeing as Vegetables is being considered, how about someone like Eddie May? Or Roddy Collins?
01/12/2007, 12:24 PM
Haan looks to be a very good cup manager, that would be perfect for what we need. His success in so many different leagues shows to me he's the real deal, as opposed to the mixed bags that are Venables, Souness, etc.
was in china the time he was their manager, and he made a complete pigs ar se of that job, China had a decent team bit couldnt even get to the last group stage............the chinese gave him the job cause he was dutch and a football legend..........and boy did they come to regret that decision
Hodgson would me my choice at the moment
01/12/2007, 3:51 PM
I was looking at the candidates in the betting list for the Scottish job, the top 20 listed are all Scots.
We have about 3 Irish in for our job.
Bondvillain
01/12/2007, 4:04 PM
I was looking at the candidates in the betting list for the Scottish job, the top 20 listed are all Scots.
We have about 3 Irish in for our job.
While an Irishman at the helm would be welcome, and something to be proud of, I personally wouldn't care if there were 20 Martians on the shortlist as long as the most qualified men with the best credentials were on it too.
Noelys Guitar
01/12/2007, 4:12 PM
Kinnear and Daglish are 2 of the candidates to be interviewed this week according to Five live. I had a feeling Daglish might come into the reckoning but surely Kinnear's days are over.
theworm2345
01/12/2007, 4:57 PM
http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=afp-fblitaenginterhodgson&prov=afp&type=lgns
01/12/2007, 5:14 PM
You are slowing down Worm, that news doesn´t mean that much and already discussed in the Hodgson thread.
theworm2345
01/12/2007, 5:57 PM
You are slowing down Worm, that news doesn´t mean that much and already discussed in the Hodgson thread.
No, I've always been slow
02/12/2007, 2:07 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/houllier-not-the-man-for-ireland-job-1234639.html
02/12/2007, 2:53 PM
Isn't Fanning's job when he's not writing about Ireland to write about Liverpool? Nice job for a Liverpool fan.
Houllier was successful for all intents and purposes at Liverpool, especially in cup competitions.
His criticisms are probably correct but he ignored the positives.
His swift dismissal of Hodgson totally ignores his successes. If the dressing room found him dull, his track record barely shows it.
Also, I didn't realise the only responsibility of the new manager was to get the dressing room happy. In that case maybe we should appoint Tommy Tiernan.
02/12/2007, 6:28 PM
Kinnear and Daglish are 2 of the candidates to be interviewed this week according to Five live. I had a feeling Daglish might come into the reckoning but surely Kinnear's days are over.
What is the word on Dalglish, is he a candidate now? was he ever a candidate before, when Mick resigned?
Noelys Guitar
02/12/2007, 6:58 PM
What is the word on Dalglish, is he a candidate now? was he ever a candidate before, when Mick resigned?
I remember one of the papers reporting that he would not do an interview for the job (pre-kerr's appointment).
onceahoop
02/12/2007, 7:09 PM
Nor was it when Charlton took over. But a strong character who wants to do things his way will bring his own people in. And Charlton indirectly forced Touhy out by coming into the dressing room while Touhy was manager of the then u21's and giving the team talk. Touhy knew he had to go to preserve his own diginity. Givens would be fully aware of that.
Just to clarify, it was the under 18's and he was complaining about them eating steak for their pre match meal. It was a crass thing to do. But we can't argue with Charltons record on the whole.
Can't see Venables been offered the job. Yesterday's man imo.
If we thought Stan's press conferences were bad what would we say about Dalgleish's.
Noelys Guitar
02/12/2007, 7:41 PM
Just to clarify, it was the under 18's and he was complaining about them eating steak for their pre match meal. It was a crass thing to do. But we can't argue with Charltons record on the whole.
Can't see Venables been offered the job. Yesterday's man imo.
If we thought Stan's press conferences were bad what would we say about Dalgleish's.
Your right. It was the u18's. But it was Charlton coming into dressing room.
In Touhy's own words
In February of 1986, at half-time in a youth team game with England at Elland Road, Tuohy was just about to deliver his dressing room speech when he was brushed aside by Jack Charlton, the new Ireland manager. "Eoin Hand (the previous manager) used to come to all our matches and would always come in to wish the team luck and that's all I asked Jack to do: to come in and wish them luck. I didn't ask him to come in at half-time that was my job! I was being shafted. I walked. But the game goes on."
02/12/2007, 8:38 PM
If we thought Stan's press conferences were bad what would we say about Dalgleish's.I actually think Stan tried to model himself on Dalglish, but simply didn't have the skill or self-confidence to do it.
Bondvillain
02/12/2007, 9:00 PM
I actually think Stan tried to model himself on Dalglish, but simply didn't have the skill or self-confidence to do it.
Aye. "You tell me" was very much in the "Mebby aye, mebby no" vein, but came off as Joe Pasquale modeling himself on Brando .
eekers
02/12/2007, 9:03 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/houllier-not-the-man-for-ireland-job-1234639.html
finger on the pulse there top journalism. Houillier doesnt want the job why does fanning even mention him? houillier doesnteven want the england job. he's as well off writing a piece saying why mourinho would be bad for the irish job. completely irrelevant
macdermesser
04/12/2007, 7:48 AM
Reading manager Steve Coppell is ready to quit, saying he has taken the club as far as he can. (The Sun)
Ignoring that this report comes from the Sun, I wonder does he fancy the Irish job? When all these big jobs come online, why is Coppell's name never mentioned? Is it because of the Man City thing, walking out on the job after being appointed?
Granted he does not have the international experience .. and Hodgson probably ticks all the boxes for the job .. but surely Coppell would do a great job.
The giftgrub people would have their work cut out though!
Wolfie
04/12/2007, 8:32 AM
From the Indo today.
Venables remains bookies' favourite
Tuesday December 04 2007
"No news is good news as far as Terry Venables' chances of becoming the next Irish manager is concerned.
Venables remains the most likely candidate to succeed Steve Staunton having declared a tentative interest in discussing the post with the FAI. Other possible candidates for the job have whittled away with the news that former Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier ruled himself out of contention, while Roy Hodgson is also an unlikely successor given his new role at Inter Milan.
Billy Davies, who was recently sacked by struggling Derby County, has made himself available but his interest is only lukewarm as he has expressed a preference for replacing Alex McLeish as Scottish manager.
Venables was among the early favourites even before his tenure as Steve McClaren's assistant at England ended with their doomed Euro 2008 qualifying campaign and his position has since strengthened.
Venables also has links to both of the FAI's kingmakers Don Howe and Don Givens.
Howe was the coach of England under Venables' regime in the mid-nineties which saw them lose the semi final of Euro '96 to eventual champions Germany, while he played with Givens at QPR. Venables remains the bookies' favourite ahead of former Ireland midfielder Liam Brady".
- Donnchadh Boyle
I heard John Giles reiterate his views on Venebles on Newstalk this morning. Giles contends that if Venebles gave the job the attention it deserves he could be a success.
irishfan86
04/12/2007, 8:33 AM
Reading manager Steve Coppell is ready to quit, saying he has taken the club as far as he can. (The Sun)
Ignoring that this report comes from the Sun, I wonder does he fancy the Irish job? When all these big jobs come online, why is Coppell's name never mentioned? Is it because of the Man City thing, walking out on the job after being appointed?
Granted he does not have the international experience .. and Hodgson probably ticks all the boxes for the job .. but surely Coppell would do a great job.
The giftgrub people would have their work cut out though!
The Sun actually have directed quotes from him though....he says he wants a break, and international management would be a break of sorts, it wouldn't be pressure week in and week out like he's dealing with now.
04/12/2007, 8:53 AM
ye know if i were a journalist, i would bring out a piece saying aldridge was the favourite. Just because 50k people bet on a particular person doesnt make him the favourite in the appointers mind.
I really hate this " he is the favourite", it should be written "i think he is the favourite and so I will write a whole piece on it"
04/12/2007, 9:13 AM
ye know if i were a journalist, i would bring out a piece saying aldridge was the favourite. Just because 50k people bet on a particular person doesnt make him the favourite in the appointers mind.
No, if you were a journalist you would stick a grand on John Aldridge then write a piece saying Aldridge is the favourite (done deal, confirmed by sources close to Delaney) and then lay it off on betfair :)
04/12/2007, 9:21 AM
How much money actually gets put on these bets? Hundreds? Thousands? Tens of thousands? I don't think it's a very deep market so I wouldn't pay too much attention. I reckon if I stuck 200 euros on a candidate it'd bring his odds right in.
04/12/2007, 10:08 AM
Well, so far on Betfair there's been €167k staked. €86k of that was on Venables. He's at 5/4 on Betfair. If you put €40 on at those odds he'll be down to 11/10. You could get another €60 on at that price and soon he's odds on. Every other manager only has really small amounts available to back at each price.
Obviously it's much different with bookies though.
04/12/2007, 10:24 AM
JTS, you're a step ahead of me!! :D
04/12/2007, 10:36 AM
Steve Coppell might quit Reading soon.
Would people like to see him as Irish manager?
irishfan86
04/12/2007, 10:38 AM
I'd love to have him. He can get the best of a limited bunch, and I think he's got a good eye for talent as well, as some of his signings are quite obscure.
Wolfie
04/12/2007, 10:39 AM
Given the remaining alternatives - most certainly.
04/12/2007, 10:43 AM
Mods, should Coppell have a separate thread?
04/12/2007, 11:02 AM
This is about the English FA but you can replace it with FAI and Mourinhio with Hodgson or Coppell or whoever.
Jose Mourinho may or may not be bluffing about his interest in taking over as England coach - but there is one simple way to find out.
The Football Association should call Mourinho's bluff. Today.
Mourinho is far and away the outstanding candidate to succeed Steve McClaren. He is also available.
And yet we have the farce of the FA canvassing luminaries such as John Toshack, Michel Platini, Franz Beckenbauer and Sir Alex Ferguson before making its move.
This is utter nonsense. Never mind "the process", just get on the phone.
No-one with a basic working knowledge of football should need to consult anyone, let alone a man who has underwhelmed with Wales, to get the gist of Mourinho's ability and achievements.
And the same applies to Fabio Capello and Martin O'Neill, who would also be excellent choices.
The FA will not be criticised if Mourinho is asked and says no.
But chief executive Brian Barwick and his cohorts will be destroyed if Mourinho is not even asked the question because they are waiting on big Tosh's carefully-crafted opinion, or there is some other inexplicable hesitation.
Mourinho has teased England about his interest, leading to understandable claims that he is using potential FA interest to land the big one at Real Madrid, Barcelona or AC Milan.
So pick up the phone or better still get on a plane.
If a journalist can find the gates to his Portuguese home, the task should not be beyond the Football Association's finest.
If Mourinho is asked and turns the offer down, the FA can move on.
If he agrees, and his huge ego might just tempt him, almost all of the FA's sins will be forgiven.
But ask him. Now.
You might have gathered from this that I would happily lead the public campaign for Mourinho to succeed McClaren. From the ridiculous to the sublime.
Mourinho is charismatic, successful and might just frighten the life out of some of the grey men we saw announcing McClaren's departure - another reason to appoint him.
He is, above all, a proven coach with or without money.
Mourinho's achievements in winning the Uefa Cup and Champions League with Porto arguably carry more weight for him to be the next England coach than his achievements with Chelsea.
And world-class players speak in awe of Mourinho as a man manager able to get big performances from his players - another perfect quality for the hit-and-run nature of international football.
Now we come to the part of the equation that will have them shaking in their suits at Soho Square.
Namely Jose's combustible personality.
In short - who cares?
What does the FA want? A Mr Nice Guy who will never ruffle feathers inside or outside Soho Square or anywhere else, or a man who might upset some along the way but offers them the best chance of success?
I know which one I would pick. And I'd bet a huge majority of the English football public agree.
The FA can stop the speculation about Mourinho's intentions, or otherwise, by simply offering him the job.
He will either take it or it will flush out his true intentions.
Mourinho would be a brilliant choice. The FA would be negligent not to make the approach.
And it should be made now.
04/12/2007, 12:31 PM
does mourinho live back in portugal? i thought he was still in London....
in fairness chelsea are playing better and more attractive football than they have under mourinho in the last 18 months.
irishfan86
04/12/2007, 12:41 PM
in fairness chelsea are playing better and more attractive football than they have under mourinho in the last 18 months.
Yeah Mourinho lives in Portugal, some sky reporter went to his home there to interview him.
OldKentRoad
04/12/2007, 12:57 PM
er, they're not. That's an invention of anti Mournihoites. They're playing the exact bloody same - the only time Chelsea really play top class stuf is when they're losing or they have they're very best 11 on the pitch. neither happens too often.
ken foree
04/12/2007, 12:58 PM
Yeah Mourinho lives in Portugal, some sky reporter went to his home there to interview him.
replace "interview him" with "beg him to be the next england manager" and you're on the money :D
Wolfie
04/12/2007, 1:14 PM
Just scanned today's Herald and foot.ie gets a dubious mention in Paul Hylands column.
Don't have direct quotes but the sites been cast among a motley crew that comprises the anti-Venebles brigade in his eyes.
Maroon 7
04/12/2007, 1:36 PM
Howard Kendall has applied for the job apparently and he's sounded out Peter Beardsley as his assistant.
Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 1:38 PM
Just scanned today's Herald and foot.ie gets a dubious mention in Paul Hylands column.
Don't have direct quotes but the sites been cast among a motley crew that comprises the anti-Venebles brigade in his eyes.
Must be doing something right if we're in the opposite camp to that gobsh1te!
04/12/2007, 1:55 PM
Howard Kendall has applied for the job apparently and he's sounded out Peter Beardsley as his assistant.
So Venables now has some competition amongst washed out has beens? I'd prefer Venables tbh.
soccerc
04/12/2007, 2:01 PM
So Venables now has some competition amongst washed out has beens? I'd prefer Venables tbh.
Call me cynical but is Kendall's 'interest' a way to make the 'Barrow Boy' more acceptable?
04/12/2007, 2:06 PM
Yeah, I'd thought of that.
It's like when Ian Hislop said of Anne Widdecombe's book "totally crap, but compared to Edwina Currie's drivel it was a joy to read". The next edition had ""a joy to read" - Ian Hislop" on the cover!
dr_peepee
04/12/2007, 2:23 PM
Call me cynical but is Kendall's 'interest' a way to make the 'Barrow Boy' more acceptable?
Yeah!! Expect to see Glenn Roeder, Steve Wigley and Chris Hutchins get linked to the post over the coming days!!!!!
Wolfie
04/12/2007, 2:30 PM
Yeah - to create a "Beggars can't be choosers" scenario as Ealing Green might say.
Drumcondra 69er
04/12/2007, 2:48 PM
Possibly. Funny thing is he's won at least twice as many trophies as Vanables and his success was in the same era. So how can the Vanables apologists in the media dismiss Kendall as a has been (which he is) while still championing their hero?
bitored
04/12/2007, 6:43 PM
From football365.com
Holland coach Marco van Basten has announced he will step down from the role after Euro 2008
Offer him the job NOW! Like right now... whatever the price!
(Think he'll probably end up at Barcelona though:()
eekers
04/12/2007, 6:57 PM
he'd probably drop doyle and call up roy o'donovan
05/12/2007, 7:58 AM
There was an article in one of the Swedish newspapers at the weekend ranking the wages each of the EURO 2008 coaches are paid.
Van Basten is on 1 million euros a year, Hiddink is on 1.4 million euros a year, Reinhagel is around 1 million euros a year, and Beenhakker is around 700,000 euros a year.
If Stan's annual wage of approx. 400,000 euros is used as a benchmark for what the FAI can afford, they can afford to employ the services of France's, Romania's, Switzerland's, Austra's, Croatia's, Sweden's and the Czech Republic's coach. All of these boys (perhaps not Domenech as his salary is performance related) are currently paid less that what Stan was getting.
eekers
05/12/2007, 8:23 AM
the fai told the selectors that the minimun salary for ireland boss is 1 million euros.
i can see why van basten is quitting now
05/12/2007, 8:33 AM
the fai told the selectors that the minimun salary for ireland boss is 1 million euros.
Really?
I think the FAI have already made their appointment. They put in place a selection committee for cosmetic purposes only.