View Full Version : New Irish manager
youngirish
13/11/2007, 11:14 AM
I see Paul Jewell has ruled himself out of returning to Wigan after initally suggesting last week that he'd be open to a return. Seems a sharp turnaround. Maybe the FAI have contacted him before he disappeared for good off their radar? Who knows but I'll spread some gossip anyway as this thread needs to be reactivated.
I hope something is going on behind the scenes and they are at least talking to some of the candidates that have been mentioned on here.
Wolfie
13/11/2007, 12:03 PM
I see Paul Jewell has ruled himself out of returning to Wigan after initally suggesting last week that he'd be open to a return. Seems a sharp turnaround. Maybe the FAI have contacted him before he disappeared for good off their radar? Who knows but I'll spread some gossip anyway as this thread needs to be reactivated.
I hop something is going on behind the scenes and they are at least talking to some of the candidates that have been mentioned on here.
Indeed. I wonder how near or otherwise are they to assembling their crack team of consultants.
Sligo Hornet
13/11/2007, 12:43 PM
Indeed. I wonder how near or otherwise are they to assembling their crack team of consultants.
More likely to assembling their Crack FOR the team of consultants:D
13/11/2007, 12:51 PM
Beenhakker got his contract with Poland extended.
Wolfie
13/11/2007, 12:52 PM
More likely to assembling their Crack FOR the team of consultants:D
They're used to making an arse of things!! :D
13/11/2007, 2:19 PM
From today's Indo: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/givenrsquos-battle-1217818.html
Meanwhile, the FAI Board of Management will meet again later today to report on what progress has been made in the appointment of a new manager to replace Steve Staunton.At their last meeting, the Board agreed on a preferred list of headhunters to assist in the task, but it is now understood that they have experienced some difficulty in finalising a three-man team.
It is considered extremely unlikely that any definite developments will be announced after this latest summit.
13/11/2007, 2:40 PM
From today's Indo: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/givenrsquos-battle-1217818.html
Which leaves the way open to say " sorry we couldn't finalise the headhunters to our liking - but look we've got a cup-winning, league winning former French manager who would like to do the job. So we'll just give it to him. Taa-Daa!"
Wolfie
14/11/2007, 7:39 AM
Hunt wants Venables as Ireland boss
Stephen Hunt would welcome any attempt to lure Terry Venables as Republic of Ireland manager.
The midfielder has heard good reports about the former England boss and current number two to Steve McClaren from Reading team-mate Nicky Shorey, who has worked under Venables at international level.
Like McClaren, Venables could find himself out of a job if England fail to reach the Euro 2008 finals.
And the Republic, currently preparing for Saturday's European Championship qualifier against Wales, are looking for a new manager following Steve Staunton's recent departure.
'A new man will bring in fresh ideas,' Hunt said. 'And if you spend big, I suppose, like anything, you get big.
Venables has been mentioned and all the players seem to have a lot of respect for him.
'That's important. Nicky seems to like him. He was a bit unlucky when he coached Australia, but he'd be a good man to have.'
RTE Sport
Dr. Ogba
14/11/2007, 8:22 AM
Jaysus I like Hunt but he should learn to keep his mouth shut on these matters especially if he touting sh!te like Venebles...
mackannovic
14/11/2007, 8:32 AM
Surely we could do better than Paul Jewell???
14/11/2007, 8:40 AM
Jaysus I like Hunt but he should learn to keep his mouth shut on these matters especially if he touting sh!te like Venebles...My thoughts exactly. Nicky Shorey likes him so he must be good. Good God.
dr_peepee
14/11/2007, 10:04 AM
I concur...
14/11/2007, 10:48 AM
My thoughts exactly. Nicky Shorey likes him so he must be good. Good God.
Stephen Hunt plays with Nicky Shorey who was picked by Steve McLaren who works with Terry Venables - the headhunting is complete! It's a foolproof system.
I'd still like to get Stephen Ireland's opinion though, if he doesn't approve of the new manager he may never play for us again.
ken foree
14/11/2007, 1:08 PM
hunt should really insert an extra helping of chicken casserole into that pie-hole of his because he's coming out with some real sh!te of late, what with the media getting the fans to get stan the sack and now this. lordy.
14/11/2007, 1:23 PM
Coppell? FFS, are we sure he could pick a team without "having a few guinesses"
Exactly what we need, a cheque-book manager in charge of a team he cant buy for.
youngirish
14/11/2007, 1:38 PM
Exactly what we need, a cheque-book manager in charge of a team he cant buy for.
Look at the alternatives and it becomes clear why he got so many votes. Wasn't Coppell manager of the season last year btw? He never splashes out large amounts on players either so dunno where that remark came from.
Let's pick Liam Brady instead and really ****** our team up.
14/11/2007, 1:51 PM
.`
I agree with this part. I couldn't believe he made this comment when asked about signing doyle and long. Yet he's incredibly fond of the Irish some on here would have you know.
14/11/2007, 9:19 PM
http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=58710
murphio's always posting up articles from the Mirror the day before it's published so I assume he works for them.
He's now saying Jewell will be interviewed tomorrow... I guess it'll be in one of tomorrows papers anyway.
14/11/2007, 9:28 PM
Good spot there Eirebhoy
Paddy Power market is down.
Houllier, not a bad choice. I guess he had some contact with Brian Kerr about it.
I see the edit to Murphios post is that there is a Paul Jewell interview also.
He says his source for the info is the same one that gave him Stan.
Does Noely have the bottle to handle the tension or will he crack?
14/11/2007, 9:38 PM
Ladbrokes have taken the market down too. Yeah I'm nearly certain he works for the Mirror:
"I was just on my way home and the back page has changed."
Red-ODea
14/11/2007, 9:58 PM
i might pip you to it im 24 and won the champions league with limerick fc and shels
if thats true fair play
by the way Coppel would be class but why leave reading
macdermesser
15/11/2007, 8:14 AM
"The Wigan chairman was prepared to pay the former manager Paul Jewell £50,000 a week, plus a substantial bonus for keeping the struggling club in the Premier League."
Do the sums folks ... if he's turning down that sort of money to take the Irish job, I would be pleasantly surprised.
youngirish
15/11/2007, 10:09 AM
"The Wigan chairman was prepared to pay the former manager Paul Jewell £50,000 a week, plus a substantial bonus for keeping the struggling club in the Premier League."
Do the sums folks ... if he's turning down that sort of money to take the Irish job, I would be pleasantly surprised.
Me too but I feel he originally stepped down from Wigan due to the constant pressure and stress of the job. International management (and particularly managing the Ireland team) would be far less stressful and time consuming.
Just take Stan for example. He lasted nearly two years in the job. He wouldn't have lasted a month in a Premiership job with similar results to the ones he got for Ireland.
15/11/2007, 10:17 AM
if thats true fair play
by the way Coppel would be class but why leave reading
I've said that a couple of times. No manager I can think of has quit a top flight English job to manage any country but England.
Not sure Coppell would be class by the way.
Newryrep
15/11/2007, 10:41 AM
Went with Roy Hodgson as the best realistic man for the job
given the options mark lawrenson is CLEARLY the obvious choice
*sorry i must have been smoking the crack that everyone else is if anyone is suggesting, paul jewell, steve coppell et al. We need a world class manager, but we won't get one. we're probably going to get an ex prem manager who will be as mediocre as the last, unless the fai pay the position what its worth for the weght of expectation, then we'll be having this very same discussion in 4 years. unless we see some changes in the fai way of doing things, its only going to get worse. i fear we are doomed to mediocrity despite having a good young squad. :(
carloz
15/11/2007, 6:52 PM
There are rimblings on another Football Forum that Jewell is to be announced as new manager tommorrow. Suppoesly Jonny Giles touched on it on Newstalk.
15/11/2007, 6:57 PM
John Giles is SOURCE.
What did he say or not say.
15/11/2007, 7:08 PM
Ok, I heard the news where they quoted Giles
which sorta went like this
I said that I would help the FAI in any way I can,
I can´t comment on that particular item (Jewell)
but I will talk to you in an extended program tomorrow
15/11/2007, 7:12 PM
He's now 6/4 favourite with Powers.
15/11/2007, 7:14 PM
The odds have only really shifted
from 14/1 to 7/1 today to 5/2 at newstime to 6/4 now
Then Giles has been keeping his trap firmly shut up until now.
The honest fixer.
Dr. Ogba
16/11/2007, 8:51 AM
I don't understand this, why don't they wait just one more week until the qualifiers are over and see what managers are available at that stage instead of rushing into an appointment now????
I originally voted for Coppell but I agree with NewryRep now, I think Hodgson should be the man for the job...(assuming Finland don't qualify)
Hodgson said to be keen and has support of the dressing room... would love Hodgson to get it tbh
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/shadow-play-1222092.html
17/11/2007, 7:55 PM
I'd be happy with Hodgson. Content with Jewell. In tears with O'Leary/Souness and Aldridge.
Maroon 7
17/11/2007, 9:11 PM
Presumably Venables' odds must have taken a hit now that England look like qualifying.
sligo23
17/11/2007, 9:13 PM
Gerard Houllier
enough said.
Irish_Praha
18/11/2007, 3:33 PM
According to sporting life there is a report in the News of the World saying:
"Ireland are poised to approach the FA about Terry Venables' availability."
Please God no!
I would imagine Hiddink will become available if Russia don't qualify. Abramovich who pays half his wages wouldn't be long in giving him the boot. We probably can't afford him but worth pursuing it to see.
19/11/2007, 9:02 AM
I would imagine Hiddink will become available if Russia don't qualify. Abramovich who pays half his wages wouldn't be long in giving him the boot. We probably can't afford him but worth pursuing it to see.
You want a manager that lost away to Israel and with a more talented team than ours will probably finish behind Croatia and England :confused: At least we drew there. Bring back Brian Kerr :p
19/11/2007, 9:25 AM
Carsley says we need a manager with international experience.
Kilbane says Jewell comes alive on match day, a great motivator. Isn't that what they say about Martin O'Neill too, that he's only a match-day manager?
19/11/2007, 9:36 AM
Hiddink recently extended his contact with Russia until 2010 - http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/internationals/article3047555.ece - of course that doesn't mean he can't get sacked
19/11/2007, 9:51 AM
According to Newstalk (break out them salt cellars) yesterday, the blameless Delaney met with "senior players" on Friday night in Cardiff to ...I'm not sure what ...get their views, sound them out, whatever ...relating to the next manager.
I have to admit I'm conflicted about this (assuming it's true for a second).
On the one hand ...yes it's good that someone from the FAI is seeking councel on the most important job in Irish football. It's a start.
On the other I'm fairly uneasy about any rubber-stamp of candidates being sought from the players.
I'd really fear there'd be some who'd push for the guy who might be more likely to let them out to Lillies than the guy who might get them to raise their game and put them back in the hunt for qualifying for things.
19/11/2007, 9:59 AM
Irish Times:
The recruitment process took a small but significant step forward over the weekend when Delaney met senior members of the squad including Given, Kevin Kilbane and Robbie Keane to hear their views on the impending appointment.
"There was about half a dozen of us," said Given, "and it was good to speak to John about it. He wanted our thoughts on the manager situation and it was clear that he's desperate to get the right man in charge as well.
"It was a good chat. We all enjoyed it and John was good in what he said as well. I know he gets a lot of stick back in Ireland but he's keen to get the appointment right and he's listening to all the guys and I suppose many other people behind the scenes as well. We all - John, the players and the fans - want to bring the country forward."
I'd take Shay at face value there. I think even Robbie knows now that their star status has been tarnished and trips to Lillie's before must-win games is no longer an option.
A meeeting of the same players with a fans group would do no harm (I'm not talking about Alan Hunter but I'd happily volunteer). They need to know that the "contract" has been broken. The fans aren't as fickle as they think and neither is the press (well, not the daily broadsheets that I read, Times, Indo and Examiner - all online). I suspect they know this now though.
Pád Von Tirpitz
19/11/2007, 10:04 AM
Yeah I think they should consult the lads with the Delaney Out banners ready to go whenever we let in a goal. And possibly the people who abused Stan's parents. Let's go to the beating heart of Irish football to find consensus.
19/11/2007, 10:14 AM
Nice one Pad, exactly the fans I was talking about.
Pád Von Tirpitz
19/11/2007, 10:20 AM
Nice one Pad, exactly the fans I was talking about.
Nah, I just think it's enough to get a couple of clued-in football people to identify and head-hunt a manager rather than some cod-democratic process.
And if the Indo was to be consulted we'd have El Tel here for a brief unsuccessful dalliance. Stupid rag.
19/11/2007, 10:27 AM
Indo: there seems to be a difference between the Indo and the Sunday Indo, no? The Sunday Indo is the only Irish paper my local newsagent sells on a Sunday and I bought it looking forward (stupidly) looking forward to some chat about the game and the new manager. all I read was pro Venables propoganda :(
Ok, James Lawton, who I usually like, put forward a piece last week in the daily version but he's an "independent" writer not a staff writer.
Dotsy
19/11/2007, 10:40 AM
You want a manager that lost away to Israel and with a more talented team than ours will probably finish behind Croatia and England :confused: At least we drew there. Bring back Brian Kerr :p
You can't base an assessment of the man's career on one game. He has taken S Korea and the Netherlands to 4th place in the World Cup and Australia to the second round. He won several Dutch championships with PSV and coached them in European competition. Head and shoulders above anyone else being mentioned or would you prefer Paul Jewel.
I cannot see him been kept on by Russia (and Abramovich) contract or no contract if England draw or win against Croatia on Wednesday.
amaccann
19/11/2007, 12:06 PM
So slightly facetiously I make the point but - anyone think Don Givens should be given a fair crack of the whip? ;) Notwithstanding his failure with the U-21s, it was odd listening to a manager who had his head screwed on right & vaguely knew what he was doing.
19/11/2007, 1:45 PM
Irish Times:
The recruitment process took a small but significant step forward over the weekend when Delaney met senior members of the squad including Given, Kevin Kilbane and Robbie Keane to hear their views on the impending appointment.
"There was about half a dozen of us," said Given, "and it was good to speak to John about it. He wanted our thoughts on the manager situation and it was clear that he's desperate to get the right man in charge as well.
"It was a good chat. We all enjoyed it and John was good in what he said as well. I know he gets a lot of stick back in Ireland but he's keen to get the appointment right and he's listening to all the guys and I suppose many other people behind the scenes as well. We all - John, the players and the fans - want to bring the country forward."
I'd take Shay at face value there. I think even Robbie knows now that their star status has been tarnished and trips to Lillie's before must-win games is no longer an option.
A meeeting of the same players with a fans group would do no harm (I'm not talking about Alan Hunter but I'd happily volunteer). They need to know that the "contract" has been broken. The fans aren't as fickle as they think and neither is the press (well, not the daily broadsheets that I read, Times, Indo and Examiner - all online). I suspect they know this now though.
Worrying that John O'Shea was one of this group of 6.:eek:
As you have said, I would have thought the players realise by now that the 'contract' has been broken and that the Staunton issue aside, apart from Shay Given and Richard Dunne, their general performances this campaign fell way below what is an expected and what is acceptable by the fans.
The difficulty with giving a fans view is, as is evident on this site, that there are so many differing opinions. I don't wish to be smart or contentious but what different 'credentials' would you have to represent a fans group no more than does Alan Hunter or anyone else on here or indeed not on here?