View Full Version : New Irish manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

18/10/2007, 2:17 PM
Sorry I am regretting putting then name in there. I was only using it as as type of manager. It could have been of those guys that know how to get a small club and do well with them. I dont their talents would be suited to international managment.

18/10/2007, 3:16 PM
Neil, I think it's funny that you doubt your own spelling of an ordinary name like Roy Hodgson yet are fully confident you've got Beenhakker right! :)

18/10/2007, 3:21 PM
I am still not sure if I got either of them right.

18/10/2007, 4:11 PM
Let us not forget, it's not just a question of picking the right candidate for us......who ever is first choice may NOT want the job! Let's face it, it isn't the most attractive of positions at present and certainly will NOT command the highest salary ( bearing in mind who has a strong grip on the purse string! ):rolleyes:

There are two important issues in all of this. (1) who, among the best managers/coaches are available? and (2) will they want the job?

By the end of November all of those qualifying for Euro 2008 will be known and the groups for the WC 2010 qualifiers will be known. Anyone currently managing a team that has qualified for Euro 2008 finals is hardly likely to be leaving before then. Anyone who may be interested will know the challenge facing us to qualify for WC 2010. They will also know that unless they can lead us to qualify for WC2010, they will be deemed a failure and hounded by press and fans alike.

I would suggest that the Hiddiniks, Scolaris and Lippis of this world are far more interested in being associated with success and keeping their reputations intact than in money.

If we draw 2 strong first and second seeds in our WCQ group, then I would think some of the top names, assuming they are available, would shy away on the basis that expectation (fans and media demanding qualification) and reality (the potential of the current crop of players to overcome 2 strong teams over an 18 month 10/12 game campaign) are poles apart.

If all we are left with are the likes of Aldridge, Jewell, Bruce, O'Leary then we might as well leave Staunton in place but employ an experienced assistant/head coach to work alongside him (The Bobby Robson thing was doomed from the start).

Finally, if Hiddinck or one of these top bananas came along and made themselves but then stated they saw the job as a four year project with the end goal building a team good enough to qualify for Euro 2012 would we accept that on the basis that as hardened experienced men they must know what they were on about? I doubt we would.

Emmet
18/10/2007, 5:38 PM
I know it is really unlikely but I'd like to see Roy Keane have a shot at it ... there are a few problems with the current crop one of which is that they need an almighty kick up the backside!!

18/10/2007, 5:59 PM
Delaney would never ever appoint Keane.

Think the criticism of Venables is justified, despite his past record. Toshack had a superb managerial record around the same time, but doesn't seem to be making much headway at Wales.

Bungle
18/10/2007, 6:02 PM
for christ sake lads STEPHEN KENNY????? Don't get me wrong, he did well at Derry but can you really imagine him managing Given, Dunne, Finnan, Ireland, Duff and Keane etc? These are top premiership footballers who wouldn't give the guy an ounce of respect. That's the very core of the problem with our team.

It seems we've gotten our wish of a new manager. Please god let it not be O'Leary or McCateer or Aldo and especially not Kenny. I would like a top European manager who knows the game inside out. If Georgia can get Topmeuller, then the barometer has been set for us.

The shout of Hodgson is a good one. He understands the English game and would know most if not all of our players. He also has considerable knowledge of European football. He is doing an excellent job with Finland right now.

I would love Beenhaker or Hiddink but as its already been pointed out they'll probably be preparing for the next European championships so we can rule them out. O'Neill would be great, as would Curbishley.

I would settle for Jewell as a last resort. He is a good manager who I admire but I would believe that he is more suited to club football.

Nipper
18/10/2007, 6:11 PM
Do ye remember the talk about getting Fergie in to do the job??! Was that after McCarthy or Kerr? Seems so crazy now.

Nipper
18/10/2007, 6:18 PM
I'll tell ya who's a dark ****in horse - Clive Woodward.

Ye heard it here first.

18/10/2007, 6:26 PM

Ye heard it here first.

Ye know I always felt he wanted to bring England to the world cup in soccer and win it. to be the first man to do a cross over.

I cant see it by delaney and co because he would be too worried about the public reaction for once.

18/10/2007, 6:29 PM
Forgot to say - it'll be Bryan Robson.

Closed Account 2
18/10/2007, 6:34 PM
Realistically who will take it ? I can only see someone who is out of work taking it.

My money would be on Aldridge, Jewell or O'Leary.

Nipper
18/10/2007, 6:35 PM
They should appoint a three-man team

BRADY
DUNPHY
GILES

Dunphy can play the Mick Byrne role.

18/10/2007, 7:04 PM
for christ sake lads STEPHEN KENNY????? Don't get me wrong, he did well at Derry but can you really imagine him managing Given, Dunne, Finnan, Ireland, Duff and Keane etc? These are top premiership footballers who wouldn't give the guy an ounce of respect. That's the very core of the problem with our team.

Stephen Kenny has always got results at his clubs. He promoted Longford and took them into Europe, took Derry past Gretna, and brought Dunfermline to the SCF. He may have got no respect at the outset, but how many had respect for Staunton when he took the job??

Stephen Kenny wouldn't whinge about "having no divine right" to qualify for tournaments. He would demand qualification from his players instantly, not settle for 4 year cushions, or plans as they're known. Charlton also got no respect from his squad when he came in with his ideas on playing football, but he earned it, from his success rate. Kenny would earn it too over time.

If we get someone like Aldo, or even McAteer in, then at least they would have some idea of the basics at coaching level. Staunton has none.

On the contrary, the Irish job is a very attractive proposition for an ambitious manager who wants to reform the team, and make it competitive at this level. That's what someone like Hiddink does. The raw materials are there, we just need a competent boss, who knows how to coach a football team.

Hibs4Ever
18/10/2007, 7:10 PM
Delaney would never ever appoint Keane.

Keane would never work for Delaney

My money would be on Aldridge, Jewell or O'Leary.

Would go with one of these 3 myself

carloz
18/10/2007, 7:13 PM
whats the likely hood of someone like Pakie Bonner, Andy Townsend, Jamie McAteer or someone getting the job. I will leave the country forever if this happens. I have a feeling that the FAI will only appoint a Yes man

Newryrep
18/10/2007, 7:14 PM
Jewell if he took it it and has any sort of success would jump at the first premiership job and we would be right back to square one.

Forget past players Aldrige, O Leary there is nobody qualified/suitable or experienced enough.

Forget Premiership rejects Robson, Bruce, Reid , also O Leary etc there is nobody qualified/suitable etc.

Go euro route, Hodgson or somebody similar experienced internationally looking for a challenge but will never be in with a shout for a big job

18/10/2007, 7:16 PM

Ye heard it here first.

Waaaay (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=373676&postcount=138) ahead of ya :)

EDIT: Actually at the time there was a big controversy around Woodward due to the disastrous Lions tour. Looking back now, it would have been much more sensible and beneficial for all concerned than who we ended up with. :eek:

backstothewall
18/10/2007, 7:41 PM
What about John Gregory?? He did well with Villa, and saved QPR last season.

lim abroad
18/10/2007, 7:54 PM
didn't steve coppell say recently that he'd be interested

soccerc
18/10/2007, 7:55 PM
Forget about Jewell now as a candidate

18/10/2007, 7:58 PM
lim_abroad you must have been listening to newstalk

cavan_fan
18/10/2007, 7:58 PM
If we get someone like Aldo, or even McAteer in, then at least they would have some idea of the basics at coaching level. Staunton has none.

What does McAteer know about coaching? The only former Irish players qualified to do the job are O'Leary, Mick and maybe Roy. Sheridan might get into this category. Anyone else is Stan II

onenilgameover
18/10/2007, 8:02 PM

yeah but i cant remember where...if he'd take it we should take a serous look at him...

Aaron
18/10/2007, 8:02 PM
Aston Villa chairman Randy Lerner would not stand in the way of Martin O'Neill should England ever request his services.

Wednesday's defeat in Russia has not only severely jeopardised England's chances of qualifying for Euro 2008 but also Steve McClaren's job prospects.

The Football Association insist they are firmly behind their current incumbent but failure to reach Switzerland and Austria would undoubtedly bring calls for McClaren's head.

Prior to the former Middlesbrough man's appointment, O'Neill had been a candidate to replace Sven Goran Eriksson, but it remains to be seen whether there will be a vacant post any time soon.

Despite the progress made under O'Neill's regime at Villa Park, Lerner would allow his manager to take a position with England, were it ever offered.

Open to offers

Lerner said: "I would not stand in his way. I don't know if I necessarily have any great insight on that subject. That would be between Martin and the FA.

"I think to some extent there is some welcome flattery in the whole thing.

"Obviously, they would be interested in Martin because of the way he has handled himself at Aston Villa.

"That speaks well so far of his first year and the first part of this season.

"As a newcomer, I am reluctant to make too much comment but it is clearly one of the great honours you can achieve in football to be coach of a national team.

"If that were to happen I suppose you would have to admire that kind of achievement and opportunity. I would not stand in his way.

"But I certainly hope he is here with Villa for the long term. As such, I consider Martin to be one of the strongest managers in the game.

"I have no doubt that he could be a highly successful national coach.

"I think what Martin has undoubtedly is very difficult to define - passion to lead and passion to compete. He is able to express his ideas very effectively and in a way which is very compelling.

"Martin is integral to our plans for Villa. If he left it would leave us needing to get to work pretty quickly I suppose. But it is something I have never speculated upon.

"It is not unthinkable but it something you do not want to spend too much time on because it not something you can prepare for. It would have to be dealt with if and when it happened."

Rolling deal

O'Neill is on a one-year rolling deal at Aston Villa and Lerner concedes he has yet to engage in discussions over a fresh one.

"He has not had a single word of discussion about Martin's contract since he arrived at the club," Lerner added.

"I am not exactly sure of the triggers for the contract to continue to move forward.

"My understanding of Martin O'Neill is that he is very happy managing Villa."

I wonder what he would say if the FAI came calling?

Noelys Guitar
18/10/2007, 8:06 PM

If Coppell made himself available I would put him straight to the top of the list.

onceahoop
18/10/2007, 8:14 PM
Forgot to say - it'll be Bryan Robson.

Was it Delaney who wanted to bring him in before? :eek:

Seagull
18/10/2007, 8:14 PM
Roddy- you know it makes sense! Living in the gangsters paradise- come on Delaney, he's yer only man :D

18/10/2007, 8:16 PM
Was it Delaney who wanted to bring him in before? :eek:
Yup.

Hence my post.

Bottle of Tonic
18/10/2007, 8:56 PM

Ye heard it here first.

Ah sure why not? different sport, but then again its only international football eh? Motivation is all thats required right?
While we're at it why not throw Ger Loughnane's name into the ring........

Actually.....

onceahoop
18/10/2007, 10:19 PM
Yup.

Hence my post.

Would the rest of the muppets buy into it? Is there anyone out there who'll take Delaney on? (I'm aware of the rumour posted on foot.ie of a coup by 4 of the 10).

I won't hold my breath. Power corrupts and they won't take a chance on losing it.

citizenerased
18/10/2007, 10:25 PM
Houllier lads

Ordinary Fan
18/10/2007, 10:47 PM
O'Leary is odds on with the bookies!

4tothefloor
18/10/2007, 10:51 PM
Houllier lads
I don't know about ye but if he's willing to take it, it has to be Houllier. Forget Rijkard, Mourinho and all these other top managers who are unavailable or who we can't afford, or who wouldn't touch the job with a barge pole. Be realistic. The best out there that is available is Houllier or maybe Terry Venebles. Didier Deschamps is a top top coach too. Steve Coppell is the only other English coach I'd consider, but he's in a club job at the moment. Paul Jewell, not bad but not convinced he'd be a success at international level. The only thing Dave O'Leary has going for him is the fact he's Irish, but that's about it. Decent coach but wrong personality.

Houllier gets my vote :ball:

18/10/2007, 11:10 PM
Houllier, no way!!

Apart from 1 good year, he screwed up his last two seasons at Anfield, and failed to get us into the 2000 CL. Manager of the longest Liverpool run without a win in our history, and was a total failure when he was France coach. He had 2 games at home requiring one point to qualify for the WC, and lost them both. And that was with a quality squad.

As for the rest of the betting, how many are wind-ups?? Eamonn Dunphy, ffs!!! :eek::rolleyes:

19/10/2007, 12:45 AM
Houllier, no way!!

Apart from 1 good year, he screwed up his last two seasons at Anfield, and failed to get us into the 2000 CL. Manager of the longest Liverpool run without a win in our history, and was a total failure when he was France coach. He had 2 games at home requiring one point to qualify for the WC, and lost them both. And that was with a quality squad.

As for the rest of the betting, how many are wind-ups?? Eamonn Dunphy, ffs!!! :eek::rolleyes:

conveniently ignoring the fact that Houllier has a World Cup Winners Medal from Assisting Aime Jacquet in 1998.

Plus looks like any old mug can win 2 French League titles on the bounce... :rolleyes:

Not to mention he was instrumental in the setup of Clairefontaine - which happens to be arguably the finest football academy in the world

19/10/2007, 12:57 AM
O'Leary is odds on with the bookies!
My heart couldn't take that.

some solace in that he is odds against at 2/1

19/10/2007, 2:38 AM
Plus looks like any old mug can win 2 French League titles on the bounce... :rolleyes:

Even Staunton could have won that league, Lyon had it won before a ball was kicked, both times. :rolleyes: Handy gig. GH had 6 years with Liverpool in a more challenging league, but the best he finished was 2nd.

Not to mention he was instrumental in the setup of Clairefontaine - which happens to be arguably the finest football academy in the world

We're not looking for the new Irish boss to set up football academies. His job is/will be to get the senior team to SA in as painless a way as possible.

RiffRaff
19/10/2007, 7:48 AM
My choice would be George Graham - we wouldnt play any good football but we'd win more matches than we lost and right now i'd be happy with that..

19/10/2007, 8:06 AM
mypost totally missing the point there - as he usually does.

Houllier and Lyon the new Vaduz it seems...

Anyway - the Red Scouse are awful - have been for the past 20 years. Even Mourinho wouldn't have won anything with the squad Houllier had back then.

19/10/2007, 8:14 AM
Houllier's Lyon were excellent, both in France and in Europe.

Irish Times says Jewell is not interested but Ian Dowie is. With Dowie the FAI won't insist on keeping his image rights either.

I'd take Coppell in a heartbeat, and his name is kind of Irish, in an equine way.

antrimgreen
19/10/2007, 8:17 AM
With you stuggart, Coppell would be great, lets face it anyone that has managed any team before is a better choice than the current goat.

RogerMilla
19/10/2007, 8:18 AM
houllier would be great , i would take o'leary though , he would be respected by the players immediately and he has coached at a high level , i dotn like the fella but i would take him. Also he needs us too as he has to re-establish himself as a top-class manager. two years get us into a play off and restore the winning mentality and then we can part our ways.

19/10/2007, 8:21 AM
Martin Jol may be out of Spurs soon, but would probably go to Ajax.

Hibs4Ever
19/10/2007, 8:25 AM
I wonder what he would say if the FAI came calling?

Probably the same thing he said last time, that he wasn't interested. Then a few weeks later say he'd love the England job

Sligo Hornet
19/10/2007, 8:25 AM
[QUOTE=Stuttgart88;795030]Martin Jol may be out of Spurs soon, but would probably go to Ajax.[/QUO

Decent high-profile managers, such as Jol, will almost certainly prefer to continue in the more "prestigious" and lucrative Club management, as you say Stutts........unfortunately!:(

19/10/2007, 8:29 AM
Anyway - my 2c worth:

I'd definitely look at Houllier - someone with probably the best bank of technical knowledge of the game since Hugo Meisl.

Coppell would be a good punt - he's been around the circuit for a good number of years.

Really - as Dunphy made the point on radio this morning - if the FAI are making €10 million a game (as they did against Germany in Croke Park) - then they can afford to go after any manager in the world.

If they want to work the job is another matter

Dr. Ogba
19/10/2007, 8:34 AM
Reading through this thread (which has taken a while...phew!) I'd have to agree that I'd deffo prefer a foreign manager but who would actually be interested????

My top choice mentioned on here that may actually be available would be Wim Jansen - only in a technical director role at Feyenoord so may be tempted back into managment (for a fee) plus has a great record with a club with Irish links (I may be clutching at straws here) plus he's Dutch so we're bound to play great football under him!

Failing that I'd take Beenhakker...

Then I'll wake up from my dream straight into a nightmare and realise we've got Bryan Robson..:rolleyes:

Dr. Ogba
19/10/2007, 8:36 AM
Really - as Dunphy made the point on radio this morning - if the FAI are making €10 million a game (as they did against Germany in Croke Park) - then they can afford to go after any manager in the world.

If they want to work the job is another matter

Exactly...its an investment. If they have the foresight to invest in a top class manager then they'll get the windfall from a world cup finals appearance and it'll all be worthwhile.

But I doubt the FAI think with such logic....:mad:

Wolfie
19/10/2007, 8:50 AM
Would Coppell be willing to leave Reading?

He's possibly the most realistically attainable and best shout so far..........if interested.