View Full Version : New Irish manager
24/10/2007, 1:37 PM
I have a new favourite, having gone away and thought about it.
Otto Rehhagel, the Greece manager. He led them to Euro 2004, working with a limited bunch of players and getting the best out of them. Masterminded the downfall of Portugal (twice), France and the Czech Republic and produced possibly the biggest upset in international football history.
After Euro 2008, which Greece look like they will qualify for, I would say he has achieved everything he can there. Especially given that he was the first foreign 'Greek of the Year' in 2004. So our chances of luring him to our sticken footballing nation would be much improved.
He also has experience of club management, in Germany mostly, yet could provide a useful outside perspective.
I don't expect him to get the job, still, he's my choice nevertheless.
Ade
Would you expect him to walk out on Greece before or after they defend their European championship title for us who haven't come within an asses roar of qualifying for same?;)
Adrianovic
24/10/2007, 1:39 PM
Can he speak English
I can't provide you with concrete proof after a quick search, but Football Manager 2008 says he can (for what its worth) and I'm sure he got interviewed at Euro 2004 on the beeb.
I'll have a look around.
24/10/2007, 1:41 PM
can we get a poll going? I don't seem to be able to set one up. I'd be very surprised if the two bookies favourites even feature in the top 5. It has to be realistic i.e. no Mourinho within the choices, but I think it would be an interesting exercise.
Metrostars
24/10/2007, 1:45 PM
Can he speak English
Neither did Stan :p
In any case I cant see how he will leave Greece after qualifying for the Euros again. I'm sure he would want another crack at qualifying for the WC with them.
Sligo Hornet
24/10/2007, 1:47 PM
I dont care if Andy Reid is eating Kebabs and to be honest if he is, well then the rest of the team should be given Kebabs as he was top class against the Germans and the Czechs twice.
I'm not knocking Andy's ability ( I concur he's our most/only creative midfielder ) just suggesting a healthy kebab may be helpful to him in creating a more streamlined athlete......much like your goodself;)
24/10/2007, 1:48 PM
Rehhagel is also a deft and ruthless club politician. He is notorious for restructuring clubs so that he wields absolute power, making friends with powerful people and using them to eliminate the opposition. He prefers the system of a benign dictatorship. His way of handling a club - in a competent and innovative, but also highly patronizing and condescending way - has been immortalized as ottocracy, a pun on his name and also a mix of the words democracy and autocracy.
He should get on with Delaney.
From wikipedia.
24/10/2007, 1:49 PM
I'm not knocking Andy's ability ( I concur he's our most/only creative midfielder ) just suggesting a healthy kebab may be helpful to him in creating a more streamlined athlete......much like your goodself;)
Why thank you. Its a pity The Green Hornet does not like the skills of Andy Reid rather than young Shane Long.
Adrianovic
24/10/2007, 1:52 PM
Neither did Stan :p
In any case I cant see how he will leave Greece after qualifying for the Euros again. I'm sure he would want another crack at qualifying for the WC with them.
I think if we presented it as the challenge it is. A half decent squad of players, with some young lads coming through, a public prepared to love football and a different test in a part of Europe he hasn't managed in before -he could be tempted.
I would say he is a realistic candidate, I'm not guaranteeing he'd take it if asked, but I'd say there's more chance of him than Louis van Gaal.
Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 1:53 PM
Rehhagel is also a deft and ruthless club politician. He is notorious for restructuring clubs so that he wields absolute power, making friends with powerful people and using them to eliminate the opposition. He prefers the system of a benign dictatorship. His way of handling a club - in a competent and innovative, but also highly patronizing and condescending way - has been immortalized as ottocracy, a pun on his name and also a mix of the words democracy and autocracy.
He should get on with Delaney.
From wikipedia.
Not that I dispute the truthiness (see Stephen Colbert) of this particular piece of information. However, as we know from the comments added to John Delaney and Steve Staunton's wikipedia entries after particularly disastrous results, it is not necessarily the most reliable source of information. Possibly added by a disgruntled fan/chairman/opponent/wife/etc.
24/10/2007, 1:55 PM
can we get a poll going? I don't seem to be able to set one up. I'd be very surprised if the two bookies favourites even feature in the top 5. It has to be realistic i.e. no Mourinho within the choices, but I think it would be an interesting exercise.
Give my 9 realistic choices and I'll put them in a poll.
24/10/2007, 1:58 PM
Roy Hodgson
Leo Beenhakker
Paul Jewell
Greame Souness
David O Leary
Liam Brady
Steve Coppell
Ron Atkinson
Terry Venables
John Aldridge
are all realistic
Dr. Ogba
24/10/2007, 1:58 PM
Coppell
see's it
24/10/2007, 2:00 PM
1 Aldo
2 o leary
3 brady
4 jewell
5 reid
6 graham
7 souness
8 givens
9 venables
Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 2:02 PM
Don't think that Atkinson is realistic, I'd imagine that the FAI might think that he has too much baggage with him.
I did meet himself and Andy Gray in Yokohama at the world cup, sound guys, directed us to where there was free beer been given away. Got absolutely soused on free Japanese beer. Ah, the good old days.
cavan_fan
24/10/2007, 2:03 PM
As a starter
O'Leary
Aldridge
Jewell
Troussier
Souness
Coppell
Rehagel
De Haan
Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 2:03 PM
1 Aldo
2 o leary
3 brady
4 jewell
5 reid
6 graham
7 souness
8 givens
9 venables
Ah man, if Peter Reid's name is mentioned two more times he might just appear from the ether and become our manager. Begone Reid.
24/10/2007, 2:10 PM
As laughable as Reid its nothing to the hiliarity that would ensue if John Aldridge got the job.
citizenerased
24/10/2007, 2:12 PM
houllier
Coppell
Troussier
O'leary
Jewell
Van Gaal
Souness
Venables
24/10/2007, 2:16 PM
added...
24/10/2007, 2:19 PM
cheers for putting it up eirebhoy.
24/10/2007, 2:23 PM
I've gone for Coppell. I'd also be very happy with Rehhagel and Beenhakker. Should be interesting, good to see Big Ron didn't make the cut
SuperDave
24/10/2007, 2:25 PM
careful now... chances are this will become the fai shortlist.
cavan_fan
24/10/2007, 2:27 PM
There are 3 votes for Brady ffs. Can we ask John delaney to stop voting.
kingoffifa
24/10/2007, 2:28 PM
took brady. at least the football might be better , might even get some organisation or a formation even....
be careful who you vote for folks - cause it will be mentioned somewhere in some paper as the fans choice.
24/10/2007, 2:33 PM
Brady seems like he knows his football but no way has he the qualifications ahead of Beenhakker or Coppell or Hodgson. These are guys that have been around and have the CV and the record, esp the Hodgson and Beenhakker that they qualifying with mid ranking international sides. THat is what we want and that is what we need to get. No gamble, just get the guys with the CV.
kingoffifa
24/10/2007, 2:38 PM
Brady seems like he knows his football but no way has he the qualifications ahead of Beenhakker or Coppell or Hodgson. These are guys that have been around and have the CV and the record, esp the Hodgson and Beenhakker that they qualifying with mid ranking international sides. THat is what we want and that is what we need to get. No gamble, just get the guys with the CV.
completely true.
i took brady cause chances are he would take the job. can you see any of those guys you mentioned actually taking the job?
24/10/2007, 2:39 PM
Yeah, with the exception of maybe Beenhakker as he will probably qualify with Poland and that means after Euro 2008 and I am not sure the FAI woudl wait that long.
Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 2:39 PM
Voted for Hodgson.
I'm not making any point here other than pointing it out but I see today that Philippe Troussier has converted to Islam and now goes by the name Omar!
dr_peepee
24/10/2007, 2:40 PM
Voted for Sounnes.... Expecting the obvious back lash but I think waiting on some of the others til after their campaigns would be counter productive.
Someone in early. Hit the ground running for the next competitive games.
He has a deceptively good record. If nothing he'll knock the indifference and lethargy out of the players.
I don't care if the players play FOR him or IN SPITE of him.
Souness on a two year contract for me. How many players do you reckon will abstain from a summer tournament under Souness without fear of accounting for it.
24/10/2007, 2:44 PM
Voted for Coppell although I don't think they will select him or for that matter, he would want the job. I think O'Leary will get the job, which I could live with.
texidub
24/10/2007, 2:45 PM
I went for young Stevie Coppell. He can create a team that's more than the sum of its parts, and seems to have an affinity with Irish players.
I also think appointing Coppell could be good for the Eircom League and domestic football generally --not that he'd be picking Eircom league players for 99% of games, but I think he's someone that would be interested in closing the gap between the EL and the international scene.. which would have to be good for the long-term future of football in Ireland.
onenilgameover
24/10/2007, 2:45 PM
coppell for me at the mo....DOL is at 5/4 hmmmm
kingoffifa
24/10/2007, 2:46 PM
Yeah, with the exception of maybe Beenhakker as he will probably qualify with Poland and that means after Euro 2008 and I am not sure the FAI woudl wait that long.
hodgson. irish papers are english papers these days and no doubt he's seen how the last 2 irish managers were torn apart by them.
coppell. would you if you were him? he just has to bide his time to get a better prem team than reading.
onenilgameover
24/10/2007, 2:48 PM
Voted for Hodgson.
I'm not making any point here other than pointing it out but I see today that Philippe Troussier has converted to Islam and now goes by the name Omar!
and his wife is no longer Dominique but Amina I reckon we should go for him...
Ole Ole Omar!!
24/10/2007, 2:49 PM
This guy has worked for Inter Milan and in the Premiership so I dont think, this is gong to put him off I think the Italian and English Press are far worse on a day to date basis than the Irish media.
Anyway we are meant to vote on who we want to get the job not read into possible reasons why the person who possibly may be offered the job might possibly turn it down.
Paul Jewell for me although I'd be happy with Coppell also. Brady had a poor management record while Souness best years were in the late 80's. It's common knowledge that Souness's man management isn't exactly great either so for me, they would be the 2 worst possible candidates.
Not worse than Stan though I will admit.
dr_peepee
Voted for Coppell although I don't think they will select him or for that matter, he would want the job. I think O'Leary will get the job, which I could live with.
Suppose I could live with that too...
kingoffifa
24/10/2007, 2:50 PM
as gift grub's p o connell might say 'fair enuff''!!
conlonn
24/10/2007, 3:03 PM
Bruno Metsu (took Senegal to quarter finals in Japan Korea) would be another one to consider.
I think IMO an outsider would be best for Ireladn to start with a clean slate
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruno_Metsu
Dr. Ogba
24/10/2007, 3:05 PM
Voted for Coppell even though I'd say he's not the best candidate on the list but he's the best out of that list that also has a realistic chance of getting it...
if that makes sense....:confused:
Paul Jewell for me although I'd be happy with Coppell also.
Agree 100%.
see's it
24/10/2007, 3:11 PM
forget the FAI picking the manager they should ask Niall Quinn to get us a decent manager
Drumcondra 69er
24/10/2007, 3:18 PM
forget the FAI picking the manager they should ask Niall Quinn to get us a decent manager
Might have to get one for Sunderland first the way his current one has p1ssed away €50m, 7 defaets in 9 now is it?? :rolleyes:
24/10/2007, 3:32 PM
at least we wont read any more stories about keano on the lash in lillys or wherever!! Plus he will have them wholly concentrated on one thing!
Ireland4ever
24/10/2007, 3:38 PM
Might have to get one for Sunderland first the way his current one has
p1ssed away €50m, 7 defaets in 9 now is it?? :rolleyes:
Yeah, plus Keaneo ruined our chances of winning the last world Cup.......
Only joking btw! Id say there was a few just ready to punce on me after reading that line!!!:D
see's it
24/10/2007, 3:42 PM
Might have to get one for Sunderland first the way his current one has p1ssed away €50m, 7 defaets in 9 now is it?? :rolleyes:
you cant buy players for Ireland so............
Drumcondra 69er
24/10/2007, 3:47 PM
you cant buy players for Ireland so............
He'd be rightly fooked so, only went up last year due to a £6m stg cash injection, big spend for the championship.....
24/10/2007, 4:10 PM
He'd be rightly fooked so, only went up last year due to a £6m stg cash injection, big spend for the championship.....
and took them from last to first. still some achievment. didnt he offload nearly as many players as he brought in anyway?
"Mr Trousers" has now thrown his hat in the ring. Best realistic candidate so far I'd say!
24/10/2007, 4:32 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7060450.stm