View Full Version : New Irish manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

RiffRaff
24/11/2007, 12:26 PM
I'm slowly warming to the idea of Brady. He wasnt successful by any means at Brighton or Celtic, but he went straight to management from playing if i remember correctly, and he's probably learned a lot since then from working in the background at Arsenal. Personally i think the FAI should appoint someone who can get us qualifying groups, but who also can be involved in the long term development of the game in Ireland, and by that i mean the development of the eircom league. Over the last decade or so the domestic leagues in countries like Norway, Denmark, Sweden and other countries have developed to the stage where they can bring in players to the national team without there being a noticebale drop in standard. Obviously the nucleus of our squad will be english based, but with the obvious shortage of players coming through in England due to the influx of foreign players, i think the progress of our own league will be crucial to the strength of the national team in years to come. That doesnt mean giving token caps to eircom league players, but it would need someone who would not be dismissive of the irish based players and would at least include some in training sessions etc to start with. For me, thats the reason I would like an Irish manager in preference to Gerard Hooligan, Philip Trousers etc. And Brady strikes me as someone who would be aware of that.

24/11/2007, 12:27 PM
[QUOTE=Stuttgart88;823258........He lives near Colchester and Ipswich too, meaning caps for Garvan and Yeates :)[/QUOTE]
What about Lee/Clark?

If living near the manager would result in players getting capped we could see the Colchester/Ipswich area become Ireland's answer to The Wirral :D

backstothewall
24/11/2007, 12:35 PM
The Irish Daily Mirror reports that seven managers have now formally notified the FAI of their interest: Venables, Houllier and Hodgson this week, joining David O’Leary, Graham Souness, George Graham and Glenn Hoddle in making their interest known.

Troussier has also put his name forward, but i can't see him getting it. I'm sure John Sheridan wouldn't say no either if asked. I would take him before all but Houllier, Hodgson and Souness

As the first poll din't have some of these names, and a few in it have dropped out, any chance of a new one. I don't think Other being the most popular candidate, followed by Coppell who has ruled himself out doesn't proves an awful lot

Noelys Guitar
24/11/2007, 12:39 PM
"Big Sam" must be close to the sack at Newcastle. No chance of getting the England job. He might come into the reckoning!.
Taken from the BBC site
1420: "My name is Arnold Field. I'm a manager in a call centre in Kings Lynn and, like Big Sam, I too would like to rule myself out of the running for the England job."
Arnold Field via text on 81111

Delaney should go public and tell us exactly what he is doing. Is there a 3 man, 2 man, 1 man whatever choosing/selecting/advising Delaney. If so Name them. Is Delaney acting on his own. What is Giles part.

backstothewall
24/11/2007, 12:45 PM
How about whoever does not get the engerland job. Names bandied around there are impressive such as
Capello
Lippi (winner of last world cup)
Scolari
Even Mourihno try him.

If we do not get any of these then either Hodgson or Houllier would be fine. But the search should not start outside these.

Any thoughts?

Shouldn't take long. Phone calls to 4 agents who laugh at the idea of us even asking their client.

Scram
24/11/2007, 1:01 PM
Troussier has also put his name forward, but i can't see him getting it. I'm sure John Sheridan wouldn't say no either if asked. I would take him before all but Houllier, Hodgson and Souness

As the first poll din't have some of these names, and a few in it have dropped out, any chance of a new one. I don't think Other being the most popular candidate, followed by Coppell who has ruled himself out doesn't proves an awful lot

Poll please

eekers
24/11/2007, 4:23 PM
I'm slowly warming to the idea of Brady. He wasnt successful by any means at Brighton or Celtic, but he went straight to management from playing if i remember correctly, and he's probably learned a lot since then from working in the background at Arsenal. Personally i think the FAI should appoint someone who can get us qualifying groups, but who also can be involved in the long term development of the game in Ireland, and by that i mean the development of the eircom league. Over the last decade or so the domestic leagues in countries like Norway, Denmark, Sweden and other countries have developed to the stage where they can bring in players to the national team without there being a noticebale drop in standard. Obviously the nucleus of our squad will be english based, but with the obvious shortage of players coming through in England due to the influx of foreign players, i think the progress of our own league will be crucial to the strength of the national team in years to come. That doesnt mean giving token caps to eircom league players, but it would need someone who would not be dismissive of the irish based players and would at least include some in training sessions etc to start with. For me, thats the reason I would like an Irish manager in preference to Gerard Hooligan, Philip Trousers etc. And Brady strikes me as someone who would be aware of that.

I cant see brady having any interest in playing players from the irish league
Roy Hodgson however has called up Finish club players for Finland. And would have much more respect for the League of Ireland, especially with the recent record against scandanavian teams.

24/11/2007, 5:32 PM
What about Lee/Clark?
I mentioned Garvan & Yeates cos we're crying out for players in their positions. I personally think Lee deserves a place in the squad and that Billy Clarke is well placed in the U21s for now.

24/11/2007, 6:21 PM
i really warmed to jewell listening to him on football focus. He is very astute. Comes across as quite articulate also. Its funny im sure he was hoping some would ask him "would you consider it?!" but he never got that question. How they want shearer, the English are awful blinded by their patriotism. Shearer is as thick as 2 planks who left his country when he had 5 more good years to play, so how can anyone say he could be committed to his country is beyond me, especially playing at a second rate PL club. I just dont understand them, I know for a fact he would be a terrible manager, anyone who says "erm, eh, uh, we need to get in amongst them" as an analyst obviouslly doesn't have a clue. Jewell really summed it up ( heard it in the gaa a couple of years ago too mind ;) i wonder is that where he copied it :D ) when he said "football is a simple game, complicated by BAD coaches". Very good. In other words saying venables and mcqueen were scheisser.

24/11/2007, 8:49 PM
Shearer only bleated that crap because he couldn't bring himself to admit taht Croatia were playing better on the night, just as he felt that 10 English players would get in each of the WC06 semi-finalists' starting elevens.

To paraphrase another cheerleeding twit "please, Shearer, please" take the England job. A prime example of a fine footballer not having the footballing intelligence. Sure he knew his job on the pitch brilliantly but with a superb career like his you'd really think he'd be able to offer more insight. Funny how it's usually the lesser players who make the best coaches / managers. Is it because the game didn't come as easy to them so they had to play smarter?

soccerc
24/11/2007, 8:56 PM
It is my understanding that Venables' stock has fallen in the past 24 hours thanks to Bobby Robson and Don Howe.

Apparently they were less than enthusiastic in nominating him as a candidate.

24/11/2007, 8:57 PM
I told you I rated Howe :)

eekers
24/11/2007, 9:07 PM
it seems venables has been confirmed as the next england manager anyway :)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7111211.stm

He (Venables) is managing a team of England legends against a Rest of the World side coached by Sven-Goran Eriksson.
"Alan Shearer is going to be the captain for the England XI alongside myself as coach," he said of the charity match.
"Gianfranco Zola will lead the Rest of the World with Sven, and they reckon they are going to win, but we will just have to see about that on the night."

eekers
24/11/2007, 9:19 PM
It is my understanding that Venables' stock has fallen in the past 24 hours thanks to Bobby Robson and Don Howe.

Interesting considering Howe was one of the england coaches at Euro'96
He's obviously seen him at work close up and doesnt rate him.
Do you think the Arsenal connection between Howe and Brady and O'leary will bias the decision?

Noelys Guitar
24/11/2007, 9:20 PM

Is O'Leary still the frontrunner?

soccerc
24/11/2007, 9:39 PM
Is O'Leary still the frontrunner?

To be honest, none that I would converse with have him in the frame, nor would they consider him a front runner.

However, you need to take into consideration the spin that is surrounding the process. On the one hand there is a faction who move almost imperceptibly dropping titbits into the hands of some in the media while on the other hand there are some very honest people who want what's best for Irish football.

The strange thing is they are not necessarily mutually exclusive though the former, who have been in the shadows for too long may be working to a different agenda.

Noelys Guitar
24/11/2007, 10:20 PM
To be honest, none that I would converse with have him in the frame, nor would they consider him a front runner.

However, you need to take into consideration the spin that is surrounding the process. On the one hand there is a faction who move almost imperceptibly dropping titbits into the hands of some in the media while on the other hand there are some very honest people who want what's best for Irish football.

The strange thing is they are not necessarily mutually exclusive though the former, who have been in the shadows for too long may be working to a different agenda.

So it is O'Leary. Joking. I genuinely believe that Delaeny is trying to get the best man.

eekers
24/11/2007, 10:47 PM
I genuinely believe that Delaney is trying to get the best man.

me too but i also believe Delaney tried to get the best man the last time. and he thought the best man was Staunton. And i think Delaney has learn something from that

Fergie's Son
24/11/2007, 11:30 PM
Any more movement on Houllier?

soccerc
24/11/2007, 11:49 PM
Any more movement on Houllier?

Don't think the French Federation will give up their new technical director very easily :)

eekers
25/11/2007, 12:28 AM
Don't think the French Federation will give up their new technical director very easily :)

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=48761-qqqx=1.asp

“It’s total rubbish,” said one reporter who knows Houllier well.

“Having recently been appointed National Technical Director for a second time, he announced his programme of action only last week.

“He has no intention of abandoning his new role inside a month of taking it up,” the source added.

Newryrep
25/11/2007, 10:21 AM
simple criteria for choosing a new manager

a. does his current employer wish to retain his services
b. are there similar organisations who would wish to employ him should he become available

If the answer to both those questions is Yes especially item b then he is our man - Hodgson is head and shoulders the best available candidate (sorry i dont have any money on him)

No to has beens
No to never were's
No to inexperience but have a feeling it might work out, worth a punt

If Hodgson cant get them playing as a unit or greater than the sum of their parts then i would question the players attitude

25/11/2007, 1:51 PM
I actually don't think we need a really top notch manager to make a meaningful improvement given how poor the last management was.

That said, those candidates under consideration should be assessed really carefully, not just on a whim. Half the time I think the FAI like Venables so they can go back to some rural outpost and say "I met Terry Venables last night" and think they're the dog's ****** as a result. Hodgson or others don't have the same kudos.

zenokelly
25/11/2007, 6:12 PM
Delaney was just on talking after the draw and said there is "certainly more interest in the job this time" when asked about El Tel. I can't really see it to be honest, unless he's talking about Liam Brady and Jason Mcateer:eek:

25/11/2007, 6:16 PM
What was Delaney saying by that quote? That there are other candidates than Venables, or that Venables would be a candidate whereas last time only Stan was an option?

zenokelly
25/11/2007, 6:20 PM
that Venables would be a candidate whereas last time only Stan was an option?

Ya I would interptret it as that.

But seeing that he is not supposed to be involved in the decision it is funny that he still answers questions on the future manager.:mad:

co. down green
25/11/2007, 11:50 PM
According to this BBC report

We've spoken to about 25 people over the last couple of weeks in terms of the type of manager we should have," added the FAI chief executive.

"A number of people have contacted us saying they would like to have the job. There is certainly a greater level of interest this time than last. We've got a better squad now than 18 months ago, a better playing pool.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/7112360.stm

p.s. Another great pic of Delaney in the report :D:eek::D

Bondvillain
26/11/2007, 12:09 AM
"We've spoken to about 25 people over the last couple of weeks in terms of the type of manager we should have," added the FAI chief executive.

A number of people have contacted us saying they would like to have the job. There is certainly a greater level of interest this time than last. We've got a better squad now than 18 months ago, a better playing pool.

Having seen the chancing schleeveen spout his guff on 6-1 news, I reccomend that interested parties ask any body language expert what Delaney was doing when he made those remarks, and they'll give you at least 5 reasons how they know he was telling more of his filthy corporate lies.

(Generally, I know when Delaney is lying, as I can see his lips move, but this is based on scientific studies. It's all about posture and glancing to the left , apparently...)

26/11/2007, 6:31 AM
Nice trip there to South Africa for him. Wonder how many went with him?

Just Delaney and David Blood.

eekers
26/11/2007, 7:27 AM
Nice trip there to South Africa for him. Wonder how many went with him?

i'm sure there were more form rte out there than there was from the fai

Drumcondra 69er
26/11/2007, 9:10 AM
me too but i also believe Delaney tried to get the best man the last time. and he thought the best man was Staunton. And i think Delaney has learn something from that

He also wanted Brian Robson ahead of Kerr so I'd sincerely hope he's either learned something about football or at least learned to listen to those who know the football side of the game better then he does.

Schlooooomp
26/11/2007, 9:17 AM
I seen an interview with Roy Hodgson on SSN, he said that even though he was at the draw for the WC qualifiers representing Finland he was very unlikely to remain there as the manager. He said that he was much more likely to take up a new challenge, there was no need to read between the lines, he is moving on. Please FAI, don't let him slip through the net.

EAFC_rdfl
26/11/2007, 10:26 AM
what about billy davies? looks like hes gonna get the boot at Derby, did a great job with them the last few seasons. Think he'd lay the law a lot better than stan

eekers
26/11/2007, 10:35 AM
what about billy davies? looks like hes gonna get the boot at Derby, did a great job with them the last few seasons. Think he'd lay the law a lot better than stan

i'd rather Klaus Toppmöller - currently managing Georgia believe it or not. his career seems to have gone downhill in a dave o'leary way.

26/11/2007, 10:48 AM
20 minutes later and he's gone!

EAFC_rdfl
26/11/2007, 10:52 AM
do I get a prize!?it was on the cards in fairness, but what do people seriously think of him? I know a lot of scots want him if mcLeish leaves the job there? think he's worth a look

eekers
26/11/2007, 10:57 AM
do I get a prize!?it was on the cards in fairness, but what do people seriously think of him? I know a lot of scots want him if mcLeish leaves the job there? think he's worth a look

eafc suggest benitez next and then ferguson

SummervilleRule
26/11/2007, 10:59 AM
What about Capello or Lippi now that we got the Italians. They know the Italian set up inside out, and are both World Class. I'm sure if the money was there, they would come!

eekers
26/11/2007, 11:07 AM
What about Capello or Lippi now that we got the Italians. They know the Italian set up inside out, and are both World Class. I'm sure if the money was there, they would come!

I dont rate Lippi he signed robbie keane :)

No seriously i cant see anything worong with making these guys big offers. Apart from the language problem (brady could translate)

26/11/2007, 11:10 AM
i'd rather Klaus Toppmöller - currently managing Georgia believe it or not. his career seems to have gone downhill in a dave o'leary way.

Yeah thats a bizarre one alright. I was in the Flowing Tide before the Germany match watching Georgia v Scotland supping a pint of plain, then the picture of Toppmóller came up and wham, half a pint of plain over two English accented gents in surprise.

Billsthoughts
26/11/2007, 11:21 AM
Lippi with Brady as assistant sounds a hell of a lot better than Venables and Townsend

26/11/2007, 11:23 AM
That said, those candidates under consideration should be assessed really carefully, not just on a whim. Half the time I think the FAI like Venables so they can go back to some rural outpost and say "I met Terry Venables last night" and think they're the dog's ****** as a result. Hodgson or others don't have the same kudos.

Ye know, thats exactly how I reckon it is too, there are so many country bumpkins who are plucked out of some junior club and thrown into that board ( well almost ) and they would love nothing better than to go "back and tell the lads" "guess who i was chatting to last night".....

I heard that delaney made a million before he was 30 is that true?

Billsthoughts
26/11/2007, 11:26 AM
I heard that delaney made a million before he was 30 is that true?

knowing him its probably a lie...

Drumcondra 69er
26/11/2007, 11:31 AM
knowing him its probably a lie...

Believe it's true, probably got a loan of some ticket money off his Da to start off! :D:D

26/11/2007, 12:05 PM
Believe it's true, probably got a loan of some ticket money off his Da to start off! :D:D

thats actually what someone else said, well actually that he got money off his da...i like the ticket reference though :D

eekers
26/11/2007, 6:10 PM
Louis Van Gaal has said today that heir a clause in his contract with AZ that he can leave for a national team job.
Anyone think he'll be a good option.
I know he didnt do well when managing the dutch but they're a notoriously hard team to manage, with their in fighting and such?

In other news i'n warming to this Lippi and Chippy partnership

26/11/2007, 6:40 PM
Van Gaal has said he fancies the England job, and it was offered to him before. Don't think he'd be interested in the Ireland job. Still, no reason why he can't be approached

Maroon 7
26/11/2007, 6:55 PM
Venables with Andy Townsend as assistant according to Lawrenson.

macdermesser
26/11/2007, 7:25 PM

..with Gabi Yorath holding the magic sponge .. the new Mick byrne.

Bring back StAN!!!!!

amaccann
26/11/2007, 7:38 PM
It's like with each passing day someone's trying to win the "most outlandish possibility" award.